Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
NSI-189 (Amdiglurax)
NSI-189 is a benzylpiperazine-aminopyridine small molecule, indexed in PubChem as CID 50922681 and carrying the International Nonproprietary Name amdiglurax. Two randomised placebo-controlled trials in depressed adults have now missed their primary endpoint, one run under this code and one under the code ALTO-100, which SEC filings establish is the same molecule. The preclinical neurogenesis work the entire programme rests on has never been published.
- Class
- Benzylpiperazine-aminopyridine small molecule (not a peptide)
- CAS number
- 1270138-40-3
- PubChem CID
- 50922681
- Molecular formula
- C22H30N4O
- Molecular weight
- 366.5 g/mol
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- NSI-189; ALTO-100; amdiglurax (INN 13622); UNII YVE9U408ZL; ChEMBL4302505; InChIKey DYTOQURYRYYNOR-UHFFFAOYSA-N. Phosphate salt: NSI-189 phosphate, CAS 1270138-41-4, PubChem CID 50922680, C22H33N4O5P, 464.5 g/mol, UNII HX0VO60T62
Identity, and a name that changed mid-programme
The compound almost everyone calls NSI-189 is registered under a name hardly anyone uses. The FDA Global Substance Registration System files it as amdiglurax, INN 13622, UNII YVE9U408ZL. PubChem keeps a single record under the development code instead: CID 50922681, CAS 1270138-40-3, C22H30N4O, molecular weight 366.5 g/mol, InChIKey DYTOQURYRYYNOR-UHFFFAOYSA-N. The CAS and formula are identical in both. The structure is a benzylpiperazine amide of a 2-aminopyridine carboxamide, a small synthetic heterocycle rather than a peptide. Almost all published work used the phosphate salt: NSI-189 phosphate, CAS 1270138-41-4, PubChem CID 50922680, C22H33N4O5P, 464.5 g/mol. Animal doses in the literature are stated as free base.
The development code changed in 2021, and the trial record split along with it. Neuralstem, which discovered the molecule, became Seneca Biopharma and then, through a reverse merger, Palisade Bio. An Asset Transfer Agreement dated 18 October 2021, filed with the SEC as an exhibit to Alto Neuroscience's registration statement, transferred the defined "Seneca NSI-189 Know-How" and the associated patents to Alto. Alto's own annual report describes that same transaction as the acquisition of "all patent, know-how and other rights to ALTO-100". Reading the two filings together is what establishes that ALTO-100 and NSI-189 are one compound. Neither document says so in a single sentence, and the ClinicalTrials.gov records for the ALTO-100 studies never mention NSI-189.
Nothing bearing either name is approved anywhere. Queries to Drugs@FDA on amdiglurax and on NSI-189 as an active ingredient returned no matches, and the molecule appears in sponsor filings as an investigational product candidate. An International Nonproprietary Name records a naming decision, not a regulatory one. A PubMed search for amdiglurax returns zero records, so the published literature is indexed entirely under the development code.
Claim ledger
12 of 18 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean terminal half-life 17.4 ± 3.06 h (40 mg q.d.), 20.5 ± 3.51 h (b.i.d.) and 18.6 ± 4.14 h (t.i.d.); steady state at 96-120 h; day-28 AUC(0-24) 1144 ± 276, 2791 ± 1443 and 4384 ± 1217 h·ng/mL | Adults 18-60 with recurrent major depressive disorder, inpatient, 28 days | Oral, 40 mg once, twice or three times daily | 24 dosed; 3 cohorts of 8 (6 active, 2 placebo each) | Fava 2016, Mol Psychiatry, PMID 26643541 |
| Exploratory effect sizes: MADRS 0.95, CPFQ 0.94, SDQ 0.90, CGI-I 0.57; statistical significance reached only on the two self-rated scales (SDQ, CPFQ) | Same Phase 1b cohort, three active arms pooled | Oral, 28 days | 18 active vs 6 placebo after pooling | Fava 2016, Mol Psychiatry, PMID 26643541 |
| No significant difference in hippocampal volume at day 28 (left F=0.06, P=0.80; right F=0.71, P=0.41) or day 84. Post-hoc repeated measures: left hippocampus b=0.35, P=0.12 and right b=−0.03, P=0.82; amygdala control site b=−0.03, P=0.74 left and b=0.32, P=0.049 right — significant at the control site and not at the target site. The authors described these as trends of similar magnitude and wrote that they underscored the possibility of a spurious finding | Same Phase 1b cohort, structural MRI at baseline, day 28, 56 and 84 | Oral, 28 days | 18 active vs 6 placebo; 3 scans unavailable at day 84 | Fava 2016, Mol Psychiatry, PMID 26643541 |
| Primary endpoint missed: MADRS pooled mean difference vs placebo −1.8 at 40 mg (P=0.22) and −1.4 at 80 mg (P=0.34). In the 40 mg arm, SDQ −8.2 (P=0.04), CPFQ −1.9 (P=0.03) and QIDS-SR −2.5 in stage 2 (P=0.04) favoured drug, as did some CogScreen subtests; every combined Cogstate p value was ≥0.05 | Outpatients with major depressive disorder, 12 weeks, sequential parallel comparison design of two six-week stages | Oral, 40 mg or 80 mg daily vs placebo | 220 randomised | Papakostas 2020, Mol Psychiatry, PMID 30626911 |
| Discontinuation for intolerance in the first 6 weeks: placebo 25 (18.9%), 40 mg 4 (9.1%), 80 mg 1 (2.3%), chi-square 8.749, df 2, P=0.013; no serious adverse event in any participant randomised to drug | Same Phase 2 sample, safety dataset | Oral, 12 weeks | 220 randomised | Papakostas 2020, Mol Psychiatry, PMID 30626911 |
| Post-hoc: in the subgroup with baseline MADRS <30, the 80 mg dose beat placebo on MADRS-6 (P=.046); 11/36 (31%) CogScreen variables improved in that subgroup vs 5/36 (14%) in the severe subgroup and 7/36 (19%) overall | Re-analysis of the same 220-patient Phase 2 dataset, dichotomised at baseline MADRS 30 | Oral, 12 weeks | 220 randomised | Johe 2020, Ann Clin Psychiatry, PMID 32722729 |
| Phase 2b of ALTO-100 missed its primary endpoint: week-6 LSM MADRS change −10.3 (SE 1.0) vs placebo −9.8 (SE 1.0), Cohen's d 0.05, P>0.1; monotherapy subgroup d=−0.13; adjunctive subgroup (30 vs 31, not powered) d=0.47, P=0.09; detectable drug in 56% of monotherapy vs 100% of adjunctive samples | Adults with major depressive disorder selected on a memory-based cognitive biomarker, 34 US sites, biomarker-positive mITT population | Oral tablet twice daily, 6-week double-blind period | 301 enrolled; 196 in the primary mITT analysis (97 vs 99) | Alto Neuroscience 10-K for FY2025 (SEC), reporting NCT05712187; no peer-reviewed publication and no registry results |
| Motor and neurological deficits after middle cerebral artery occlusion were reduced from treatment onset and the difference was maintained to 24 weeks post-stroke; increased MAP2 immunoreactivity in hippocampus and cortex | Adult male Sprague-Dawley rats, MCAo model; 60 operated, 48 enrolled | Oral gavage, 30 mg/kg free base, from 6 h post-stroke daily for 12 weeks | 24 per arm (12 euthanised at 12 weeks, 12 at 24 weeks) | Tajiri 2017, J Cell Physiol, PMID 28181668 |
| Performance improved significantly on all four spontaneous exploration tasks (novel place recognition, novel object recognition, object in place, temporal order); on the separate contextual fear-conditioning task only a non-significant trend was reported. Neurogenesis increased and activated microglia were fewer; the difference persisted one month after dosing stopped; hippocampal volume showed no major change | 10-week-old Long-Evans rats (Crl:LE); sex not stated in the source; 27 Gy head-only fractionated cranial irradiation | Oral gavage, 30 mg/kg daily for 4 weeks | 15-16 per group across three groups | Allen 2018, Radiat Res, PMID 29351056 |
| Prevented and also halted progression of multiple indices of small- and large-fibre peripheral neuropathy, increased hippocampal neurogenesis and synaptic markers, and protected long-term memory in both diabetes models | Female Swiss Webster mice (type 1 model) and male db/db mice on C57BLKS/J background (type 2 model) | Oral gavage, 10 mg/kg (type 1) and 30 mg/kg (type 2), daily | 8-10 per group | Jolivalt 2019, Diabetes, PMID 31492662 |
| Raised activity of respiratory complexes I and IV in brain cortex, alongside reversal of peripheral neuropathy indices and of memory impairment, in animals whose diabetes had been left untreated for 16 weeks before dosing began | Adult male Zucker diabetic fatty (ZDF) rats; dosing begun at 24 weeks of age after 16 weeks of untreated diabetes | Oral gavage, 30 mg/kg daily for 16 weeks | 10 per group for behavioural and structural measures; 7-8 for Western blotting; 4 for the cytochrome c oxidase assay | Jolivalt 2022, J Diabetes Res, PMID 35967127 |
| Dentate gyrus neural precursor proliferation 1 h after a BrdU pulse was approximately 70% higher in treated animals than in vehicle controls (p < 0.001), but the 15-day survival assay showed only a minor, non-significant difference; the comparator P7C3-A20 raised net neurogenesis further by promoting survival instead | Male C57BL/6J mice, head-to-head proliferation and survival assays | Intraperitoneal, 10 mg/kg/day for both compounds | Group sizes not stated in the retrieved main text; reported in the supplemental material | Bauman 2018, Transl Psychiatry, PMID 30258178 |
| NSI-189 increased hippocampal volume in healthy adult mice by 20%, or by 20 to 30%. | No percentage figure was located in any retrievable primary or company source. Searched PubMed for NSI-189 combined with hippocampal volume: two records returned (PMIDs 31492662 and 29351056), neither reporting a volume percentage in healthy animals, and the irradiation study explicitly reported no major hippocampal volume change. Searched SEC EDGAR full text for the phrase across the originating company's filings (CIK 0001357459, 30 hits) and read the two most relevant releases: the June 2012 and November 2014 exhibits state only that the compound "significantly increased its volume" and that animal studies produced "a significant increase in hippocampal volume", with no number and no citation. The underlying experiment is cited in Fava 2016 as "Data on file, Neuralstem, non-peer-reviewed". Allen 2018 (PMID 29351056) cites Supplementary Information at doi 10.1667/RR14879.1.S1 as a source for hippocampal cell proliferation and volume in healthy mice. Retrieval attempted 18 August 2026: dx.doi.org redirects to bioone.org/journals/supplementalcontent/10.1667/RR14879.1/rare-189-04-02_s01.pdf, which returned an HTML interstitial rather than the PDF; the file could not be read and its contents remain unverified. | No source found | ||
| MRI in the Phase 2 trial showed roughly a 2.4% increase in hippocampal volume against placebo over 12 weeks. | The Phase 2 trial did not perform MRI. Retrieved the full text of Papakostas 2020 (PMID 30626911) from Europe PMC and searched it for "MRI": zero occurrences in the methods, results or outcome measures; hippocampus appears only in the introduction and reference list. The registry record NCT02695472 lists MADRS as the primary outcome and no imaging endpoint. The only MRI dataset in the published human record is the 24-patient Phase 1b, which found no significant difference at day 28 or day 84 and flagged a post-hoc result at the amygdala control site (right side, P=0.049) that was significant where the hippocampus was not, which the authors called a possible artefact. | No source found | ||
| NSI-189 stimulates neurogenesis of human hippocampus-derived neural stem cells in vitro and acts selectively on the hippocampus and subventricular zone. | This is the founding characterisation of the compound and it has no published primary source. Fava 2016 (PMID 26643541) states it four times and attributes every instance to "Data on file, Neuralstem, non-peer-reviewed". A PubMed search for the compound returns 14 records in total, of which three are incidental matches; none is a discovery or in vitro screening paper. McIntyre 2017 (PMID 28460574) repeats the description as a review without a primary citation. No assay, dose-response, cell line or effect size for the in vitro work is retrievable. Allen 2018 (PMID 29351056) cites Supplementary Information at doi 10.1667/RR14879.1.S1 as a source for hippocampal cell proliferation and volume in healthy mice. Retrieval attempted 18 August 2026: dx.doi.org redirects to bioone.org/journals/supplementalcontent/10.1667/RR14879.1/rare-189-04-02_s01.pdf, which returned an HTML interstitial rather than the PDF; the file could not be read, so the conclusion that no in vitro screen is published rests on the databases searched and not on that unread file. | No source found | ||
| The compound is monoamine-independent and works through BDNF and TrkB signalling. | The monoamine-independence claim is asserted in the trial literature but no published binding or selectivity panel supports it. PubMed searches for the compound combined with receptor, binding or target returned two records (PMIDs 31492662 and 30258178), neither of which is a pharmacology screen. Alto Neuroscience's FY2025 annual report states that the sponsor believes the molecule binds a receptor not targeted by other CNS therapeutics and does not name that receptor. Downstream TrkB and Akt activation was reported in an Angelman syndrome mouse model (PMID 30408487) and BDNF upregulation in a stroke rat model (PMID 28181668), which is association in specific models, not an identified target. | No source found | ||
| Sublingual administration produces higher bioavailability than swallowing. | PubMed searches for the compound combined with sublingual and with bioavailability each returned zero records. No human or animal comparison of routes was located; every published in-human study used oral capsules or tablets, and every published animal study used oral gavage or intraperitoneal injection. The claim circulates as vendor instruction and forum convention with no experimental basis in the retrievable literature. | No source found | ||
| Powder is stable for about 24 months at -20 °C and reconstituted solution for several weeks refrigerated. | A PubMed search for the compound combined with stability returned zero records. The only stability statement traced to a primary document is in Tajiri 2017 (PMID 28181668), which describes the specific test article lot as 99.8% pure and "stable under storage condition (-10 to -30 °C)" for that study, with no duration and no time-course data. Storage windows quoted in months come from supplier catalogue copy and rest on nothing published. | No source found | ||
The preclinical package that was never published
The Phase 1b paper is unusually candid about where the founding data sit. Fava and colleagues describe the molecule as stimulating neurogenesis of human hippocampus-derived neural stem cells in vitro and in mouse hippocampus in vivo, as showing behavioural effects across three doses in a novelty-suppressed feeding model after 28 days of oral administration, as increasing dentate gyrus neurogenesis and hippocampal volume in treated mice, and as acting in the hippocampus and subventricular zone and nowhere else in the central nervous system. Every one of those statements carries the same parenthetical: Data on file, Neuralstem, non-peer-reviewed. The in vitro metabolism characterisation and the Phase 1a single-dose safety result carry it too.
PubMed returns fourteen records for the search term. Three are incidental or false matches. None of the remaining eleven is the discovery paper. There is no published in vitro screen, no published dose-response for the neurogenesis assay, no published receptor or transporter selectivity panel, and no published toxicology. Alto's 2025 annual report states that the company believes the compound binds a receptor not targeted by other CNS therapeutics, and does not name it. Fifteen years after the first human dose, the molecular target is not in the public record.
The founding characterisation — the potency in the stem-cell assay, the anatomical selectivity, and the magnitude of the hippocampal volume effect in healthy mice — has never been published, and so has never been independently reproduced. Secondary pages describing those results as established are describing unpublished company material. Nor is the downstream animal record sponsor-independent. Every rodent paper in this ledger except Bauman 2018 carries Karl Johe, the compound's originating scientist, as a co-author; Tajiri 2017 and Jolivalt 2022 additionally list Neuralstem as an author affiliation, state that the sponsor supplied the test article, and disclose former-employee conflicts. The only rodent study with no sponsor authorship or affiliation is Bauman 2018, and it is the one reporting the narrowest effect.
Twenty-four inpatients: the Phase 1b
NCT01520649 randomised adults aged 18 to 60 with recurrent major depressive disorder to 40 mg once, twice or three times daily, or to placebo, for 28 days in an inpatient setting, with outpatient follow-up to day 84. Twenty-four patients were dosed across three cohorts of eight, six on drug and two on placebo in each. Mean terminal half-life was 17.4 plus or minus 3.06 hours, 20.5 plus or minus 3.51 hours and 18.6 plus or minus 4.14 hours across the three regimens, with steady state reached at 96 to 120 hours. Day-28 AUC over 24 hours was 1144 plus or minus 276, 2791 plus or minus 1443 and 4384 plus or minus 1217 hours times ng/mL.
Efficacy was exploratory, and the three active cohorts were pooled to give eighteen on drug against six on placebo. Effect sizes ranged from 0.57 on the clinician-rated CGI-I to 0.95 on MADRS, with statistical significance reached only on the two self-rated instruments, the SDQ and the CPFQ. Reported adverse events were dominated by headache, at 50% in every group including placebo; dizziness reached four of six on the highest regimen. No serious adverse events occurred. A 2016 erratum corrected a duplicated image across two panels of one figure and a typo in a table; PubMed types the record as a published erratum and attaches no other flag.
Structural MRI was the closest thing to a mechanistic readout in that trial, and it did not deliver one. Analysis of covariance found no significant difference in hippocampal volume between pooled active and placebo patients at day 28 or day 84. A post-hoc repeated-measures analysis suggested a modest increase on the left side at p = 0.12. In that same post-hoc analysis the amygdala, included as a control site, reached significance on the right at p = 0.049, where the target region did not, and the authors described these as trends of similar magnitude and wrote that this underscored the possibility of a spurious finding. This remains the only MRI dataset in the published human record.
Phase 2, and the analyses that followed it
NCT02695472 randomised 220 outpatients with major depressive disorder to 40 mg daily, 80 mg daily or placebo for twelve weeks, using a sequential parallel comparison design of two six-week stages. The primary outcome, MADRS reduction against placebo, missed at both doses: pooled mean difference minus 1.8 at 40 mg with p = 0.22, and minus 1.4 at 80 mg with p = 0.34. The 40 mg arm showed advantages on three self-rated measures, SDQ at minus 8.2 and p = 0.04, CPFQ at minus 1.9 and p = 0.03, and QIDS-SR in stage 2, and on some CogScreen subtests. On the Cogstate battery every combined p value was at or above 0.05.
Tolerability ran in an unusual direction. Discontinuation for intolerance during the first six weeks was significantly higher on placebo, at 25 patients or 18.9%, than on 40 mg at 9.1% or 80 mg at 2.3%, with p = 0.013. No participant randomised to the compound experienced a serious adverse event. Neither the Phase 1b nor the Phase 2 has results posted on ClinicalTrials.gov; the Phase 2 registry entry still carries a status of UNKNOWN against an estimated completion date of December 2017.
A separate post-hoc analysis of that same 220-patient dataset, published in 2020 with the compound's originating scientist as first author, split the sample at a baseline MADRS of 30. In the moderately depressed subgroup the 80 mg dose separated from placebo on the six-item MADRS at p = 0.046, and 11 of 36 CogScreen variables improved, against 5 of 36 in the severe subgroup and 7 of 36 across the whole sample. Those analyses were not the registered primary outcome. They are the origin of most circulating claims that the compound worked in moderate depression.
The second Phase 2b, under the new code
Alto Neuroscience has registered four Phase 2 studies of ALTO-100. NCT05117632 was an open-label biomarker study in 245 adults with major depressive disorder or post-traumatic stress disorder. NCT05419869 was a 21-participant decentralised pilot. NCT05712187 was the randomised, quadruple-masked Phase 2b: 301 adults with major depressive disorder across 34 United States sites, enrolled against a pre-randomisation memory-based cognitive biomarker, with a six-week MADRS primary endpoint. It completed in October 2024. The fourth, NCT06656416 in bipolar depression, is described below. None of the four has results posted on ClinicalTrials.gov, and a PubMed search for ALTO-100 returns no publication of any of them.
Figures for that Phase 2b come from the sponsor's annual report rather than from a journal. In the biomarker-positive modified intent-to-treat population, 97 on drug against 99 on placebo, week-6 least-squares mean MADRS change was minus 10.3 against minus 9.8, Cohen's d 0.05, p greater than 0.1. The monotherapy subgroup ran the other way at d = minus 0.13. The adjunctive subgroup, 30 against 31 and not powered for significance, gave d = 0.47 at p = 0.09. The sponsor attributed the split to non-compliance, reporting that blood sampling found detectable drug in 56% of the monotherapy group against 100% of the adjunctive group.
Bipolar depression is where the programme went next. NCT06656416 is recruiting toward roughly 200 adults with bipolar I or II disorder in a current major depressive episode, taking ALTO-100 or placebo adjunctively to a stable mood stabiliser or atypical antipsychotic, with topline data expected in the second half of 2026. As of August 2026 it has not reported. Two randomised trials of this molecule in depression have now missed their primary endpoint.
The animal record, and one head-to-head that went the other way
Rodent work has been more consistent than the human work, but it is not sponsor-independent. Every rodent paper in this record except Bauman 2018 carries Karl Johe, the compound's originating scientist, as a co-author; Tajiri 2017 and Jolivalt 2022 additionally list Neuralstem as an author affiliation, state that the sponsor supplied the test article, and disclose former-employee conflicts. Tajiri and colleagues gave 48 male Sprague-Dawley rats 30 mg/kg by oral gavage starting six hours after middle cerebral artery occlusion and continuing daily for twelve weeks, 24 animals per arm drawn from 60 operated, and reported motor and neurological improvement maintained to 24 weeks after stroke.
Allen and colleagues irradiated Long-Evans rats with 27 Gy in a fractionated cranial protocol, then gave 30 mg/kg by oral gavage for four weeks, with 15 to 16 rats per group; the paper does not state the sex of the animals. Performance improved significantly on all four spontaneous exploration tasks — novel place recognition, novel object recognition, object in place and temporal order — while on the separate contextual fear-conditioning task only a non-significant trend was reported. Neurogenesis increased and fewer activated microglia were counted, the difference persisted a month after dosing stopped, and hippocampal volume showed no major change.
Diabetes models produced the largest coherent body of data. Jolivalt and colleagues dosed female Swiss Webster mice modelling type 1 diabetes at 10 mg/kg and male db/db mice at 30 mg/kg by daily oral gavage, 8 to 10 per group, and reported effects on nerve conduction, tactile and thermal sensitivity, hippocampal neurogenesis, synaptic markers and long-term memory. A 2022 follow-up in male Zucker diabetic fatty rats used 30 mg/kg orally for sixteen weeks after sixteen weeks of untreated diabetes and reported raised activity of respiratory complexes I and IV in brain cortex. Liu and colleagues reported enhanced long-term potentiation and reversal of motor and cognitive deficits in an Angelman syndrome mouse model; that paper is paywalled, and the corresponding patent application specifies 30 mg/kg intraperitoneally in four groups of four to five mice.
One direct comparison deserves separating out. Bauman and colleagues, whose primary subject was the unrelated compound P7C3-A20 in rhesus macaques, ran a side-by-side rodent assay in male C57BL/6J mice at 10 mg/kg per day intraperitoneally for both molecules. In that mouse assay, dentate gyrus neural precursor proliferation one hour after a BrdU pulse was approximately 70% higher in NSI-189-treated animals than in vehicle controls (p < 0.001; male C57BL/6J mice, 10 mg/kg/day ip, PMID 30258178). In the 15-day survival assay in the same paper, the NSI-189 group showed only a minor, non-significant difference, while the P7C3-A20 comparator increased net neurogenesis. The authors concluded that the pro-neurogenic effect is likely confined to proliferation, which is a narrower claim than the description usually attached to the compound. This is also the only rodent study in this record with no sponsor authorship or affiliation.
What is not known
The molecular target is unknown and has never been published, fifteen years after the first human dose; the current sponsor states only that it believes the compound binds a receptor no other CNS therapeutic targets. No in vitro screen, dose-response, selectivity panel or toxicology package appears anywhere in the peer-reviewed literature, which means the founding claims about potency and anatomical selectivity cannot be checked by anyone outside the sponsor. Human exposure data are thin: the only published pharmacokinetics come from 24 inpatients over 28 days, there is no published data in healthy volunteers beyond a registry entry for a 35-participant single-dose study that was never published, and no exposure beyond twelve weeks has been reported in any population. Neither of the two published trials, nor any of the four ALTO-100 studies, has results posted on ClinicalTrials.gov, and the Phase 2 registry record still carries a status of UNKNOWN more than eight years after its estimated completion date of December 2017. The 301-patient Phase 2b exists in the public record only as a table in an annual report; its adverse-event data, its full analysis populations and its biomarker definition have not been published. Nothing has been reported on reproductive or developmental effects, carcinogenicity, drug interactions, or use in anyone under 18 or over 70. Nothing has been studied in people without a psychiatric diagnosis. Two randomised trials in depression have now missed their primary endpoint, and no trial has ever been run for a cognitive-enhancement indication in a non-clinical population.
Questions
Is ALTO-100 the same compound as NSI-189?
Has NSI-189 worked in any completed trial?
Where does the claim about a 20% increase in hippocampal volume come from?
Is this compound approved or legally available as a medicine?
Are any of the papers on this compound retracted or flagged?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 50922681, NSI-189. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System, substance UNII YVE9U408ZL, preferred name Amdiglurax; codes INN 13622, CAS 1270138-40-3, PubChem 50922681. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- Fava M, Johe K, Ereshefsky L, et al. A Phase 1B, randomized, double blind, placebo controlled, multiple-dose escalation study of NSI-189 phosphate, a neurogenic compound, in depressed patients. Mol Psychiatry. 2016;21(10):1372-1380. PMID 26643541 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Erratum: A Phase 1B, randomized, double blind, placebo controlled, multiple-dose escalation study of NSI-189 phosphate. Mol Psychiatry. 2016;21(10):1483-1484. Corrects a duplicated image in Figure 5 and a typo in Table 3; not a retraction. PMID 27528461 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Papakostas GI, Johe K, Hand H, et al. A phase 2, double-blind, placebo-controlled study of NSI-189 phosphate, a neurogenic compound, among outpatients with major depressive disorder. Mol Psychiatry. 2020;25(7):1569-1579. PMID 30626911 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Johe KK, Kay G, Ereshefsky L, et al. NSI-189 phosphate, a novel neurogenic compound, selectively benefits moderately depressed patients: a post-hoc analysis of a phase 2 study of major depressive disorder. Ann Clin Psychiatry. 2020;32(3):182-196. PMID 32722729 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- McIntyre RS, Johe K, Rong C, Lee Y. The neurogenic compound, NSI-189 phosphate: a novel multi-domain treatment capable of pro-cognitive and antidepressant effects. Expert Opin Investig Drugs. 2017;26(6):767-770. Review, no primary data. PMID 28460574 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Tajiri N, Quach DM, Kaneko Y, et al. NSI-189, a small molecule with neurogenic properties, exerts behavioral, and neurostructural benefits in stroke rats. J Cell Physiol. 2017;232(10):2731-2740. Karl Johe is a co-author and Neuralstem Inc. is a listed affiliation. PMID 28181668 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Allen BD, Acharya MM, Lu C, et al. Remediation of radiation-induced cognitive dysfunction through oral administration of the neuroprotective compound NSI-189. Radiat Res. 2018;189(4):345-353. Karl Johe is a co-author; cites Supplementary Information at doi 10.1667/RR14879.1.S1, which could not be retrieved. PMID 29351056 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Liu Y, Johe K, Sun J, et al. Enhancement of synaptic plasticity and reversal of impairments in motor and cognitive functions in a mouse model of Angelman Syndrome by a small neurogenic molecule, NSI-189. Neuropharmacology. 2019;144:337-344. PMID 30408487 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Jolivalt CG, Marquez A, Quach D, et al. Amelioration of both central and peripheral neuropathy in mouse models of type 1 and type 2 diabetes by the neurogenic molecule NSI-189. Diabetes. 2019;68(11):2143-2154. Karl Johe is a co-author. PMID 31492662 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Jolivalt CG, Han MM, Nguyen A, et al. Enhancement of mitochondrial function by the neurogenic molecule NSI-189 accompanies reversal of peripheral neuropathy and memory impairment in a rat model of type 2 diabetes. J Diabetes Res. 2022;2022:8566970. Karl Johe is a co-author, Neuralstem Inc. is a listed affiliation, and the paper discloses former-employee conflicts. PMID 35967127 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Bauman MD, Schumann CM, Carlson EL, et al. Neuroprotective efficacy of P7C3 compounds in primate hippocampus. Transl Psychiatry. 2018;8(1):202. Contains the direct mouse comparison against NSI-189; the only rodent paper cited here with no sponsor authorship or affiliation. PMID 30258178 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01520649. Phase 1B multiple-dose escalation study of NSI-189 phosphate in depression patients. Neuralstem Inc., 26 enrolled, completed February 2014. No results posted. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT02695472. Phase 2 study of NSI-189 for major depressive disorder. Neuralstem Inc., 220 enrolled, status UNKNOWN, estimated completion December 2017. No results posted. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05712187. Phase 2b study of ALTO-100 in MDD. Alto Neuroscience, 301 enrolled, completed 24 October 2024. No results posted. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- Alto Neuroscience, Inc. Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended 31 December 2025. Source for the Phase 2b MDD outcome table, the compliance analysis, the Palisade asset acquisition terms and the statement that the receptor is unidentified. View on www.sec.gov
- Asset Transfer Agreement between Alto Neuroscience, Inc. and Palisade Bio, Inc. (formerly Seneca Biopharma, formerly Neuralstem), dated 18 October 2021. Filed as Exhibit 10.14 to Alto Neuroscience's draft registration statement; defines the transferred assets by reference to "Seneca NSI-189 Know-How". View on www.sec.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.