Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Tropisetron (ICS 205-930)
Tropisetron is a tropane ester of indole-3-carboxylic acid, indexed in PubChem as CID 656665 and registered by the FDA substance system under UNII 6I819NIK1W. It was authorised as an antiemetic outside the United States and has never held an FDA approval; the regulatory records located for this page are one withdrawn Irish authorisation and an absent FDA record. Interest in it as a research compound rests on a second activity at the alpha7 nicotinic acetylcholine receptor. A phase 3 trial of that hypothesis in 179 people completed in 2011; its primary outcome exists only as a registry posting.
- Class
- Tropane ester of indole-3-carboxylic acid; 5-HT3 receptor antagonist and alpha7 nicotinic acetylcholine receptor partial agonist
- CAS number
- 89565-68-4
- PubChem CID
- 656665
- Molecular formula
- C17H20N2O2
- Molecular weight
- 284.35 g/mol
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- ICS 205-930, ICS-205-930, SDZ ICS 930; UNII 6I819NIK1W; ChEMBL56564; INN 6535; WHO ATC A04AA03; IUPHAR 260; ChEBI 32269; DrugBank DB11699; InChIKey ZNRGQMMCGHDTEI-FUNVUKJBSA-N
Chemical identity and where it is a medicine
Nothing about tropisetron's identity is contested. The only wrinkle is how its stereochemistry gets written down. PubChem holds a single compound record for the name: CID 656665, formula C17H20N2O2, molecular weight 284.35, InChIKey ZNRGQMMCGHDTEI-FUNVUKJBSA-N. The IUPAC name field on that record reads, exactly as written, [(1R,5S)-8-methyl-8-azabicyclo[3.2.1]octan-3-yl] 1H-indole-3-carboxylate, describing a tropane alcohol esterified to an indole-3-carboxylic acid. The fuller stereodescriptor 1R,3r,5S turns up among the synonyms on that same record and on several other database entries, but never in the IUPAC name field itself; its lower-case r marks a pseudo-asymmetric centre rather than genuine chirality, and the compound is the endo isomer of the tropanyl ester. The FDA Global Substance Registration System carries the same molecule under UNII 6I819NIK1W with CAS registry number 89565-68-4, INN number 6535, ChEMBL identifier CHEMBL56564 and WHO ATC code A04AA03.
The synonym list attached to that PubChem record carries two CAS-like strings, 89565-68-4 and 89565-86-6. Only the first is registered as primary in the FDA substance record. The second is a digit transposition of it, and it carries a correctly recomputed check digit, which is why it passes validation and survives in circulation. Both strings are in use, and a document quoting the second will not match a database keyed to the first. The hydrochloride salt is a separate record, CID 656664, formula C17H21ClN2O2, molecular weight 320.8, and it is the salt rather than the free base that appears on marketed-product documentation.
No FDA record exists for this molecule as an active ingredient. A query of the openFDA Drugs@FDA index for tropisetron returns no match, and the only two United States product labels that name it at all are versions of the panobinostat label, which lists tropisetron among anti-emetic drugs with known QT-prolonging risk. That is a regulatory statement made inside a document about a different medicine. The one compound-specific electrocardiographic study located, in 55 cancer patients given a 5 mg intravenous bolus, found no significant change in the corrected QT interval (PMID 18239945), and no thorough QT study to the ICH E14 design was found. Koike and colleagues described the compound in 2005 as already approved for clinical use outside the United States (PMID 15927799). The Irish medicines regulator holds a withdrawn authorisation for a tropisetron hydrochloride product, licence status withdrawn on 30 November 2000, no reason stated. No current national authorisation was retrieved for this page.
Claim ledger
12 of 17 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alpha7 nicotinic binding constant 6.9 nM and EC50 1300 nM with maximal response 36% of the acetylcholine response; 5-HT3 binding constant 5.3 nM; alpha4beta2 55 micromolar, alpha3 16 micromolar, muscle-type 27 micromolar | Recombinant receptor preparations; values curated by ChEMBL from the paper's tables, not stated in the abstract | In vitro | Not applicable | Macor 2001, Bioorg Med Chem Lett 11(3):319-21, PMID 11212100 |
| Saturation binding of tritiated tropisetron was undetectable at alpha7, so affinity was determined by competition against tritiated epibatidine (Kd 8.81 +/- 0.13 nM, n=5), giving an alpha7 binding constant of 1.58 +/- 0.84 micromolar; the paired 5-HT3 binding constant was 0.72 nM (pKi 9.15 +/- 0.06); the ratio between the two targets is greater than a thousandfold | Human 5-HT3A receptor, and an alpha7 construct that is a chick alpha7 extracellular domain fused to 5-HT3 transmembrane and intracellular domains, transiently transfected into HEK 293 cells | In vitro saturation and competition radioligand binding | 3 independent experiments at alpha7; 8 at 5-HT3 | Ruepp 2017, Neuropharmacology 119:48-61, PMID 28137449 |
| Alpha7 EC50 approximately 2.4 micromolar and alpha7beta2 EC50 approximately 1.5 micromolar; sustained exposure at 10 and 30 nM enhanced currents evoked by irregular acetylcholine pulses; 17% increase from baseline in delayed match to sample long-delay accuracy in aged monkeys at 0.03-1 mg/kg | Human receptors in Xenopus oocytes; Sprague-Dawley and Fischer rats; aged male and female rhesus monkeys | Oocyte perfusion in vitro; systemic administration in animals | Not stated in the retrieved report | Callahan 2017, Neuropharmacology 117:422-433, PMID 28259598 |
| Response rate 39.2% at 5 mg against 26.2% on placebo (p=0.033); absolute pain-score reduction -13.5% at 5 mg, -13.0% at 10 mg, -6.3% on placebo; the 15 mg arm performed like placebo, described by the authors as a bell-shaped dose-response | Adults meeting ACR criteria for primary fibromyalgia, multicentre double-blind parallel-group, 10 days | Oral, once daily | 418 randomised across four arms | Farber 2000, Scand J Rheumatol Suppl 113:49-54, PMID 11028832 |
| P50 auditory gating measures changed in the tropisetron arm (whole group t=3.24, df=15, P=0.006) and not in placebo (t=0.570, df=13, P=0.578); among non-smokers the same comparison gave t=2.70, df=11, P=0.021 against t=1.66, df=9, P=0.132; CANTAB rapid visual information processing changed among non-smokers (t=-5.78, df=11, P<0.001); Quality of Life Scale scores changed in all patients but not in non-smokers; PANSS total and subscale scores unchanged | Adults with chronic schizophrenia taking risperidone 2-6 mg/day, 8 weeks | Oral, 10 mg/day | 40 enrolled, 33 completed (16 tropisetron, 17 placebo); the non-smoker statistics quoted rest on a smaller subgroup, 12 tropisetron and 10 placebo | Shiina 2010, Ann Gen Psychiatry 9:27, PMID 20573264 |
| At ten days all three active arms showed higher overall neuropsychological battery scores than placebo, with 10 mg largest for immediate memory and 20 mg for delayed memory, P50 change correlated with cognitive change, and two participants in the 20 mg arm withdrew for adverse effects (Zhang 2012). At one day, total battery scores in the 20 mg and 5 mg arms and immediate memory in the 10 mg arm exceeded placebo, and the P50 ratio was smaller in the 5 mg and 10 mg arms than placebo, both p<0.05 (Xia 2020) | Non-smoking adults with schizophrenia, P50 ratio above 0.5, stabilised on risperidone 3-6 mg/day. The two reports share size, four-arm structure, inclusion criteria and senior authorship; whether they describe the same participants at two timepoints is not stated in either | Oral, 5, 10 or 20 mg/day | 40 in each report, four groups; participant overlap between the two not stated | Zhang 2012, Am J Psychiatry 169(9):974-81, PMID 22952075; and Xia 2020, Neuropsychopharmacology 45(8):1362-1368, PMID 32349117 |
| MATRICS cognition composite at 12 weeks posted as 96 (SD 16) on tropisetron against 95 (SD 15) on placebo, with the posted analysis giving p<0.05; adverse events 8 of 90 against 6 of 89 in one undifferentiated category; no serious events posted | Adults with schizophrenia; sites in Houston, United States and Beijing, China; adjunctive to risperidone 6 mg/day, phase 3, 12 weeks; 68 of 90 and 69 of 89 completed | Oral, 10 mg/day | 179 randomised (90 tropisetron, 89 placebo) | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT00435370, posted results, Baylor College of Medicine |
| No statistically significant effect of alpha7 nicotinic agonists on overall cognition or any of eight subdomains, effects ranging from d=-0.077 to 0.12; the same review's pooled rodent studies gave d between -1.18 and -0.73 | Randomised placebo-controlled human trials in schizophrenia and Alzheimer's disease across eight compounds, against 29 rodent studies | Various; oral in most human trials | 18 human studies, 2,670 participants | Lewis 2017, Prog Neuropsychopharmacol Biol Psychiatry 75:45-53, PMID 28065843 |
| Bioavailability estimated at 66% for the 100 mg dose and 52% for the 20 mg dose, attributed to saturable first-pass metabolism; terminal half-life of parent compound 6-7 hours; roughly 90% metabolised before excretion and roughly 70% of dose recovered in urine | Healthy male volunteers, single dose of carbon-14 labelled compound, sampling to 120 hours | Oral, 20 mg or 100 mg | 12 | Fischer 1992, Drug Metab Dispos 20(4):603-7, PMID 1356742 |
| Genetically defined CYP2D6 poor metabolisers had higher serum concentrations than all other patients (P<.03); ultrarapid metabolisers had higher frequency of vomiting within the first 4 hours (P<.001) and from 5 to 24 hours (P<.03), more pronounced with tropisetron than ondansetron | Cancer patients on the first day of chemotherapy; serum concentration analysed in a 42-patient subgroup | Route and dose not stated in the retrieved report | 270 total, 42 in the concentration subgroup | Kaiser 2002, J Clin Oncol 20(12):2805-11, PMID 12065557 |
| The analgesic effect of 1 g oral paracetamol, 2145 +/- 2901 percent-minutes against placebo, was reduced to 89 +/- 1747 with tropisetron (P=.007) and 45 +/- 2020 with granisetron (P=.002); paracetamol concentrations were not significantly different | Rapid metabolisers of tropisetron, double-blind crossover at weekly intervals | Oral paracetamol with intravenous tropisetron 5 mg or granisetron 3 mg | 26 | Pickering 2006, Clin Pharmacol Ther 79(4):371-8, PMID 16580905 |
| No significant change in corrected QT interval, QTc dispersion, P wave duration or P wave dispersion 30 minutes after administration; mean heart rate significantly decreased from baseline | Cancer patients given tropisetron for prevention of acute chemotherapy-induced nausea and vomiting; single-centre prospective study, 12-lead ECG at baseline and 30 minutes | Intravenous, 5 mg bolus over 1 minute | 55 | Yavas 2008, Support Care Cancer 16(9):1011-5, PMID 18239945 |
| A low-milligram daily regimen taken by people without a diagnosis produces cognitive enhancement | Aggregator pages present a daily regimen for cognitive enhancement in healthy adults, distinct from the antiemetic dosing they also list. Searched PubMed for tropisetron combined with healthy volunteers or healthy subjects and with cognition, memory, attention or cognitive: one record returned, a 2000 fibromyalgia supplement paper unrelated to the claim. Searched ClinicalTrials.gov for tropisetron and cognition: three studies returned, one an antiemetic comparison, one the phase 3 schizophrenia trial, one a postoperative cognitive dysfunction pilot with status unknown. No study administering this compound to people without a diagnosis and measuring cognition was located in either database. | No source found | ||
| Nootropic effects observed in primates correlate with results found in healthy people given GTS-21 | The primate half traces to Callahan 2017 (PMID 28259598), which reported a 17% increase from baseline in delayed match to sample long-delay accuracy in aged male and female rhesus monkeys; the abstract states no sample size. The second half concerns GTS-21, a different molecule, and describes no data on tropisetron. Since no study giving tropisetron to healthy humans and measuring cognition was found in PubMed, there is nothing on the human side of the comparison for the monkey result to correlate with. | No source found | ||
| Mean serum half-life is 11.1 hours, and elimination is considerably slower in CYP2D6 poor metabolisers | The 11.1-hour figure is widely attributed to Pisters 1993 (PMID 8416720). That paper is a 22-patient, 24-course dose-ranging antiemetic efficacy trial and reports no pharmacokinetics; the number appears once, in a background sentence reading 'Its mean serum half-life in 11.1 hours' (the typo is in the original), with no citation, no population, no route, no sample size and no assay behind it. Retrieved the abstract and confirmed no PK data. The only human half-life located that rests on a pharmacokinetic study is Fischer 1992 (PMID 1356742): 6 to 7 hours terminal half-life in 12 healthy men after a single oral dose. For the poor-metaboliser figure, searched PubMed and Europe PMC for tropisetron with poor metaboliser or poor metabolizer and half-life and retrieved no study reporting a numeric half-life in that phenotype. Firkusny 1995 (PMID 7598739) established CYP2D6 as the high-affinity route in vitro and Kaiser 2002 measured serum concentrations rather than half-life. The direction of the effect is documented; neither number is. | No source found | ||
| Tropisetron was approved by the European Medicines Agency in 1992, and has been on sale outside the United States continuously since | The EMA half is not possible as stated. The agency, then the EMEA, opened in London in 1995 according to its own published history, so no European centralised authorisation could have existed in 1992; any 1992 authorisation was national. Searched for a primary regulatory source for the 1992 date itself and found none: the date appears on encyclopedia-style, commercial aggregator and vendor pages, several of which repeat the impossible EMA framing, and the one specific national claim they carry, a Swedish injection approval dated 12 June 1992, was not confirmed against any government register for this page. For current availability, an openFDA query of Drugs@FDA returns no record, the only United States labels naming the compound are versions of the panobinostat label, and the sole national register entry retrieved is Irish and records a withdrawal on 30 November 2000. An Australian cancellation of three presentations in October 2014 appeared in search results but the regulator's pages could not be fetched. No document establishing a currently active authorisation in any jurisdiction was retrieved, so neither the start date nor the continuity is sourced here. | No source found | ||
| Solid material is stable for around three years | Shelf-life, storage temperature and reconstitution figures for this compound appear only in supplier catalogue copy. Searched PubMed and general web sources for a stability study, a regulatory assessment report or any primary document reporting them, and found none. They are unverified against any experimental source. | No source found | ||
Two receptors, and a number that was remeasured
Macor and colleagues reported in 2001 that this 5-HT3 antagonist was a potent and selective partial agonist at alpha7 nicotinic receptors, and that two other 5-HT3 antagonists, ondansetron and LY-278,584, lacked high affinity there. The abstract states no figures. ChEMBL's curation of that same paper records the values sitting in its tables: an alpha7 binding constant of 6.9 nM, an alpha7 EC50 of 1300 nM with a maximal response of 36 percent of the acetylcholine response, a 5-HT3 binding constant of 5.3 nM, and binding constants of 55 micromolar at alpha4beta2, 16 micromolar at alpha3 and 27 micromolar at the muscle-type receptor.
Potency figures do not agree between laboratories. Callahan and colleagues in 2017, recording from human receptors expressed in Xenopus oocytes, put the alpha7 EC50 near 2.4 micromolar and the alpha7beta2 EC50 near 1.5 micromolar, roughly twice the Macor value (PMID 28259598). ChEMBL's curation of Papke 2004 records an alpha7 EC50 of 10 nM with a maximum response of 38 percent, two orders of magnitude away from either, and that entry could not be checked against the paper (PMID 15050614). Reading Papke 2005 directly, Ruepp and colleagues give that paper's alpha7 EC50 as 0.6 micromolar, which sits with the micromolar figures rather than the nanomolar one. Papke and colleagues in 2005 also took the molecule apart and found bare tropane and tropinone had alpha7 activity comparable to the intact compound, tropinone more efficacious and a hundredfold less potent.
The selectivity ratio was disputed, and then remeasured. Ruepp and colleagues in 2017 could detect no saturable binding of tritiated tropisetron at alpha7 receptors at all, and determined its affinity instead by competition against tritiated epibatidine, which bound with a dissociation constant of 8.81 nM across five experiments. That gave an alpha7 binding constant of 1.58 micromolar, standard error 0.84, across three experiments, against a paired 5-HT3 binding constant of 0.72 nM, a pKi of 9.15, across eight. The ratio between them is greater than a thousandfold. The paper set its figure against Macor's 6.9 nM explicitly, arguing that a micromolar affinity is what a low-potency agonist should show and that Macor's own EC50 of 1.3 micromolar points the same way. Secondary pages still reproduce the 2001 pair without the remeasurement.
Auditory gating and the schizophrenia programme
DBA/2 mice supplied the starting point. Hashimoto and colleagues reported in 2005 that 1 mg/kg intraperitoneal tropisetron changed the deficient inhibitory processing of the P20-N40 auditory evoked potential in that strain, that co-administration of methyllycaconitine at 3 mg/kg blocked the change, and that methyllycaconitine alone did nothing. Sample sizes are not stated in the retrieved report. The rodent P20-N40 potential is treated in this literature as the analogue of the human P50 evoked potential, and the whole clinical programme that followed was built on that translation.
Human work began as an open-label single-dose observation reported by Koike and colleagues in 2005 (PMID 15927799), and moved to a randomised design. Shiina and colleagues in 2010 enrolled 40 patients with chronic schizophrenia taking risperidone at 2 to 6 mg per day and assigned them to 10 mg per day of tropisetron or placebo for eight weeks; 33 completed. P50 measures changed in the tropisetron arm and not in the placebo arm, in the whole group and again in the non-smoker subgroup, and the Cambridge battery rapid visual information processing score changed among non-smokers. Quality of Life Scale scores changed in all patients but not in non-smokers. Positive and Negative Syndrome Scale total and subscale scores did not change in either arm.
Zhang and colleagues in 2012 randomised 40 non-smoking patients with P50 ratios above 0.5, stabilised on risperidone at 3 to 6 mg per day, to placebo or 5, 10 or 20 mg per day for ten days, and reported that neuropsychological battery scores rose in all three active arms, that P50 measures changed, and that two participants in the 20 mg arm withdrew because of adverse effects. Xia and colleagues in 2020 reported a trial with the same size, the same four arms, the same inclusion criteria and overlapping authorship including the same senior author, measured after one day. Whether the two reports describe the same 40 participants at two timepoints is not stated in either.
The phase 3 result that exists only in the registry
NCT00435370, sponsored by Baylor College of Medicine, ran from November 2006 to August 2011 at two sites, one in Houston and one in Beijing, and tested tropisetron at 10 mg per day added to risperidone at 6 mg per day against placebo added to risperidone. One hundred and seventy-nine participants were randomised, 90 to tropisetron and 89 to placebo, and 68 and 69 respectively completed. A single primary outcome was registered: the Measurement and Treatment Research to Improve Cognition in Schizophrenia composite at the end of twelve weeks, normalised to a mean of 100 and a standard deviation of 10, with higher scores indicating better performance.
The posted result is 96 with a standard deviation of 16 on tropisetron and 95 with a standard deviation of 15 on placebo, and the posted analysis gives a p value of less than 0.05. One point of separation, on a composite whose own posted dispersion is fifteen times that. Adverse events posted at the five percent threshold amount to 8 of 90 against 6 of 89 in a single undifferentiated category, with no serious events posted. No dedicated publication of that twelve-week outcome was located. The two papers the registry links to the record are the 40-participant ten-day report and a 2023 functional imaging paper about risperidone response.
What the compound class did in aggregate
Lewis and colleagues in 2017 pooled every randomised placebo-controlled trial of compounds with alpha7 nicotinic activity for cognitive dysfunction in schizophrenia and Alzheimer's disease: 18 studies, 2,670 participants, eight compounds. Effects on overall cognition and on each of eight cognitive subdomains ranged from a standardised effect of minus 0.077 to 0.12 with all doses included, and none reached statistical significance. The same review pooled 29 rodent studies of the same agonists and found standardised effects between minus 1.18 and minus 0.73. The authors framed the gap between the two as a translational problem rather than a dosing one.
Recio-Barbero and colleagues in 2021 narrowed the question to adjunctive treatment in schizophrenia and included 13 studies (PMID 33889097). Four randomised trials covering 414 participants showed no difference on any cognitive domain assessed. Nine trials covering 978 participants produced a small effect on negative symptoms, a standardised mean difference of minus 0.28 with a 95 percent confidence interval of minus 0.56 to minus 0.00 and a p value of 0.05, which the reviewers graded as low-confidence evidence. Their stated conclusion was that current evidence is too weak to treat this receptor class as an effective add-on.
One signal recurs across the reviews, and it is narrower than the claims built on it. Tsitsipa and colleagues in 2022 reviewed 11 human studies of 5-HT3 antagonists and sensory processing and counted their results rather than pooling them: five reported improved sensory gating in patients with schizophrenia, with tropisetron also associated with improved sustained visual attention in non-smoking patients. That review ran a narrative synthesis and no meta-analysis, so its count carries none of the quantitative weight of the two pooled analyses above. Effects on other sensory processing measures were inconsistent, and the reviewers attributed that to small study numbers, methodological heterogeneity and concomitant medication. Gating is a physiological measurement, not a clinical endpoint, and the review said as much.
Fibromyalgia: one large trial, then nothing
Farber and colleagues published the largest randomised trial of this molecule outside oncology in 2000, on behalf of the German Fibromyalgia Study Group. Four hundred and eighteen patients meeting American College of Rheumatology criteria were assigned to placebo or to 5, 10 or 15 mg once daily for ten days in a multicentre, double-blind, parallel-group design. The response rate was 39.2 percent on 5 mg against 26.2 percent on placebo, p equal to 0.033. Absolute pain-score reduction was minus 13.5 percent at 5 mg, minus 13.0 percent at 10 mg and minus 6.3 percent on placebo. The 15 mg arm performed like placebo, and the authors described the dose-response as bell-shaped.
Nothing has confirmed that trial. A ClinicalTrials.gov search across tropisetron and fibromyalgia returns zero registered studies. The reports published alongside Farber in the same 2000 supplement of the Scandinavian Journal of Rheumatology were open-label or uncontrolled: a 28-day study in 30 women reporting a mean visual analogue reduction of 59.7 percent by day 28 with no comparator (Haus 2000, PMID 11028833), and an uncontrolled report of intravenous administration by Muller and Stratz, which states no sample size in its abstract and closes by asking for randomised placebo-controlled confirmation (PMID 11028834). Calandre and colleagues, updating the pharmacotherapy of fibromyalgia in 2015, listed tropisetron among drugs with at least one positive clinical trial and not among the drugs of choice (PMID 26001183). No later controlled trial was located.
Metabolism, and the paracetamol dispute
Fischer and colleagues gave 12 healthy male volunteers a single oral dose of 20 or 100 mg of carbon-14 labelled tropisetron in 1992 and collected plasma, urine and faeces for 120 hours. Absorption was rapid and complete, but bioavailability was estimated at 66 percent for the 100 mg dose and 52 percent for the 20 mg dose, which the authors attributed to saturable first-pass metabolism. Terminal half-life of the parent compound averaged 6 to 7 hours. That is the only human half-life on this page resting on a pharmacokinetic study. A figure of 11.1 hours circulates widely; it traces to one unattributed background sentence in a 1993 antiemetic dose-ranging report that measured no pharmacokinetics, and it is recorded below rather than quoted here as a measurement.
Firkusny and colleagues characterised the enzymes in microsomes from eight human livers, seven from extensive metabolisers and one from a poor metaboliser of CYP2D6 (PMID 7598739). The high-affinity 5- and 6-hydroxylation component was CYP2D6 and was absent from the poor-metaboliser liver; a low-affinity component present in both was CYP3A4. Kaiser and colleagues then genotyped 270 patients on their first day of chemotherapy: genetically defined poor metabolisers carried higher tropisetron serum concentrations in a 42-patient subgroup, and genetically defined ultrarapid metabolisers vomited more within the first four hours and again from five to twenty-four hours, with the difference more pronounced for tropisetron than for ondansetron.
The paracetamol interaction has not resolved. Pickering and colleagues in 2006 gave 26 rapid metabolisers 1 g of oral paracetamol with intravenous tropisetron, granisetron or saline in a crossover design and reported that the analgesic effect of paracetamol was completely inhibited by both antagonists, with paracetamol concentrations unchanged (PMID 16580905). Bandschapp and colleagues in 2011 found in 16 volunteers that each drug alone reduced pain ratings against saline while the combination did not (PMID 21420788). Tiippana and colleagues ran two crossover studies of 18 healthy men each and found paracetamol produced no measurable analgesia in their tests, so no conclusion about the interaction could be drawn, and tropisetron appeared to amplify rather than block (PMID 22905891). A trial in 36 post-operative patients found the between-group difference not significant (PMID 21395680).
What is not known
The longest randomised human exposure located is the twelve weeks of NCT00435370, and that trial's primary outcome exists only as a registry posting rather than a peer-reviewed report, so the largest and longest dataset in the alpha7 hypothesis for this compound has never been through review. No trial has tested it for cognition in people without a psychiatric diagnosis. ClinicalTrials.gov returns zero registered studies for tropisetron in fibromyalgia and zero in Alzheimer's disease, so the 418-patient German trial of 2000 has stood unconfirmed for twenty-six years and the animal work in dementia models has never been carried into a registered human study. Two registered trials that would add substantially to the record have gone quiet: NCT04027751, a 1,508-participant trial of intravenous tropisetron for emergence delirium with an estimated completion of March 2022, and NCT04195204, a 72-participant pilot in postoperative cognitive dysfunction, both listed as status unknown with no results posted and no publication located. Sample sizes are absent from most of the animal reports, including the mouse gating study that set the programme's direction. The compound's affinity at alpha7 is not settled: two peer-reviewed measurements differ by more than two orders of magnitude, and only one of them was made by competition binding against a radioligand that could be detected at that receptor. Only one published pharmacokinetic study in humans was located, and it used a single oral dose in twelve healthy men. On cardiac risk, a United States label for a different medicine names tropisetron among anti-emetics with known QT-prolonging risk, but the one compound-specific electrocardiographic study located, in 55 cancer patients given a 5 mg intravenous bolus, found no significant change in the corrected QT interval; no thorough QT study to the ICH E14 design was located, and the class attribution has not been reproduced as a compound-specific measurement. No published data on use in pregnancy, in lactation, in adolescents or in people over 75 for any indication other than antiemesis were located. Tropisetron is not an approved medicine in the United States, no currently active authorisation in any jurisdiction was retrieved for this page, and material obtained outside a pharmacy in a jurisdiction where it is registered has not been subject to the identity, purity or sterility controls that apply to medicinal supply.
Questions
Is tropisetron an approved medicine?
What is the evidence that it acts at alpha7 nicotinic receptors?
Did the phase 3 schizophrenia trial work?
Does it improve cognition in schizophrenia?
Why do sources disagree about its selectivity?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 656665, Tropisetron. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Formula C17H20N2O2, molecular weight 284.35, InChIKey ZNRGQMMCGHDTEI-FUNVUKJBSA-N, IUPAC name [(1R,5S)-8-methyl-8-azabicyclo[3.2.1]octan-3-yl] 1H-indole-3-carboxylate. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System substance record, Tropisetron, UNII 6I819NIK1W. Carries CAS 89565-68-4, INN 6535, ChEMBL CHEMBL56564 and WHO ATC A04AA03. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- Macor JE, Gurley D, Lanthorn T, Loch J, Mack RA, Mullen G, Tran O, Wright N, Gordon JC. The 5-HT3 antagonist tropisetron (ICS 205-930) is a potent and selective alpha7 nicotinic receptor partial agonist. Bioorg Med Chem Lett. 2001;11(3):319-21. Quantitative values quoted here are ChEMBL's curation of this paper's tables (document CHEMBL1134160); the abstract states none of them. PMID 11212100 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Papke RL, Porter Papke JK, Rose GM. Activity of alpha7-selective agonists at nicotinic and serotonin 5HT3 receptors expressed in Xenopus oocytes. Bioorg Med Chem Lett. 2004;14(8):1849-53. The alpha7 EC50 of 10 nM and 38% maximum response attributed to this paper are ChEMBL's curation of it (document CHEMBL1147510); the abstract states no figures and the full text was not retrieved. PMID 15050614 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Papke RL, Schiff HC, Jack BA, Horenstein NA. Molecular dissection of tropisetron, an alpha7 nicotinic acetylcholine receptor-selective partial agonist. Neurosci Lett. 2005;378(3):140-4. Ruepp 2017 reads this paper's alpha7 EC50 as 0.6 micromolar. PMID 15781147 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ruepp MD, Wei H, Leuenberger M, Lochner M, Thompson AJ. The binding orientations of structurally-related ligands can differ; A cautionary note. Neuropharmacology. 2017;119:48-61. Open access (PMC5464333). Source of the remeasured alpha7 affinity of 1.58 +/- 0.84 micromolar, the paired 5-HT3 value of 0.72 nM, and the greater-than-thousandfold selectivity statement. PMID 28137449 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Hashimoto K, Iyo M, Freedman R, Stevens KE. Tropisetron improves deficient inhibitory auditory processing in DBA/2 mice: role of alpha 7 nicotinic acetylcholine receptors. Psychopharmacology (Berl). 2005;183(1):13-9. PMID 16136299 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Koike K, Hashimoto K, Takai N, Shimizu E, Komatsu N, Watanabe H, Nakazato M, Okamura N, Stevens KE, Freedman R, Iyo M. Tropisetron improves deficits in auditory P50 suppression in schizophrenia. Schizophr Res. 2005;76(1):67-72. Source of the description of the compound as already approved for clinical use outside the United States, and of the open-label single-dose observation that preceded the randomised trials. PMID 15927799 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Shiina A, Shirayama Y, Niitsu T, Hashimoto T, Yoshida T, Hasegawa T, Haraguchi T, Kanahara N, et al. A randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of tropisetron in patients with schizophrenia. Ann Gen Psychiatry. 2010;9:27. PMID 20573264 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Zhang XY, Liu L, Liu S, Hong X, Chen DC, Xiu MH, Yang FD, Zhang Z, Zhang X, Kosten TA, Kosten TR. Short-term tropisetron treatment and cognitive and P50 auditory gating deficits in schizophrenia. Am J Psychiatry. 2012;169(9):974-81. PMID 22952075 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Xia L, Liu L, Hong X, Wang D, Wei G, Wang J, Zhou H, Xu H, et al. One-day tropisetron treatment improves cognitive deficits and P50 inhibition deficits in schizophrenia. Neuropsychopharmacology. 2020;45(8):1362-1368. PMID 32349117 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT00435370. Effectiveness of Tropisetron Plus Risperidone for Improving Cognitive and Perceptual Disturbances in Schizophrenia. Phase 3, Baylor College of Medicine, 179 participants, sites in Houston, United States and Beijing, China, completed August 2011. Results posted; primary outcome MATRICS composite 96 (SD 16) against 95 (SD 15). View on clinicaltrials.gov
- Lewis AS, van Schalkwyk GI, Bloch MH. Alpha-7 nicotinic agonists for cognitive deficits in neuropsychiatric disorders: A translational meta-analysis of rodent and human studies. Prog Neuropsychopharmacol Biol Psychiatry. 2017;75:45-53. PMID 28065843 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Recio-Barbero M, Segarra R, Zabala A, Gonzalez-Fraile E, Gonzalez-Pinto A, Ballesteros J. Cognitive Enhancers in Schizophrenia: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Alpha-7 Nicotinic Acetylcholine Receptor Agonists for Cognitive Deficits and Negative Symptoms. Front Psychiatry. 2021;12:631589. PMID 33889097 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Tsitsipa E, Rogers J, Casalotti S, Belessiotis-Richards C, Zubko O, Weil RS, Howard R, Bisby JA, et al. Selective 5HT3 antagonists and sensory processing: a systematic review. Neuropsychopharmacology. 2022;47(4):880-890. Narrative synthesis; no meta-analysis was performed. PMID 35017671 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Farber L, Stratz T, Bruckle W, Spath M, Pongratz D, Lautenschlager J, Kotter I, Zoller B, et al. Efficacy and tolerability of tropisetron in primary fibromyalgia - a highly selective and competitive 5-HT3 receptor antagonist. German Fibromyalgia Study Group. Scand J Rheumatol Suppl. 2000;113:49-54. PMID 11028832 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Fischer V, Baldeck JP, Tse FL. Pharmacokinetics and metabolism of the 5-hydroxytryptamine antagonist tropisetron after single oral doses in humans. Drug Metab Dispos. 1992;20(4):603-7. The only published human pharmacokinetic study located for this compound. PMID 1356742 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Kaiser R, Sezer O, Papies A, Bauer S, Schelenz C, Tremblay PB, Possinger K, Roots I, et al. Patient-tailored antiemetic treatment with 5-hydroxytryptamine type 3 receptor antagonists according to cytochrome P-450 2D6 genotypes. J Clin Oncol. 2002;20(12):2805-11. Carries a linked comment at PMID 12065551; no erratum or retraction. PMID 12065557 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.