Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
DSIP (Delta Sleep-Inducing Peptide)
DSIP is a nine-residue peptide, Trp-Ala-Gly-Gly-Asp-Ala-Ser-Gly-Glu, isolated in 1977 from the cerebral venous blood of rabbits and later assigned the International Nonproprietary Name emideltide. It is one of the few compounds in this category whose central claim was tested by independent groups and did not hold. Two double-blind insomnia studies run outside the originating collaboration found no clinically meaningful effect, and in the most recent human study delta rhythm was significantly reduced at 25 nmol/kg during isoflurane anaesthesia. ClinicalTrials.gov returns no registered study.
- Class
- Nonapeptide (GSRS substance class: protein); isolated from rabbit cerebral venous blood 1977 and subsequently synthesised; INN emideltide, INN code 7202
- CAS number
- 62568-57-4
- PubChem CID
- 68816
- Molecular formula
- C35H48N10O15
- Molecular weight
- 848.8 g/mol
- Sequence
- WAGGDASGE (Trp-Ala-Gly-Gly-Asp-Ala-Ser-Gly-Glu, 9 residues)
- Also indexed as
- Emideltide, DSIP, delta sleep-inducing peptide, delta sleep peptide, H-WAGGDASGE-OH; UNII YN28Z5YZ73; ChEMBL2104403; INN 7202; InChIKey ZRZROXNBKJAOKB-GFVHOAGBSA-N
Identity and nomenclature
Delta sleep-inducing peptide carries a second registered name. The FDA Global Substance Registration System files it under UNII YN28Z5YZ73, where the primary name is emideltide, the International Nonproprietary Name entry is INN 7202, and the registered subunit sequence is WAGGDASGE. PubChem holds a single record for it: CID 68816, CAS 62568-57-4, molecular formula C35H48N10O15, molecular weight 848.8 g/mol, InChIKey ZRZROXNBKJAOKB-GFVHOAGBSA-N. ChEMBL indexes it as CHEMBL2104403. Both registries agree on the nine-residue chain Trp-Ala-Gly-Gly-Asp-Ala-Ser-Gly-Glu. The naming aside, there is no ambiguity about which molecule the name denotes.
A second CAS registry number, 69431-45-4, sits on the same GSRS record flagged as having no structure given, and it circulates on catalogue documentation alongside the primary number. Both numbers appear on that one registry entry. The FDA evaluation published in May 2026 went further and judged the substance not well characterised, citing naming conventions across the literature that do not follow USAN, INN or IUPAC standards, and the absence from the published record of specific tests for impurities, aggregates and endotoxins.
The May 2026 evaluation also recorded that the reported water solubility is limited enough that it is unclear how an injectable preparation at 1 mg/mL could be formulated without a co-solvent, and raised aggregation and immunogenicity as open questions for a nine-residue peptide delivered by injection. No published study addresses either question, and the evaluation records both as gaps in the publicly available scientific literature. The two nominations proposed a subcutaneous route, for which the same document identified no pharmacokinetic or toxicokinetic study at all.
Claim ledger
12 of 19 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Of nine synthetic peptides infused under double-blind conditions, only the full nonapeptide gave significant and specific enhancement of delta and spindle EEG patterns. In the companion report the mean increase in delta activity was 35 per cent in neocortex and limbic cortex against controls at 6 nmol/kg, and only the pure alpha-aspartyl peptide was highly active, in contrast to its beta-Asp isomer, which the report does not describe as wholly inactive | Rabbits, including controls | Intraventricular infusion; 6 nmol/kg over 3.5 min in the companion report | 58 in the 1977 report and 61 in the 1978 report | Schoenenberger and Monnier 1977, Proc Natl Acad Sci USA, PMID 265572; Schoenenberger 1978, Pflugers Arch, PMID 568769 |
| No significant increase in sleep or EEG delta-band power in the 2 h after dosing; delta-band power was reduced after 7 nmol into the third ventricle; motor activity not significantly reduced over 24 h; the authors concluded the peptide does not qualify as a specific sleep-promoting substance | Rats | Intraperitoneal 40-160 nmol/kg; intracerebroventricular 7-24 nmol | Not stated per group in the retrieved report | Tobler and Borbely 1980, Waking Sleeping, PMID 7405185 |
| Four intracerebroventricular doses of 5 micrograms during the waking period significantly increased both REM and non-REM sleep at the expense of waking, and pre-treatment with naloxone blocked that increase. FDA's 2026 evaluation records the same study as 6 nmol/kg intracerebroventricularly with naloxone 0.1 mg/kg subcutaneously; the primary report and FDA's summary are both set down rather than reconciled | Rats | Intracerebroventricular, 4 x 5 micrograms; naloxone pre-treatment | Not stated in the retrieved report | Young and Key 1984, Neuropharmacology 23(11):1347-50, PMID 6549349 |
| Mean plasma half-life 4.0 +/- 0.7 min and metabolic clearance rate 30.7 +/- 2.5 mL/kg/min in dogs; 2.0 +/- 0.54 min in rats and 2.9 min in one monkey. FDA's 2026 evaluation reports the same study's dog half-life as a 3-6 minute range and the dog doses as approximately 0.05-0.1 mg/kg, and the rat and monkey values as approximately 2-3 min; the two are recorded here rather than reconciled | Anaesthetised dogs; rats; one monkey | Intravenous, 1-2 mg per dog as stated in the primary report | 4 dogs, 3 rats, 1 monkey | Kato 1984, Neuroendocrinology, PMID 6379493 |
| Third-ventricle injection of 5 micrograms raised luteinising hormone within 30 minutes and left follicle-stimulating hormone unchanged, with no response from dispersed pituitary cells in vitro (PMID 3121137); somatostatin release was inhibited dose-dependently in vitro, maximally at 10^-8 M and blocked by pimozide at 10^-6 M, with female tissue less sensitive than male (PMID 2886936); after four hours of sleep deprivation, which raised slow-wave sleep and plasma growth hormone, third-ventricle microinjection of a specific antiserum blocked both increases where normal rabbit serum did not (PMID 3368469) | Long-term ovariectomised Sprague-Dawley rats (luteinising hormone); male and female rat median eminence fragments (somatostatin); male rats (antiserum) | Third-ventricle microinjection, 5 micrograms; in vitro incubation for the somatostatin work | Not stated per group in the retrieved reports | Iyer and McCann 1987, Brain Res Bull, PMID 3121137; Iyer and McCann 1987, Neuroendocrinology, PMID 2886936; Iyer, Marks, Kastin and McCann 1988, Proc Natl Acad Sci USA, PMID 3368469 |
| Median total sleep time in the 130 min after infusion 59 per cent higher than placebo; delayed effects on the following night were shorter sleep onset, less stage 1 and better sleep efficiency; no sedation on behavioural or EEG analysis | Healthy volunteers, 4 male and 2 female | Intravenous infusion, 25 nmol/kg, morning | 6 | Schneider-Helmert 1981, Int J Clin Pharmacol Ther Toxicol, PMID 6895513 |
| In the 1986 study sleep improved to normal values by the end of dosing in the middle-aged subgroup and by the end of the follow-up week in the elderly subgroup, with effect size correlated with baseline severity of sleep disturbance. In the 1987 study night sleep improved with the first and with repeated doses, the effect was maintained for the first post-treatment placebo night, and daytime alertness and mental performance increased | Chronic psychophysiological insomniacs aged 29-83 (1986); middle-aged chronic insomniacs (1987) | Intravenous, 6 x 30 nmol/kg over one week (1986); intravenous on 7 successive nights, placebo-controlled and double-blind (1987) | 18 (1986) and 14 (1987) | Schneider-Helmert 1986, Eur Neurol, PMID 3792404; Schneider-Helmert 1987, Eur Neurol 27(2):120-9, PMID 3622582 |
| Monti: total sleep and non-REM sleep time increased, carried by stage 2, while stage 1, slow-wave sleep and REM sleep were not modified; significant differences from placebo were already present at baseline; the improvement was judged of little clinical significance. Bes: sleep efficiency was higher and sleep latency shorter than placebo, but the significant effects were judged weak and in part attributable to an incidental change in the placebo group, with subjective sleep quality unchanged | Patients with severe chronic insomnia (Monti); chronic insomniac patients in matched pairs (Bes) | Intravenous 25 nmol/kg over 4 min on four nights, double-blind crossover (Monti); intravenous 25 nmol/kg on three afternoons, parallel groups (Bes) | 6 (Monti) and 16 (Bes) | Monti 1987, Int J Clin Pharmacol Res, PMID 3583493; Bes 1992, Neuropsychobiology, PMID 1299794 |
| Significantly reduced delta rhythm, reduced burst suppression and increased bispectral index at 25 nmol/kg during isoflurane anaesthesia; heart rate increased and heart-rate variability decreased; bilateral EEG symmetry significantly altered | Female ASA I-II surgical patients; 12 randomised to saline control | Intravenous bolus, one of 25, 50 or 100 nmol/kg, awake and under anaesthesia | 24 total, 12 treated | Pomfrett 2009, Eur J Anaesthesiol, PMID 19142086 |
| Giusti: no effect on growth hormone or prolactin, basal, in response to arginine chlorhydrate, or across the circadian profile. Spath-Schwalbe: ACTH and cortisol responses to human corticotropin-releasing hormone almost identical to placebo and the meal-related midday surge unaffected, with the authors stating that the data do not support an inhibitory role on ACTH and cortisol secretion in man | Healthy women with normal cycles aged 17-36 (Giusti); healthy young men (Spath-Schwalbe) | Intravenous 25 micrograms/kg over 30 min, and the same dose infused 21:30-22:30 in the circadian arm (Giusti); intravenous infusion of total doses of 3 and 4 mg (Spath-Schwalbe) | Giusti 8 (5 in the challenge arm, 3 in the circadian arm); Spath-Schwalbe 5 per condition in experiment 1 and 10 in experiment 2 | Giusti 1993, Psychoneuroendocrinology, PMID 8475226; Spath-Schwalbe 1995, Psychoneuroendocrinology, PMID 7777652 |
| Mean life span not influenced; life span of the last 10 per cent of survivors 17.1 per cent longer and maximum life span 24.1 per cent longer than control; total spontaneous tumour incidence 2.6-fold lower. The preparation was Deltaran, a 1:10 mixture of the peptide with glycine, so the contribution of the peptide alone is not isolated, and FDA's evaluation records that glycine is itself reported antimutagenic | Female Swiss-derived SHR mice, from age 3 months to natural death | Subcutaneous, 2.5 micrograms/mouse (about 100 micrograms/kg), 5 consecutive days each month | 54 per group in the primary paper; 50 per group as recorded in FDA's 2026 evaluation, a disagreement noted rather than reconciled | Popovich 2003, Mech Ageing Dev, PMID 12782416 |
| Chromosome aberrations in bone marrow 22.6 per cent lower than control. The preparation was Deltaran, a 1:10 mixture of the peptide with glycine, which FDA's evaluation records as itself reported antimutagenic, so the contribution of the peptide alone is not isolated | Female Swiss-derived SHR mice treated between the ages of 3 and 12 months | Subcutaneous, 5 consecutive days each month | 4 per treatment, as recorded in FDA's 2026 evaluation at p.47; the primary paper's cytogenetics cohort is not the lifespan cohort | Popovich 2003, Mech Ageing Dev, PMID 12782416; sample size as recorded in the FDA briefing document of 11 May 2026 |
| Plasma half-life in humans is about 15 minutes (variants of 7-8 minutes, 15-25 minutes and 30 minutes also circulate) | The 15-minute figure traces to Schoenenberger's 1984 review in European Neurology (PMID 6548966), whose abstract reads that the half-life time for proteolytic split-off of tryptophan by brain slices and homogenates is 15 min. That is a tissue-homogenate proteolysis measurement, not a plasma half-life, and it has been relabelled in transit. The 8-minute figure appears in FDA's 2026 evaluation citing Pollard and Pomfrett 2001 (PMID 11437870), a four-page piece indexed by PubMed as an editorial and review in the European Journal of Anaesthesiology, not a pharmacokinetic study. Searched PubMed for a human in-vivo pharmacokinetic study of this peptide and found none; FDA's own review states that no pharmacokinetic or toxicokinetic study exists for the subcutaneous route and that the intravenous information is limited. The measured in-vivo values are animal, and the two available records of them disagree: the primary paper reports 4.0 +/- 0.7 min in dogs after 1 or 2 mg per dog, 2.0 +/- 0.54 min in rats and 2.9 min in one monkey (Kato 1984, PMID 6379493), while FDA's 2026 evaluation reports that same study's dog half-life as a 3-6 minute range, the dog doses as approximately 0.05-0.1 mg/kg, and the rat and monkey values as approximately 2-3 min. Both are recorded here rather than averaged. The nearest human measurement is in vitro, 5-10 min in human serum at 37 C (Graf 1987, PMID 3628078). No human plasma half-life has been measured. | No source found | ||
| It stimulates release of somatoliberin and somatotrophin and inhibits somatostatin secretion | This tricolon is reproduced almost verbatim across secondary pages. Traced to its citation on the Wikipedia entry, it resolves to Kovalzon 1994, a Russian-language review in Zhurnal Evoliutsionnoi Biokhimii i Fiziologii (PMID 7817664) whose PubMed record carries no abstract, rather than to a measurement. The three limbs do not stand or fall together. The somatostatin limb has a primary source, retrieved on a one-line author query in August 2026: Iyer and McCann 1987 reported dose-dependent inhibition of somatostatin release from rat median eminence fragments in vitro, maximal at 10^-8 M and blocked by pimozide at 10^-6 M (PMID 2886936). It is recorded in the ledger above, and a PubMed search for a human test of it retrieved none. The somatotrophin limb also has a primary source, but it is rodent and intraventricular (PMID 3575154), and the corresponding human test was negative (PMID 8475226). The somatoliberin limb failed a re-run search: PubMed queried on 18 August 2026 for "delta sleep-inducing peptide" AND (somatoliberin OR growth hormone-releasing OR GHRH) returned six records, none of them a primary report of an effect on releasing-hormone secretion; four are reviews, one is a bibliometric analysis, and one is an immunohistochemical study of colocalisation with LHRH rather than with GHRH. | No source found | ||
| It normalises blood pressure and myocardial contraction | Both citations attached to this claim in the secondary literature are reviews: Schoenenberger 1984 (PMID 6548966) and Yehuda and Carasso 1988, Int J Neurosci 38(3-4):345-53 (PMID 3286557), the latter explicitly titled a review. Searched PubMed for primary haemodynamic studies and retrieved none reporting normalisation in any species. FDA's 2026 evaluation summarised the one acute cardiovascular study it identified, which is a separate paper by an overlapping author group (Yehuda, Caspy and Carasso 1988, Int J Neurosci 42(3-4):259-265, PMID 3209378): rats given a single intraperitoneal dose of 0.1 mg/kg at one of eight clock times showed no effect on mean blood pressure, and heart rate reduced by about 3 per cent when treatment was delivered between 06:00 and 15:00 and by about 10 per cent when it was delivered between 18:00 and 03:00. No study of myocardial contractility was located. | No source found | ||
| It lowers corticotropin and cortisol and acts as an anti-stress or HPA-normalising agent | The corticotropin claim traces again to the Schoenenberger 1984 review (PMID 6548966) rather than to a measurement. It was tested directly in people and failed: Spath-Schwalbe 1995 (PMID 7777652) found ACTH and cortisol responses to CRH almost identical under peptide and placebo, and the meal-related surge unaffected, and stated that the data do not support an inhibitory role in man. Searched PubMed for a human study reporting a cortisol reduction and retrieved none. The stress-protection literature that does exist is rodent, chiefly foot-shock and hypoxia models from Russian groups, and measures liver enzymes, lipid peroxidation and mitochondrial respiration rather than the HPA axis. | No source found | ||
| In clinical trials, symptoms resolved in 97 per cent of opiate-dependent and 87 per cent of alcohol-dependent patients | These two percentages are real and traceable, but they are almost universally misattributed. Their source is Dick 1984, Eur Neurol 23(5):364-371 (PMID 6548969), an open, uncontrolled assessment of 107 inpatients rated by the treating physician and nursing staff. Secondary pages, including the Wikipedia entry, attribute them instead to Backmund 1998 (PMID 9617990), a two-page open-trial letter in the Journal of Clinical Psychopharmacology whose PubMed record carries no abstract. Two qualifiers are dropped in transit: the percentages apply only to evaluable patients, and Dick 1984 states that about 13 per cent of the alcohol group and 22 per cent of the opiate group did not meet the requirements for evaluation. There was no control arm and no blinding. | No source found | ||
| The peptide is present in human breast milk at 10 to 30 ng/mL | The figures come from Graf 1984, J Clin Endocrinol Metab 59(1):127-132 (PMID 6547144), and the paper is routinely cited without its two most important sentences. The sample was two women. What was measured by radioimmunoassay was DSIP-like immunoreactivity, and gel chromatography showed that most of that immunoreactivity occurred in a form larger than the nonapeptide. The nonapeptide itself was demonstrated by HPLC, but so were additional antibody-reactive peptides. Searched PubMed for any subsequent quantification of the nonapeptide in human milk by mass spectrometry or any other structure-specific method and found none, so the concentration figure remains an antibody signal from n = 2 recorded in 1984. | No source found | ||
| Lyophilised material is stable for defined periods at stated freezer and refrigerator temperatures, and reconstituted solution retains potency for a stated number of days | These figures appear only in catalogue and aggregator copy, and the specific numbers differ between pages. Searched PubMed for a stability study of this peptide, in solid form or in solution, and found no time-course, HPLC purity curve or aggregation assay. FDA's 2026 evaluation reached the same place from the other direction: it stated that the substance is expected to be stable below -20 C as reported in the literature, but that specific tests for impurities, aggregates and endotoxins were not found in the publicly available scientific literature, and that the certificate of analysis supplied with one nomination lacked them. The published chemistry points toward instability, since Graf 1987 (PMID 3628078) reported rapid peptidase cleavage beginning at the N-terminal tryptophan in both human and rat blood. | No source found | ||
What the 1977 isolation established
Between 1963 and 1970 Monnier's group in Basel kept donor rabbits asleep by electrical stimulation of the intralaminar thalamus, dialysed blood drawn from the confluence of the sinuses, and infused the dialysate into the cerebral ventricles of recipient animals, which showed increased delta electroencephalogram activity. Isolation and sequencing of the responsible fraction followed. Schoenenberger and Monnier published the nonapeptide sequence in 1977, in a paper that also carried the specificity test for the synthetic material (PMID 265572).
That paper tested specificity carefully. Nine synthetic peptides were infused intraventricularly under double-blind conditions across 58 rabbits including controls: the nonapeptide, five candidate metabolic fragments, two analogues with two residues exchanged, and a related tripeptide. Only the full nonapeptide produced significant enhancement of delta and spindle patterns. The companion report in Pflugers Archiv, using 61 rabbits at 6 nmol/kg, put the mean increase in delta activity at 35 per cent in neocortex and limbic cortex against controls, and recorded that only the pure alpha-aspartyl peptide was highly active, in contrast to its beta-Asp isomer; that report does not state that the beta-Asp isomer was wholly inactive (PMID 568769).
Two features of the founding work matter downstream: the route was infusion into the brain ventricles, and the species was rabbit. Schoenenberger's 1984 review of the whole programme recorded that intracerebroventricular, intravenous and subcutaneous administration each yielded a parabolic rather than monotonic dose-response curve (PMID 6548966). That review was written by the originating investigator, and several figures that circulate as measurements of this peptide trace back to its summary paragraphs, a point taken up in the unsourced claims recorded below.
Where the animal record stopped agreeing with itself
Tobler and Borbely tested the same effect in rats. Systemic doses of 40 to 160 nmol/kg intraperitoneally did not significantly reduce motor activity over 24 hours, and neither injection nor infusion of 7 to 24 nmol into the lateral or third ventricle significantly increased sleep or delta-band power in the two hours afterwards. Administration of 7 nmol into the third ventricle reduced delta-band power. Their stated conclusion was that the peptide does not qualify as a specific sleep-promoting substance (PMID 7405185).
Reports from other groups did not line up with each other either. The 2026 FDA review assembled the disagreement: intraventricular treatment of cats at 7 nmol/kg selectively prolonged non-REM sleep in one report, while intravenous treatment at 30 nmol/kg prolonged both non-REM and REM sleep in another; in rats, 7 nmol/kg intraventricularly prolonged non-REM sleep only in one study (Ursin and Larsen 1983, PMID 6688864) while a slightly lower dose, recorded by FDA as 6 nmol/kg, prolonged both stages in a second (Young and Key 1984, PMID 6549349). The Young and Key report itself describes four intracerebroventricular doses of 5 micrograms per animal, so the per-kilogram figure and the primary description are both set down here. The review noted that the reasons underlying the discrepant findings have not been discussed or elucidated.
Iyer and colleagues deprived male rats of sleep for four hours on a rotating wheel, which raised both slow-wave sleep and plasma growth hormone afterwards, and reported that microinjection of a specific antiserum into the third ventricle blocked both increases where normal rabbit serum did not (PMID 3368469). Naloxone blocked the sleep-prolonging effect in a separate rat study, in which four intracerebroventricular doses of 5 micrograms increased both REM and non-REM sleep and pre-treatment with the opiate antagonist abolished that increase (PMID 6549349). In-vitro work found no displacement of diprenorphine binding at any opioid receptor subtype, pointing at indirect action through calcium-dependent Met-enkephalin release (PMID 2706459).
The human sleep trials, and what happened outside the originating group
First administration to people was six normal volunteers. Schneider-Helmert and colleagues infused 25 nmol/kg intravenously in the morning under a double-blind crossover design and reported median total sleep time in the following 130 minutes 59 per cent higher than placebo, with shorter sleep onset and better sleep efficiency the following night (PMID 6895513). A series of studies in insomniac patients came out of the same collaboration, among them 18 chronic psychophysiological insomniacs given six doses across a week (PMID 3792404) and 14 middle-aged insomniacs treated on seven successive nights under placebo-controlled double-blind conditions (PMID 3622582), both reporting normalisation of sleep.
Independent groups ran the design again. Monti and colleagues in Montevideo gave 25 nmol/kg intravenously over four nights to six patients with severe chronic insomnia in a double-blind crossover. Total sleep time and non-REM sleep rose, the increase was carried by stage 2, and stage 1, slow-wave sleep and REM sleep were not modified. Where differences against placebo reached significance, the same differences were already present at baseline. The authors concluded that the sleep improvement was of little clinical significance (PMID 3583493).
Bes and colleagues in Amsterdam studied 16 chronic insomniacs in a matched-pairs parallel-groups design, half receiving 25 nmol/kg intravenously before each of three nights. Sleep efficiency and sleep latency favoured the peptide, but the authors judged the significant effects weak and in part attributable to an incidental change in the placebo group, and recorded no change in subjective sleep quality (PMID 1299794). The most recent human study points in the other direction. In a randomised study of 24 female ASA I-II surgical patients, twelve received saline and twelve received a single intravenous bolus of 25, 50 or 100 nmol/kg. At 25 nmol/kg during isoflurane anaesthesia the treated group showed significantly reduced delta rhythm, reduced burst suppression and increased bispectral index, with heart rate increased and heart-rate variability decreased, which the authors read as a lightening of anaesthetic depth (PMID 19142086).
Endocrine claims, tested directly in people
Rodent experiments from Iyer and McCann are the origin of most endocrine claims made for this molecule. Injection of 5 micrograms into the third ventricle of long-term ovariectomised Sprague-Dawley rats raised luteinising hormone within 30 minutes and left follicle-stimulating hormone unchanged, with no response from dispersed pituitary cells in vitro, which placed the action above the pituitary (PMID 3121137). A companion paper reported dose-related growth hormone elevation after third-ventricle injection, blocked by the dopamine antagonist pimozide (PMID 3575154). A third report measured somatostatin release from rat median eminence fragments in vitro and found dose-dependent inhibition, maximal at 10^-8 M and blocked by pimozide at 10^-6 M (PMID 2886936). All three used rodent tissue or rodent intraventricular delivery.
Human tests of the same claims were negative. Giusti and colleagues studied eight healthy women: five received 25 micrograms per kilogram intravenously over 30 minutes, alone and against an arginine challenge, and three received the same dose infused from 21:30 to 22:30 for the circadian arm. Neither growth hormone nor prolactin responded in any condition (PMID 8475226). Spath-Schwalbe and colleagues infused total doses of 3 and 4 milligrams into healthy young men and found ACTH and cortisol responses to corticotropin-releasing hormone almost identical to placebo, with the meal-related midday surge also unaffected (PMID 7777652). Friedman and colleagues, sampling plasma every 30 minutes in Cushing syndrome patients and controls, found the correlation between delta sleep and morning peptide immunoreactivity negative rather than positive, and said in print that this was against the notion of a causal relationship (PMID 7700506).
No gene, no receptor, and what DSIP-LI measures
Kovalzon and Strekalova reviewed the field in 2006 and stated that the link to sleep had never been further characterised, in part because the gene, the protein and any related receptor had not been isolated, and described the sleep-factor hypothesis as extremely poorly documented and still weak (PMID 16539679). No precursor structure has been published since. A molecule whose name asserts a mechanism has, five decades after its isolation, no identified receptor and no identified transcript.
Graf and colleagues detected DSIP-like immunoreactivity in the breast milk of two women, at about 30 ng/mL in colostrum falling to about 10 ng/mL in mature milk, and gel chromatography showed that most of the immunoreactive material occurred in a form larger than the nonapeptide (PMID 6547144). The nonapeptide itself was demonstrated by high pressure liquid chromatography, alongside additional antibody-reactive peptides in the same sample. Radioimmunoassay of this kind measures antibody binding, and the paper reports the two measurements separately.
Kovalzon and Strekalova drew the inference that follows and proposed that a distinct, unidentified peptide accounts for a share of both the immunoreactivity and the reported biological activity. They also noted that several synthetic structural analogues promoted slow-wave sleep in rabbits and rats where the parent nonapeptide did not. Published figures for tissue and fluid concentrations of this peptide derive from radioimmunoassay of DSIP-like immunoreactivity; no structure-specific quantification of the nonapeptide in a human body fluid has been published.
Regulatory position as of August 2026
The compound is not an approved medicine in the United States and carries no marketing authorisation there for any indication. A ClinicalTrials.gov search across delta sleep-inducing peptide, DSIP and emideltide returned zero registered studies in August 2026. The clinical record consists of small investigator-run studies, most of them from the 1980s, none of them registered. The most recent human study located in this survey was published in 2009 and examined the peptide as an adjunct during isoflurane anaesthesia.
In 2026 the molecule received a formal regulatory read for the first time. Two nominations were filed to have emideltide-related bulk drug substances added to the list of substances that may be used in compounding under section 503A, and FDA published an 83-page evaluation dated 11 May 2026. Its findings were that the substances are not well characterised physically and chemically; that clinical studies for chronic insomnia appear inconclusive and at best preliminary, limited by poor control selection and small samples; that no data at all support the nominated subcutaneous route; and that a search of the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System through 3 March 2024 retrieved zero reports. Across the studies the agency could identify, intravenous doses of 25 to 150 nmol/kg had been given to 209 human subjects for one to fifteen days.
The Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee voted on 24 July 2026. Legal and trade reporting of that meeting records emideltide as the only one of seven peptides reviewed that the committee did not recommend, on a tally of six in favour to seven against with one abstention; FDA has not posted minutes, so that tally comes from secondary coverage rather than the agency's own record. FDA's written proposal, which is primary, was not to add either the free base or the acetate. A committee recommendation is advice, and no final determination has issued.
What is not known
No registered clinical trial of this compound exists. A ClinicalTrials.gov search across delta sleep-inducing peptide, DSIP and emideltide returned zero studies in August 2026, so nothing about it has been subject to the registration, protocol publication or results-reporting discipline that applies to registered research. The human record is 209 subjects given intravenous doses of 25 to 150 nmol/kg for one to fifteen days, spread across small studies from the 1980s and 1990s, by FDA's own count. There is no human pharmacokinetic study, no dose-ranging study, no study of chronic administration, and no data of any kind on the subcutaneous route, which is the route both nominations proposed. FDA identified no nonclinical toxicity studies to inform potential clinical use, no developmental or reproductive toxicity work, and no assessment of abuse potential despite the proposed mechanism running through endogenous opioid release. Immunogenicity has not been characterised. The gene, the precursor and the receptor have never been isolated, so no claim about endogenous physiology can be grounded in a molecular pathway. A search of the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System through 3 March 2024 retrieved zero reports. FDA's evaluation states that result without interpreting it, and also records that it identified no relevant case reports in the medical literature.
Questions
Has DSIP been tested in humans?
Did the insomnia results replicate?
Does it increase delta sleep?
Has a DSIP receptor or gene been found?
What did the FDA advisory committee decide in July 2026?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 68816, Delta sleep-inducing peptide. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System, EMIDELTIDE, UNII YN28Z5YZ73. Substance class protein; CAS 62568-57-4 (primary), INN 7202, ChEMBL CHEMBL2104403, subunit sequence WAGGDASGE. A second CAS, 69431-45-4, is carried on the same record flagged as having no structure given. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- Schoenenberger GA, Monnier M. Characterization of a delta-electroencephalogram (-sleep)-inducing peptide. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 1977;74(3):1282-1286. PMID 265572. Companion report: Schoenenberger GA, Maier PF, Tobler HJ, Wilson K, Monnier M. The delta EEG (sleep)-inducing peptide (DSIP). XI. Amino-acid analysis, sequence, synthesis and activity of the nonapeptide. Pflugers Arch. 1978;376(2):119-129. PMID 568769 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Schoenenberger GA. Characterization, properties and multivariate functions of delta-sleep-inducing peptide (DSIP). Eur Neurol. 1984;23(5):321-345. Review by the originating investigator; source of the widely repeated 15-minute figure, which the abstract attributes to proteolysis by brain slices and homogenates. PMID 6548966 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Tobler I, Borbely AA. Effect of delta sleep inducing peptide (DSIP) and arginine vasotocin (AVT) on sleep and motor activity in the rat. Waking Sleeping. 1980;4(2):139-153. PMID 7405185 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ursin R, Larsen M. Increased sleep following intracerebroventricular injection of the delta sleep-inducing peptide in rats. Neurosci Lett. 1983;40(2):145-149. PMID 6688864. And: Young AM, Key BJ. Antagonism of the effect of delta sleep-inducing peptide by naloxone in the rat. Neuropharmacology. 1984;23(11):1347-1350. PMID 6549349 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Kato N, Honda Y, Ebihara S, Naruse H, Takahashi Y. Development of an enzyme immunoassay for delta sleep-inducing peptide (DSIP) and its use in the determination of the metabolic clearance rate of DSIP administered to dogs. Neuroendocrinology. 1984;39(1):39-44. PMID 6379493. And: Graf MV, Saegesser B, Schoenenberger GA. Degradation and aggregation of delta sleep-inducing peptide (DSIP) and two analogs in plasma and serum. Peptides. 1987;8(4):599-603. PMID 3628078 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Iyer KS, McCann SM. Delta sleep inducing peptide (DSIP) stimulates the release of LH but not FSH via a hypothalamic site of action in the rat. Brain Res Bull. 1987;19(5):535-538. PMID 3121137. Iyer KS, McCann SM. Delta sleep-inducing peptide (DSIP) stimulates growth hormone (GH) release in the rat by hypothalamic and pituitary actions. Peptides. 1987;8(1):45-48. PMID 3575154. Iyer KS, McCann SM. Delta sleep inducing peptide inhibits somatostatin release via a dopaminergic mechanism. Neuroendocrinology. 1987;46(1):93-95. PMID 2886936. Iyer KS, Marks GA, Kastin AJ, McCann SM. Evidence for a role of delta sleep-inducing peptide in slow-wave sleep and sleep-related growth hormone release in the rat. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 1988;85(10):3653-3656. PMID 3368469 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Schneider-Helmert D, Gnirss F, Monnier M, Schenker J, Schoenenberger GA. Acute and delayed effects of DSIP (delta sleep-inducing peptide) on human sleep behavior. Int J Clin Pharmacol Ther Toxicol. 1981;19(8):341-345. PMID 6895513. Schneider-Helmert D. Efficacy of DSIP to normalize sleep in middle-aged and elderly chronic insomniacs. Eur Neurol. 1986;25(6):448-453. PMID 3792404. Schneider-Helmert D. Effects of delta-sleep-inducing peptide on 24-hour sleep-wake behaviour in severe chronic insomnia. Eur Neurol. 1987;27(2):120-129. PMID 3622582 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Monti JM, Debellis J, Alterwain P, Pellejero T, Monti D. Study of delta sleep-inducing peptide efficacy in improving sleep on short-term administration to chronic insomniacs. Int J Clin Pharmacol Res. 1987;7(2):105-110. PMID 3583493. And: Bes F, Hofman W, Schuur J, Van Boxtel C. Effects of delta sleep-inducing peptide on sleep of chronic insomniac patients. A double-blind study. Neuropsychobiology. 1992;26(4):193-197. PMID 1299794 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Pomfrett CJ, Dolling S, Anders NR, Glover DG, Bryan A, Pollard BJ. Delta sleep-inducing peptide alters bispectral index, the electroencephalogram and heart rate variability when used as an adjunct to isoflurane anaesthesia. Eur J Anaesthesiol. 2009;26(2):128-134. PMID 19142086. Cited by FDA for an 8-minute half-life: Pollard BJ, Pomfrett CJ. Delta sleep-inducing peptide. Eur J Anaesthesiol. 2001;18(7):419-422, indexed by PubMed as an editorial and review. PMID 11437870 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Giusti M, Carraro A, Porcella E, Valenti S, Nicora D, Sessarego P, Giordano G. Delta sleep-inducing peptide administration does not influence growth hormone and prolactin secretion in normal women. Psychoneuroendocrinology. 1993;18(1):79-84. PMID 8475226 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Spath-Schwalbe E, Schafer A, Uthgenannt D, Born J, Fehm HL. Delta-sleep-inducing peptide does not affect CRH and meal-induced ACTH and cortisol secretion. Psychoneuroendocrinology. 1995;20(3):231-237. PMID 7777652. And: Friedman TC, Garcia-Borreguero D, Hardwick D, et al. Decreased delta-sleep and plasma delta-sleep-inducing peptide in patients with Cushing syndrome. Neuroendocrinology. 1994;60(6):626-634. PMID 7700506 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Graf MV, Hunter CA, Kastin AJ. Presence of delta-sleep-inducing peptide-like material in human milk. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 1984;59(1):127-132. PMID 6547144 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Dick P, Costa C, Fayolle K, et al. DSIP in the treatment of withdrawal syndromes from alcohol and opiates. Eur Neurol. 1984;23(5):364-371. Open, uncontrolled; source of the 97 and 87 per cent figures. PMID 6548969. Misattributed in secondary sources to: Backmund M, Meyer K, Rothenhaeusler HB, et al. Opioid detoxification with delta sleep-inducing peptide. J Clin Psychopharmacol. 1998;18(3):257-258, a letter with no abstract in the PubMed record. PMID 9617990 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Kovalzon VM, Strekalova TV. Delta sleep-inducing peptide (DSIP): a still unresolved riddle. J Neurochem. 2006;97(2):303-309. PMID 16539679. Kovalzon VM. Delta sleep-inducing peptide: a review. Zh Evol Biokhim Fiziol. 1994; Russian-language review, no abstract in the PubMed record. PMID 7817664. Nakamura A, Nakashima M, Sakai K, et al. Delta sleep-inducing peptide and opioid receptors. Brain Res. 1989;481(1):165-168. PMID 2706459 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Yehuda S, Caspy T, Carasso RL. Effects of DSIP on cardiovascular measures across the day in rats. Int J Neurosci. 1988;42(3-4):259-265. PMID 3209378. Review by an overlapping author group, frequently cited in its place: Yehuda S, Carasso RL. DSIP: a review. Int J Neurosci. 1988;38(3-4):345-353. PMID 3286557. Long-term rodent work: Popovich IG, Voitenkov BO, Anisimov VN, et al. Effect of delta-sleep inducing peptide-containing preparation Deltaran on biomarkers of aging, life span and spontaneous tumor incidence in female SHR mice. Mech Ageing Dev. 2003;124(6):721-731. PMID 12782416 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting 23-24 July 2026: Evaluation of Emideltide-related bulk drug substances for inclusion on the 503A Bulk Drug Substances List. Dated 11 May 2026, 83 pages. View on www.fda.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.