Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
TB-500 (Thymosin Beta-4 17–23)
TB-500 is seven amino acids long. Thymosin beta-4, the protein it is named for, is forty-three, and almost every figure attached to TB-500 on product listings belongs to the larger molecule. No published study has administered TB-500 to a human. This page separates what has been measured in horses, rats and cell culture from what has been borrowed from the parent protein.
- Class
- Synthetic N-acetylated heptapeptide fragment of thymosin beta-4; not an approved drug substance in any jurisdiction
- CAS number
- 885340-08-9
- PubChem CID
- 62707662
- Molecular formula
- C38H68N10O14
- Molecular weight
- ≈889.0 g/mol (free base); acetate salt 949.1 g/mol
- Sequence
- Ac-Leu-Lys-Lys-Thr-Glu-Thr-Gln-OH (Ac-LKKTETQ) — 7 residues, corresponding to positions 17–23 of thymosin beta-4 with the N-terminal leucine acetylated
- Also indexed as
- TB500, TB 500, TB-500 free base, Ac-LKKTETQ, thymosin beta-4 fragment 17-23; UNII QHK6Z47GTG. Distinct from timbetasin (CAS 77591-33-4) and from native thymosin beta-4 (CAS 77642-24-1, UNII 549LM7U24W, UniProt P62328).
A seven-residue fragment, not the protein
TB-500 is seven amino acids long. Its sequence is Ac-Leu-Lys-Lys-Thr-Glu-Thr-Gln-OH, written Ac-LKKTETQ, corresponding to residues 17 through 23 of thymosin beta-4 with the N-terminal leucine acetylated. PubChem records it as CID 62707662 with molecular formula C38H68N10O14 and a molecular weight near 889 g/mol, CAS registry number 885340-08-9, UNII QHK6Z47GTG. Thymosin beta-4 is a 43-residue protein of roughly 4963 g/mol. The two are related the way a phrase is related to the paragraph it was cut from, and they are not interchangeable.
The identity was established analytically rather than by disclosure. Esposito and colleagues, working at the Ghent doping control laboratory, obtained a commercial TB-500 formulation and characterised its contents by high-performance liquid chromatography coupled to high-resolution Orbitrap mass spectrometry, reporting in 2012 that the peptide present was the N-terminally acetylated 17-23 fragment of human thymosin beta-4. They then synthesised Ac-LKKTETQ independently by solid-phase peptide synthesis and proposed a detection strategy for plasma and urine. The name TB-500 describes a product; the molecule inside it had to be worked out from the outside.
That gap has regulatory consequences. In its May 2026 evaluation of TB-500 for the section 503A bulk drug substances list, the FDA concluded that neither TB-500 free base nor TB-500 acetate is physically and chemically well characterised, citing naming conventions that follow no established standard and the absence of publicly available data on peptide impurities, aggregates, microbiological quality and bacterial endotoxin. The agency noted it had encountered multiple salts and derivatives, including different active moieties, sold commercially under the same common name.
Claim ledger
12 of 20 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plasma TB-500 peaked at 0.05 and 0.08 ng/mL between 60 and 120 minutes, unquantifiable between 6 and 10 hours; no IV arm, so absolute bioavailability not established | Thoroughbred geldings (number of animals not stated in the abstract or in FDA's summary) | Subcutaneous, single dose containing 10 mg N-acetylated LKKTETQ | Not reported; described as geldings, plural | Ho 2012, J Chromatogr A, PMID 23084823 |
| Parent peptide plus C-terminally truncated metabolites Ac-LKKTE and Ac-LK detected in plasma at ~2 h; parent plus Ac-LKKTET, Ac-LKKTE, Ac-LKK and Ac-LK in urine at ~6 h | Thoroughbred geldings | Subcutaneous, single 10 mg dose | Not reported | Ho 2012, J Chromatogr A, PMID 23084823 |
| Ac-LK was the highest-concentration urinary metabolite at 0–6 h; Ac-LKK still detectable at 72 h; traces of N-acetylated lysine present in rat but not horse urine | Six-week-old male Sprague-Dawley rats | Intraperitoneal, 50 mg/kg | Not reported in the abstract | Rahaman 2024, J Chromatogr B, PMID 38382158 |
| TB-500 (free base) at 50 µg/mL produced no significant difference in scratch-wound closure versus vehicle over 8 hours | Cultured confluent fibroblasts, scratch-wound assay | In vitro, 8-hour incubation | Not reported; no concentration-response analysis performed | Rahaman 2024, J Chromatogr B, PMID 38382158 (as summarised in FDA's May 2026 evaluation) |
| The TB-500 metabolite N-acetylated LKKTE at 50 µg/mL produced a small but statistically significant wound closure under the same conditions in which the parent peptide did not | Cultured confluent fibroblasts, scratch-wound assay | In vitro, 8-hour incubation | Not reported | Rahaman 2024, J Chromatogr B, PMID 38382158 |
| Maximum load to failure at 4 weeks was higher in the TB-500 group than in controls, reaching statistical significance (p < 0.05); BPC-157 group higher but not significant | Male Sprague-Dawley rats, 12 weeks old, ~330 g, Achilles tendon transection and repair | Intraperitoneal, 60 µg/kg/day for 4 weeks | 32 randomised, 8 per group (control, BPC-157, TB-500, combination) | Biçer 2026, Jt Dis Relat Surg, PMID 42542926 |
| Total Bonar score lower in the TB-500 group (p = 0.016) and total Movin score lower in the TB-500 and combination groups (p = 0.017 and p = 0.040) versus control; no significant difference in collagen type I expression; combination conferred no additive benefit | Male Sprague-Dawley rats, Achilles tendon transection and repair | Intraperitoneal, 60 µg/kg/day for 4 weeks | 8 per group | Biçer 2026, Jt Dis Relat Surg, PMID 42542926 |
| Topical unacetylated LKKTETQ increased epidermal closure and collagen content at day 7 comparably to full-length thymosin beta-4; no dose-response assessment included | 26-month-old female BALB/cBy mice, four 3 mm dorsal punch wounds each | Topical, 50 µL of 0.01% LKKTETQ in PBS on the day of wounding and at 48 hours | Not reported in the abstract or in FDA's summary | Philp 2003, Wound Repair Regen, PMID 12581423 |
| The 17-23 sequence, but not the 1-15 sequence, blocked PDGF-BB-driven upregulation of PDGFβ receptor, α-SMA and collagen 1, and blunted Akt phosphorylation at Thr308 and Ser473 | Early-passage human hepatic stellate cell cultures | In vitro; unacetylated peptides | Not reported in the abstract | Shah 2018, Expert Opin Biol Ther, PMID 30063851 |
| Primary metabolites were the C-truncated Ac-LKKTE, Ac-LKKT, Ac-LKK and Ac-LK; proportions varied by enzyme system; no metabolic deamidation observed | Human serum, human kidney microsomes, human liver microsomes and pooled human liver S9 fraction | In vitro, 2-hour incubation at 37 °C | Pooled preparations; donor counts not reported in the abstract | Zvereva 2016, J Proteomics, PMID 27569051 |
| The C-terminal tetrapeptide AGES (residues 40–43), not the actin-binding region, was identified as the domain responsible for thymosin beta-4's benefit in the ischaemic heart across 17 synthesised domain combinations | Embryonic cardiac cells in vitro; infarcted adult mice; pigs | In vitro and systemic injection | Not stated in the abstract | Hinkel 2015, J Mol Cell Cardiol, PMID 26255251 |
| Full-length synthetic thymosin beta-4 given at 42, 140, 420 or 1260 mg produced infrequent, mild-to-moderate adverse events with no dose-limiting toxicity and no serious adverse events; half-life increased with dose. This is the parent protein, not TB-500 | Healthy adult volunteers, four cohorts | Intravenous, single dose then daily for 14 days | 10 per cohort (40 total) | Ruff 2010, Ann N Y Acad Sci, PMID 20536472 |
| TB-500 has a molecular weight of 4963 g/mol, molecular formula C212H350N56O78S, CAS 77591-33-4, and consists of 43 amino acids. | These figures are internally consistent and traceable — but to a different substance. PubChem name and CAS lookups on 17 August 2026 return CAS 77591-33-4 as timbetasin, CID 16132341, C212H350N56O78S, MW 4963, UNII 2D5MRE3SSY: full-length synthetic thymosin beta-4. The FDA Global Substance Registration System gives native thymosin beta-4 CAS 77642-24-1 under UNII 549LM7U24W with the 43-residue sequence SDKPDMAEIEKFDKSKLKKTETQEKNPLPSKETIEQEKQAGES and UniProt P62328. TB-500's own registry identity is CAS 885340-08-9, UNII QHK6Z47GTG, PubChem CID 62707662, C38H68N10O14, 889.01 g/mol, confirmed independently in FDA's May 2026 briefing document. The conflation is not confined to sellers: FDA's own briefing document cites a chemical-listing page indexed under CAS 77591-33-4 as its source for the physical appearance of TB-500 acetate, in footnotes 23 and 28. | No source found | ||
| TB-500 has a half-life of roughly 1.5 to 3 hours. Alternatively: TB-500 has a long half-life of approximately 10 to 12 days, with total elimination at 10 to 15 days. | Both figures circulate, on the same class of pages, differing by two orders of magnitude. Searching PubMed for ('TB-500'[tiab] OR 'TB500'[tiab] OR 'Ac-LKKTETQ'[tiab]) AND (half-life[tiab] OR pharmacokinetic*[tiab]) returns one record, Esposito 2015 on in vitro models for peptide metabolism, which reports no half-life for TB-500. The only in vivo pharmacokinetic data that exist are Ho 2012 in horses, where plasma concentrations fell below quantification between 6 and 10 hours after a single subcutaneous dose. FDA's May 2026 evaluation states it identified no clinical pharmacokinetic study of TB-500 by any route. Neither circulating half-life figure traces to a measurement of this compound. | No source found | ||
| Subcutaneous TB-500 has a bioavailability of 60 to 80 percent relative to intravenous administration. | Searching PubMed for ('TB-500'[tiab] OR 'TB500'[tiab] OR 'Ac-LKKTETQ'[tiab]) AND bioavailability[tiab] returns one record, an unrelated soil-remediation paper matched on the letters TB. The claim is not merely unsupported, it is arithmetically impossible from the published record: FDA's evaluation notes explicitly that Ho 2012 ran no intravenous arm, 'precluding the establishment of the absolute bioavailability of TB-500 (free base) via the SC ROA'. A relative bioavailability figure requires an intravenous reference that has never been measured for this compound in any species. | No source found | ||
| TB-500 is a 17-amino-acid synthetic fragment of thymosin beta-4. | This appears in secondary summaries and AI-generated compound pages, sometimes in the same paragraph as the correct sequence Ac-LKKTETQ, which is seven residues. It appears to be a misreading of the standard descriptor '17-23 fragment', where 17 and 23 are residue positions rather than a count. Every primary source checked — Esposito 2012, Ho 2012, Rahaman 2024, PubChem CID 62707662 and the FDA briefing document — gives seven amino acids. No source was located that asserts seventeen and supports it with a sequence. | No source found | ||
| TB-500 promotes hair growth. | Searching PubMed for ('TB-500'[tiab] OR 'TB500'[tiab] OR 'LKKTETQ'[tiab]) AND hair[tiab] returns zero records. The underlying literature is about the parent protein and is rodent work: Philp 2007 (PMID 17947589) on thymosin beta-4 and hair growth via stem cell migration, Cha 2010 (PMID 20013654) in over-expressing transgenic mice, and Gao 2015 (PMID 26083021) in mice. None administered TB-500 or the 17-23 fragment, and none of the three uses the acetylated heptapeptide. Sosne's 2010 domain map does not assign hair-follicle effects to the actin-binding region. | No source found | ||
| TB-500 reduces scar tissue, prevents fibroblast-to-myofibroblast transition, and lowers TGF-beta. | Searching PubMed for ('TB-500'[tiab] OR 'TB500'[tiab] OR 'Ac-LKKTETQ'[tiab]) AND (angiogenesis[tiab] OR endothelial[tiab]) returns four records, of which two are analytical-chemistry method papers and two are 2026 narrative reviews; none is a primary study of the compound. The nearest primary antifibrotic result is Shah 2018, which used the unacetylated 17-23 peptide in human hepatic stellate cell culture and measured alpha-smooth muscle actin and collagen 1, not scar formation in tissue. Biçer 2026 reported altered type III collagen distribution in rat tendon but no significant difference in type I collagen expression. No TGF-beta measurement after TB-500 administration was located. | No source found | ||
| TB-500 repairs cardiac tissue after myocardial infarction. | Searching PubMed for ('TB-500'[tiab] OR 'TB500'[tiab] OR 'LKKTETQ'[tiab]) AND (myocardial[tiab] OR cardiac[tiab] OR infarct*[tiab]) returns one record, a 1990 cardiovascular paper matched on unrelated characters. The cardiac literature belongs to full-length thymosin beta-4, and Hinkel 2015 (PMID 26255251) localised the effect to the C-terminal AGES tetrapeptide at residues 40-43 after testing seventeen domain combinations in mice and pigs. TB-500 spans residues 17-23 and does not include AGES. The registered TB-500 cardiovascular study, NCT07487363, describes itself in its own brief summary as a fictional example record. | No source found | ||
| The FDA advisory committee voted 8-6 with one abstention in favour of adding TB-500 to the 503A bulks list on 23 July 2026. | The tally is reported consistently across trade press, law-firm briefings and compounding-industry blogs, but no primary record of it was located. FDA's Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee pages for the 23-24 July 2026 meeting were retrieved on 17 August 2026 and list only the briefing documents, final agenda, meeting roster, webcast information, questions to the committee, and the two days of FDA presentations. No minutes, transcript or voting record has been posted. What is verifiable from the primary document is FDA's own position: 'we propose not adding TB-500 (free base) or TB-500 acetate to the 503A Bulks List.' Committee recommendations are advisory in any case and do not alter what may lawfully be compounded. | No source found | ||
The numbers that travel with the name
Product listings for TB-500 across the research-chemical and aggregator category carry a consistent set of figures: molecular weight 4963 g/mol, formula C212H350N56O78S, CAS 77591-33-4, forty-three amino acids. Every one of those belongs to a different substance. CAS 77591-33-4 is timbetasin, the international nonproprietary name for synthetic full-length thymosin beta-4, PubChem CID 16132341. The native protein carries CAS 77642-24-1 and UniProt accession P62328. A listing quoting 4963 g/mol for a product named TB-500 is describing the parent protein while selling the fragment, or the reverse, and the document does not say which.
Registry data are not uniformly clean either. The FDA Global Substance Registration System record for UNII QHK6Z47GTG names the substance correctly as N-acetyl-L-leucyl-L-lysyl-L-lysyl-L-threonyl-L-alpha-glutamyl-L-threonyl-L-glutamine and gives CAS 885340-08-9, but its calculated molecular formula field reads C36H66N10O13 at 846.98 Da. That is the unacetylated heptapeptide LKKTETQ, which PubChem lists separately as CID 10169788, fequesetide, CAS 476014-70-7. The registry's own calculation omits the acetyl group its own systematic name specifies. PubChem and the FDA briefing document agree on C38H68N10O14 and 889.01; the GSRS property field does not.
A second error runs through secondary summaries. TB-500 is repeatedly described as a seventeen-amino-acid fragment, which appears to be a misreading of the phrase 17-23 fragment. The withdrawn compounding nomination that prompted the FDA review contained four separate identity inconsistencies of its own: the substance named did not match the certificate of analysis supplied, the certificate's registry data described the acetate salt rather than the free base, the molecular formula given matched neither, and an alternative CAS number offered in the package, 476014-70-7, was the unacetylated peptide.
What has been given to an animal
Ho and colleagues at the Hong Kong Jockey Club racing laboratory published the first post-administration identification of TB-500 in 2012. Thoroughbred geldings received a single subcutaneous dose of a preparation containing 10 mg of N-acetylated LKKTETQ. Plasma concentrations peaked at 0.05 and 0.08 ng/mL between 60 and 120 minutes and fell below quantification between 6 and 10 hours. No intravenous arm was run, so absolute bioavailability by the subcutaneous route was not established. The number of animals is not stated in the abstract, and the FDA summary of the study refers only to geldings in the plural.
Rahaman and colleagues repeated the exercise in rodents in 2024, giving TB-500 by intraperitoneal injection at 50 mg/kg to six-week-old male Sprague-Dawley rats and quantifying urinary metabolites by orbitrap mass spectrometry. N-acetylated LK was the most abundant metabolite over the first six hours; N-acetylated LKK was still detectable at 72 hours. Traces of N-acetylated lysine appeared in rat urine but not in the horse samples. The paper opens by stating plainly that the biological effects of TB-500 have not been documented.
One published in vivo experiment has measured an outcome after giving TB-500 itself. Biçer and colleagues transected and repaired the Achilles tendon in 32 male Sprague-Dawley rats of about 330 g, randomised to four groups of eight, and gave BPC-157 at 10 micrograms per kilogram per day, TB-500 at 60 micrograms per kilogram per day, both, or nothing, intraperitoneally for four weeks. Maximum load to failure was higher in the TB-500 group than in controls at four weeks and reached statistical significance; total Bonar score was lower at p equals 0.016 and total Movin score at p equals 0.017. The combination arm conferred no additional benefit.
Acetylation, and the metabolite that outperformed the parent
The same 2024 paper contains the least convenient finding in this record. Confluent fibroblast cultures were scratched to create uniform wounds and incubated for eight hours with TB-500 at 50 micrograms per millilitre or vehicle. Wound closure did not differ significantly between them. Under identical conditions the C-terminally truncated metabolite N-acetylated LKKTE at the same concentration produced a small but significant closure. The authors' own reading is that the wound-healing activity previously reported in the literature may belong to a metabolite rather than to the administered peptide.
Acetylation is not a cosmetic modification. It alters charge, hydrophobicity and size irreversibly, and with them a peptide's lifespan, folding and binding behaviour, which is why the FDA reviewers stated that the pharmacological profile of the non-acetylated heptapeptide LKKTETQ cannot be directly extrapolated to the acetylated form. Most of the functional literature invoked in support of TB-500 was generated with the unacetylated peptide. It is the same category of error that arises when data generated with an analogue are reported under the name of the parent molecule.
Metabolism itself is well described. Sequential loss of residues from the C-terminus generates Ac-LKKTET, Ac-LKKTE, Ac-LKKT, Ac-LKK and Ac-LK, first shown in homogenised equine liver and then confirmed in horse plasma and urine. Zvereva and colleagues incubated TB-500 with human serum, human kidney microsomes, human liver microsomes and pooled liver S9 fraction for two hours and recovered the same truncation series, with proportions varying by system: Ac-LKKTE and Ac-LKK predominated in serum, Ac-LK in liver microsomes. Deamidation was not observed.
Where the claims were borrowed from
Philp and colleagues reported in 2003 that thymosin beta-4 accelerated dermal repair in db/db diabetic mice and in aged mice, and that a synthetic seven-amino-acid peptide reproducing the actin-binding domain matched the parent molecule in the aged animals. That peptide was LKKTETQ without the acetyl group, applied topically at 0.01 percent in phosphate-buffered saline to 3 mm punch wounds in 26-month-old female BALB/cBy mice on the day of wounding and 48 hours later, with histology at day 7. The FDA reviewers noted the study includes no dose-response assessment.
Shah and colleagues tested the same 17-23 sequence against the amino-terminal 1-15 sequence in early-passage human hepatic stellate cells stimulated with PDGF-BB, and reported that 17-23 but not 1-15 blocked upregulation of the PDGF-beta receptor, alpha-smooth muscle actin and collagen 1, and blunted Akt phosphorylation at both Thr308 and Ser473. Sosne and colleagues had earlier mapped thymosin beta-4's activities onto separate domains in a 2010 review, assigning anti-inflammatory and antifibrotic effects to the N-terminal Ac-SDKP tetrapeptide and cell migration to the central actin-binding region.
Cardiac claims map somewhere else entirely. Hinkel and colleagues synthesised seventeen domain combinations of thymosin beta-4 and tested them in embryonic cardiac cells, in infarcted mice and in pigs, concluding that the C-terminal tetrapeptide AGES, not the actin-binding region, is the domain responsible for the molecule's benefit in the ischaemic heart. AGES sits at residues 40 to 43. TB-500 stops at residue 23 and does not contain it. Any cardiac repair claim attached to TB-500 is inherited from experiments on a sequence the compound lacks.
The human record
There is none. The FDA search of PubMed, Embase, ClinicalTrials.gov, DailyMed and Drugs@FDA for the July 2026 advisory committee found no article in which TB-500 was administered to a human by any route, and no clinical pharmacokinetic or pharmacodynamic data. A search of the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System through 26 March 2025 returned no reports naming TB-500. The Human Foods complaint system returned two reports concerning a blended TB-500 and BPC-157 product, neither carrying a safety assessment.
ClinicalTrials.gov holds exactly one interventional record naming TB-500, NCT07487363, a phase 1/2 dose-escalation study in 80 adults with stable atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease, sponsored by Hudson Biotech, listed as recruiting at Peking University Shenzhen Hospital with a start date of 5 February 2026. Its own brief summary opens: this fictional study is an example of a ClinicalTrials.gov-style record. The oversight module records the study as not FDA-regulated. A registry entry that describes itself as an example is not evidence of a trial, and it is the only registry entry TB-500 has.
The parent protein is in a different position. Ruff and colleagues gave synthetic thymosin beta-4 intravenously to four cohorts of ten healthy volunteers at 42, 140, 420 and 1260 mg, single dose and then daily for 14 days, and recorded no dose-limiting toxicity. Guarnera and colleagues randomised 73 patients with venous stasis ulcers to topical thymosin beta-4 or placebo across eight European sites. Phase 3 ophthalmic trials of the full-length peptide, run as RGN-259, have enrolled 601 and 700 participants. None of that programme used the fragment.
Regulatory and anti-doping position
Reviewers at the FDA proposed on 15 May 2026 that neither TB-500 free base nor TB-500 acetate be added to the section 503A bulks list, on grounds of inadequate physicochemical characterisation, no demonstrable history of compounding use, no evidence of effectiveness, and no human safety data at all. The evaluation also recorded no acute toxicity, repeat-dose toxicity, genotoxicity, reproductive toxicity or carcinogenicity study of either substance, and flagged injectable administration of a poorly characterised peptide as an immunogenicity risk. The Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee heard the evaluation on 23 July 2026. Its recommendation is advisory and does not change what may lawfully be compounded.
Anti-doping status is unambiguous and easy to verify. The 2026 WADA Prohibited List, section S2.3, growth factors and growth factor modulators, names thymosin-beta4 and its derivatives, giving TB-500 as the worked example. The class is prohibited at all times, in and out of competition, and all substances in it are non-Specified. WADA funded a project in 2013 specifically to determine detection limits for TB-500 metabolites and build them into peptide screening methods.
What is sold under the name is a separate question again. Delcourt and colleagues at the French racing laboratory analysed products marketed online as TB500 and TB1000 and reported that their contents are not systematically consistent with the descriptions attached to them. TB-500 appears in no United States, European or Japanese pharmacopoeia, is not a component of any approved drug in the United States, Canada, Australia, the United Kingdom or the European Union, and has no marketing authorisation anywhere. A veterinary preparation marketed for equine and greyhound racing appeared around 2011.
What is not known
Almost everything a person would want to know. There is no human pharmacokinetic, pharmacodynamic or safety data for TB-500 by any route, and no case series or registry cohort; the single ClinicalTrials.gov record describes itself as a fictional example. No acute toxicity, repeat-dose toxicity, genotoxicity, developmental or reproductive toxicity, or carcinogenicity study of either the free base or the acetate salt was identified by FDA in May 2026, and none was located here. Immunogenicity has not been assessed, which matters because the compound is proposed for injection and because the certificates of analysis in public circulation test appearance, identity and purity but not aggregates or bacterial endotoxin. The one in vivo efficacy result, in 32 rats over four weeks, is a single exploratory study whose own authors describe it as preliminary and pending dose-optimisation; it has not been replicated. Whether TB-500 has any activity of its own, as distinct from activity of its truncation metabolites, is unresolved — the only direct comparison found the parent inactive and one metabolite active. TB-500 is not an approved medicine anywhere and material sold under the name has been shown not to correspond reliably to its stated contents.
Questions
Is TB-500 the same thing as thymosin beta-4?
Has TB-500 ever been given to a person in a published study?
Why do product pages list a molecular weight of 4963 and a 43-amino-acid sequence?
What is TB-500's legal and regulatory status?
Is TB-500 prohibited in sport?
References
- Esposito S, Deventer K, Goeman J, Van der Eycken J, Van Eenoo P. Synthesis and characterization of the N-terminal acetylated 17-23 fragment of thymosin beta 4 identified in TB-500, a product suspected to possess doping potential. Drug Test Anal. 2012;4(9):733-738. PMID 22962027. PubMed publication types checked 17 August 2026: no retraction, expression of concern or erratum. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ho EN, Kwok WH, Lau MY, Wong AS, Wan TS, Lam KK, et al. Doping control analysis of TB-500, a synthetic version of an active region of thymosin β4, in equine urine and plasma by liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry. J Chromatogr A. 2012;1265:57-69. PMID 23084823. No integrity flags. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Rahaman KA, Muresan AR, Min H, Son J, Han HS, Kang MJ, et al. Simultaneous quantification of TB-500 and its metabolites in in-vitro experiments and rats by UHPLC-Q-Exactive orbitrap MS/MS and their screening by wound healing activities in-vitro. J Chromatogr B. 2024;1235:124033. PMID 38382158. No integrity flags. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Biçer O, Adanir O, Güleryüz Y, Balci EC, Dinçel YM, Yenigün MY, et al. Effects of BPC-157 and TB-500 on Achilles tendon healing in rats: a histopathological and biomechanical study. Jt Dis Relat Surg. 2026;37(3):822-837. PMID 42542926. No integrity flags. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Zvereva I, Semenistaya E, Krotov G, Rodchenkov G. Comparison of various in vitro model systems of the metabolism of synthetic doping peptides: proteolytic enzymes, human blood serum, liver and kidney microsomes and liver S9 fraction. J Proteomics. 2016;149:85-97. PMID 27569051. No integrity flags. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Philp D, Badamchian M, Scheremeta B, Nguyen M, Goldstein AL, Kleinman HK. Thymosin beta 4 and a synthetic peptide containing its actin-binding domain promote dermal wound repair in db/db diabetic mice and in aged mice. Wound Repair Regen. 2003;11(1):19-24. PMID 12581423. The synthetic peptide used was unacetylated LKKTETQ, not TB-500. No integrity flags. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Shah R, Reyes-Gordillo K, Rojkind M. Thymosin β4 inhibits PDGF-BB induced activation, proliferation, and migration of human hepatic stellate cells via its actin-binding domain. Expert Opin Biol Ther. 2018;18(sup1):177-184. PMID 30063851. Peptides used were unacetylated. No integrity flags. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Sosne G, Qiu P, Goldstein AL, Wheater M. Biological activities of thymosin beta4 defined by active sites in short peptide sequences. FASEB J. 2010;24(7):2144-2151. PMID 20179146. Typed by PubMed as a review; cited here for its domain map, not as a primary measurement. No integrity flags. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Hinkel R, Ball HL, DiMaio JM, Shrivastava S, Thatcher JE, Singh AN, et al. C-terminal variable AGES domain of Thymosin β4: the molecule's primary contribution in support of post-ischemic cardiac function and repair. J Mol Cell Cardiol. 2015;87:113-125. PMID 26255251. No integrity flags. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ruff D, Crockford D, Girardi G, Zhang Y. A randomized, placebo-controlled, single and multiple dose study of intravenous thymosin beta4 in healthy volunteers. Ann N Y Acad Sci. 2010;1194:223-229. PMID 20536472. Full-length thymosin beta-4, not TB-500. No integrity flags. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Guarnera G, DeRosa A, Camerini R. The effect of thymosin treatment of venous ulcers. Ann N Y Acad Sci. 2010;1194:207-212. PMID 20536470. Full-length thymosin beta-4, topical, 73 patients randomised. No integrity flags. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Delcourt V, Garcia P, Chabot B, Barnabé A, Bouscarel M, Loup B, et al. TB500/TB1000 and SGF1000: a scientific approach for a better understanding of misbranded and adulterated drugs. Drug Test Anal. 2023;15(4):458-464. PMID 36482504. No integrity flags. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Lu P, Shan M, Peng C, Ji W, Yang T, Yang Z, et al. Alkaline phosphatase-triggered spatiotemporal repair of corneal injury with TB500 peptide hydrogel. ACS Appl Mater Interfaces. 2025;17(50):67503-67518. PMID 41359360. Note that this paper uses the label TB500 for the unacetylated sequence LKKTETQ, an example of the naming inconsistency FDA describes. No integrity flags. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Mendias CL, Awan TM. Safety and efficacy of approved and unapproved peptide therapies for musculoskeletal injuries and athletic performance. Sports Med. 2026;56(8):1921-1935. PMID 41966639. Narrative review; cited for regulatory framing only. No integrity flags. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- US Food and Drug Administration. FDA Evaluation of TB-500-Related Bulk Drug Substances (TB-500 (Free Base) and TB-500 acetate). Briefing document for the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting, 23-24 July 2026; memorandum dated 15 May 2026. Source of the identity table, the metabolism and toxicology summaries, the FAERS search result, and the recommendation against adding either substance to the 503A Bulks List. View on www.fda.gov
- World Anti-Doping Agency. The 2026 Prohibited List, in force 1 January 2026. Section S2.3, Growth Factors and Growth Factor Modulators: 'Thymosin-ß4 and its derivatives e.g. TB-500'. Prohibited at all times; non-Specified Substance. View on www.wada-ama.org
- ClinicalTrials.gov. NCT07487363, TB-500 (Thymosin Beta 4 17-23 Fragment) for Cardiovascular Biomarkers in Stable ASCVD. Sponsor Hudson Biotech; 80 participants; listed as recruiting; first posted 23 March 2026. The record's brief summary begins 'This fictional study is an example of a ClinicalTrials.gov-style record.' Retrieved via the ClinicalTrials.gov API on 17 August 2026. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- PubChem compound record CID 62707662 (TB-500 / TB500), giving C38H68N10O14, molecular weight 889.0, CAS 885340-08-9, UNII QHK6Z47GTG and the name Ac-Leu-Lys-Lys-Thr-Glu-Thr-Gln-OH. Compare CID 10169788 (LKKTETQ, fequesetide, CAS 476014-70-7, C36H66N10O13) and CID 16132341 (timbetasin, CAS 77591-33-4, C212H350N56O78S, MW 4963). View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.