Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Adamax
Adamax is sold as an N-acetylated analogue of the heptapeptide Semax carrying an adamantane cage at the C-terminus. No experiment on it has ever been published. A PubMed search on the name returns 39 records, every one a machine-learning paper about an optimisation algorithm that shares the name, and a ClinicalTrials.gov search returns nothing. Two incompatible structures circulate under the name, about 48 daltons apart, and no deposited structure resolves which one is sold.
- Class
- Synthetic N-acetylated analogue of the ACTH(4-10) fragment peptide Semax; a C-terminal adamantane modification is asserted in the marketing and in one patent application but is absent from the only deposited record
- CAS number
- Not verified
- PubChem CID
- Not verified
- Molecular formula
- Not verified
- Molecular weight
- Not verified
- Sequence
- Written by suppliers and aggregators as Ac-MEHFPGPAG-NH2 or Ac-MEHFPGP-AG-NH2. The terminal AG is read two ways: as alanine followed by glycine, which is how the only PubChem substance record renders it (Ac-Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro-Ala-Gly-OH, no adamantane), and as the adamantylglycine pseudo-residue used in the P021 shorthand Ac-DGGL(A)G-NH2, where the terminal unit is 3-amino-adamantane-1-carboxamide. Those are different molecules. The parent heptapeptide is Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro (Semax, PubChem CID 9811102, CAS 80714-61-0, C37H51N9O10S, 813.9 g/mol, UNII I5FAL2585H).
- Also indexed as
- N-Acetyl Semax adamantane; Acetyl-Semax-Adamantane; Ac-MEHFPGP-AG-NH2. PubChem holds no compound record under the name; the sole substance record, SID 513899171, is a chemical-supplier deposit carrying a catalogue number rather than a CAS and linking to no CID. The name also denotes a gradient-descent optimiser, which accounts for every PubMed and Europe PMC hit.
A name attached to two different molecules
A PubChem compound query on the name Adamax returns HTTP 404 and the message that no CID matches the name. The substance endpoint returns exactly one record, SID 513899171, deposited by a chemical supplier, carrying the synonyms Adamax and Ac-Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro-Ala-Gly-OH, a catalogue number in place of a registry number, and no link to any compound record. The FDA Global Substance Registration System returns nothing for the name. ChEMBL returns nothing either, although ChEMBL holds no record for the parent heptapeptide under any name or InChIKey, so that particular silence proves little. No CAS number, formula or molecular weight survived verification, which is why those fields above are blank.
The dispute sits in the last two letters of the shorthand. Product and aggregator pages write the molecule as Ac-MEHFPGPAG-NH2 or Ac-MEHFPGP-AG-NH2. Read one way, AG is alanine followed by glycine, and the molecule is an acetylated nonapeptide with no adamantane anywhere in it. Read the other way, AG is the adamantylglycine pseudo-residue borrowed from the P021 shorthand Ac-DGGL(A)G-NH2, where the terminal unit is not two amino acids at all but 3-amino-adamantane-1-carboxamide. The supplier deposit takes the first reading. The name, which is built on the word adamantane, takes the second.
Arithmetic separates them cleanly. The acetylated heptapeptide extended by alanine and glycine as free acid is C44H61N11O13S, average mass 984.1, and the corresponding amide is 983.1. The same chain condensed instead with 3-amino-adamantane-1-carboxamide is C50H69N11O11S, average mass 1032.2. Both figures are in circulation: one aggregator publishes about 984 daltons and states plainly that this is the backbone without the cage, another publishes 1032.24 as the molecular weight without qualification. Run on P021, whose structure is deposited, the same method reproduces PubChem's 578.7 for CID 56599151, so the method is sound and the gap of roughly 48 daltons is a gap between two molecules rather than two conventions.
Claim ledger
10 of 17 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0.093 percent of the introduced radioactivity per gram recovered from brain 2 minutes after dosing, of which 80 percent was intact peptide and the remainder metabolites; the tripeptide Pro-Gly-Pro predominated thereafter. The compound tested was unmodified Semax, not Adamax | Non-bred white rats, body mass 200 to 250 g | Intranasal, 50 micrograms per kilogram in 20 microlitres, tritiated at the C-terminal proline at 56 Ci/mmol | Not stated in the retrieved report | Shevchenko 2006, Bioorg Khim, PMID 16523722 |
| Maximal 1.4-fold increase in hippocampal BDNF protein, 1.6-fold increase in trkB tyrosine phosphorylation, 3-fold increase in exon III BDNF mRNA and 2-fold increase in trkB mRNA; treated animals showed more conditioned avoidance reactions. The compound tested was unmodified Semax | Rats, hippocampus | Single application, 50 micrograms per kilogram body weight; route not specified in the retrieved abstract beyond the paper's framing of intranasal application | Not stated in the retrieved report | Dolotov 2006, Brain Res, PMID 16996037 |
| Time-dependent, specific, reversible and calcium-requiring binding to basal forebrain membranes with dissociation constant 2.4 plus or minus 1.0 nM and Bmax 33.5 plus or minus 7.9 fmol per mg protein; BDNF rose at 3 hours in basal forebrain but not cerebellum. The compound tested was unmodified Semax | Rat basal forebrain cell membranes, and rats in vivo | Membrane binding assay with tritium-labelled peptide; in vivo arm intranasal at 50 and 250 micrograms per kilogram | Not stated in the retrieved report | Dolotov 2006, J Neurochem, PMID 16635254 |
| One hour after dosing, BDNF and NGF expression rose in hippocampus, BDNF also rose in brainstem and cerebellum, and NGF fell in frontal cortex; the direction of change was region-specific rather than uniform. The compound tested was unmodified Semax | Male Wistar rats | Single intranasal application, 50 micrograms per kilogram | Not stated in the retrieved report | Agapova 2007, Neurosci Lett, PMID 17353092 |
| Plasma BDNF rose in treated subgroups regardless of rehabilitation timing and remained elevated across the study; Barthel index recovery was faster and the final Barthel score better in treated patients, with a smaller effect on paresis. The compound tested was unmodified Semax. PubMed types the report as a Clinical Trial; the abstract describes neither randomisation nor blinding | Patients after ischaemic stroke, 43 men and 67 women, mean age 58.0 plus or minus 9.7 years, split into early (89 plus or minus 9 days) and late (214 plus or minus 22 days) rehabilitation groups | Intranasal, 6000 micrograms per day in two 10-day courses separated by 20 days | 110 patients | Gusev 2018, Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova, PMID 29798983 |
| No influence on the course of chronic partial denervation on needle electromyography and no change in the clinical rating scales; the total quality-of-life score improved, attributed by the authors to emotional state and motivation, with a maximum at day 10. The compound tested was unmodified Semax. PubMed types this as a Randomized Controlled Trial while the abstract describes an open-label trial in sequential groups | Patients with definite, probable or possible motor neuron disease | Intranasal 1 percent solution, 12 mg daily in two 10-day courses separated by two weeks | 27 patients | Serdiuk 2007, Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova, PMID 18379501 |
| Greater volume of the rostral, medial frontal subcomponent of the resting-state default mode network in the treated group than in controls on scans taken 5 and 20 minutes after dosing. The compound tested was unmodified Semax | Healthy volunteers, 11 men and 13 women, mean age 43.9 plus or minus 9.5 years | Intranasal 1 percent solution or placebo | 24 total: 14 treated, 10 placebo | Lebedeva 2018, Bull Exp Biol Med, PMID 30225715 |
| N-terminal acetylation changed the copper(II) complex from a CuN4 chromophore to a distorted CuN3O species, shifted the formal redox potential positive and left it reactive to ascorbic acid; the acetylated peptide did not protect against copper-induced toxicity, unlike the free-amine parent, while zinc complexation and zinc influx were comparable | SH-SY5Y human neuroblastoma cells, plus potentiometric, EPR and spectroscopic characterisation of the complexes | In vitro, culture medium | Not stated in the retrieved report | Magri 2016, J Inorg Biochem, PMID 27586814 |
| Affinity and binding pose were largely conserved when diamondoid amino acids were substituted into a peptidic kinase inhibitor; one variant gained 6.5-fold potency, attributed to higher side-chain lipophilicity, and another lost affinity, attributed to lost hydrogen bonds to first-shell water. Unrelated to Semax; included as measured evidence on what adamantylation does to a peptide | Protein kinase A, five synthesised peptide analogues | In vitro; microscale thermophoresis binding assay, NMR and crystal structure analysis | 5 analogues | Muller 2019, ChemMedChem, PMID 30677243 |
| Introducing the non-canonical amino acid adamantylglycine into a cell-penetrating peptide had minimal influence on membrane transport, while enabling that transport to be raised or lowered through high-affinity binding to cucurbit[7]uril. Unrelated to Semax; included because it measures the membrane behaviour that adamantylation is assumed to improve | Liposome and cell-penetrating-peptide transport assays | In vitro | Not stated in the retrieved report | Pramod 2024, Chem Commun, PMID 38602391 |
| Half-life of 8 to 10 hours | No pharmacokinetic study of this molecule exists to carry such a figure. PubMed on the term Adamax returns 39 records, all machine-learning papers; Europe PMC returns 18, likewise; adamantane combined with Semax returns zero in PubMed and zero in Europe PMC. The figure appears on aggregator pages, sometimes labelled a half-life and sometimes the duration of a subjective effect, which are different quantities. The only measured kinetics in this chemical series belong to the unmodified parent: Shevchenko 2006 (PMID 16523722) recovered 0.093 percent of the dose per gram of rat brain at 2 minutes, already 20 percent degraded, with rapid conversion to Pro-Gly-Pro. Nothing bridges that to eight hours. | No source found | ||
| Two to three times more potent than Semax, or the most powerful of the Semax derivatives | No head-to-head experiment was located in any species. Searched PubMed for Adamax (39 records, all computational), for adamantane with Semax (zero), for the string Ac-MEHFPGP (zero), and Europe PMC for Adamax with Semax (zero). One aggregator that publishes the 2 to 3 times figure states in the same page that no study confirms it. A potency ratio requires two measurements on the same endpoint and neither exists for the modified molecule. | No source found | ||
| Molecular weight of 1032.24 daltons, or alternatively about 984 daltons | Both figures circulate and they describe different molecules. 984.1 is the average mass of Ac-Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro-Ala-Gly-OH, C44H61N11O13S, which is the reading in the only PubChem substance record (SID 513899171) and contains no adamantane; the corresponding amide is 983.1. 1032.2 is the average mass of the same acetylated heptapeptide condensed with 3-amino-adamantane-1-carboxamide, C50H69N11O11S, the P021-style terminal unit. The arithmetic was validated by reproducing PubChem's 578.7 for P021 (CID 56599151) by the same method. PubChem returns HTTP 404 for a compound query on the name, FDA GSRS returns nothing, and no CAS number was located, so no deposited structure adjudicates between them. | No source found | ||
| Created around 2016 by a nootropics vendor that later closed, which was the only reliable producer | Unverifiable as stated. The account traces to a single blog interview with an unnamed chemist and is repeated verbatim across aggregator pages. Google Patents returns six records for adamantyl with Semax, none of them an adamantylated ACTH-fragment analogue, zero for MEHFPGP with adamantane and zero for the phrase adamantylated Semax. No publication, thesis, conference abstract or regulatory filing naming the molecule before 2021 was located in PubMed, Europe PMC or the patent literature. The earliest dated document located that names an N-acetyl, C-terminal-adamantane form of this heptapeptide is EP4404912A1, priority 22 September 2021, which postdates the claimed origin by roughly five years. | No source found | ||
| Stabilises microtubules | A PubMed search for Semax combined with microtubule or tubulin returns zero records. No primary source reports any interaction between this heptapeptide, its acetylated form, or any adamantylated analogue and tubulin or the microtubule cytoskeleton. The claim appears on at least one aggregator page in a list of mechanisms alongside claims that do trace to the parent literature, which is how an untraceable item acquires the appearance of provenance. | No source found | ||
| Crosses the blood-brain barrier more readily than Semax because of the adamantane group | A comparison needs two measurements and only one exists. Brain entry has been quantified for the parent once, by Shevchenko 2006 (PMID 16523722), and never for the modified molecule in any species. The general premise is supported in other chemical series and contradicted in at least one: Pramod 2024 (PMID 38602391) introduced adamantylglycine into a cell-penetrating peptide and reported minimal influence on membrane transport, and Muller 2019 (PMID 30677243) found diamondoid substitution improved one analogue and worsened another. No brain-to-plasma ratio, brain tissue concentration or permeability coefficient for this molecule was located. | No source found | ||
| The adamantane group protects the peptide against temperature-induced breakdown | No stability study on the molecule was located in PubMed, Europe PMC or the patent literature. The only heat-stability data in this chemical space are the five formulation examples in EP4404912A1, all of which stored the unmodified heptapeptide for 14 days at 60 degrees and read out impurity formation by chromatography, and none of which included the adamantane derivative. Shevchenko 2013 (PMID 23652441) addresses proteolytic, not thermal, stability of the acetylated form, and PubMed serves no abstract for it; the publisher returned an authorisation gate, so it was not read. | No source found | ||
The literature search returns an optimisation algorithm
A PubMed search on Adamax returns 39 records. Every one is a machine-learning paper, because Adamax is also the name of a variant of the Adam gradient-descent optimiser, and the titles run from potato blight detection to network intrusion detection to brain tumour segmentation. A Europe PMC search combining the name with peptide, Semax or nootropic returns 18 records, all from the same computational literature. Combining the name with Semax in Europe PMC returns zero. A PubMed search for adamantane together with Semax returns zero, as does a search on the string Ac-MEHFPGP.
Registry searches are equally empty. A ClinicalTrials.gov query on Adamax returns no studies by general term and none by intervention. The same query on Semax returns nothing either, and that result needs care. The parent has been studied in people for three decades, largely in Russian-language journals, so an empty result in that registry records a registration practice rather than an absence of clinical work. The openFDA label and Drugs@FDA endpoints return no match for either name.
Nothing here is a subtle gap. For the parent heptapeptide PubMed returns 231 records, spanning rodent pharmacology, gene-expression work and Russian clinical reports. For the molecule sold under the modified name the count is not small, it is zero. The searches that produced that zero are written out in full in the untraced-claims section below, with the databases and the exact terms, so that anyone can rerun them and get a different answer if one exists.
One formal document names the adamantylated form
European patent application EP4404912A1, filed 26 July 2022 with a priority date of 22 September 2021 and published 31 July 2024, is assigned to Ferring BV, with Vlasenko and Merkulova named as inventors. Its family members are WO2023046336A1, US20250127843A1 and CN117979954A. The claims cover an aqueous pharmaceutical composition of the heptapeptide Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro with an antioxidant, an osmolarity-regulating agent, an optional preservative and water, at pH 4.0 to 7.0, intended for nasal delivery. The description defines a pharmaceutically acceptable derivative to include an N-terminal acetyl group with either a C-terminal amidate or a C-terminal adamantane moiety, and lists the acetylated heptapeptide bearing a C-terminal adamantane by name.
That is the whole of it. The five worked examples all test the unmodified heptapeptide as a formulation: methionine or no methionine, pH 4.5 against 5.0 against 5.5, sorbitol or no sorbitol, EDTA or no EDTA, each stored fourteen days at 60 degrees and read out as change in impurity content by ultra-performance liquid chromatography. No experiment on the adamantane derivative appears anywhere in the document, in any species or any assay. The string naming that derivative is itself corrupted in the published text, rendered two different ways at two points, apparently an optical-character-recognition artefact of a terminal carboxamide.
Dates cut against the origin story that circulates. The compound is said to have been created by a nootropics vendor that closed in 2018; the priority date here is September 2021, well after that, so the patent is not the source of the molecule and no earlier document naming it was located. The application was in any case deemed withdrawn with effect from 29 November 2025. What it establishes is narrow but real: a pharmaceutical applicant wrote this structure down as a permissible derivative within a nasal formulation, and tested the parent instead.
What the parent was measured to do
Everything below concerns Semax, the unmodified heptapeptide, and is included because it is the entire basis on which claims about the modified molecule are made. Shevchenko and colleagues 2006 prepared the peptide tritiated at the C-terminal proline at 56 Ci/mmol and gave it intranasally at 50 micrograms per kilogram in 20 microlitres to non-bred white rats of 200 to 250 grams. Two minutes after administration, 0.093 percent of the introduced radioactivity per gram was recovered from brain, of which 80 percent was intact peptide and the remainder metabolites. Degradation was rapid and the tripeptide Pro-Gly-Pro predominated in the biological samples.
Neurotrophin readouts come from one laboratory and are region-specific rather than global. Dolotov and colleagues 2006, in Brain Research, reported a maximal 1.4-fold rise in hippocampal BDNF protein and a 1.6-fold rise in trkB tyrosine phosphorylation after a single 50 micrograms per kilogram application in rats, with exon III BDNF mRNA up threefold and trkB mRNA twofold, alongside more conditioned avoidance reactions. The same group, in the Journal of Neurochemistry that year, reported specific, calcium-dependent binding of the tritiated peptide to rat basal forebrain membranes with a dissociation constant of 2.4 plus or minus 1.0 nanomolar and a Bmax of 33.5 plus or minus 7.9 femtomoles per milligram of protein. Agapova and colleagues 2007 found the direction of change was not uniform: after intranasal dosing in male Wistar rats, hippocampal BDNF and NGF expression rose, brainstem and cerebellar BDNF rose, and NGF fell in frontal cortex.
Human work exists and is mixed. Gusev and colleagues 2018 followed 110 patients after ischaemic stroke, 43 men and 67 women of mean age 58.0 plus or minus 9.7 years, in early and late rehabilitation groups each split into treated and untreated subgroups, and reported higher plasma BDNF and faster Barthel index recovery in the treated group. Serdiuk and colleagues 2007 gave the peptide intranasally to 27 patients with motor neuron disease and reported that it did not influence the course of chronic partial denervation on needle electromyography or the clinical rating scales, while the total quality-of-life score improved with a maximum at day 10. PubMed types that second study as a randomised controlled trial while its own abstract describes an open-label trial in sequential groups. Lebedeva and colleagues 2018 imaged 24 healthy volunteers, 14 given the peptide and 10 placebo, and reported a larger rostral subcomponent of the resting-state default mode network in the treated group.
None of these studies administered an acetylated form, and none administered an adamantylated one. Every figure above was measured on the free-amine heptapeptide with a free carboxyl terminus. Carrying any of them across to the modified molecule is an assumption about what two chemical modifications do to binding, clearance and brain entry. How that assumption has fared where it was actually tested is the subject of the next section.
Acetylation and the cage are not free parameters
Magri and colleagues 2016 compared the heptapeptide with its N-acetylated form directly. Acetylation changed the copper coordination chemistry, converting a CuN4 chromophore into a distorted CuN3O species with a weak apical interaction from the methionine sulphur, shifting the formal redox potential positive and leaving the complex reactive towards ascorbic acid where the free-amine parent was redox-stable. In SH-SY5Y neuroblastoma cells, the acetylated peptide did not protect against copper-induced toxicity, which the authors attributed to the loss of the free N-terminus. Zinc complexation and zinc influx were comparable between the two. Blocking the N-terminus is therefore a substantive change to the molecule and not a stability tweak.
Evidence on the adamantane unit points the same way. Muller and colleagues 2019 built five protein kinase A inhibitor peptides containing diamondoid amino acids and measured binding by microscale thermophoresis with NMR and crystallography alongside: affinity and binding pose were largely conserved, one variant gained 6.5-fold potency, and another lost affinity, which the authors attributed to lost hydrogen-bond contacts in the first solvation shell. Pramod and colleagues 2024 introduced adamantylglycine into a cell-penetrating peptide and found minimal influence on membrane transport, the point of the modification there being high-affinity capture by cucurbit[7]uril rather than improved permeation.
So the design rationale is real and the outcome is not predictable from it. Adamantylation raises lipophilicity and can slow exopeptidase attack, which is why the cage appears in the P021 series and in approved small molecules; it has also been measured leaving membrane transport unchanged and lowering binding affinity. Whether it helps a given peptide is an empirical question about that peptide.
One paper would speak directly to part of this. Shevchenko and colleagues 2013, in Doklady Biological Sciences, reported on the proteolytic stability of acetylated Semax in various biological media, and a companion paper from the same group examined analogues differing at the N-terminal residue. PubMed serves no abstract for either, and the publisher returned an authorisation gate rather than the text, so what they measured is recorded here as unread rather than summarised.
Registry and legal position
There is no approval for this molecule anywhere. It holds no marketing authorisation, no substance registration in the FDA system, no ClinicalTrials.gov entry and no investigational designation located this session. It is not an approved medicine in any jurisdiction, and the only official document in which the structure appears is a lapsed patent application that reports no experiment on it.
The parent occupies a different position, and the difference is often elided. Semax is described in the primary literature by the laboratory that developed it as a peptide used in the treatment of ischaemic stroke, and the secondary record states it has been registered in Russia as a 1 percent nasal preparation since 1994 and included on that country's list of vital and essential medicines. The Russian state register was not queried directly this session, so that registration is recorded here as asserted rather than verified. Neither the FDA nor the EMA has approved it; openFDA returns no label and no application for the name.
Approval of a parent does not extend to a derivative, and in this case there is no evidence that the derivative sold is the derivative named. The single supplier deposit in PubChem describes a molecule ending in alanine and glycine with no cage at all, while the name, the marketing and the patent language all describe one that carries it. Those are different substances, and nothing located this session says which is in the vial.
What is not known
Nothing is known about this molecule from experiment. There is no published study of any kind on it, so there is no pharmacokinetic profile, no receptor binding, no toxicology, no reproductive or chronic-exposure data, no immunogenicity work and no human exposure recorded anywhere in the literature or in any trial registry. It is not established which of the two circulating structures is actually supplied under the name, and the two differ by an entire adamantane cage; a purchaser and a supplier could each be describing a different compound in good faith. The parent's record does not close these gaps and has its own limits: the neurotrophin work comes overwhelmingly from one Moscow institute, sample sizes are absent from most retrieved abstracts, the human studies are small, largely open-label and published in Russian-language journals, and where PubMed's publication typing and a paper's own abstract disagree about whether a trial was randomised, that disagreement is unresolved here. No study has measured what N-terminal acetylation plus C-terminal adamantylation together do to this sequence, which is the one experiment that would make the parent's data relevant.
Questions
Has Adamax been studied in humans?
Does Adamax contain adamantane?
Where does the 8 to 10 hour half-life figure come from?
Does the Semax evidence transfer?
Is Adamax approved anywhere?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 9811102, Semax. C37H51N9O10S, 813.9 g/mol, CAS 80714-61-0, UNII I5FAL2585H, InChIKey AFEHBIGDWIGTEH-AQRCPPRCSA-N. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- PubChem Substance SID 513899171, Adamax. Chemical-supplier deposit; synonyms Adamax and Ac-Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro-Ala-Gly-OH; carries a catalogue number in place of a CAS and links to no compound record. A compound query on the name returns HTTP 404, PUGREST.NotFound. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 56599151, P021. C27H42N6O8, 578.7 g/mol. Used here to validate the mass arithmetic applied to the two circulating Adamax structures. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Vlasenko IV, Merkulova MA. Adrenocorticotropic hormone peptide compositions and methods of use. EP4404912A1, assignee Ferring BV; priority 22 September 2021, filed 26 July 2022, published 31 July 2024; family WO2023046336A1, US20250127843A1, CN117979954A. EP application deemed withdrawn with effect from 29 November 2025. View on patents.google.com
- Shevchenko KV, Nagaev IY, Alfeeva LY, Andreeva LA, Kamensky AA, Levitskaya NG, Shevchenko VP, Grivennikov IA, Myasoedov NF. Kinetics of Semax penetration into the brain and blood of rats after its intranasal administration. Bioorg Khim. 2006;32(1):64-70. In Russian. PMID 16523722 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Dolotov OV, Karpenko EA, Inozemtseva LS, et al. Semax, an analog of ACTH(4-10) with cognitive effects, regulates BDNF and trkB expression in the rat hippocampus. Brain Res. 2006;1117(1):54-60. PMID 16996037 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Dolotov OV, Karpenko EA, Seredenina TS, et al. Semax, an analogue of adrenocorticotropin (4-10), binds specifically and increases levels of brain-derived neurotrophic factor protein in rat basal forebrain. J Neurochem. 2006;97 Suppl 1:82-6. PMID 16635254 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Agapova TY, Agniullin YV, Shadrina MI, et al. Neurotrophin gene expression in rat brain under the action of Semax, an analogue of ACTH 4-10. Neurosci Lett. 2007;417(2):201-5. PMID 17353092 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Gusev EI, Martynov MY, Kostenko EV, Petrova LV, Bobyreva SN. The efficacy of semax in the treatment of patients at different stages of ischemic stroke. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2018;118(3 Vyp 2):61-68. In Russian. Typed by PubMed as a Clinical Trial. PMID 29798983 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Serdiuk AV, Levitskii GN, Myasoedov NF, Skvortsova VI. The study of chronic partial denervation and quality of life in patients with motor neuron disease treated with semax. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2007;107(4):29-39. In Russian. Typed by PubMed as a Randomized Controlled Trial; the abstract describes an open-label trial in sequential groups. PMID 18379501 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Lebedeva IS, Panikratova YR, Sokolov OY, et al. Effects of Semax on the Default Mode Network of the Brain. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2018;165(5):653-656. PMID 30225715 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Magri A, Tabbi G, Giuffrida A, et al. Influence of the N-terminus acetylation of Semax, a synthetic analog of ACTH(4-10), on copper(II) and zinc(II) coordination and biological properties. J Inorg Biochem. 2016;164:59-69. PMID 27586814 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Muller J, Kirschner RA, Berndt JP, et al. Diamondoid Amino Acid-Based Peptide Kinase A Inhibitor Analogues. ChemMedChem. 2019;14(6):663-672. PMID 30677243 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Pramod M, Alnajjar MA, Schopper SN, Schwarzlose T, Nau WM, Hennig A. Adamantylglycine as a high-affinity peptide label for membrane transport monitoring and regulation. Chem Commun (Camb). 2024;60(36):4810-4813. PMID 38602391 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Shevchenko KV, Nagaev IY, Andreeva LA, Shevchenko VP, Myasoedov NF. Stability of Semax acetyl to proteolysis in various biological media. Dokl Biol Sci. 2013;449:110-2. PubMed serves no abstract; publisher retrieval returned an authorisation gate and the text was not read. PMID 23652441 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Shevchenko KV, Nagaev IY, Andreeva LA, Alfeeva LY, Myasoedov NF. Study of proteolysis of Semax analogues with different N-terminal amino acids by carboxypeptidases. Dokl Biol Sci. 2013;450:146-8. No abstract served by PubMed. PMID 23821053 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov, searched 18 August 2026. Intervention and general-term queries on Adamax returned zero studies; the same queries on Semax returned zero studies. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- Medvedeva EV, Dmitrieva VG, Povarova OV, et al. The peptide semax affects the expression of genes related to the immune and vascular systems in rat brain focal ischemia: genome-wide transcriptional analysis. BMC Genomics. 2014;15:228. PMID 24661604 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.