Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Cartalax (AED)
Cartalax is three amino acids — alanine, glutamic acid, aspartic acid — and the sequence sold under that name is usually a fourth peptide assigned to a different organ. Its designation as a cartilage compound rests on a single Russian patent rather than an experiment, and the originating laboratory reaches cartilage by analogy from skin fibroblasts. PubMed holds no record pairing this molecule with the words cartilage or chondrocyte in an indexed English title or abstract, and ClinicalTrials.gov holds nothing at all.
- Class
- Synthetic linear tripeptide of the Khavinson ultrashort peptide programme, described in that literature as a short peptide component of a polypeptide complex isolated from the cartilage and bone tissue of young animals
- CAS number
- 85806-95-7, carried in PubChem's depositor-supplied synonyms and traceable to a single commercial chemical supplier deposit; no regulatory or governmental depositor attests it and it could not be checked against CAS Common Chemistry, which requires an API key
- PubChem CID
- 87815447
- Molecular formula
- C12H19N3O8
- Molecular weight
- 333.29 g/mol
- Sequence
- Ala-Glu-Asp (AED), a linear tripeptide with free N- and C-termini and no modification
- Also indexed as
- AED, Ala-Glu-Asp, T-31 peptide, alanyl-glutamyl-aspartic acid, L-alanyl-L-glutamyl-L-aspartic acid, H-Ala-Glu-Asp-OH; the transliteration Kartalax appears in no database synonym list and traces to a single 2023 review abstract (PMID 37782637); CHEBI:158137; MeSH supplementary concept C572340, whose scope note reads 'a synthetic peptide with geroprotective activity'. There is no FDA GSRS record and no UNII, and UniChem queried on the InChIKey KXEVYGKATAMXJJ-ACZMJKKPSA-N returns four sources — ChEBI, SureChEMBL, one PubChem record and Wikipedia — with no ChEMBL entry. Both MeSH and PubChem also carry the entry term 'H-Asp-Glu-Asp-OH', which is a different sequence.
Three residues, and a fourth that belongs to another peptide
The molecule is Ala-Glu-Asp: alanine, glutamic acid, aspartic acid, nothing appended. PubChem holds it as CID 87815447 with the molecular formula C12H19N3O8 and a molecular weight of 333.29 g/mol, listing Cartalax and T-31 peptide among its synonyms. MeSH carries the same compound as supplementary concept C572340, alanyl-glutamyl-aspartic acid, with cartalax as an entry term, which is why a PubMed search on the trade name returns the AED literature rather than nothing. That search returned six records on 18 August 2026. The registry trail ends at chemical databases. A query of the FDA Global Substance Registration System returns no substance record and no UNII, and UniChem returns no ChEMBL entry.
The CAS number needs its provenance stated. 85806-95-7 appears in PubChem's depositor-supplied synonyms, and tracing it through the eleven substance records attached to the compound places it in exactly one: a deposit from a commercial chemical supplier. No governmental or regulatory depositor attests it, PubChem prints no separate CAS heading for the record, and CAS Common Chemistry could not be queried without an API key. It is carried on this page with that qualification rather than as a verified identifier. The comparison is instructive: the closely related tripeptide pinealon carries its CAS inside an EPA DSSTox depositor entry, which is a different grade of attestation.
Product listings and aggregator pages print a different molecule. The sequence they overwhelmingly assign to Cartalax is Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu, a tetrapeptide of roughly 446 Da. AEDL is bronchogen in the originating laboratory's own publications. A 2012 study in Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine names bronchogen (Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu) as the peptide that stimulated CXCL12 and Hoxa3 in human bronchial epithelial cells, and a 2017 tobacco callus paper in Biochemistry (Moscow) spells the sequence out the same way. Khavinson's 2022 review in the International Journal of Molecular Sciences lists both compounds in one table, on separate rows, with separate docking scores.
A second sequence error sits inside the databases themselves. The MeSH record's entry terms include H-Asp-Glu-Asp-OH, which is aspartic acid rather than alanine at the first position, and that string has propagated into the synonym list for PubChem CID 87815447. Anyone checking the sequence against either source can arrive at the wrong N-terminal residue without ever leaving a primary database. Three sequences therefore circulate under one name — AED in the literature, AEDL on vendor pages, and DED inside two reference databases — and a search engine summary generated during work on this page supplied a fourth, AEDG, which is epitalon.
Claim ledger
12 of 20 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AED peptide at 200 ng/ml activated gene expression and protein synthesis of the chondrogenic markers SOX9, aggrecan, type II collagen and COMP; the cartilage polypeptide complex produced the same effect at 2,000 ng/ml | Human mesenchymal stem cell culture during replicative ageing | Added to culture medium | Not stated in abstract; full text not open access and could not be retrieved | Myakisheva 2023, Adv Gerontol 36(3):383-390, PMID 37782646 |
| Chondrocyte senescence-associated secretory phenotype was characterised by increased p16, p21, p53, TNF-alpha and IL-1-alpha and decreased Sirt1; AED and the cartilage polypeptide complex were reported to normalise synthesis of those molecules | Chondrocytes; species and donor source not stated in abstract | In vitro | Not stated in abstract; full text not open access | Myakisheva 2023, Adv Gerontol 36(2):234-238, PMID 37356100 |
| IGF1 gene expression was enhanced 3.5 to 5.6 fold by AED, KED and KE across both ageing models; all three peptides stimulated NF-kappa-B expression. Peptides were applied at nanomolar concentrations | Human embryo bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells, line FetMSC, aged in passage and stationary culture models | Added to culture at nanomolar concentration | Not stated in abstract | Ashapkin 2020, Mol Biol Rep 47(6):4323-4329, PMID 32399807 |
| AED, alongside KE, KED and AEDG, inhibited MMP-9 synthesis and increased expression of Ki-67 and CD98hc; AED and AEDG suppressed caspase-dependent apoptosis | Skin fibroblasts during ageing in culture; species not stated in the abstract, though a 2023 review from the same group describes them as rat | Added to culture; concentrations not stated in abstract | Not stated in abstract | Lin'kova 2016, Bull Exp Biol Med 161(1):175-178, PMID 27259496 |
| AED activated synthesis of sirtuin-1, sirtuin-6 and collagen I; KE reduced IL-1, NF-kappa-B and TGF-beta and stimulated sirtuin-6. Collagen I is the skin isoform, not the type II collagen of hyaline cartilage | Human skin fibroblasts during replicative ageing | Added to culture; concentrations not stated in abstract | Not stated in abstract | Fridman 2020, Bull Exp Biol Med 170(1):154-157, PMID 33231794 |
| GAP43 expression increased in cells cultured with a compound of all four peptides tested (AEDG, KE, AED, KED) and with KED alone; nestin increased under the same compound and under KED. AED applied on its own is not credited with either result | Human periodontal ligament stem cells (hPDLSCs) | Added to culture; concentrations not stated in abstract | Not stated in abstract | Caputi 2019, Int J Immunopathol Pharmacol 33:2058738419828613, PMID 30791821 |
| The kidney polypeptide complex and peptide AED reduced urine protein level and protein excretion by 1.5-2.8 times; diuresis rose 1.2-1.4 times under the complex, AED and EDL; distal sodium transport rose 1.2-1.3 times; sodium excretion rose 1.3 times under AED and 1.6 times under EDL | Old rats; strain not stated in abstract | Not stated in abstract | Not stated in abstract | Zamorskii 2018, Adv Gerontol 31(4):498-504, PMID 30607912 |
| AED decreased protein excretion and electrolyte concentration in the urine. The kidney polypeptide complex and peptides EDL and AEDG normalised diuresis, urine creatinine and its excretion, glomerular filtration rate and absolute sodium resorption; EDL was named the potent nephroprotective agent | Rats with cisplatin-induced acute renal failure; strain not stated in abstract | Not stated in abstract | Not stated in abstract | Zamorskii 2015, Bull Exp Biol Med 159(6):736-739, PMID 26515176 |
| T-31 (AED) and T-35 (EDL) stimulated proliferation and reduced apoptosis of kidney cells, but to a lesser degree than the kidney polypeptide complex, which was the substance credited with raising Ki-67 and reducing p53 in explants from both age groups | Organotypic kidney tissue cultures from young and old rats | Added to explant culture; concentrations not stated in abstract | Not stated in abstract | Chalisova 2015, Bull Exp Biol Med 159(1):124-127, PMID 26033601 |
| T-31 was tested alongside AB-17 and AB-9. Only AB-9 exhibited a geroprotective effect, stimulating proliferative activity and differentiation and inhibiting apoptosis. T-31 appears in the methods and not in the reported results | Old passage-8 thymocyte culture; species not stated in abstract | Added to culture; concentrations not stated in abstract | Not stated in abstract | Lin'kova 2011, Bull Exp Biol Med 151(2):239-242, PMID 22238759 |
| A cartilaginous tissue extract preparation and the substance T-31 both showed an osteoprotective effect, preventing the fall in bone mineral density after ovariectomy and raising density already reduced by it. The abstract states the extract-based preparation was significantly the more effective of the two | Rats in an experimental ovariectomy model of osteoporosis; strain not stated in abstract | Not stated in abstract | Not stated in abstract | Povorozniuk 2007, Adv Gerontol 20(2):134-137, PMID 18306703 |
| Cartalax (AED) scored minus 26.65 against the LAT1 transporter, ranking seventh of 27 ultrashort peptides, with Ovagen (EDL) at minus 28.27 and Bronchogen (AEDL) at minus 17.26. Known LAT1 ligands and inhibitors in the comparison table scored minus 19.67 to minus 15.00. The activity cell beside the Cartalax row reads 'Chondroprotector' citing Russian patent RU2299741C1, and 'Regulation of skin fibroblast functions' citing Fridman 2020 | None. Molecular modelling and computer-assisted docking using ICM-Pro against LAT1 crystal structures | In silico | 27 peptides scored in the LAT1 table; 8,400 di- and tripeptides in the companion comparison | Khavinson 2022, Int J Mol Sci 23(14):7733, PMID 35887081 |
| Cartalax is the tetrapeptide Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu (AEDL), molecular weight approximately 446 Da | This sequence belongs to a different compound in the originating laboratory's own publications. PubChem CID 87815447, the only record carrying Cartalax as a synonym, is Ala-Glu-Asp, C12H19N3O8, 333.29 g/mol, and MeSH supplementary concept C572340 lists cartalax as an entry term for alanyl-glutamyl-aspartic acid. AEDL is bronchogen: PMID 22808515 names bronchogen (Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu) as the peptide acting on bronchial epithelial cells and PMID 28371610 spells the same sequence out again. Khavinson's 2022 review (PMID 35887081) lists Cartalax (AED) and Bronchogen (AEDL) as separate rows of one table with separate docking scores. A search for 'Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu' in PubMed returns four records, none of which mentions cartilage or Cartalax. | No source found | ||
| Cartalax has a half-life of approximately 30 minutes | PubMed searches on 18 August 2026 for 'Ala-Glu-Asp' against pharmacokinetics, bioavailability and half-life returned three records, none of them concerning this tripeptide; a Europe PMC search for (cartalax OR kartalax) AND 'half-life' returned zero hits. No absorption, distribution, metabolism or excretion measurement in any species was located. The aggregator page carrying the 30-minute figure labels it 'estimated' and supplies no source for the estimate. There is also no regulatory dossier to appeal to: FDA GSRS holds no record and no UNII, and UniChem returns no ChEMBL entry. | No source found | ||
| Khavinson studies demonstrate improved cartilage regeneration and joint function in animal models and in elderly patients with osteoarthritis, citing PMID 15677927 | PMID 15677927 resolves. It is Carr JB, 'Surgical treatment of intra-articular calcaneal fractures: a review of small incision approaches', J Orthop Trauma 2005;19(2):109-117 — a review of open reduction and internal fixation techniques from the University of South Carolina. It contains no peptide, no Khavinson, no cartilage regeneration experiment and no osteoarthritis cohort. The citation and the claim have no relationship to each other. Separately, PubMed searches for 'Ala-Glu-Asp' against osteoarthritis and against arthrosis each returned zero records. | No source found | ||
| Cartalax was effective on oral administration in patients with osteoarthritis of older age groups | The statement appears in a 2023 Advances in Gerontology review (PMID 37782637), which pairs 'Sigumir, a polypeptide complex of cartilage and bone tissues of young animals, and the AED tripeptide (Kartalax)' in one sentence about efficacy in animal OA models and oral administration in older patients. The review is Russian-language and not open access, so its references could not be read. No primary publication reporting an osteoarthritis cohort given AED was located in PubMed or Europe PMC; PubMed indexes no Clinical Trial publication type under the compound at all. The one human cohort in this area, 62 patients in PMID 22708467, received Sigumir the extract, not the tripeptide, inside a package that also included prosthetics and pharmacotherapy. | No source found | ||
| Cartalax has the molecular formula C13H21N3O9 and a molecular weight of 351.32 g/mol | Neither figure matches the compound. PubChem CID 87815447 gives C12H19N3O8 and 333.29 g/mol, and the arithmetic confirms it: alanine, glutamic acid and aspartic acid condensed with the loss of two water molecules yield C12H19N3O8. The 351.32 figure is 333.29 plus the mass of one water molecule, which suggests a monohydrate has been reported as the free peptide, but the formula printed alongside it carries an extra carbon that no hydrate would add. The error appears on a dosing-calculator page that also lists the CAS number as unavailable. | No source found | ||
| Cartalax promotes chondrocyte activity, collagen synthesis and cartilage matrix protein production | One third of this is measured and the rest is transposed. Chondrogenic marker synthesis was reported in human mesenchymal stem cells at 200 ng/ml (PMID 37782646), in an abstract stating no sample size. The collagen result comes from a different tissue: PMID 33231794 measured collagen I in human skin fibroblasts, and type I collagen is not the type II collagen of hyaline cartilage. The 2023 review that assembles these into a cartilage argument (PMID 37176122) does so explicitly by analogy, noting that chondrocytes resemble fibroblasts and that the fibroblast data 'may also demonstrate' reparative properties in cartilage. No chondrocyte activity has been measured in any animal. | No source found | ||
| Cartalax works by switching cartilage gene expression rather than masking pain, telling cartilage cells to behave young again | No experiment supports the comparison, because no analgesic or pain endpoint has been measured for this compound in any species, and no gene expression has been measured in cartilage in vivo. The gene-expression evidence is entirely from cell culture in other tissues — kidney, skin, thymus, bone marrow and periodontal ligament — with the two 2023 chondrogenic papers adding marker expression in stem cells. The mechanistic account offered by the originating laboratory beyond that is molecular docking: peptide binding to the minor groove of d(ATATATATAT)2 (PMID 25946838) and transporter scores generated in ICM-Pro (PMID 35887081, PMID 36979488). | No source found | ||
| Settled oral and subcutaneous regimens for this compound, circulated as specific milligram amounts, a fixed-length microgram course, and a set of vial sizes | Specific oral and subcutaneous milligram regimens, a microgram-per-day course of fixed length, and a set of vial sizes circulate on vendor product pages and dosing-calculator sites as established practice. The figures are not reproduced here. No dose-ranging or dose-response study exists in any species. Every rodent report located — PMIDs 18306703, 26515176 and 30607912 — states no dose and no route in its abstract, and none of the three is open access. The only concentrations anywhere in the record are in vitro: 200 nanograms per millilitre in the chondrogenic stem cell work and nanomolar in the mesenchymal stem cell gene expression study. A culture concentration cannot be converted into an administered amount without pharmacokinetic data, and none has been published. | No source found | ||
The chondroprotector label traces to a patent
Khavinson's 2022 transport review contains the clearest statement of what this compound is supposed to do. Its second table ranks twenty-seven ultrashort peptides by docking score against LAT1, the human L-type neutral amino acid transporter, and the Cartalax row reads: Cartalax (AED), ICM-Score minus 26.65, biological activity Chondroprotector [167] and Regulation of skin fibroblast functions [168]. The second reference is a paper — Fridman 2020, the skin fibroblast study. The reference attached to the cartilage word is not. It is RU2299741C1, a Russian patent titled Peptide Normalizing Metabolism in Bone and Cartilaginous Tissues, filed 30 May 2006 by Khavinson, Grigoriev, Malinin and Ryzhak as inventors, with a limited company as applicant, and granted 27 May 2007. The review's own reference list misdates that grant to 27 May 2008.
The 2023 chondrogenic review from the same group also cites a patent, Eurasian Patent EA 010574 of 30 October 2008, but for a narrower point — that AED is one of the short peptides making up the cartilage polypeptide complex. Only the 2022 review attaches a patent to the chondroprotector designation itself. A patent carries no protocol, no arm sizes, no randomisation and no analysis, and it is the only citation offered for the organ assignment. The docking score beside it is a number produced in software: Cartalax sits seventh of twenty-seven, between Ovagen (EDL) at minus 28.27 and Thymogen (EW) at minus 24.72, with Bronchogen (AEDL) far below at minus 17.26. A companion 2023 paper in Biomolecules compared all 8,400 di- and tripeptides against LAT1, LAT2 and PEPT1 and reported that the twenty-six named peptides score higher than sequences with no established activity. No experimental transport measurement for AED was located.
The 2023 review reaches cartilage by analogy, and says so. It surveys nine peptides for chondrogenic differentiation of mesenchymal stem cells — B2A, the CK2 series, SPPEPS, KLD-12, an N-cadherin mimetic, RGD, GFOGER, LPP and collagen mimetic peptides — none of which come from this programme. AED enters through gene expression measured in stem cells and skin fibroblasts, and the bridging sentence states that chondrocytes have similarities in structure and function with fibroblasts and that the fibroblast data may also demonstrate reparative properties in cartilage tissue. Read as written, that is a hypothesis the authors flag as one.
What has actually been measured in cartilage cells
Two publications put this peptide on cartilage-lineage cells, and both appeared in 2023 in the same Russian journal. Myakisheva and colleagues applied AED and a cartilage polypeptide complex to human mesenchymal stem cells during replicative ageing and reported that AED at 200 nanograms per millilitre activated gene expression and protein synthesis of SOX9, aggrecan, type II collagen and COMP, the four standard chondrogenic markers. The polypeptide complex reached the same effect at 2,000 nanograms per millilitre. A companion paper characterised the senescence-associated secretory phenotype of chondrocytes as raised p16, p21, p53, TNF-alpha and IL-1-alpha with lowered Sirt1, and reported that both substances normalised those molecules.
Neither abstract states a sample size. Neither gives a donor count, a passage range, a replicate number, an effect size, a control compound or any description of blinding. Both are Russian-language reports in Advances in Gerontology, neither is open access, and full texts could not be retrieved from PubMed Central, Europe PMC or the publisher for this page. What is quoted above is the entirety of what the indexed record makes available on the only experiments that have paired this molecule with cartilage biology.
PubMed searches on 18 August 2026 for the string Ala-Glu-Asp combined with cartilage, and combined with chondrocyte, each returned zero records; the two 2023 papers use the abbreviation AED in their English abstracts and do not surface on the spelled-out sequence. No animal model of osteoarthritis has been published with this tripeptide in any language indexed by PubMed or Europe PMC. Cartilage thickness, proteoglycan content, histological grading and joint function have not been measured in any animal after administering it. The absent searches carry as much of this page as the two positive papers do.
The kidney, where most of the in vivo work sits
The rodent work on AED is renal. Zamorskii and colleagues gave a kidney polypeptide complex and the peptides AED, EDL and AEDG to rats with cisplatin-induced acute renal failure and reported that AED decreased protein excretion and electrolyte concentration in the urine. The same abstract records that the complex and the peptides EDL and AEDG normalised diuresis, creatinine concentration, glomerular filtration rate and sodium handling, and names EDL as the potent nephroprotective agent. AED is the one entry in that list credited with the narrowest set of changes. Group sizes, doses and route appear nowhere in the abstract.
A 2018 study from the same collaboration measured old rats without an injury model. Administration of the kidney complex and the peptides AED and EDL raised diuresis by 1.2 to 1.4 times; the complex and AED lowered urine protein concentration and protein excretion by 1.5 to 2.8 times; distal sodium transport rose 1.2 to 1.3 times, and sodium excretion rose 1.3 times under AED and 1.6 under EDL. Antioxidant enzyme activity in kidney tissue rose while peroxidation fell, which the authors read alongside morphology as absence of nephrotoxicity. The abstract states no dose, no route and no group size.
Culture work in the same tissue is more granular and no better documented. In organotypic kidney explants from young and old rats, the polypeptide complex raised Ki-67 and reduced p53; T-31, the internal code for AED, was reported only to stimulate proliferation and reduce apoptosis, and the abstract states plainly that the effect was smaller than that of the complex. In renal cell culture, AED and EDL reduced p16, p21 and p53 and raised SIRT-6, and the authors built molecular models placing both peptides in the minor groove of d(ATATATATAT)2. That paper reports a measurement and a docking calculation, and treats the second as the mechanism for the first.
Skin, stem cells, and one flat result
Fibroblast experiments are the strongest part of this record and are frequently borrowed to speak for cartilage. Confocal immunofluorescence work published in 2016 reported that AED, alongside KE, KED and AEDG, inhibited MMP-9 synthesis and raised Ki-67 and CD98hc in ageing skin fibroblast cultures, and that AED and AEDG suppressed caspase-dependent apoptosis. A 2020 comparison in human skin fibroblasts during replicative ageing reported that AED activated synthesis of sirtuin-1, sirtuin-6 and collagen I. Type I collagen is the skin protein. The collagen of hyaline cartilage is type II, and the two are not interchangeable.
The stem cell results point in more than one direction. In human embryo bone marrow mesenchymal cells, AED, KED and KE raised IGF1 expression 3.5 to 5.6 fold across two ageing models and all three stimulated NF-kappa-B expression; the 2023 review's own reading of that second result runs in both directions within a single paragraph, proposing that the effect on NF-kappa-B accelerates stem cell ageing and that it may reduce inflammation in osteoarthritis. A 2019 study in the International Journal of Immunopathology and Pharmacology applied AED, KED, KE and AEDG to human periodontal ligament stem cells and reported that GAP43 and nestin rose under the compound of all four peptides and under KED alone; AED on its own is credited with neither.
One published test of this peptide found nothing. Applying T-31 alongside two other coded peptides to old passage-eight thymocyte cultures, Lin'kova and colleagues reported in 2011 that only AB-9 exhibited a geroprotective effect, stimulating proliferation and differentiation and inhibiting apoptosis. T-31 is named in the methods and absent from the results. Negative findings are scarce in this programme, and the one that exists is worth recording alongside the rest.
The bone experiment, and what belongs to the extract
Only one in vivo study has approached the skeletal claim. Povorozniuk and colleagues reported in 2007 that a preparation based on cartilaginous tissue extract and the substance T-31 were each osteoprotective in ovariectomised rats, preventing loss of bone mineral density and raising density that ovariectomy had reduced. The abstract also states that the extract was significantly more effective than the peptide. It gives no group size, no dose, no route and no duration, it is a Russian-language report in Advances in Gerontology, and it is not open access. That is the whole of the in vivo skeletal record, and the tripeptide came second in it.
The only human data in this area concern the extract. Sigumir, the polypeptide complex of cartilage and bone tissue, carries a 2012 report on 62 patients with temporomandibular joint disease that PubMed types as a Clinical Trial, in which the complex was one component of a package including prosthetics and pharmacotherapy. The 2023 chondrogenic review states that the complex is in the second phase of clinical trials for osteoarthritis in Russia. No registration number accompanies that sentence, and searches of ClinicalTrials.gov for the compound, the complex, the investigator and the institute each returned zero studies.
Cartalax is not an approved medicine in any jurisdiction. It holds no UNII and no ChEMBL entry, and it was not among the seven substances the FDA Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee considered for the section 503A bulks list on 23 and 24 July 2026; that agenda covered BPC-157, KPV, TB-500, MOTS-c, emideltide, semax and epitalon. Publication types were checked on every paper cited here and none carries a retraction, an expression of concern or an erratum, which distinguishes this record from several others in the category.
What is not known
No registered trial of this compound exists anywhere. Searches of ClinicalTrials.gov on 18 August 2026 returned zero studies for cartalax that were not fuzzy matches on unrelated enteral nutrition and antiepileptic drug records, zero for sigumir, zero for cartilage polypeptide complex, and zero for both the investigator and the originating institute; a control query on Ala-Glu-Asp returned 116 unrelated amino acid trials, confirming the endpoint was responding. Nothing is established about absorption, distribution, metabolism or clearance in any species, so no administered amount can be related to any tissue concentration, and the culture concentrations in the record cannot be converted into anything else. Whether the tripeptide survives oral administration intact has not been measured, and the transport argument offered in its place is a docking score. Immunogenicity, reproductive and developmental toxicity, chronic exposure, genotoxicity and carcinogenicity have not been assessed. Group sizes are absent from every primary abstract on this page without exception, several of which are Russian-language reports in one journal describing neither randomisation, blinding, nor a placebo arm, and none of which is open access. Where the tripeptide has been compared directly against the polypeptide complex it came from, in ovariectomised rats and in kidney explants, the complex was the more effective of the two. The whole record originates with one institute in St Petersburg and its collaborators; the Italian and Ukrainian groups that appear as coauthors did so alongside that institute, and no independent replication of any finding was located. Cartalax is not an approved medicine in any jurisdiction, holds no UNII and no ChEMBL entry, and material sold outside a registered trial has been subject to no identity, purity or sterility control — a point sharpened here by the fact that the sequence most commonly printed on such material is not the sequence in the literature.
Questions
Is Cartalax AED or AEDL?
Has Cartalax been tested in an animal model of osteoarthritis?
Why is it called a cartilage peptide?
Has Cartalax been in a registered clinical trial?
What is the regulatory status of Cartalax?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 87815447, Alanyl-glutamyl-aspartic acid. Molecular formula C12H19N3O8, molecular weight 333.29 g/mol, InChIKey KXEVYGKATAMXJJ-ACZMJKKPSA-N. Synonyms include Cartalax, Ala-Glu-Asp and T-31 peptide; the transliteration Kartalax is not among them. The CAS number 85806-95-7 appears only in the depositor-supplied synonyms; of the eleven substance records attached to the compound, one commercial chemical supplier deposit carries it, and PubChem prints no separate CAS heading. The synonym list also carries 'H-Asp-Glu-Asp-OH', which is a different sequence. FDA GSRS returns no substance record and no UNII, and UniChem queried on the InChIKey returns four sources — ChEBI, SureChEMBL, this PubChem record and Wikipedia — with no ChEMBL entry. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- MeSH supplementary concept record C572340, alanyl-glutamyl-aspartic acid. Entry terms: Ala-Glu-Asp, H-Asp-Glu-Asp-OH, cartalax, T-31 peptide. Scope note: 'a synthetic peptide with geroprotective activity'. This record is why a PubMed search on the trade name returns the AED literature; the search returned six records on 18 August 2026, none of which uses the word cartalax in its title or abstract. View on www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Khavinson V, Linkova N, Kozhevnikova E, Dyatlova A, Petukhov M. Transport of Biologically Active Ultrashort Peptides Using POT and LAT Carriers. Int J Mol Sci. 2022;23(14):7733. PMID 35887081, PMC9323678. Table 2 carries twenty-seven data rows; the Cartalax (AED) row is the seventh, with an ICM-Score of minus 26.65 against LAT1 and an activity cell reading 'Chondroprotector [167] Regulation of skin fibroblast functions [168]', where [167] is Russian patent RU2299741C1 and [168] is Fridman 2020. Bronchogen (AEDL) appears separately at minus 17.26. The companion modelling paper is Khavinson VK, Linkova NS, Rudskoy AI, Petukhov MG, Feasibility of Transport of 26 Biologically Active Ultrashort Peptides via LAT and PEPT Family Transporters, Biomolecules 2023;13(3):552, PMID 36979488, PMC10046148, which docked all 8,400 di- and tripeptides against LAT1, LAT2 and PEPT1 and reports no experimental transport measurement for any peptide, AED included. Both full texts retrieved via Europe PMC. Neither carries a retraction, expression of concern or erratum. View on doi.org
- Khavinson VK, Grigoriev EI, Malinin VV, Ryzhak GA (inventors). Peptide Normalizing Metabolism in Bone and Cartilaginous Tissues, Pharmaceutical Composition Based Thereon and Method for Use Thereof. Russian patent RU2299741C1; the register gives a filing date of 30 May 2006 and grant on 27 May 2007, with a limited company as applicant. Reference [167] of the 2022 transport review misdates the grant to 27 May 2008, and this is the sole citation given there for the chondroprotector designation. A companion filing, Eurasian Patent EA 010574 of 30 October 2008, is cited in the 2023 chondrogenic review as reference [70] on a composition statement — that the complex contains short peptides of 75 to 846 Da including AED — and not for chondroprotective activity. Neither document is a peer-reviewed report of an experiment. View on patents.google.com
- Linkova N, Khavinson V, Diatlova A, Myakisheva S, Ryzhak G. Peptide Regulation of Chondrogenic Stem Cell Differentiation. Int J Mol Sci. 2023;24(9):8415. PMID 37176122, PMC10179481. Reaches AED through gene expression in stem cells and skin fibroblasts, stating that chondrocytes have similarities in structure and function with fibroblasts and that those data 'may also demonstrate' reparative properties in cartilage tissue. States that the polypeptide complex, not the peptide, is in a second phase of clinical trials for osteoarthritis in Russia, without a registration number. Full text retrieved. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. View on doi.org
- Myakisheva SN, Linkova NS, Diatlova AS, Polyakova VO, Ryzhak GA. [The influence of peptides on the chondrogenic differentiation of human mesenchymal stem cells during replicative aging]. Adv Gerontol. 2023;36(3):383-390. PMID 37782646. Russian language, not open access. The source of the 200 ng/ml figure for SOX9, aggrecan, type II collagen and COMP; the English abstract states no sample size, donor count, replicate number or effect size. The companion report is Myakisheva SN, Linkova NS, Kozhevnikova EO, Polyakova VO, Ryzhak GA, [Peptides prevent the forming of secretory phenotype of chondrocytes associated with the aging], Adv Gerontol 2023;36(2):234-238, PMID 37356100, also Russian language and not open access, whose abstract states no species for the chondrocytes, no sample size and no concentrations. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Myakisheva SN, Linkova NS, Kozhevnikova EO, Ryzhak GA. [Chondrocytes secretory phenotype associated with aging: role in the pathogenesis of osteoarthritis and prospects for peptide bioregulation]. Adv Gerontol. 2023;36(3):313-323. PMID 37782637. Russian language, not open access. Source of the claim that Sigumir and 'the AED tripeptide (Kartalax)' showed high efficacy in animal models of osteoarthritis and on oral administration in older patients, and the only PubMed record in which the spelling Kartalax appears at all; the primary reports behind that sentence could not be identified from the abstract and were not located in PubMed or Europe PMC. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ashapkin V, Khavinson V, Shilovsky G, Linkova N, Vanuyshin B. Gene expression in human mesenchymal stem cell aging cultures: modulation by short peptides. Mol Biol Rep. 2020;47(6):4323-4329. PMID 32399807. Source of the 3.5-5.6 fold IGF1 figure and the NF-kappa-B result. Abstract states nanomolar concentrations and no sample size. View on doi.org
- Fridman NV, Linkova NS, Kozhevnikova EO, Gutop EO, Khavinson VK. Comparison of the Effects of KE and AED Peptides on Functional Activity of Human Skin Fibroblasts during Their Replicative Aging. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2020;170(1):154-157. PMID 33231794. The collagen result attributed to this compound comes from here, and the protein measured is collagen I in skin, not the type II collagen of hyaline cartilage. This is also reference [168] of the 2022 transport review, the paper attached to the second activity listed beside the Cartalax row. The earlier fibroblast report is Lin'kova NS, Drobintseva AO, Orlova OA, Kuznetsova EP, Polyakova VO, Kvetnoy IM, Khavinson VKh, Peptide Regulation of Skin Fibroblast Functions during Their Aging In Vitro, Bull Exp Biol Med 2016;161(1):175-178, PMID 27259496, whose abstract does not state the species of the fibroblasts; the 2023 chondrogenic review, citing it, describes them as rat. View on doi.org
- Zamorskii II, Shchudrova TS, Zeleniuk VG, Linkova NS, Nichik TE, Khavinson VK. [The influence of peptides on the morphofunctional state of old rats kidneys]. Adv Gerontol. 2018;31(4):498-504. PMID 30607912. Russian language, not open access. Source of the 1.5-2.8 fold protein excretion figures; the abstract states no dose, no route and no group size. The earlier study is Zamorskii II, Shchudrova TS, Lin'kova NS, Nichik TE, Khavinson VKh, Peptides Restore Functional State of the Kidneys During Cisplatin-Induced Acute Renal Failure, Bull Exp Biol Med 2015;159(6):736-739, PMID 26515176, in which AED is credited with decreased protein excretion and urine electrolyte concentration and EDL is named the potent nephroprotective agent. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Chalisova NI, Lin'kova NS, Nichik TE, Ryzhak AP, Dudkov AV, Ryzhak GA. Peptide Regulation of Cells Renewal Processes in Kidney Tissue Cultures from Young and Old Animals. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2015;159(1):124-127. PMID 26033601. The abstract credits the polypeptide complex with enhanced Ki-67 and reduced p53 in explants, and states separately that T-31 (AED) and T-35 (EDL) stimulate proliferation and reduce apoptosis to a lesser degree than the complex; neither named marker is attributed to the peptides. View on doi.org
- Khavinson VKh, Tarnovskaia SI, Lin'kova NS, Poliakova VO, Durnova AO, Nichik TE, Kvetnoi IM, D'iakonov MM, Iakutseni PP. [Tripeptides slow down aging process in renal cell culture]. Adv Gerontol. 2014;27(4):651-656. PMID 25946838. Russian language. Source of the p16, p21, p53 and SIRT-6 results in renal cell culture and of the molecular models placing AED and EDL in the minor groove of d(ATATATATAT)2. The abstract states no sample size. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Povorozniuk VV, Khavinson VKh, Makogonchuk AV, Ryzhak GA, Kreslov EA, Gopkalova IV. [Effect of peptide regulators on the structural and functional status of bone tissue in ageing rats]. Adv Gerontol. 2007;20(2):134-137. PMID 18306703. Russian language, not open access. The only in vivo skeletal experiment located; the abstract states that the cartilaginous tissue extract preparation was significantly more effective than the T-31 substance, and gives no group size, dose, route or duration. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Lin'kova NS, Polyakova VO, Trofimov AV, Kvetnoy IM, Khavinson VKh. Peptidergic regulation of thymocyte differentiation, proliferation, and apoptosis during aging of the thymus. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2011;151(2):239-242. PMID 22238759. T-31 appears in the methods and not in the results; only AB-9 is reported to have had an effect. The single published negative test of this peptide. View on doi.org
- Caputi S, Trubiani O, Sinjari B, Trofimova S, Diomede F, Linkova N, Diatlova A, Khavinson V. Effect of short peptides on neuronal differentiation of stem cells. Int J Immunopathol Pharmacol. 2019;33:2058738419828613. PMID 30791821, PMC6376556. Immunofluorescence and western blot in human periodontal ligament stem cells; GAP43 and nestin rose under the compound of AEDG, KE, AED and KED and under KED alone. The abstract states no sample size. One of the six records returned by a PubMed search on the trade name. View on doi.org
- Iordanishvili AK, Samsonov VV, Soldatova LN, Polens AA, Ryzhak GA. [Application of bioregulating therapy in complex treatment of temporomandibular joint diseases in people of elderly and senile age]. Adv Gerontol. 2012;25(1):181-186. PMID 22708467. Russian language; PubMed publication type Clinical Trial. The 62-patient cohort received Sigumir, the cartilage and bone polypeptide complex, as one component of a package that also included prosthetics and pharmacotherapy. The tripeptide was not the substance studied. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Khavinson VKh, Linkova NS, Polyakova VO, Kheifets OV, Tarnovskaya SI, Kvetnoy IM. Peptides tissue-specifically stimulate cell differentiation during their aging. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2012;153(1):148-151. PMID 22808515. Names bronchogen (Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu) as the peptide acting on bronchial epithelial cells. Together with Fedoreyeva 2017 (Biochemistry (Mosc) 82(4):521-528, PMID 28371610), which spells the same sequence out again, this establishes that AEDL is a different compound from the one sold as Cartalax. View on doi.org
- Carr JB. Surgical treatment of intra-articular calcaneal fractures: a review of small incision approaches. J Orthop Trauma. 2005;19(2):109-117. PMID 15677927. Cited on a dosing-calculator page as the source for cartilage regeneration in animal models and elderly osteoarthritis patients. The paper is a review of open reduction and internal fixation techniques for calcaneal fractures and contains no peptide, no cartilage regeneration experiment and no osteoarthritis cohort. Listed here because the citation resolves and does not support the claim attached to it. View on doi.org
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.