Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

BPC-157

BPC-157 is a synthetic fifteen-residue peptide, indexed in PubChem as CID 9941957, and registered with the FDA under UNII 8ED8NXK95P. Three decades of rodent work sit behind it and almost no human evidence: three uncontrolled reports covering fewer than thirty people, one phase 1 trial that never reported, and a phase 2 trial that started recruiting in February 2026. The protein it is described as a fragment of does not appear in UniProt.

Strongest evidence: Human dataThree small uncontrolled human reports totalling fewer than 30 subjects; no completed randomised controlled trial; not an approved medicine anywhere 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Synthetic linear pentadecapeptide; described by its originators as a partial sequence of a gastric juice protein
CAS number
137525-51-0
PubChem CID
9941957
Molecular formula
C62H98N16O22
Molecular weight
1419.5 g/mol
Sequence
GEPPPGKPADDAGLV (Gly-Glu-Pro-Pro-Pro-Gly-Lys-Pro-Ala-Asp-Asp-Ala-Gly-Leu-Val), 15 residues, free N-terminus and free C-terminal acid
Also indexed as
BPC 157, Bepecin, PL-10, PLD-116, PL-14736, body protection compound 157; UNII 8ED8NXK95P; InChIKey HEEWEZGQMLZMFE-RKGINYAYSA-N; DrugBank DB11882

Identity, and the part of the name that does not resolve

BPC-157 has travelled under four development codes, and the registries treat all four as one thing. The FDA Global Substance Registration System entry for UNII 8ED8NXK95P collects BEPECIN, PL-10, PLD-116 and PL-14736 under a single record, which settles a recurring ambiguity in the secondary literature: the four codes denote one substance, not a series of related ones. That record classes the substance as a protein and lists the subunit sequence GEPPPGKPADDAGLV. Its CAS number and PubChem identifier match the one PubChem compound record for BPC-157: CID 9941957, CAS 137525-51-0, molecular formula C62H98N16O22, molecular weight 1419.5, InChIKey HEEWEZGQMLZMFE-RKGINYAYSA-N.

A second PubChem record exists and is easy to confuse with the first. CID 78169625 carries the identical molecular formula and molecular weight, but a different InChIKey, HEEWEZGQMLZMFE-UHFFFAOYSA-N, and its synonym list gives the sequence in DL form at every chiral centre rather than L. It is the stereochemically undefined twin of the L-peptide. An identity check that matches on formula or mass alone cannot separate the two, and a document quoting C62H98N16O22 at 1419.5 is consistent with either record.

Everything above is verifiable in a registry. The origin story attached to the name is not. Sikirić and colleagues, writing in the Journal of Physiology (Paris) in 1993, described a new gastric juice peptide of relative molecular mass 40,000, named BPC, as recently isolated, and presented the fifteen-residue fragment as the portion thought to carry the activity. That abstract names no isolation paper. UniProtKB queried for "body protection compound", for "BPC-157" and for the string GEPPPGKPADDAGLV returned zero entries on all three searches, and no mass-spectrometric identification of this sequence in human gastric juice was located in PubMed.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Higher load to failure, higher Young's modulus and higher Achilles functional index than saline controls at days 1-14 after transectionRats, right Achilles tendon transected 5 mm proximal to calcaneal insertionIntraperitoneal, once daily, 10 µg, 10 ng or 10 pg/kgNot stated in the retrieved reportStaresinić 2003, J Orthop Res, PMID 14554208
Functional, biomechanical, macroscopic and histological differences from control across 90 days after medial collateral ligament transectionRats, medial collateral ligament transectionIntraperitoneal (10 µg or 10 ng/kg), per-oral in drinking water (0.16 µg/ml), or topical cream at the injury siteNot stated in the retrieved reportCerovečki 2010, J Orthop Res, PMID 20225319
Accelerated outgrowth from tendon explants and dose-dependent increase in fibroblast migration and spreading; phosphorylation of FAK and paxillin increased; no direct effect on proliferation by MTT assayTendon fibroblasts and explants from rat Achilles tendonIn vitro, culture mediumNot applicable; dose-response designChang 2011, J Appl Physiol, PMID 21030672
Growth hormone receptor identified by cDNA microarray as one of the most abundantly upregulated genes; dose- and time-dependent increase at mRNA and protein levelTendon fibroblasts isolated from male Sprague-Dawley rat Achilles tendonIn vitro, culture mediumNot applicableChang 2014, Molecules, PMID 25415472
Maximum load to failure higher than control but not significantly so; total Bonar and Movin histological scores numerically lower than control without reaching significance (TB-500 reached significance on both, p=0.016 and p=0.017)Male Sprague-Dawley rats, 12 weeks, ~330 g, Achilles transection and repair, 4 groupsIntraperitoneal, 10 µg/kg/day for 4 weeks32 total, 8 per groupBiçer 2026, Jt Dis Relat Surg, PMID 42542926
Reduced MDA and TOS, restored SOD and TAS, downregulated p53, Bax and Casp3, and partially restored VEGF expression against the ischaemia-reperfusion groupMale Wistar albino rats, abdominal aortic clamping 45 min then 2 h reperfusion, 4 groupsIntraperitoneal, 20 µg/kg, given at the 45th minute of ischaemia24 total, 6 per groupYıldırım 2026, Sci Rep, PMID 42204242
Intravenous elimination half-life 15.2 min in rats and 5.27 min in dogs; mean absolute intramuscular bioavailability 14-19% in rats and 45-51% in dogs; parent compound undetectable at 4 h; excretion principally urinary and biliarySprague-Dawley rats and beagle dogsSingle intravenous; single and repeated intramuscular at 20/100/500 µg/kg (rats) and 6/30/150 µg/kg (dogs)6 per groupHe 2022, Front Pharmacol, PMID 36588717
Brain concentration of total radioactivity below plasma at 1 h and still below plasma at 24 h, in the lowest band with body fat; kidney highest at 1 hRats, tritium-labelled compound, tissue distributionNot separately specified for the distribution armNot stated for the distribution arm in the retrieved reportHe 2022, Front Pharmacol, PMID 36588717
No test-article-related effects in single-dose study; in repeated dosing, no abnormal change against solvent control except a decrease in creatinine at 2 mg/kg but not lower doses, reversing after 2 weeks of withdrawal; local irritation mild; no genetic or embryo-fetal toxicityMice, rats, rabbits and dogsSingle-dose and repeated-dose; local tolerance testingNot stated in the retrieved reportXu 2020, Regul Toxicol Pharmacol, PMID 32334036
11 of 12 patients given the peptide alone reported significant improvement in knee pain; 14 of 16 across both groups reported relief; no standardised instrument used, retrospective telephone surveyAdults with knee pain of mixed cause at one private clinic, 1-year chart reviewIntra-articular injection, alone or with thymosin beta-417 charts, 16 contacted, 12 peptide-aloneLee and Padgett 2021, Altern Ther Health Med, PMID 34324435
All 12 participants scored 5 of 5 on the Global Response Assessment after a single procedure; 10 reported complete resolution, 2 reported roughly 20% of symptoms remaining; no adverse events recordedWomen aged 39-76, mean 58.3, with moderate to severe interstitial cystitis unresponsive to pentosan polysulfateInjection around the area of bladder inflammation during cystoscopy, 10 mg total, single procedure12Lee, Walker and Ayadi 2024, Altern Ther Health Med, PMID 39325560
No measurable change in cardiac, hepatic, renal, thyroid or glucose biomarkers and no reported side effects after 10 mg then 20 mg on consecutive days; plasma half-life under 30 min with return to baseline within 24 hTwo adults, a 58-year-old man and a 68-year-old woman, both of whom had received the compound intravenously before the studyIntravenous infusion in 250 cc normal saline over one hour2Lee and Burgess 2025, Altern Ther Health Med, PMID 40131143
BPC-157 is a naturally occurring peptide present in human gastric juice, a fragment of a 40 kDa protein called Body Protection CompoundUniProtKB was queried three ways on 17 August 2026 — full-text search for "body protection compound", full-text search for "BPC-157", and search on the string GEPPPGKPADDAGLV — and returned zero entries on each. The EBI peptide-match service, which would resolve the sequence against parent proteins directly, returned HTTP 503 on the same date and could not be used. PubMed for "body protection compound" returns 14 records; none reports an isolation or sequencing of the parent protein, and a further search combining that phrase with isolation, isolated or purification returned three records, none of them an isolation paper. The earliest primary statement, Sikirić 1993 in the Journal of Physiology (Paris) (PMID 8298609), asserts in its abstract that a gastric juice peptide of Mr 40,000 named BPC "was recently isolated" and cites nothing for it. No mass-spectrometric detection of GEPPPGKPADDAGLV in human gastric juice was located. The synthetic peptide is real and registered; its parent is not in any protein database checked.No source found
BPC-157 is stable in human gastric juice for more than 24 hours, which is why oral administration worksA PubMed search for BPC 157 combined with "gastric juice" and stability returned six records: PMIDs 42198317, 40789979, 38980576, 35125818, 28228068 and 17186181. Every one is a narrative review, and five are from the originating laboratory. The 2026 Pharmaceutics review calls this the compound's most distinctive physicochemical property and the one most often used to justify oral dosing, then cites it to two other reviews rather than to a primary assay. No primary in vitro incubation study reporting a measured recovery percentage, an incubation time and a pepsin concentration was located in PubMed. The same review records that no pH-stability profiling, no simulated intestinal fluid data, no logP or logD and no plasma protein binding figure have been published for this compound.No source found
The half-life is roughly four to six hours after subcutaneous injectionThis figure appears across vendor product pages and aggregator explainers. It is contradicted by the only formal ADME study — He 2022 (PMID 36588717) measured 15.2 minutes intravenously in rats and 5.27 minutes in dogs, with parent compound undetectable at four hours — and by the only human observation, Lee and Burgess 2025 (PMID 40131143), which reported under 30 minutes. No source for the four-to-six-hour figure could be traced to any primary publication. Separately, no subcutaneous pharmacokinetic study of this compound exists in any species: He 2022 characterised intravenous and intramuscular routes only, and the 2026 Pharmaceutics review names the absence of subcutaneous and oral human data as a critical gap. The route most often described in circulation is the one route nobody has measured.No source found
BPC-157 completed phase 2 clinical trials for inflammatory bowel diseaseThe phrasing traces to the originating group's own papers, which have carried the parenthetical "currently in clinical trials for inflammatory bowel disease (PLD-116, PL 14736, Pliva)" since at least 2003 (PMID 14554208) and repeated it through 2006 (PMID 17186181) and beyond. ClinicalTrials.gov was searched for "PL 14736", PLD-116 and "body protection compound", and separately by sponsor for Pliva: no matching registration was returned. A PubMed search for PL-14736 returns 15 records, all preclinical studies or reviews; no trial report, no enrolment figure and no results posting was found. The only registered study that would have produced human safety and pharmacokinetic data, NCT02637284, is listed with overall status unknown, a March 2016 completion date and no posted results.No source found
No lethal dose has been established; LD1 was not achievedA PubMed search for "BPC 157" combined with LD1 or "lethal dose" returned 17 records. Every one is a review or narrative paper, and almost all are from the originating group; none reports the acute-toxicity experiment itself. The single indexed formal toxicology study, Xu 2020 (PMID 32334036), describes single-dose work in mice, rats, rabbits and dogs but its abstract states no LD1 or LD50 value and gives no group sizes. The species, route, dose ceiling and number of animals behind the phrase "LD1 not achieved" are recorded nowhere that could be located. The statement may well be true; as published it is unfalsifiable.No source found
BPC-157 crosses the blood-brain barrierA PubMed search for BPC157 combined with "blood-brain barrier" returned zero records. No permeability assay, brain-to-plasma ratio for the intact peptide, or radiolabelled brain uptake figure was located. The one distribution dataset that exists points the other way: He 2022 (PMID 36588717) reported brain concentrations of total radioactivity below plasma at one hour and still below plasma at 24 hours, in the lowest band alongside body fat. That measurement counts metabolites as well as parent compound, so it does not settle the question either — but it is the only relevant number in the literature, and it is not the one being cited.No source found
87.5% of patients experienced lasting relief of knee pain after intra-articular BPC-157This one traces to a real paper and then mutates. Lee and Padgett 2021 (PMID 34324435) report a retrospective telephone survey of 16 reachable patients from a 17-chart review, in which 14 of 16 — 87.5% — reported relief, across a group that included four who also received thymosin beta-4; among the 12 who received BPC-157 alone the figure was 11 of 12. Vasireddi 2025 (PMID 40756949) renders the same dataset as "7 of 12 patients reported relief for >6 months". The 2026 Pharmaceutics review (PMID 42198317) reports 16 patients and 87.5% relief at 6 to 12-month follow-up but attributes the observation to Vasireddi and colleagues, who conducted a systematic review rather than the chart review. One uncontrolled retrospective survey, three renderings, and by the third the authorship has changed.No source found
BPC-157 is banned by WADA / BPC-157 is no longer banned by WADABoth statements circulate, and the peer-reviewed literature contains both. Józwiak 2025 in Pharmaceuticals (PMID 40005999) states that the compound "was temporarily banned by the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) in 2022 (it is not currently listed as banned by the WADA)". The United States Anti-Doping Agency states that it "is prohibited under the S0 Non-Approved Substances category of the List", S0 being a catch-all covering any pharmacological substance with no current approval by any governmental regulatory health authority. Repeated attempts to fetch the 2026 Prohibited List PDF from wada-ama.org on 17 August 2026 returned HTTP 202 with an empty body, so the List document could not be read directly and it was not possible to confirm whether BPC-157 appears there by name. The two claims are compatible if one is about the catch-all and the other about the named examples, but no source checked states which it means.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

The shape of the literature

A PubMed search for BPC-157 returned 226 records on 17 August 2026. Restricting the same search to records carrying Sikirić as an author returned 175. Roughly three quarters of the indexed literature on this compound comes from one laboratory at the University of Zagreb, and a large share of that is review rather than primary data — the same experiments recur across successive narrative summaries in Pharmaceuticals, Biomedicines and Current Pharmaceutical Design. Counting records substantially overstates how much independent measurement exists behind the compound.

Vasireddi and colleagues put a number on the primary base. Their 2025 systematic review in HSS Journal screened 544 articles published between 1993 and 2024, removed duplicates, and included 36 studies: 35 preclinical and one clinical. They graded the entire body as level IV and level V evidence and recorded that no clinical safety data were found. Gwyer and colleagues had reached a similar position in Cell and Tissue Research in 2019, observing that across two decades only a handful of research groups had performed in-depth work on the peptide.

Groups outside Zagreb do exist, and they carry disproportionate weight because they report their methods differently. Chang and colleagues in Taiwan produced the tendon-fibroblast work. He, Xu and colleagues at Air Force Medical University in Xi'an produced the pharmacokinetics and the formal toxicology. Two Turkish groups published rat surgical and ischaemia-reperfusion models in 2026. A Polish group measured acetylcholinesterase inhibition. Where those groups report sample sizes, they state them explicitly, which is not uniformly true of the Zagreb series.

What the soft-tissue experiments measured

The founding musculoskeletal result is Staresinić and colleagues, 2003, in the Journal of Orthopaedic Research. Rats had the right Achilles tendon transected 5 mm proximal to the calcaneal insertion; the peptide was given intraperitoneally once daily at 10 µg, 10 ng or 10 pg per kilogram, first at 30 minutes after surgery, with biomechanical, functional, microscopic and macroscopic assessment at days 1, 4, 7, 10 and 14. Treated groups showed higher load to failure, higher Young's modulus and higher Achilles functional index values than saline controls. The retrieved report does not state group sizes.

Cerovečki and colleagues extended that design to the medial collateral ligament in 2010, following transection out to 90 days and comparing intraperitoneal, drinking-water and topical routes, again without stated group sizes in the retrieved report. Novinscak and colleagues had published a gastrocnemius crush model in Surgery Today in 2008 on the same pattern. Chang and colleagues supplied the cell-level work: in 2011, increased outgrowth from rat Achilles tendon explants, increased fibroblast migration and phosphorylation of FAK and paxillin, with no direct effect on proliferation; in 2014, upregulation of the growth hormone receptor in the same cells.

One independent replication of the tendon result states its numbers in full and does not reproduce it cleanly. Biçer and colleagues, in Joint Diseases and Related Surgery in 2026, randomised 32 male Sprague-Dawley rats into four groups of eight — control, BPC-157 at 10 µg/kg/day, TB-500 at 60 µg/kg/day, and both — after standardised Achilles transection and repair, dosing intraperitoneally for four weeks. Maximum load to failure was higher in the BPC-157 and TB-500 groups than in controls but reached significance only for TB-500. Total Bonar and Movin histological scores were significantly lower than control in the TB-500 and combination groups; the BPC-157 group's scores were numerically lower without reaching significance.

Pharmacokinetics and preclinical toxicology

He and colleagues published the first formal ADME study in Frontiers in Pharmacology in 2022, in Sprague-Dawley rats and beagle dogs at six animals per group. After single intravenous administration the elimination half-life was 15.2 minutes in rats and 5.27 minutes in dogs. Intramuscular dosing at 20, 100 and 500 µg/kg in rats and 6, 30 and 150 µg/kg in dogs gave linear kinetics, with mean absolute bioavailability of approximately 14 to 19 per cent in rats and 45 to 51 per cent in dogs. Parent compound was undetectable four hours after dosing.

Distribution in the same study placed the highest total radioactivity in kidney at one hour, then liver, stomach wall, spleen and thymus, all above plasma. Brain sat below plasma at one hour and remained below plasma at 24 hours, in the lowest band alongside body fat. Tritium-labelled material was excreted principally in urine and bile after rapid hydrolysis to small fragments and free amino acids. Total radioactivity counts metabolites as well as parent compound, so these figures do not describe the intact peptide — but they are the only distribution dataset that exists.

Formal toxicology comes from Xu and colleagues in Regulatory Toxicology and Pharmacology, 2020: single-dose and repeated-dose work in mice, rats, rabbits and dogs, with local tolerance, genotoxicity and embryo-fetal studies alongside. The single-dose study identified no test-article-related effects. Repeated dosing in dogs produced no abnormal change against solvent control other than a fall in creatinine at 2 mg/kg but not at lower doses, which reversed after two weeks of withdrawal. Irritation from local administration was recorded as mild. Group sizes are not given in the abstract.

These two datasets sit awkwardly together. A compound cleared from plasma in minutes is credited with differences measured at 14, 28 and 42 days in the surgical models, and no mechanism bridging the two has been demonstrated. The 2026 review by Mateescu and colleagues in Pharmaceutics names this pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic disconnect as the central unresolved problem, alongside the absence of any characterised pharmaceutical-grade formulation, permeability data or plasma protein binding figure.

The human record

Three human reports exist. All come from one private clinic in Florida, all appeared in Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine, and none had a control arm. Lee and Padgett reviewed charts from 2019 to 2020 covering 17 patients given intra-articular injections for knee pain of mixed cause; 16 were reached by telephone and asked to rate their pain retrospectively, with no standardised instrument used. Twelve had received BPC-157 alone, of whom 11 reported significant improvement; across both the peptide-alone and combination groups, 14 of 16 reported relief.

Lee, Walker and Ayadi injected 12 women who had not responded to pentosan polysulfate with a total of 10 mg around the area of bladder inflammation during a single cystoscopy, and recorded Global Response Assessment scores of five out of five in all twelve. Pharmacokinetic data in people come from two subjects: Lee and Burgess infused 10 mg intravenously on day one and 20 mg on day two into a 58-year-old man and a 68-year-old woman, both of whom had received intravenous BPC-157 before the study, reporting no measurable change in cardiac, hepatic, renal, thyroid or glucose biomarkers and a plasma half-life under 30 minutes.

Registered trials are thin. A ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search returned three records. NCT02637284, a phase 1 safety and pharmacokinetic study of 42 participants sponsored by PharmaCotherapia with a March 2016 completion date, carries status unknown and has posted no results. NCT07752381 tested a peptide gummy product rather than the isolated compound. NCT07437547, a phase 2 placebo-controlled trial of 120 participants with acute hamstring strain sponsored by Hudson Biotech, began recruiting in February 2026 with completion scheduled for February 2028. If it reports, it will be the first controlled human evidence on this compound.

Regulatory position, and one withdrawn paper

United States compounding regulation moved twice in three years. BPC-157 was placed in Category 2 of the section 503A bulk drug substances list — substances that raise significant safety risks — and then taken off it. The FDA category document updated 14 May 2026 lists BPC-157 in none of the three categories. The agency's safety-risks page retains it under bulk drug substances nominated but withdrawn, with the original assessment intact: compounded drugs containing it may pose risk for immunogenicity for certain routes of administration and complexities regarding peptide-related impurities and characterisation of the active ingredient, and the agency identified no or only limited safety-related information for the proposed routes.

Removal followed the nominators withdrawing their nominations. It was a procedural consequence, not a finding about the substance, and evaluation continued regardless. The Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee agenda for 23 July 2026 lists BPC-157 free base and BPC-157 acetate among the substances discussed for possible inclusion on the 503A bulks list, with the use evaluated recorded as ulcerative colitis — the indication the originating group has named since 2003. The FDA briefing package for that session, linked from the agenda page as media item 193343, returned HTTP 404 on repeated retrieval attempts on 17 August 2026, while the packages for the KPV, TB-500 and MOTS-c sessions at the same meeting downloaded normally.

Anti-doping status is disputed inside the peer-reviewed literature. Józwiak and colleagues, writing in Pharmaceuticals in 2025, state that the compound was temporarily banned by WADA in 2022 and is not currently listed as banned. The United States Anti-Doping Agency states that it is prohibited under section S0, non-approved substances, which is a catch-all clause covering any pharmacological substance without regulatory approval rather than a named listing. Repeated attempts to retrieve the 2026 Prohibited List PDF from the WADA site returned an empty response body, so the List document itself could not be read for this page. The two positions reconcile only if listed is read narrowly.

A single paper in the corpus carries a formal flag, and its history is unusual. Current Neuropharmacology published a withdrawal notice in January 2025 for Stable Gastric Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 as a Therapy of Severe Electrolyte Disturbances in Rats, by Grubišić and colleagues, stating that the article had been withdrawn at the author's request; PubMed types that record as a Retracted Publication. The same title, by the same authors, reappeared in the same journal in 2026 under a different DOI and carries no flag. A publication-type and correction-link check across every other paper cited on this page returned no retraction, expression of concern or erratum.

What is not known

No controlled human trial of BPC-157 has been completed or published. The entire human record is three uncontrolled reports from one private clinic totalling fewer than thirty people, two of them retrospective or single-arm symptom surveys in conditions with high placebo response rates, and the third a two-subject pharmacokinetic and safety pilot. The one registered phase 1 study never reported. Nothing is therefore established about efficacy for any indication, about dose-response in humans, about inter-individual variability, or about any adverse event less frequent than roughly one in ten. Long-term administration has not been characterised in people at all, and the preclinical toxicology, while it covers four species, has no published group sizes. Subcutaneous pharmacokinetics — the route most discussed outside the literature — have not been measured in any species. Oral bioavailability has not been measured. Intestinal stability, epithelial permeability, hepatic first-pass extraction, plasma protein binding and volume of distribution are all uncharacterised. The mechanism connecting a plasma half-life of minutes to differences observed at six weeks in rodent surgical models is unexplained. Roughly three quarters of the indexed literature comes from a single laboratory, and where independent groups have attempted replication with stated sample sizes, the tendon result did not reach significance. BPC-157 is not an approved medicine in any jurisdiction, and material distributed outside a registered trial has not been subject to identity, purity or sterility controls; the FDA's own assessment identified immunogenicity risk and characterisation complexity as open questions for compounded preparations.

Questions

Has BPC-157 been tested in a controlled human trial?
Not one that has reported. ClinicalTrials.gov returns three records. NCT02637284, a 42-participant phase 1 safety and pharmacokinetic study with a March 2016 completion date, carries status unknown and has posted no results. NCT07437547, a placebo-controlled phase 2 trial of 120 participants with acute hamstring strain, began recruiting in February 2026 and is scheduled to complete in February 2028. Until it reports, the human evidence consists of three uncontrolled reports covering fewer than thirty people.
Is BPC-157 legal to compound in the United States?
It sits outside the categories. The FDA had placed BPC-157 in Category 2 of the section 503A bulk drug substances list, the tier for substances raising significant safety risks. The agency's category document updated 14 May 2026 lists it in none of the three categories, because the nominators withdrew their nominations — a procedural outcome, not a safety finding. The agency's safety-risks page retains the original assessment under substances nominated but withdrawn, and the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee took up BPC-157 free base and acetate on 23 July 2026.
Where does the claim that BPC-157 occurs naturally in gastric juice come from?
From a 1993 paper by Sikirić and colleagues in the Journal of Physiology (Paris), which states that a gastric juice peptide of relative molecular mass 40,000, named BPC, had recently been isolated, and presents the fifteen-residue fragment as the active portion. That abstract cites no isolation paper. UniProtKB returns no entry for "body protection compound", for "BPC-157", or for the sequence GEPPPGKPADDAGLV, and no mass-spectrometric identification of the sequence in human gastric juice was located in PubMed. The synthetic peptide is registered; the parent protein is not.
What is the measured half-life?
Under thirty minutes in every measurement that exists. He and colleagues reported 15.2 minutes after intravenous dosing in Sprague-Dawley rats and 5.27 minutes in beagle dogs, six animals per group, with parent compound undetectable at four hours. The two-subject human pilot by Lee and Burgess reported under thirty minutes with plasma concentrations back to baseline within 24 hours. The four-to-six-hour figure that circulates on commercial pages could not be traced to any primary source, and no subcutaneous pharmacokinetic study exists in any species.
Is any BPC-157 paper retracted?
One carries a formal flag. Current Neuropharmacology published a withdrawal notice in January 2025 for a paper by Grubišić and colleagues on electrolyte disturbances in rats, stating it had been withdrawn at the author's request; PubMed types that record as a Retracted Publication. The same title by the same authors reappeared in the same journal in 2026 under a different DOI, carrying no flag. A publication-type and correction-link check across every other paper cited on this page returned no retraction, expression of concern or erratum.

References

  1. PubChem Compound Summary CID 9941957, BPC-157. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Retrieved 17 August 2026; supplied CAS 137525-51-0, formula C62H98N16O22, MW 1419.5, InChIKey HEEWEZGQMLZMFE-RKGINYAYSA-N, UNII 8ED8NXK95P and the synonym set including Bepecin, PL-10, PLD-116 and PL-14736. A second record, CID 78169625, carries the same formula and mass with undefined stereochemistry. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. FDA Global Substance Registration System. BPC-157, UNII 8ED8NXK95P. Substance record listing CAS 137525-51-0, PubChem CID 9941957, subunit sequence GEPPPGKPADDAGLV and the alternate names BEPECIN, PL-10, PLD-116 and PL-14736. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  3. Sikirić P, Petek M, Rucman R, et al. A new gastric juice peptide, BPC. An overview of the stomach-stress-organoprotection hypothesis and beneficial effects of BPC. J Physiol Paris. 1993;87(5):313-327. PMID 8298609. The abstract states that a gastric juice peptide of Mr 40,000 named BPC was recently isolated, without citing an isolation report. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Staresinić M, Sebecić B, Patrlj L, et al. Gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157 accelerates healing of transected rat Achilles tendon and in vitro stimulates tendocytes growth. J Orthop Res. 2003;21(6):976-983. PMID 14554208. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Cerovecki T, Bojanic I, Brcic L, et al. Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 (PL 14736) improves ligament healing in the rat. J Orthop Res. 2010;28(9):1155-1161. PMID 20225319. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Chang CH, Tsai WC, Lin MS, Hsu YH, Pang JH. The promoting effect of pentadecapeptide BPC 157 on tendon healing involves tendon outgrowth, cell survival, and cell migration. J Appl Physiol (1985). 2011;110(3):774-780. PMID 21030672. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Chang CH, Tsai WC, Hsu YH, Pang JH. Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 enhances the growth hormone receptor expression in tendon fibroblasts. Molecules. 2014;19(11):19066-19077. PMID 25415472. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Biçer O, Adanir O, Güleryüz Y, et al. Effects of BPC-157 and TB-500 on Achilles tendon healing in rats: a histopathological and biomechanical study. Jt Dis Relat Surg. 2026;37(3):822-837. PMID 42542926. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Yıldırım AK, Demirtaş H, Özer A, Arslan M. Protective effects of BPC 157 in rats with experimentally induced lower extremity ischemia-reperfusion injury. Sci Rep. 2026;16(1). PMID 42204242. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. He L, Feng D, Guo H, et al. Pharmacokinetics, distribution, metabolism, and excretion of body-protective compound 157, a potential drug for treating various wounds, in rats and dogs. Front Pharmacol. 2022;13:1026182. PMID 36588717. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Xu C, Sun L, Ren F, et al. Preclinical safety evaluation of body protective compound-157, a potential drug for treating various wounds. Regul Toxicol Pharmacol. 2020;114:104665. PMID 32334036. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Lee E, Padgett B. Intra-articular injection of BPC 157 for multiple types of knee pain. Altern Ther Health Med. 2021;27(4):8-13. PMID 34324435. Retrospective chart review with telephone follow-up; no control arm and no standardised outcome instrument. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Lee E, Walker C, Ayadi B. Effect of BPC-157 on symptoms in patients with interstitial cystitis: a pilot study. Altern Ther Health Med. 2024;30(10):12-17. PMID 39325560. Single-arm, 12 participants, no control group. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Lee E, Burgess K. Safety of intravenous infusion of BPC157 in humans: a pilot study. Altern Ther Health Med. 2025;31(5):20-24. PMID 40131143. Two participants, both of whom had received the compound intravenously before the study. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Vasireddi N, Hahamyan H, Salata MJ, et al. Emerging use of BPC-157 in orthopaedic sports medicine: a systematic review. HSS J. 2025;21(4):485-495. PMID 40756949. 544 articles screened, 36 included, 35 preclinical and one clinical; graded level IV and V. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. Mateescu DM, Gavrilescu DM, Constantinescu FE, et al. BPC-157 as an investigational peptide therapeutic: biopharmaceutical challenges, formulation strategies, and translational development barriers. Pharmaceutics. 2026;18(5):625. PMID 42198317. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. Withdrawn: Stable gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157 as a therapy of severe electrolyte disturbances in rats. Curr Neuropharmacol. 2025. PMID 39865815. Withdrawn at the author's request; PubMed types the record as a Retracted Publication. The same title by the same authors (Grubišić MM et al.) reappeared in the same journal in 2026 under DOI 10.2174/011570159X401706251126101531, PMID 41832718, carrying no flag. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. US Food and Drug Administration. Bulk drug substances nominated for use in compounding under section 503A of the FD&C Act, updated 14 May 2026 (BPC-157 absent from all three categories); Certain bulk drug substances for use in compounding that may present significant safety risks (BPC-157 retained under substances nominated but withdrawn); and the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee agenda for 23-24 July 2026 listing BPC-157 free base and acetate, use evaluated: ulcerative colitis. The BPC-157 briefing package linked from that agenda as media item 193343 returned HTTP 404 on 17 August 2026. View on www.fda.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.