Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Pinealon (EDR)

Pinealon is three amino acids — glutamic acid, aspartic acid, arginine — and the published account traces it not to the pineal gland its name invokes but to a calf cerebral cortex preparation. Almost every experiment comes from one institute in St Petersburg or its collaborators. ClinicalTrials.gov holds no registered study of it, and the one test from outside that circle, an eight-week mouse screen posted as a preprint in 2026, was funded by and coauthored with an association that raised money through a token named for the compound, and reported a non-significant trend.

Strongest evidence: Human dataA small cluster of unregistered Russian occupational and geriatric studies with no described randomisation or blinding; zero registered trials; no pharmacokinetic data in any species 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Synthetic linear tripeptide, described in the primary literature as isolated from, or derived from, the calf cerebral cortex polypeptide preparation Cortexin
CAS number
175175-23-2 (attested inside the PubChem record by the EPA DSSTox depositor; no FDA GSRS substance record exists to confirm it as primary)
PubChem CID
10273502
Molecular formula
C15H26N6O8
Molecular weight
418.40 g/mol
Sequence
Glu-Asp-Arg (EDR), a linear tripeptide with free N- and C-termini and no modification
Also indexed as
EDR, Glu-Asp-Arg, L-glutamyl-L-aspartyl-L-arginine, H-Glu-Asp-Arg-OH, E-D-R; ChEBI:156374; EPA DTXSID601359159. There is no FDA GSRS record and no UNII, and UniChem queried on the InChIKey returns eight chemical-database sources — ChEBI:156374, two SureChEMBL entries, PubChem 10273502, the EPA DSSTox identifier, a commercial supplier aggregator record, a compound-probe collection entry and an encyclopaedia entry — and no ChEMBL entry. PubChem lists "Pinealon acetate salt form" as a synonym of the free-base record, so the two forms are not separated there.

Three residues, and a gland that is not in the file

Pinealon is Glu-Asp-Arg: glutamic acid, aspartic acid, arginine, free amino and carboxyl termini, nothing appended. PubChem holds it as CID 10273502 with the molecular formula C15H26N6O8 and a molecular weight of 418.40 g/mol, and carries the CAS registry number 175175-23-2, attested within that record by the EPA DSSTox depositor. The registry trail stops there. A search of the FDA Global Substance Registration System returns no substance record and no UNII, and UniChem, queried on the compound's InChIKey, returns chemical-database identifiers only — ChEBI, PubChem, DSSTox and SureChEMBL among them, alongside a commercial supplier aggregator and a compound-probe collection — and no ChEMBL entry. Every identifier on this page comes from a chemical database rather than a regulatory one.

The name points at the pineal gland. The literature points somewhere else. Khavinson's 2020 review in Molecules describes EDR as a tripeptide isolated from Cortexin, which a 2019 paper in Molecular Biology from the same circle characterises as a clinically approved calf cerebral cortex polypeptide complex. That 2019 paper puts the origin differently again: two cortexin derivatives, EDR and the dipeptide DS, were synthesised. Isolation from a tissue extract and design from one are not the same claim about where a molecule came from, and the two accounts are nowhere reconciled. No publication reporting the isolation of Glu-Asp-Arg from pineal tissue, or from any tissue, was located.

One experiment has put this peptide on pineal tissue. Khavinson, Linkova and colleagues applied short peptides to organotypic cultures of pineal gland from three-month-old rats and measured three markers. The abstract names Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly and Lys-Glu-Asp as the peptides that raised the proliferation marker Ki-67, and states that synthesis of the transcription factor CGRP by pinealocytes was stimulated by Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly alone. Glu-Asp-Arg appears in that abstract once, in the sentence recording that expression of the apoptosis marker AIF did not change under any peptide tested. Whatever the compound does, the single published pineal experiment attributed no pineal effect to it.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Pups of methionine-loaded dams weighed 17.86 ± 3.05 g at ten days against 23.05 ± 1.45 g in control (p<0.05); pups of dams given methionine and pinealon weighed 25.03 ± 4.86 g (p<0.05 versus methionine). Offspring plasma homocysteine was not lowered: 5.6 ± 0.6 uM control, 9.8 ± 0.2 methionine, 10.5 ± 0.2 methionine plus pinealonOffspring of female Wistar rats with dietary-methionine hyperhomocysteinaemiaIntraperitoneal to the pregnant dam, 10 ug/kg daily for 5 days before methionine loading6 litters per group; homocysteine measured in 5, 4 and 4 offspring respectivelyArutjunyan 2012, Int J Clin Exp Med, PMID 22567179
Morris water maze, first trial of day two: platform reached in 112 s by intact pups, 170 s by methionine pups (p<0.01) and 137 s by methionine-plus-pinealon pups, reported as different from both other groups (p<0.05). By the fifth trial all three groups reached the platform in the same time45-day-old rat offspring, three groups as aboveMaternal intraperitoneal exposure only; no peptide given to the pups23 animals per groupArutjunyan 2012, Int J Clin Exp Med, PMID 22567179
After 30 min in 5 mM hydrogen peroxide, mean DCF fluorescence was 158.7 ± 3.8 arbitrary units in cells from methionine-loaded animals against 108.6 ± 4.1 in the pinealon group (p<0.05), and propidium-iodide-labelled cells 17.7 ± 2.1% against 7.0 ± 0.9% (p<0.05)Cerebellar granule cells isolated from 10-day-old rat pupsEx vivo flow cytometry after maternal intraperitoneal exposureEach sample in triplicate on 10,000 events; series reproduced from at least two littersArutjunyan 2012, Int J Clin Exp Med, PMID 22567179
Dendritic spine density on CA1 secondary dendrites rose 11%, 12.64 ± 0.31 against 11.31 ± 0.36 spines per 10 um (p = 0.039). In males density rose 13% (p = 0.019) and mushroom spines 25% (p = 0.004); in females density rose 12% (p = 0.035) with no change in mushroom spines (p = 0.681)5xFAD-M mice, examined at 5 months of ageIntraperitoneal, 400 ug/kg daily from 2 to 4 months of age10 per group (5 males, 5 females); the sex-split analysis therefore rests on 5 mice per sex per arm, stated in section 4.2 of the paperKhavinson 2021, Pharmaceuticals (Basel), PMID 34071923; correction PMID 39861198 states Figures 5 and 8 were the same figure described differently and replaces both
Under amyloid synaptotoxicity, EDR at 200 ng/ml raised the number of mushroom-shaped spines by 71% and returned the parameter to the untreated level; the tripeptide KED raised it by 20%Primary culture of mouse hippocampal neuronsIn vitro, 200 ng/mlNot stated in abstractKraskovskaya 2017, Bull Exp Biol Med, PMID 28853087; erratum PMID 28975591 corrects the acknowledgements only
Number of primary processes rose 28% (5.87 ± 0.5 against 4.59 ± 0.3, p = 0.0208) and total dendrite length 46% (395.9 ± 43 against 270.2 ± 25.5, p = 0.0332). 8-OHdG fell 23% (0.31 ± 0.03 against 0.40 ± 0.04) at p = 0.0566, described as significant in one sentence and near-significant in another. Mitochondrial activity, lysosomal activity, p16 and lamin B1 were unchangedInduced cortical neurons transdifferentiated from dermal fibroblasts of three women aged 61, 66 and 68In vitro, 10 ug/ml daily for 10 days3 donor cell linesKraskovskaya 2024, Int J Mol Sci, PMID 39518916
Dose-dependent restriction of reactive oxygen species accumulation under receptor-dependent and receptor-independent oxidative stress, with reduced necrotic death by propidium iodide, delayed ERK1/2 activation and cell-cycle modification at higher concentrations. No concentration, replicate count or effect size appears in the abstract, and the full text is subscription-onlyCerebellar granule cells, neutrophils and PC12 phaeochromocytoma cells; species not stated in the abstract and the full text could not be retrievedIn vitro; concentrations not stated in the abstractNot stated in abstractKhavinson 2011, Rejuvenation Res, PMID 21978084
Ki-67 expression was raised by Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly and Lys-Glu-Asp; CGRP synthesis by pinealocytes was stimulated by Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly alone. Glu-Asp-Arg is named only in the statement that expression of the apoptosis marker AIF was unaffected by any peptide testedOrganotypic pineal gland culture from 3-month-old ratsAdded to culture; concentrations not stated in abstractNot stated in abstractKhavinson 2011, Bull Exp Biol Med, PMID 22803060
Pinealon given before occlusion raised behavioural sleep and reduced position-finding behaviour, motivational behaviour and motor performance; caspase-3 activity rose moderately in both sham-operated animals and the occlusion modelOld rats, carotid artery occlusion modelRoute and dose not stated in abstractNot stated in abstractMendzheritskii 2011, Adv Gerontol, PMID 21809624
Fluorescein-labelled pinealon produced marked fluorescence in cytoplasm, nucleus and nucleolus. Stern-Volmer quenching constants differed by peptide sequence, with pinealon, epitalon and bronchogen binding preferentially to CNG-containing deoxyribooligonucleotides and discriminating cytosine methylation statusHeLa cells; synthetic deoxyribooligonucleotides and DNA in vitroIn vitro incubationNot stated in abstractFedoreyeva 2011, Biochemistry (Mosc), PMID 22117547
Reported anabolic effect and improved central nervous system activity, alongside prooxidant activity detected by chemiluminescence and a decrease in circulating CD34-positive haematopoietic cells characterised as significant inhibition of haemopoiesis. Vesugen was rated the more effective of the two peptidesPatients aged 41-83 with chronic polymorbidity and organic brain syndrome in remission; the abstract states 32 people and then 18 men and 12 womenNot stated in the abstract; no open full text32 stated, 30 itemisedMeshchaninov 2015, Adv Gerontol, PMID 26390612
No significant difference from control in Y-maze spontaneous alternation or total arm entries; the pinealon group showed a trend toward increased alternation which the authors record as non-significant. No adverse effects were detected on body weight, temperature, food intake, grip strength, locomotion or haematologySeven-month-old male C57BL/6J miceIntraperitoneal, 30 mg/kg twice weekly for 8 weeks5 mice per groupShort-Term Performance Assay Identifies Functional Benefits and Early Toxicity of Longevity Interventions in Mice, 2026 preprint, doi 10.21203/rs.3.rs-9682683/v1; not peer reviewed; funded by and coauthored with the Pump.Science Association
Pinealon crosses the blood-brain barrierPubMed searches on 18 August 2026 for 'pinealon AND (blood-brain barrier)' and 'Glu-Asp-Arg AND (blood-brain barrier)' each returned zero records. No permeability assay, no brain-uptake measurement and no central-versus-peripheral distribution study for this peptide exists in the indexed literature. The two publications cited in support of the claim measure something else: a 2011 fluorescence study (PMID 22117547) placed labelled peptide inside HeLa cells, a cervical carcinoma line in culture, and a 2023 modelling paper (PMID 36979488) docked 26 ultrashort peptides against the LAT1, LAT2 and PEPT1 transporters in software. Cellular uptake in a dish and a docking score are not barrier penetration.No source found
Oral pinealon improved memory and headache in 72 patients with consequences of traumatic brain injuryThe figure appears in the 2020 Molecules review (PMID 33396470), which attributes it to its reference 11: Umnov, Linkova and Khavinson, Advances in Gerontology 2013;26:671-678 (PMID 24738258). That paper is itself a review, not a report of the cohort. A Europe PMC full-text search for ('pinealon' OR 'Glu-Asp-Arg') AND '72 patients' returned exactly one hit, the review making the claim. No primary publication describing 72 such patients was located in PubMed or Europe PMC.No source found
In patients with long-term consequences of traumatic brain injury, pinealon reduced errors on the correction test and raised the alpha index on EEGThe 2020 Molecules review attributes this to its reference 13, which is Israel Patent 194346 (Khavinson, Grigoriev, Malinin, Ryzhak, 'Tripeptide having a stimulating effect on the regeneration of neurons'). A patent specification is not a peer-reviewed account of a clinical experiment and carries no protocol, no arm sizes and no analysis. Searches of PubMed and Europe PMC for any indexed publication reporting correction-test or electroencephalographic data after pinealon returned nothing.No source found
Half-life, oral bioavailability and clearance figures for pinealonPubMed searches on 18 August 2026 for 'pinealon AND pharmacokinetics', 'pinealon AND bioavailability' and 'pinealon AND half-life' each returned zero records. No absorption, distribution, metabolism or excretion measurement in any species was located. There is also no route to a regulatory dossier: the FDA Global Substance Registration System holds no record and no UNII for this substance, UniChem returns no ChEMBL entry, and pinealon was not among the peptides FDA evaluated for the section 503A list in 2026, so no agency review of its pharmacokinetics exists to be cited.No source found
Pinealon regulates melatonin production and circadian rhythmSearches for 'pinealon AND melatonin' and 'Glu-Asp-Arg AND melatonin' each returned zero PubMed records. No melatonin measurement of any kind following exposure to this peptide was located, in any species or preparation. The one published experiment on pineal tissue (PMID 22803060) reported the pineal-specific effects for Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly and named Glu-Asp-Arg only in the sentence recording an unchanged apoptosis marker. The circadian framing appears to be inherited from the compound's name and from the separate literature on epitalon.No source found
Pinealon lengthens telomeres or extends lifespan'pinealon AND telomere' returned zero PubMed records; 'Glu-Asp-Arg AND telomere' returned one, a 2016 commentary on irisin (PMID 26742748) that proposes gene-expression modulation as a hypothesis and reports no telomere measurement for this peptide. 'pinealon AND life span' and 'pinealon AND longevity' each returned a single occupational paper that measures neither. No survival or lifespan experiment has been published in any species. The only mouse study to place pinealon in a longevity panel is the 2026 preprint, which ran eight weeks and recorded no survival endpoint.No source found
A settled human oral regimen for this compoundRegimens of this shape circulate on vendor product pages and aggregator sites as settled practice. The only published figure resembling them sits inside one occupational study (PMID 22708445), which describes workers of locomotive brigades using a capsule containing 100 micrograms of pinealon twice a day for two weeks, and reports no sample size, no control group and no randomisation in its abstract. No dose-ranging or dose-response study exists in any species. The 2026 mouse preprint used 30 mg/kg intraperitoneally, and its own text states 30 mg/kg/day in the methods while the results describe twice-weekly injection; that internal discrepancy could not be resolved from the preprint.No source found
Pinealon is a pineal gland peptide, a natural regulator found in pineal tissueNo paper reporting the isolation or detection of Glu-Asp-Arg in pineal tissue was located in PubMed or Europe PMC. The published origin accounts point to the cerebral cortex and disagree with each other: the 2020 Molecules review (PMID 33396470) describes EDR as isolated from Cortexin, a calf cerebral cortex polypeptide preparation, while a 2019 Molecular Biology paper from the same circle (PMID 31099784) describes EDR and the dipeptide DS as cortexin derivatives that were synthesised. This is the same failure mode documented for epitalon and the bovine pineal extract epithalamin, running in the opposite direction.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

Where the peptide has been shown to go

The distribution work is one paper and it was done in a dish. Fedoreyeva and colleagues incubated HeLa cells with fluorescein-labelled short peptides — epitalon, pinealon and testagen among them — and recorded fluorescence in cytoplasm, nucleus and nucleolus. The same study measured how the unlabelled peptides quenched fluorescence of labelled deoxyribooligonucleotides and of DNA-ethidium bromide complexes, and reported Stern-Volmer constants that differed with peptide sequence. Pinealon, epitalon and bronchogen bound preferentially to oligonucleotides containing CNG, the context in which eukaryotic cytosine methylation occurs, and the constants distinguished methylated from unmethylated targets. A cervical carcinoma line in culture is the whole of the evidence that this peptide enters a nucleus.

Two later studies pursued the binding rather than the delivery. In 2019 a biophysics group at St Petersburg State University, without Khavinson as an author, examined the EDR-DNA interaction by spectroscopy, NMR, viscosimetry and molecular dynamics, and reported that the peptide can partly enter the major groove and reach the N7 and O6 atoms of guanine, with magnesium promoting the interaction by screening phosphate charge. A 2013 paper reported binding of six short peptides, EDR included, to fluorescein-labelled wheat histones H1, H2B, H3 and H4, the pattern depending on histone, peptide sequence and oligonucleotide. Wheat histones and free DNA in a cuvette establish that the chemistry is possible, not that it occurs in a brain.

Almost everything downstream of that is computational. Khavinson's group has published molecular modelling placing EDR at binding sites in the promoter regions of CASP3, NES, GAP43, APOE, SOD2, PPARA, PPARG and a gene printed as GDX1, and separate docking work reporting that EDR scores better against the LAT1, LAT2 and PEPT1 transporters than most of 8,400 di- and tripeptides with no established activity. Docking scores are affinity hypotheses generated in software. A 2014 report pairs the two modes in one paper: serotonin expression rose in ageing cultures of brain cortex cells under EDR and Lys-Glu-Asp, and a CCTGCC sequence in the tryptophan hydroxylase gene was identified as complementary to the peptides by docking. The measurement and the mechanism sit side by side, joined by no experiment.

Free radicals, and what the antioxidant framing omits

The cell-viability result is the least legible experiment on this compound. Khavinson, Ribakova, Kulebiakin and colleagues reported in Rejuvenation Research in 2011 that pinealon restricted reactive oxygen species accumulation in cerebellar granule cells, neutrophils and PC12 phaeochromocytoma cells under receptor-dependent and receptor-independent oxidative stress, described as dose-dependent, and reduced necrotic death measured by propidium iodide uptake. ERK1/2 activation was delayed and the cell cycle modified. The abstract gives no concentrations, no replicate counts, no effect sizes and no species for the granule cells or the neutrophils; the full text is subscription-only with no PubMed Central deposit and could not be retrieved for this page.

An earlier pair of papers from the same programme complicates the antioxidant reading. Testing pinealon alongside vilon, vesugen and epitalon in vitro, Kozina and colleagues reported that the peptides showed no direct antioxidant activity, that they restricted lipid peroxidation of human lipoproteins by modifying lipoprotein structure instead, and that they raised the stationary level of intracellular reactive oxygen species while lowering the percentage of dead cells in a neuronal population. A companion paper on hypobaric hypoxia named pinealon the most pronounced of the four and attributed the effect to stimulation of endogenous antioxidant enzymes rather than to suppression of the radical rise.

Recent culture work is more precise than its own summary. In 2024 Kraskovskaya and colleagues transdifferentiated dermal fibroblasts from three elderly women, aged 61, 66 and 68, into induced cortical neurons and applied EDR at 10 micrograms per millilitre daily for ten days. Primary processes rose 28% and total dendrite length 46%, both significant. The 8-OHdG marker of oxidative DNA damage fell 23%, at p = 0.0566. The results section calls that decrease statistically significant in one sentence and very close to significant two sentences later, the conclusions call it almost reliable, and the abstract states without qualification that EDR reduces oxidative DNA damage. Mitochondrial activity, lysosomal activity, p16 and lamin B1 did not move.

The rat experiments

Arutjunyan and colleagues ran the one in vivo study that reports its numbers in full. Female Wistar rats were loaded with methionine in drinking water from the second trimester of pregnancy, raising plasma homocysteine roughly five-fold; a third group received pinealon intraperitoneally at 10 micrograms per kilogram daily for five days before the loading began. Six litters per group. Pups of methionine dams weighed 17.86 grams at ten days against 23.05 grams in control, and pups of dams given both weighed 25.03 grams. Offspring homocysteine was not corrected: 5.6 micromolar in control, 9.8 with methionine, 10.5 with methionine and pinealon together.

Behaviour was measured in 23 animals per group at 45 days in a Morris water maze. On the first trial of the second day, intact pups reached the platform in 112 seconds, methionine pups in 170, and methionine-plus-pinealon pups in 137, a figure the authors report as differing from both other groups. Across the remaining trials the gap narrowed, and by the fifth trial all three groups reached the platform in the same time. Cerebellar granule cells taken from ten-day-old pups and challenged with 5 millimolar hydrogen peroxide showed mean DCF fluorescence of 158.7 in the methionine group against 108.6 in the combined group, and 17.7% against 7.0% propidium-iodide-labelled cells.

Not every rodent result runs the same way. In old rats subjected to carotid artery occlusion, Mendzheritskii and colleagues reported that pinealon given beforehand raised behavioural sleep and reduced position-finding behaviour, motivational behaviour and motor performance, and that caspase-3 activity increased moderately both in sham-operated animals and in the occlusion model. Group sizes appear in no abstract in this series. A 2014 report on acute hypoxic hypoxia describes Cortexin as reducing the capacity of brain tissue for programmed cell death while pinealon acted on interleukin-6 and tumour necrosis factor, and a 2015 comparison in 18-month-old rats placed Cortexin ahead of pinealon on free-radical measures and caspase-3.

The Alzheimer's model, and a correction that reached its images

Two publications carry the neuroprotection claim. In 2017, in primary culture of mouse hippocampal neurons under amyloid synaptotoxicity, Kraskovskaya and colleagues reported that EDR at 200 nanograms per millilitre raised the count of mushroom-shaped spines by 71% and returned it to the untreated level, against 20% for the tripeptide KED. Replicate counts do not appear in the abstract. PubMed attaches a correction to that paper at PMID 28975591; it was retrieved and read, and it changes the acknowledgements to name a Russian Science Foundation grant. It touches no datum.

The in vivo version followed in Pharmaceuticals in 2021. 5xFAD-M mice received EDR intraperitoneally at 400 micrograms per kilogram daily from two to four months of age and were examined at five months. Spine density on CA1 secondary dendrites rose 11%, from 11.31 to 12.64 spines per ten micrometres, at p = 0.039. Split by sex, males gained 13% in density and 25% in mushroom spines, at p = 0.019 and p = 0.004; females gained 12% in density with no change in mushroom spines, at p = 0.681. Section 4.2 of the paper gives ten animals per group, five of each sex, so the sex-split result rests on five mice per sex per arm.

That sex difference rests on two figures, and both were replaced. In January 2025 Pharmaceuticals published a correction stating that Figures 5 and 8 of the paper were the same figure described differently. Figure 5 presents confocal images of CA1 secondary dendrites in male M-line and 5xFAD-M mice; Figure 8 presents the female series. The authors supplied corrected versions and stated that the scientific conclusions are unaffected. PubMed types the notice as a published erratum, with no retraction and no expression of concern, and a publication-type and corrections scan across the thirty-one records reviewed for this page returned no other integrity flag.

People, and the registry

Human publications exist, in one journal, in Russian, with no randomisation described. Advances in Gerontology carries an occupational cluster: locomotive-brigade workers given 100-microgram capsules twice daily for two weeks, reported as improving biological-age parameters, with no sample size in the abstract; a work-ability-index comparison; and a 2016 monitoring study across 110 people of different ages setting pinealon and vesugen against dry carbon dioxide baths, hyperbaric oxygen and therapeutic massage. A 2015 study by a Yekaterinburg group enrolled 32 patients aged 41 to 83 with polymorbidity and organic brain syndrome in remission, and describes them in the same sentence as 18 men and 12 women, which is 30.

Two findings in that 2015 report rarely travel with it. Its authors recorded prooxidant activity by chemiluminescence, and a fall in circulating CD34-positive haematopoietic cells that they characterised as significant inhibition of haemopoiesis. They also rated vesugen the more effective of the two peptides. The single publication PubMed types as a clinical trial is a 2012 study of 150 lorry drivers against 150 metal craftsmen, which characterises psychoadaptive disorders in both occupations and then reports, in a closing sentence carrying p values and no arm sizes, that bioregulating peptides restored adaptive potential, best in combination.

ClinicalTrials.gov holds no study of this compound. Queries run on 18 August 2026 returned zero registered studies for pinealon and zero for vesugen; a query for EDR peptide returned one, NCT00848302, an L-arginine endothelial-function study with no relation to this peptide, and a query for Glu-Asp-Arg returned 26 unrelated amino-acid trials, which confirmed the endpoint was live. Pinealon was not among the seven substances before the FDA Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee on 23 and 24 July 2026. The first test by a group independent of the St Petersburg institute appeared in 2026 as a preprint from a Swiss contract research group, VivoArchitect, with animal work run through the University of Zaragoza: seven-month-old male C57BL/6J mice, five per group, 30 milligrams per kilogram intraperitoneally twice weekly for eight weeks, screened beside four other candidate interventions. Y-maze alternation and arm entries showed no significant difference from control, and the authors record a trend and label it non-significant. That study is not disinterested either. It was funded by the Pump.Science Association, whose award field names a token bearing this compound's ticker, and a coauthor is affiliated with that association; the abstract advertises the work as the first comprehensive preclinical ageing study in mice fully funded through tokenised decentralised science.

What is not known

No registered human trial of this compound exists anywhere. On 18 August 2026 ClinicalTrials.gov returned zero studies for pinealon and zero for vesugen, and the one record returned for EDR peptide, NCT00848302, is an L-arginine endothelial-function study unrelated to this peptide, so no dose-ranging, pharmacokinetic, safety or efficacy work in people has been registered, let alone reported. Nothing is known about absorption, distribution, metabolism or clearance in any species, which means the relationship between an administered amount and any tissue concentration is unestablished; the intraperitoneal doses in the rodent literature span 10 micrograms per kilogram to 30 milligrams per kilogram, a three-thousand-fold range chosen without any published dose-response study to anchor it. Whether the peptide reaches brain tissue after any route of administration has not been measured. Immunogenicity, reproductive and developmental toxicity, chronic exposure, genotoxicity and carcinogenicity have not been assessed. Group sizes are absent from most of the primary abstracts, several of which are Russian-language reports in a single journal that describe neither randomisation, blinding, nor a placebo arm. The great majority of the record originates with one institute in St Petersburg and its collaborators, so almost nothing here has been produced independently; the one study from outside that circle, an eight-week screen in five mice per group, was itself funded by and coauthored with an association that allocated fees from a token named for this compound, and it found no significant effect. Pinealon is not an approved medicine in any jurisdiction, holds no UNII and no ChEMBL entry, and material sold outside a registered trial has been subject to no identity, purity or sterility control.

Questions

Is pinealon the same thing as epitalon?
No. Epitalon is the tetrapeptide Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly, assembled from the amino acid composition of a bovine pineal gland extract. Pinealon is the tripeptide Glu-Asp-Arg, described in the primary literature as isolated from or derived from Cortexin, a calf cerebral cortex preparation. They share an originating laboratory and a research programme, not a sequence or a source tissue. Where both have been tested side by side the results diverge: in organotypic pineal culture (PMID 22803060) the proliferation marker Ki-67 and the marker the abstract calls the transcription factor CGRP responded to Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly, and Glu-Asp-Arg is named only in the sentence reporting an unchanged apoptosis marker.
Has pinealon ever been in a registered clinical trial?
No. Searches of ClinicalTrials.gov on 18 August 2026 returned zero registered studies for pinealon and zero for vesugen; a search for EDR peptide returned one record, NCT00848302, an L-arginine endothelial-function study with no relation to this peptide, and a control query on Glu-Asp-Arg returned 26 unrelated amino-acid trials, confirming the endpoint was responding. PubMed indexes one publication under the Clinical Trial type, a 2012 study of 150 lorry drivers and 150 metal craftsmen in Advances in Gerontology (PMID 23734521) whose abstract describes psychoadaptive disorders in both occupations and reports the peptide result in a single closing sentence, with p values and no arm sizes.
Does pinealon cross the blood-brain barrier?
No published measurement addresses that question. PubMed searches for pinealon and Glu-Asp-Arg against blood-brain barrier each returned zero records on 18 August 2026. The evidence usually offered in support is a 2011 experiment showing fluorescein-labelled peptide inside HeLa cells (PMID 22117547) and a 2023 docking study scoring 26 short peptides against amino acid and peptide transporters (PMID 36979488). Neither involves a barrier. Rodent studies have given the peptide intraperitoneally and measured brain endpoints afterwards, which is consistent with central action and does not demonstrate it.
Why does a peptide named after the pineal gland come from a cortex preparation?
The record does not explain it. Khavinson's 2020 review in Molecules (PMID 33396470) describes EDR as a tripeptide isolated from Cortexin, characterised elsewhere in the same literature as a clinically approved calf cerebral cortex polypeptide complex. A 2019 Molecular Biology paper from the same circle (PMID 31099784) instead describes EDR and the dipeptide DS as cortexin derivatives that were synthesised. Isolation and design are different claims, and neither one places the molecule in the pineal gland. No report of Glu-Asp-Arg being found in pineal tissue was located.
What is pinealon's regulatory status?
It is not an approved medicine anywhere and carries no regulatory identity. The FDA Global Substance Registration System returns no record and no UNII for it, and UniChem, queried on its InChIKey, returns chemical database identifiers with no ChEMBL entry. Pinealon was not among the seven substances the FDA Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee considered for the section 503A list on 23 and 24 July 2026; that meeting covered BPC-157, KPV, TB-500, MOTS-c, emideltide, semax and epitalon. No approval, orphan designation or pharmacopoeial monograph for pinealon was located in any jurisdiction.

References

  1. PubChem Compound Summary CID 10273502, Glu-Asp-Arg. Molecular formula C15H26N6O8, molecular weight 418.40 g/mol, InChIKey QPRZKNOOOBWXSU-CIUDSAMLSA-N. CAS 175175-23-2 is carried in this record under the EPA DSSTox depositor entry DTXSID601359159. Synonyms include pinealon, EDR and 'Pinealon acetate salt form'. No FDA GSRS substance record or UNII exists; UniChem, queried on the InChIKey, returns eight sources - ChEBI:156374, two SureChEMBL entries, PubChem, DSSTox, a commercial supplier aggregator, a compound-probe collection and an encyclopaedia entry - and no ChEMBL entry. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. Arutjunyan A, Kozina L, Stvolinskiy S, Bulygina Y, Mashkina A, Khavinson V. Pinealon protects the rat offspring from prenatal hyperhomocysteinemia. Int J Clin Exp Med. 2012;5(2):179-185. PMID 22567179, PMC3342713. The only in vivo study on this compound whose full text reports group sizes, weights, latencies and cytometry values. View on pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  3. Khavinson V, Ribakova Y, Kulebiakin K, Vladychenskaya E, Kozina L, Arutjunyan A, Boldyrev A. Pinealon increases cell viability by suppression of free radical levels and activating proliferative processes. Rejuvenation Res. 2011;14(5):535-541. PMID 21978084. Subscription-only with no PubMed Central deposit; cited here from its abstract, which states no concentrations, replicate counts or effect sizes, and no species for the granule cells or the neutrophils. View on doi.org
  4. Khavinson V, Ilina A, Kraskovskaya N, Linkova N, Kolchina N, Mironova E, et al. Neuroprotective Effects of Tripeptides-Epigenetic Regulators in Mouse Model of Alzheimer's Disease. Pharmaceuticals (Basel). 2021;14(6):515. PMID 34071923. Section 4.2 states ten animals per experimental group, five males and five females. Carries a published correction, Pharmaceuticals 2025;18(1):111, PMID 39861198, which states that Figures 5 and 8 were the same figure described differently and replaces both. Figure 5 is the male dendrite series and Figure 8 the female series. No retraction or expression of concern. View on doi.org
  5. Correction: Khavinson et al. Neuroprotective Effects of Tripeptides-Epigenetic Regulators in Mouse Model of Alzheimer's Disease. Pharmaceuticals (Basel). 2025;18(1):111. PMID 39861198, PMC11769113. Full text retrieved; the authors supply corrected figures and state the scientific conclusions are unaffected. View on doi.org
  6. Kraskovskaya NA, Kukanova EO, Lin'kova NS, Popugaeva EA, Khavinson VK. Tripeptides Restore the Number of Neuronal Spines under Conditions of In Vitro Modeled Alzheimer's Disease. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2017;163(4):550-553. PMID 28853087. Carries an erratum, Bull Exp Biol Med 2017;163(5):699, PMID 28975591, whose entire content is a correction to the acknowledgements naming Russian Science Foundation grant 14-25-00024-P. No data are affected. View on doi.org
  7. Kraskovskaya N, Linkova N, Sakhenberg E, Krieger D, Polyakova V, Medvedev D, et al. Short Peptides Protect Fibroblast-Derived Induced Neurons from Age-Related Changes. Int J Mol Sci. 2024;25(21):11363. PMID 39518916. The 8-OHdG reduction attributed to EDR is described as statistically significant in one sentence of the results and as p = 0.0566 two sentences later; the abstract states the reduction without qualification. View on doi.org
  8. Khavinson V, Linkova N, Kozhevnikova E, Trofimova S. EDR Peptide: Possible Mechanism of Gene Expression and Protein Synthesis Regulation Involved in the Pathogenesis of Alzheimer's Disease. Molecules. 2020;26(1):159. PMID 33396470. Source of the description of EDR as isolated from Cortexin, and of the 72-patient traumatic brain injury claim, which it attributes to a review (PMID 24738258), and of the correction-test and EEG claim, which it attributes to Israel Patent 194346. View on doi.org
  9. Kuznik BI, Davydov SO, Popravka ES, Lin'kova NS, Kozina LS, Khavinson VK. [Epigenetic Mechanisms of Peptide-Driven Regulation and Neuroprotective Protein FKBP1b]. Mol Biol (Mosk). 2019;53(2):339-348. PMID 31099784. Describes EDR and the dipeptide DS as cortexin derivatives that were synthesised, which conflicts with the isolation account in reference r8. View on doi.org
  10. Khavinson VKh, Linkova NS, Chalisova NI, Dudkov AV, Koncevaya EA. Effect of short peptides on expression of signaling molecules in organotypic pineal cell culture. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2011;152(1):138-141. PMID 22803060. The only published experiment applying this peptide to pineal tissue. Its abstract labels CGRP a transcription factor; CGRP is a neuropeptide, and the label is reported here as the source's, not adopted. View on doi.org
  11. Fedoreyeva LI, Kireev II, Khavinson VKh, Vanyushin BF. Penetration of short fluorescence-labeled peptides into the nucleus in HeLa cells and in vitro specific interaction of the peptides with deoxyribooligonucleotides and DNA. Biochemistry (Mosc). 2011;76(11):1210-1219. PMID 22117547. View on doi.org
  12. Silanteva IA, Komolkin AV, Morozova EA, Vorontsov-Velyaminov PN, Kasyanenko NA. Role of Mono- and Divalent Ions in Peptide Glu-Asp-Arg-DNA Interaction. J Phys Chem B. 2019;123(9):1896-1902. PMID 30762356. A St Petersburg State University biophysics group with no author in common with the originating laboratory. Companion histone work: Fedoreyeva LI, Smirnova TA, Kolomijtseva GY, Khavinson VKh, Vanyushin BF. Biochemistry (Mosc). 2013;78(2):166-175, PMID 23581987. View on doi.org
  13. Khavinson VKh, Lin'kova NS, Tarnovskaya SI, Umnov RS, Elashkina EV, Durnova AO. Short peptides stimulate serotonin expression in cells of brain cortex. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2014;157(1):77-80. PMID 24909721. Transporter docking work: Khavinson V, et al. Feasibility of Transport of 26 Biologically Active Ultrashort Peptides via LAT and PEPT Family Transporters. Biomolecules. 2023, PMID 36979488. View on doi.org
  14. Kozina LS. [Investigation of antihypoxic properties of short peptides]. Adv Gerontol. 2008;21(1):61-67. PMID 18546825. Companion: Kozina LS, Arutiunian AV, Stvolinskii SL, Khavinson VKh. [Biological activity of regulatory peptides in model experiments in vitro]. Adv Gerontol. 2008;21(1):68-73. PMID 18546826, which reports no direct antioxidant activity and an increase in the stationary intracellular reactive oxygen species level alongside a fall in dead cells. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Mendzheritskii AM, Karantysh GV, Ivonina KO. [Effects of introduction of short peptides before carotid artery occlusion on behaviour and caspase-3 activity in the brain of old rats]. Adv Gerontol. 2011;24(1):74-79. PMID 21809624. Related reports from the same group: PMID 25051764 (acute hypoxic hypoxia, cytokines and caspase-3), PMID 28976148 (Morris labyrinth, caspase-3 by brain region), PMID 28509493 (18-month-old rats, hypoxia and hypothermia). View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. Meshchaninov VN, Tkachenko EL, Zharkov SV, Gavrilov IV, Katyreva IuE. [Effect of synthetic peptides on aging of patients with chronic polymorbidity and organic brain syndrome of the central nervous system in remission]. Adv Gerontol. 2015;28(1):62-67. PMID 26390612. Reports prooxidant activity by chemiluminescence and a decrease in CD34-positive cells. The abstract states 32 participants and itemises 18 men and 12 women, and states no route of administration. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. Bashkireva AS, Artamonova VG. [The peptide correction of neurotic disorders among professional truck-drivers]. Adv Gerontol. 2012;25(4):718-728. PMID 23734521. The only pinealon publication PubMed types as a Clinical Trial. Related occupational reports: Nazimko VA, et al. Adv Gerontol. 2012;25(1):57-62, PMID 22708445 (locomotive brigades, a capsule containing 100 micrograms twice a day for two weeks, no sample size stated); Myakotnykh VS, et al. Adv Gerontol. 2016;29(4):594-601, PMID 28539017 (110 people, comparison of geroprotective methods). View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. Marin-Jerez E, Rueda-Carrasco J, Melendez-Rodriguez F, Partido-Borge P, Tapia E, Leibowitz BD, Parras A. Short-Term Performance Assay Identifies Functional Benefits and Early Toxicity of Longevity Interventions in Mice. Preprint, 2026, doi 10.21203/rs.3.rs-9682683/v1 (Research Square, posted 16 June 2026), also posted as doi 10.64898/2026.02.25.707674 (bioRxiv, 26 February 2026). Not peer reviewed. Authors are affiliated with VivoArchitect Sarl, Epalinges, Switzerland, with animal work through the Animal Unit of the University of Zaragoza, Spain, and one author with the Pump.Science Association, Zug, Switzerland. Seven-month-old male C57BL/6J mice, five per group; pinealon 30 mg/kg intraperitoneally twice weekly for eight weeks; no significant difference from control in Y-maze alternation or arm entries. Crossref names Pump.science Association as funder, award field '$BOODS; $TROL; $RAPTOR; $BLUPILL; $PNL'. View on doi.org

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.