Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
ACE-031 (Ramatercept)
ACE-031, or ramatercept, is not a peptide. It is a dimeric fusion protein joining the extracellular region of the human activin receptor type IIB to an IgG1 Fc region, recorded by the FDA substance registry under UNII 42HQC6QLEK. Four trials were registered, two were published, and development ended in May 2013. A 2025 doping-control analysis of fourteen products sold under the name found that none of them contained the fusion protein.
- Class
- Recombinant dimeric fusion protein: human activin receptor type IIB extracellular domain joined through a triglycine linker to a human IgG1 Fc region
- CAS number
- 1169766-01-1
- PubChem CID
- Not verified
- Molecular formula
- C3418H5182N928O1062S38
- Molecular weight
- 77,500 Da (calculated, unglycosylated polypeptide)
- Sequence
- Homodimer of two identical 343-residue chains. The registry records sixteen disulfide bonds: two interchain, at Cys122 and Cys125 in the residual IgG1 hinge, and seven intrachain per subunit (10-40, 30-58, 65-84, 71-83, 85-90, 157-217, 263-321). Three N-glycosylation sites per chain, at residues 23, 46 and 193. Each chain: GRGEAETRECIYYNANWELERTNQSGLERCEGEQDKRLHCYASWRNSSGTIELVKKGCWLDDFNCYDRQECVATEENPQVYFCCCEGNFCNERFTHLPEAGGPEVTYEPPPTAPTGGGTHTCPPCPAPELLGGPSVFLFPPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVKFNWYVDGVEVHNAKTKPREEQYNSTYRVVSVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKALPVPIEKTISKAKGQPREPQVYTLPPSREEMTKNQVSLTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDSDGSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFSCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPGK
- Also indexed as
- Ramatercept (INN, USAN), ACE-031, ActRIIB-IgG1; UNII 42HQC6QLEK; ChEMBL CHEMBL2108674; DrugBank DB15116; USAN code YY-125
Chemical identity
ACE-031 is a protein, not a peptide. The FDA Global Substance Registration System records it under the name ramatercept, UNII 42HQC6QLEK, CAS 1169766-01-1, ChEMBL CHEMBL2108674, with INN and USAN designations both entered in 2012. The registered structure is a homodimer of two identical 343-residue chains joined at two interchain disulfide bonds, at Cys122 and Cys125 in the residual IgG1 hinge, with seven further disulfide bonds internal to each chain, sixteen in all. Each chain joins the extracellular region of the human activin receptor type IIB to the C-terminal Fc region of human IgG1 through a three-glycine linker. The calculated formula on that record is C3418H5182N928O1062S38 and the calculated mass 77,500 daltons. That figure covers the polypeptide alone; the same record lists three N-glycosylation sites per chain, at residues 23, 46 and 193, so a measured mass on expressed protein will run higher.
PubChem returns no compound identifier for either name. That is unremarkable for a protein of this size, since the small-molecule databases do not index it, but it has a practical consequence. The identity of material carrying this name cannot be settled by the checks that work on a small molecule. A stated molecular weight or a single chromatographic peak constrains a 343-residue disulfide-linked dimer very weakly, and a molecule of this construction is expressed in mammalian cell culture rather than assembled by solid-phase synthesis. The final section, on what analytical chemists have found inside products sold under the name, returns to this point.
Claim ledger
10 of 18 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean total body lean mass 3.3% greater by DXA (P = 0.03) and thigh muscle volume 5.1% greater by MRI (P = 0.03) at day 29 in the 3 mg/kg group | Healthy postmenopausal women, single ascending dose 0.02-3 mg/kg, randomised 3:1 active to placebo | Subcutaneous, single dose | 48 total | Attie 2013, Muscle Nerve 47:416-23, PMID 23169607 |
| Mean AUC(0-inf) and Cmax increased linearly with dose; mean half-life 10-15 days | Healthy postmenopausal women | Subcutaneous, single dose | 48 total | Attie 2013, Muscle Nerve 47:416-23, PMID 23169607 |
| No serious or severe adverse events; non-significant trend for maintenance of six-minute walk distance against decline on placebo, and trends for greater lean mass and bone mineral density and lower fat mass; no effect sizes given in the abstract | Ambulatory boys with Duchenne muscular dystrophy, aged 4 and over | Subcutaneous every 2 to 4 weeks, ascending dose; treatment duration not stated in the abstract | 24 total | Campbell 2017, Muscle Nerve 55:458-464, PMID 27462804 |
| Epistaxis in 5 of 9 and telangiectasia in 5 of 9 at 1.0 mg/kg every 2 weeks; epistaxis in 1 of 9 and telangiectasia in 0 of 9 at 0.5 mg/kg every 4 weeks; both 0 of 6 on placebo; the planned 2.5 mg/kg cohort started zero participants | Ambulatory boys with Duchenne muscular dystrophy | Subcutaneous every 2 or 4 weeks for 12 weeks, 24-week reporting window | 24 total (9 / 9 / 0 / 6) | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01099761, posted results, adverse-event table at 5% threshold |
| Mean body weight 16% greater than control; soleus, plantaris, gastrocnemius and EDL wet weights greater by 33, 44, 46 and 26% (P<0.05); soleus fibre cross-sectional area 22% greater in type I and 28% in type II; plantaris fibre CSA 57% greater; fibre-type distribution unchanged | 8-week-old C57BL/6 mice, 28 days of treatment | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Cadena 2010, J Appl Physiol 109:635-42, PMID 20466801 |
| Type II fibre cross-sectional area 20% greater and type I 34% greater in biceps brachii than in vehicle-treated animals. Lean body mass by EchoMRI was greater than baseline at weeks 2 to 14, with a significant time-by-treatment interaction (P = 0.0012) but no significant main effect of treatment (P = 0.7506). EDL specific twitch and specific tetanic force were greater ex vivo; absolute twitch and absolute tetanic force were not significantly different. Two caveats the paper itself records: its abstract and discussion report an increase in both absolute and specific force, contradicting its own results section; and one vehicle-control animal gained large body weight and lean mass with no ACE-031 detectable in serum, was not excluded from analysis, and the authors state it may have affected the group means and therefore the between-group comparisons | Healthy adult common marmosets, 6 male and 6 female, 14 weeks | Interscapular subcutaneous, 3.0 mg/kg once weekly | 12 total; 8 treated, 4 vehicle | Cadena 2026, PLoS One 21(2):e0342666, PMID 41686840 (full text read at PMC12904423) |
| RAP-031, the murine-Fc counterpart rather than ACE-031, produced a 41% increase in body mass and a 42.5% increase in forward pulling tension, without altering tension normalised for body mass | mdx mice | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Carlson 2011, Muscle Nerve 43:694-9, PMID 21462203 |
| RAP-031, again the murine-Fc counterpart, given at 10 mg/kg twice weekly for 16 weeks, gave 18% (wild-type) and 17% (mdx) greater body mass and 25% and 22% greater muscle mass; maximum force normalised by muscle mass was unchanged in wild-type animals and 21% lower in mdx animals (P<0.01) | 8 wild-type and 10 mdx mice, 16 weeks, investigators blinded | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | 18 total | Sanchez 2015, PLoS One 10:e0140521, PMID 26485280 |
| Of 14 products sold as ACE-031, 12 contained a protein reactive to an activin receptor IIB antibody; mass spectrometry, immunoblotting and IdeS digestion identified those 12 as full-length human activin receptor IIB rather than the Fc fusion. Two contained no reactive protein | Grey-market products purchased for analysis | In vitro (SDS-PAGE, Western blot, mass spectrometry, IdeS digestion) | 14 products | Reichel 2025, Drug Test Anal 17:1934-1946, PMID 40312924 |
| Grey-market product given at 10 mg/kg body weight was detectable in rat serum up to 48 hours after administration; the authors note the dose was relatively high and that the detection window in humans may differ | Rats; the authors state administering the products to humans was not ethically justifiable | Subcutaneous, single dose (route not stated in the Reichel abstract; reported as a single subcutaneous dose in Thevis 2026) | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Reichel 2025, Drug Test Anal 17:1934-1946, PMID 40312924; route from Thevis 2026, Drug Test Anal 18:458-482, PMID 41702393 |
| The healthy-volunteer lean mass increase came from a single 250 mg dose | The 3.3% figure traces cleanly to Attie 2013 (PMID 23169607), where dosing was by body weight and the increase was measured in the 3 mg/kg group. No absolute milligram dose appears in that abstract or in the registry entry for NCT00755638, which describes single escalating doses without stating amounts. Searched the abstract text, the registry record and the registry's arm descriptions; 250 mg appears in none of them. The figure appears to be a back-calculation presented as a reported dose. | No source found | ||
| Lumbar spine bone mineral density rose about 3.4% in the Phase 1 study | Attie 2013's abstract reports statistically significant changes in serum biomarkers which the authors read as effects on bone and fat metabolism, and gives no DXA bone density percentage. The full text is subscription-only at the publisher; Europe PMC records the paper as not open access with no full text in PubMed Central, and a search for the figure returned only secondary pages. No primary source for 3.4% was located. | No source found | ||
| The Duchenne trial produced lean mass gains of 3 to 5% and thigh muscle volume gains of about 3.1% over placebo | Campbell 2017 (PMID 27462804) reports these outcomes only as trends and gives no effect sizes in the abstract. The posted results for NCT01099761 cover adverse-event outcomes and baseline characteristics; no efficacy outcome measures were posted. The full text is subscription-only and is not in PubMed Central or Europe PMC. Searched both databases and the registry results section; the three numbers were not found in any retrievable primary record. | No source found | ||
| Epistaxis occurred in 10 to 30% of Phase 2 participants | The posted results for NCT01099761 give counts, not a range: epistaxis in 5 of 9 boys at 1.0 mg/kg every two weeks, 1 of 9 at 0.5 mg/kg every four weeks, and 0 of 6 on placebo. That is 6 of 24 overall, and 56% within the higher-exposure arm. The circulating range does not correspond to either figure and no source stating it was located. | No source found | ||
| Gum bleeding was one of the adverse events that stopped the trials | The registry adverse-event table for NCT01099761, at a 5% reporting threshold, lists injection-site erythema, epistaxis, telangiectasia and headache, and nothing else. Campbell 2017's abstract names epistaxis and telangiectasias. Gum bleeding appears in April 2011 company statements as relayed by an advocacy organisation, which is a secondary channel and gives no counts. Gingival bleeding does appear in the approved label of sotatercept, at 10.5% against 2.3% in the ZENITH trial, but that is a different molecule. | No source found | ||
| ACE-031 binds and blocks follistatin along with myostatin and activin | Follistatin is itself a myostatin-binding protein, not a ligand of the activin receptor type IIB, so trapping it is not a mechanism this construct has. Searched PubMed for the receptor and follistatin together, and read the binding-competition analysis in Aykul and Martinez-Hackert 2016 (PMID 26961869), which describes ligands competing for the type II receptor epitope and does not place follistatin among them. No source supports the claim; it appears to be a garbled reading of the myostatin regulatory pathway. | No source found | ||
| Results in mdx mice demonstrate what ACE-031 does in muscular dystrophy | Traced the three most-cited mdx reports. Carlson 2011 (PMID 21462203) and Sanchez 2015 (PMID 26485280) used RAP-031, and Nielsen 2017 (PMID 27859236) used RAP-031 and RAP-435. All are activin receptor traps built with a murine Fc region, which is what makes them administrable to mice; none is ACE-031. A PubMed search for ACE-031 alongside mdx or muscular dystrophy returns the Campbell human trial and reviews, not a dystrophic-mouse study of this molecule. | No source found | ||
| The 2026 marmoset study was the first non-human primate study of ACE-031 | The paper itself makes no primacy claim. Its full text (PMC12904423) says only that efficacy in a non-human primate model would suggest a greater likelihood of success in humans; the words first, initial and earliest do not appear in that sense anywhere in it. A PubMed search on the exact term ACE-031 returns 12 records in total (PMIDs 41686840, 41256654, 40312924, 37919345, 36054096, 27462804, 26842585, 23169607, 22277518, 22068480, 20466801, 20383346), of which two are false matches on myodural bridges and none is an earlier primate study. The claim is probably true but traces to that search rather than to the cited paper, so the article says a non-human primate study rather than the first. | No source found | ||
The registered trial record
Four interventional studies are registered on ClinicalTrials.gov, all sponsored by Acceleron Pharma, now listed as a wholly-owned subsidiary of Merck. NCT00755638 gave single escalating subcutaneous doses to 48 healthy postmenopausal volunteers between September 2008 and July 2009 and is marked completed. NCT00952887 ran multiple escalating doses in 70 healthy postmenopausal women aged 45 to 75 from August 2009 to February 2011, also completed. NCT01099761 randomised 24 ambulatory boys with Duchenne muscular dystrophy aged four and over, from April 2010, and is marked terminated, with the field reading: based on preliminary safety data. NCT01239758, an open-label extension, enrolled 11 boys and was terminated on the same grounds. Registered enrolment across the programme totals 153.
Two of the four produced a located publication. Attie and colleagues 2013 reports the single-dose study; Campbell and colleagues 2017 reports the Duchenne trial. The 70-participant multiple-dose study, the largest single enrolment in the programme, has no results posted to the registry and no publication that a PubMed or Europe PMC search on ACE-031 and ramatercept returned. The extension study likewise has neither posted results nor a located paper. Roughly half the people who received this molecule in a registered study are therefore represented nowhere in the retrievable literature.
Development ended on 2 May 2013, when the two sponsoring companies announced they had concluded their collaboration and would not restart the programme, stating that additional nonclinical and toxicology studies did not support further development. Trials had been on clinical hold since February 2011, with a public announcement in April 2011. Those dates and that wording come from an advocacy organisation's relay of company statements rather than from a peer-reviewed paper or a regulatory document, and are recorded here on that footing. The registry entries are consistent with them: both Duchenne studies carry termination dates in the first half of 2011.
What the two published human trials measured
Attie 2013 was a double-blind, placebo-controlled single ascending-dose study in 48 healthy postmenopausal women, randomised three to one to active or placebo across doses from 0.02 to 3 mg/kg subcutaneously. Mean AUC and Cmax rose linearly with dose and mean half-life was reported as 10 to 15 days. At day 29 in the 3 mg/kg group, mean total body lean mass was 3.3% greater by DXA (P = 0.03) and thigh muscle volume 5.1% greater by MRI (P = 0.03). The authors described statistically significant changes in serum biomarkers which they read as effects on bone and fat metabolism, without giving those figures in the abstract. Injection-site erythema was among the reported adverse events.
Campbell 2017 reports the Duchenne trial: subcutaneous administration every two to four weeks in a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled ascending-dose design, with safety as the primary objective. The abstract records no serious or severe adverse events, a trend toward maintenance of six-minute walk distance against a decline in the placebo group that was not statistically significant, and trends toward greater lean body mass and bone mineral density and reduced fat mass. It gives no effect sizes for any of those trends. The registry posted only adverse-event outcomes for this study, and the full text is subscription-only at the publisher, absent from PubMed Central and from Europe PMC.
Between them the two papers represent 72 participants. One found a measurable difference in muscle mass in healthy women 29 days after a single injection; the other found directional but non-significant differences in a disease population over twelve weeks of dosing. No published human study reports observation beyond the 24-week window of the Duchenne trial, and no human study of any kind was conducted in men, in younger women, or in anyone without either the Duchenne diagnosis or postmenopausal status.
The vascular findings, in the registry's own numbers
NCT01099761 posted results, which makes the safety signal checkable rather than a matter of summary. The adverse-event table covers 24 weeks, twelve of treatment and twelve of follow-up, at a 5% reporting threshold. In the 1.0 mg/kg every-two-weeks arm of nine boys, epistaxis was recorded in five and telangiectasia in five, alongside injection-site erythema in six and headache in three. In the 0.5 mg/kg every-four-weeks arm of nine, epistaxis appeared in one and telangiectasia in none. Among six boys on placebo, neither epistaxis nor telangiectasia was recorded. No serious adverse events were reported in any arm.
A third cohort appears in the same results table, 2.5 mg/kg every four weeks, with zero participants started. That is the published abstract's phrase about the study being stopped after the second dosing regimen, rendered in registry form: the highest planned exposure was never given to anyone. Nine boys is not a safety dataset in any conventional sense, and the counts above are too small to support a rate. What they do show is that the two vascular events clustered in the arm receiving the larger cumulative exposure and were absent from placebo, which is the observation the programme was halted on.
The same findings in an approved relative
Sotatercept, marketed as Winrevair, is a fusion protein of the same general design: the extracellular domain of the activin receptor type IIA joined to an IgG1 Fc region. It was approved in the United States in 2024 and its label carries an adverse-reaction table. In the STELLAR trial, 163 patients on sotatercept against 160 on placebo, epistaxis was reported in 22.1% against 1.9% and telangiectasia in 16.6% against 4.4%. In ZENITH, 86 against 86, epistaxis appeared in 45.3% against 9.3%, telangiectasia in 25.6% against 3.5%, and gingival bleeding in 10.5% against 2.3%. Median time to onset of telangiectasia was 36.1 weeks.
None of those figures describes ACE-031. Sotatercept traps a different receptor's ligands, was given to adults with pulmonary arterial hypertension, and none of its numbers transfer. What the label does establish is that bleeding and telangiectasia were reported in a licensed molecule built on the same principle, at frequencies large enough to appear in its prescribing information: those reactions sit in section 6.1, and serious bleeding carries its own Warnings and Precautions entry at 5.3. Whether these events reflect a property shared across activin-receptor traps is not established for ACE-031; the sotatercept label describes a different molecule at a different receptor in a different population.
Rodent and primate work, and a naming problem
Cadena and colleagues 2010 treated eight-week-old C57BL/6 mice with ACE-031 or vehicle for 28 days. Mean body weight in the treated group was 16% greater than control, and wet weights of soleus, plantaris, gastrocnemius and extensor digitorum longus were greater by 33, 44, 46 and 26% respectively, all at P < 0.05. Mean fibre cross-sectional area in the soleus rose 22% in type I and 28% in type II fibres, and 57% in the plantaris. Soleus fibre-type distribution did not change. Neither the route of administration nor the group sizes appear in the retrieved abstract.
Fifteen years later, Cadena and colleagues published a non-human primate study: twelve healthy adult common marmosets, six male and six female, eight given 3.0 mg/kg by interscapular subcutaneous injection once weekly for fourteen weeks and four given vehicle. Lean body mass by EchoMRI was greater than baseline in treated animals at weeks 2 to 14; the time-by-treatment interaction was significant (P = 0.0012) but the main effect of treatment was not (P = 0.7506). In biceps brachii, type II fibre cross-sectional area was 20% greater and type I 34% greater than in vehicle controls. Specific twitch and specific tetanic force in the extensor digitorum longus were greater ex vivo, while absolute twitch and absolute tetanic force were not significantly different; the paper's own abstract and discussion instead report an increase in both absolute and specific force.
Dystrophic-model results attributed to ACE-031 usually belong to a different molecule. Carlson and colleagues 2011, Sanchez and colleagues 2015 and Nielsen and colleagues 2017 all worked in mdx mice using RAP-031 or RAP-435, activin receptor traps built with a murine Fc region for administration to mice. The receptor domain is shared; the Fc is not, and neither is the pharmacokinetic behaviour that the Fc governs. Wagner's 2020 review of myostatin inhibition in muscular dystrophy addresses the wider version of this problem directly, asking why a class that improved the phenotype of many mouse models has not produced functional improvement in randomised trials.
What is sold under the name
Reichel and colleagues published a 2025 doping-control study of fourteen products sold as ACE-031 on the grey market. Two contained no protein reactive to an activin receptor IIB antibody at all. The remaining twelve did, but SDS-PAGE showed each carried many additional proteins alongside a main band of about 58.4 kDa, and mass spectrometry with immunoblotting identified that band as the full-length human activin receptor IIB rather than the Fc fusion. Digestion with IdeS protease, which cleaves IgG, failed to cut the products, confirming the absence of an Fc region. None of the fourteen contained ACE-031.
The same paper records ACE-031 as prohibited in sport under chapter S4.3 of the 2024 World Anti-Doping Agency Prohibited List, the category covering agents preventing activin receptor IIB activation, and states that it has never been pharmaceutically approved. The current list could not be retrieved to check whether the compound is still named on it, and the Thevis 2026 banned-substance review corroborates the class heading rather than the compound: its tabulation of the 2025 list gives domagrozumab, stamulumab and bimagrumab as that subgroup's named examples. A search of the FDA Drugs@FDA database for ramatercept returns no match. No medicines regulator has licensed it in any jurisdiction, development stopped thirteen years ago, and the last registered administration to a human took place in 2011.
What is not known
Human exposure to this molecule stopped in 2011 and the published record covers 72 people. Half the registered participants are invisible: NCT00952887, the 70-woman multiple-dose escalation study, posted no results and no publication for it was located in PubMed or Europe PMC, and the 11-boy extension study is in the same position. Nothing was published on multiple-dose pharmacokinetics, on accumulation across repeat administration, or on how quickly the lean mass difference reverses after discontinuation. No trial enrolled anyone outside the two groups that were recruited: postmenopausal women aged 45 to 75, and boys with Duchenne muscular dystrophy aged four and over. No adult male, no premenopausal woman and no child without the Duchenne diagnosis received the molecule in a registered study, and no study addressed long-term administration, immunogenicity, carcinogenicity, or reproductive and developmental effects. The toxicology work the sponsors said informed the 2013 decision has never been published, so the specific finding that ended the programme is not in the public record at all. The mechanism behind the epistaxis and telangiectasia is not established for this molecule; the parallel in the sotatercept label is suggestive of a class effect and is not evidence about ACE-031. On the material side, the position is worse than an evidence gap. The only published analysis of products sold under this name found that none of fourteen contained the fusion protein, which means the published human and animal data describe a molecule that grey-market buyers were not receiving.
Questions
Has ACE-031 been tested in humans?
Why were the Duchenne trials stopped?
Is ACE-031 approved as a medicine anywhere?
Do the mdx mouse results apply to ACE-031?
Does material sold under this name contain ACE-031?
References
- FDA Global Substance Registration System, RAMATERCEPT, UNII 42HQC6QLEK. CAS 1169766-01-1, ChEMBL CHEMBL2108674, formula C3418H5182N928O1062S38, calculated mass 77,500 Da, homodimer of two 343-residue chains with 16 disulfide links of which 2 are interchain (Cys122, Cys125) and 7 intrachain per subunit, and 3 N-glycosylation sites per chain (residues 23, 46, 193). Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- Attie KM, Borgstein NG, Yang Y, Condon CH, Wilson DM, Pearsall AE, Kumar R, Willins DA, Seehra JS, Sherman ML. A single ascending-dose study of muscle regulator ACE-031 in healthy volunteers. Muscle Nerve. 2013;47(3):416-23. PMID 23169607 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Campbell C, McMillan HJ, Mah JK, Tarnopolsky M, Selby K, McClure T, Wilson DM, Sherman ML, Escolar D, Attie KM. Myostatin inhibitor ACE-031 treatment of ambulatory boys with Duchenne muscular dystrophy: results of a randomized, placebo-controlled clinical trial. Muscle Nerve. 2017;55(4):458-464. PMID 27462804 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01099761. Registered brief title: "Study of ACE-031 in Subjects With Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy". Multiple ascending-dose design; Phase 2, 24 enrolled, terminated ("Based on preliminary safety data."); results posted, including the adverse-event table cited here. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01239758. Registered brief title: "Extension Study of ACE-031 in Subjects With Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy". Open-label extension; Phase 2, 11 enrolled, terminated ("This study was terminated based on preliminary safety data."); no results posted. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT00952887. Registered brief title: "A Safety, Tolerability, Pharmacokinetic and Pharmacodynamic Study of ACE-031 in Healthy Postmenopausal Women". Multiple-dose, dose-escalation design; Phase 1, 70 enrolled, eligibility female aged 45 to 75, completed February 2011; no results posted and no publication located. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT00755638. Registered brief title: "A Safety, Tolerability, Pharmacokinetic and Pharmacodynamic Study of ACE-031 (ActRIIB-IgG1)in Healthy Postmenopausal Volunteers" (missing space as registered). Single-dose, dose-escalation design; Phase 1, 48 enrolled, eligibility female aged 45 to 75, completed July 2009; reported as Attie 2013. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- Cadena SM, Tomkinson KN, Monnell TE, Spaits MS, Kumar R, Underwood KW, Pearsall RS, Lachey JL. Administration of a soluble activin type IIB receptor promotes skeletal muscle growth independent of fiber type. J Appl Physiol. 2010;109(3):635-42. PMID 20466801 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Cadena SM, Bogdanovich S, Khurana TS, et al. ACE-031, a soluble activin type IIB receptor, increases muscle mass and strength in the common marmoset (Callithrix jacchus). PLoS One. 2026;21(2):e0342666. PMID 41686840. Full text read at PMC12904423. Published version of the bioRxiv preprint PMID 41256654. The paper's abstract and discussion report an increase in absolute and specific force; its results section reports absolute twitch and absolute tetanic force as not significantly different. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Reichel C, Filip T, Gmeiner G, Thevis M. Gel electrophoretic detection of black market ACE-031. Drug Test Anal. 2025;17(10):1934-1946. PMID 40312924 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Carlson CG, Bruemmer K, Sesti J, Stefanski C, Curtis H, Ucran J, Lachey J, Seehra JS. Soluble activin receptor type IIB increases forward pulling tension in the mdx mouse. Muscle Nerve. 2011;43(5):694-9. Study used RAP-031, not ACE-031. PMID 21462203 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Sanchez B, Li J, Yim S, Pacheck A, Widrick JJ, Rutkove SB. Evaluation of electrical impedance as a biomarker of myostatin inhibition in wild type and muscular dystrophy mice. PLoS One. 2015;10(10):e0140521. Study used RAP-031, not ACE-031; administration route not stated in the abstract. PMID 26485280 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Nielsen C, Potter RM, Borowy C, Jacinto K, Kumar R, Carlson CG. Postnatal hyperplasic effects of ActRIIB blockade in a severely dystrophic muscle. J Cell Physiol. 2017;232(7):1774-1793. Study used RAP-031 and RAP-435, not ACE-031. PMID 27859236 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Wagner KR. The elusive promise of myostatin inhibition for muscular dystrophy. Curr Opin Neurol. 2020;33(5):621-628. Review. PMID 32773450 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- WINREVAIR (sotatercept-csrk) prescribing information, DailyMed SPL set ID 21693ee2-cd23-4137-ac67-066bb3a4a9b7, version 11, published 29 July 2026. Records Initial U.S. Approval: 2024; adverse-reaction tables for STELLAR and ZENITH in section 6.1 and the Serious Bleeding entry at 5.3 are cited here. Sotatercept is an activin receptor type IIA fusion protein and a different molecule from ACE-031. View on dailymed.nlm.nih.gov
- Thevis M, Kuuranne T, Geyer H. Annual banned-substance review, 18th edition: analytical approaches in human sports drug testing 2024/2025. Drug Test Anal. 2026;18(4):458-482. Tabulates the 2025 Prohibited List class S4.3, agents preventing activin receptor IIB activation, naming domagrozumab, stamulumab and bimagrumab as examples; ramatercept is discussed in the review body but is not among the listed examples. Also reports the subcutaneous route for the rat administration in Reichel 2025. PMID 41702393 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Muscular Dystrophy Association, Quest: update on ACE-031 clinical trials in Duchenne MD. Advocacy-organisation relay of the sponsors' February 2011 hold, April 2011 announcement and 2 May 2013 statement concluding the collaboration. Secondary source; no peer-reviewed or regulatory document reporting the toxicology findings was located. View on www.mda.org
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.