Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

MK-677 (Ibutamoren): An Evidence Ledger

MK-677 is a spiroindoline sulfonamide, not a peptide, and it carries an unusually large human trial record: at least eleven randomised placebo-controlled trials located, including a two-year study in 65 older adults and a 563-patient Alzheimer's study. Merck's programme ended after the phase 2b hip-fracture trial was terminated early for a congestive heart failure signal; no public document located links the two. It is now in phase 3 for paediatric growth hormone deficiency under a different code, while laboratory surveys keep finding ibutamoren in products sold under other names.

Strongest evidence: Human dataMultiple randomised placebo-controlled human trials including a two-year study; not an approved medicine in any jurisdiction located 18 claims logged 12 with primary citations 6 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Non-peptide spiro[indoline-3,4'-piperidine] sulfonamide; growth hormone secretagogue receptor (GHS-R1a / ghrelin receptor) agonist
CAS number
159634-47-6 (ibutamoren, free base); 159752-10-0 (ibutamoren mesylate, the entity PubChem returns for the name MK-677)
PubChem CID
178024 (free base); 6450830 (mesylate)
Molecular formula
C27H36N4O5S (free base); C28H40N4O8S2 (mesylate)
Molecular weight
528.7 g/mol (free base); 624.8 g/mol (mesylate)
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
MK-677, MK-0677, L-163,191, ibutamoren mesylate, LUM-201; UNII GJ0EGN38UL (free base) and R90JB6QJ2B (mesylate); ChEMBL13817 and DTXSID90166700 (free base); CHEMBL2105872 and DTXSID50936168 (mesylate)

A spiroindoline, not a peptide

MK-677 is a small synthetic molecule built on a spiro[indoline-3,4'-piperidine] core carrying a methanesulfonyl group on the indoline nitrogen. PubChem records the free base as CID 178024, C27H36N4O5S, 528.7 g/mol, CAS 159634-47-6; the mesylate salt, which is what PubChem returns for the name MK-677, is CID 6450830, C28H40N4O8S2, 624.8 g/mol, CAS 159752-10-0. There is no amino acid sequence because there is no peptide. Merck's medicinal chemistry group described the compound in 1995 under the internal number L-163,191, reporting release of growth hormone from cultured rat pituitary cells with an EC50 of 1.3 plus or minus 0.09 nM.

Selectivity was part of the original case for taking it forward. Patchett and colleagues reported growth hormone elevation in dogs after oral doses as low as 0.125 mg/kg, with no significant effect on plasma aldosterone, luteinising hormone, thyroxine or prolactin at 1 mg/kg, and only modest increases in cortisol. Holst and colleagues later characterised the receptor interaction directly: MK-677 bound the ghrelin receptor with an affinity of 6.5 nM and activated calcium mobilisation, inositol phosphate turnover, CRE- and SRE-controlled transcription and arrestin mobilisation at potencies between 0.2 and 1.4 nM, behaving as a simple agonist and a neutral modulator of ghrelin signalling where the benzolactam L-692,429 was positive and GHRP-6 negative.

Two labels travel with this compound and neither survives contact with the chemistry. It is sold as a peptide, and it is filed alongside selective androgen receptor modulators. Its target is the growth hormone secretagogue receptor GHS-R1a — the receptor for ghrelin — several steps upstream of anything androgenic. A PubMed search pairing ibutamoren with androgen receptor on 18 August 2026 returned six records — analytical chemistry, market-surveillance surveys, two case reports, one review and one in vitro receptor-assay panel — none of which reports androgen receptor binding or transactivation by the compound at compound level.

Claim ledger

12 of 18 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Released growth hormone from cultured rat pituitary cells with an EC50 of 1.3 plus or minus 0.09 nM; elevated growth hormone in dogs after oral doses as low as 0.125 mg/kg, without significant effect on plasma aldosterone, luteinising hormone, thyroxine or prolactin at 1 mg/kg, and with only modest increases in cortisolCultured rat pituitary cells; dogsIn vitro; oral in dogsNot stated in abstractPatchett 1995, Proc Natl Acad Sci USA, PMID 7624358
Bound the ghrelin receptor with an affinity of 6.5 nM and activated calcium mobilisation, inositol phosphate turnover, CRE- and SRE-controlled transcription and arrestin mobilisation with potencies of 0.2 to 1.4 nM, acting as a simple agonist and a neutral allosteric modulator of ghrelin signallingCells expressing the cloned ghrelin receptorIn vitroNot applicableHolst 2005, Mol Endocrinol, PMID 15905359
At 25 mg/day, mean 24-hour growth hormone concentration rose 97 plus or minus 23 per cent; IGF-I moved from 141 plus or minus 21 to 219 plus or minus 21 micrograms/L at two weeks and 265 plus or minus 29 at four weeks; fasting glucose rose from 5.4 plus or minus 0.3 to 6.8 plus or minus 0.4 mmol/L at four weeks; prolactin rose 23 per cent; circulating cortisol did not changeHealthy adults aged 64-81 (15 women, 17 men)Oral, once daily, 2/10/25 mg, over periods of 14 and 28 days32 randomisedChapman 1996, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 8954023
In young subjects, 25 mg raised stage IV sleep duration by approximately 50 per cent and REM sleep by more than 20 per cent versus placebo, with deviations from normal sleep falling from 42 to 8 per cent; in older subjects, REM rose by nearly 50 per cent with reduced REM latency. The older arm had no placebo period — it compared 2 mg and 25 mg periods against two baseline nightsHealthy young adults aged 18-30 and older adults aged 65-71Oral at bedtime; 7-day crossover periods (young), 14-day periods (older)8 young, 6 olderCopinschi 1997, Neuroendocrinology, PMID 9349662
IGF-I rose approximately 40 per cent and IGF-binding protein-3 rose significantly; fat-free mass increased on both DXA and a four-compartment model; total and visceral fat did not change significantly; an oral glucose tolerance test showed impaired glucose homeostasis at two and eight weeks while fasting glucose and insulin were unchanged; basal metabolic rate was raised at two weeks but not at eightHealthy obese men aged 18-50, BMI above 30 kg/m2, waist/hip above 0.95Oral, 25 mg once daily, 8 weeks24 (12 drug, 12 placebo)Svensson 1998, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 9467542
Raised osteocalcin by 22 per cent and urinary N-telopeptide cross-links by 41 per cent; combined with alendronate raised femoral neck bone mineral density 4.2 per cent versus 2.5 per cent for alendronate alone, with no similar enhancement at the lumbar spine, total hip or total bodyPostmenopausal women aged 64-85 with low femoral neck bone mineral densityOral, 25 mg once daily, alone or with 10 mg alendronate, 12 months (density followed 18 months)292 randomised 3:3:1:1Murphy 2001, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 11238495
Serum IGF-I rose 84 per cent (95% CI 63-107) versus 17 per cent (95% CI 8-28) on placebo; no significant differences appeared in functional performance measures or in the overall Sickness Impact Profile for Nursing Homes scoreHip-fracture patients aged 65 and over, ambulatory before fracture, across 13 centres in seven countriesOral, once daily, 6 months, followed a further 6 months161 enrolledBach 2004, J Am Geriatr Soc, PMID 15066065
Fat-free mass fell 0.5 kg (95% CI -1.1 to 0.2) on placebo and rose 1.1 kg (0.7 to 1.5) on drug, P less than 0.001; body weight rose 2.7 kg versus 0.8 kg; abdominal visceral fat and total fat mass did not differ; fasting glucose rose 0.3 mmol/L and insulin sensitivity decreased; cortisol rose 47 nmol/L (28 to 71), P = 0.020; increased fat-free mass did not result in changes in strength or functionHealthy adults aged 60-81 (men, women on hormone replacement, women not on it)Oral, 25 mg once daily, 2 years (primary endpoints at 1 year)65 randomisedNass 2008, Ann Intern Med, PMID 18981485
Serum IGF-I rose 60.1 per cent at six weeks and 72.9 per cent at twelve months, but there were no significant differences between groups on the clinician's interview-based impression of change, the ADAS-Cog, the activities-of-daily-living scale or the clinical dementia rating sum of boxes over 12 monthsPatients with mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease, multicentreOral, 25 mg once daily, 12 months563 randomised, 416 completedSevigny 2008, Neurology, PMID 19015485
IGF-1 rose 51.4 ng/mL (95% CI 34.42-68.44; P less than 0.001) versus placebo; gait speed differed by 0.7 in the means (95% CI 0.17-1.28; P = 0.011) but stair-climbing power did not (12.5 W; 95% CI -10.95 to 35.88; P = 0.292) and most other functional measures showed no improvement; the trial was terminated early for a congestive heart failure safety signal in a limited number of patientsElderly patients recovering from hip fracture, multicentreOral, 25 mg/day, 24 weeks123 (62 drug, 61 placebo)Adunsky 2011, Arch Gerontol Geriatr, PMID 21067829
Intrahepatic lipid content rose 3.9 percentage points (SD 6.7) at six months; LiverMultiScan corrected T1 rose 39 ms (SD 44) against a stated normal range of 633-794 ms; alanine aminotransferase rose 8 U/L (SD 18). Increased appetite was recorded in 7 of 12 participants and hyperglycaemia in 4 of 12. Single-arm, open-label, historical controls, no publication indexed in PubMedAdults with BMI 25 kg/m2 or above and histologic or radiologic non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (Massachusetts General Hospital)Oral, 25 mg daily, 6 months12ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05364684, results posted
Annualised height velocity over six months was 6.76 cm/yr (SD 1.30), 8.21 (SD 1.88) and 7.73 (SD 1.80) on 0.8, 1.6 and 3.2 mg/kg/day of oral LUM-201, against 10.57 cm/yr (SD 2.04) on daily subcutaneous recombinant human growth hormone; the proportion reaching the pre-specified positive growth response was 44.4, 72.7 and 72.7 per cent against 100 per centChildren with growth hormone deficiency selected on a predictive enrolment markerOral once daily versus subcutaneous rhGH 34 micrograms/kg/day, 6 months104ClinicalTrials.gov NCT04614337 (OraGrowtH210), results posted
MK-677 has a half-life of approximately 24 hours.PubMed searches on 18 August 2026 for MK-677[tiab] AND half-life[tiab] and for MK-0677[tiab] AND half-life[tiab] each returned zero records. A search for MK-677[tiab] AND bioavailability[tiab] returned one record — a 2001 J Med Chem paper on the oxindole SM-130686 (PMID 11741481), which reports 28 per cent oral bioavailability in rats for that different compound and no pharmacokinetic parameter for MK-677. Secondary pages attribute the 24-hour figure to Chapman 1996; that paper (PMID 8954023) reports growth hormone, IGF-I, prolactin, cortisol and glucose, and no plasma concentration-time parameter of any kind. A validated human assay does exist: Constanzer and colleagues published a picogram-level LC-MS/MS method in 1997 (PMID 9200526) and state it was sensitive enough to completely map the pharmacokinetic time course after a single 5 mg oral dose — but the resulting parameters were not located in any indexed publication. What is sourced is a duration of pharmacodynamic effect, which is a different quantity from an elimination half-life.No source found
Oral bioavailability is 60 to 70 per cent.No primary source located. The same PubMed searches described above returned no bioavailability figure for MK-677 in any species. Patchett 1995 (PMID 7624358) establishes oral activity in dogs from 0.125 mg/kg and specificity at 1 mg/kg, but states no absorbed fraction in its abstract, and the PubMed Central deposit of that paper is page scans without extractable body text. The 60-70 per cent range appears on vendor and aggregator pages without attribution, and the accompanying figures for time to peak concentration and time to steady state carry no citation either.No source found
MK-677 raises growth hormone without raising cortisol.True of the short studies and false of the long one, and it circulates without that qualification. Copinschi 1996 (PMID 8768828) found 24-hour mean plasma total and free cortisol and 24-hour urinary free cortisol unchanged over seven days. Chapman 1996 (PMID 8954023) found circulating cortisol unchanged over 28 days; Chapman 1997 (PMID 9329386) and Codner 2001 (PMID 11452249) likewise found no significant change. Nass 2008 (PMID 18981485), the only trial running twelve months or longer, recorded a cortisol increase of 47 nmol/L (95% CI 28 to 71), P = 0.020. Svensson 1998 (PMID 9467542) describes the cortisol effect as transient. Patchett 1995 reported modest cortisol increases in dogs. Stated flatly, the claim is contradicted by the longest exposure on record.No source found
MK-677 increases strength.No trial located reports it. Nass 2008 (PMID 18981485) measured isokinetic strength as an endpoint and states that increased fat-free mass did not result in changes in strength or function. Bach 2004 (PMID 15066065) found no significant difference in functional performance measures at 26 weeks in 161 hip-fracture patients. Adunsky 2011 (PMID 21067829) found no improvement in most functional performance measures and no significant change in stair-climbing power. A PubMed search on 18 August 2026 combining MK-677, MK-0677 or ibutamoren with strength, one-repetition maximum or isokinetic returned ten records. Two of them carry the human functional trial data cited above (PMID 18981485, PMID 21067829); a fourth randomised human trial in the set, Campbell 2018 in haemodialysis patients (PMID 28340044), measured IGF-1 and names physical strength only as an untested future endpoint. The remainder are reviews, a fear-memory rodent study and one case report. Bach 2004 did not appear in that result set and was located separately. The 2005 review by Smith (PMID 15814848) refers to modest improvements in strength as a summary statement without attaching a measurement to it, and this page does not treat a review sentence as a finding.No source found
MK-677 is a SARM.It has no established androgen receptor activity. PubMed searches pairing ibutamoren with androgen receptor (six records) and MK-677 with androgen receptor (five records) on 18 August 2026 returned analytical chemistry, market-surveillance surveys, two case reports, one review and one in vitro receptor-assay panel, and no report of androgen receptor binding or transactivation by the compound. Piper 2021 (PMID 33283964) included ibutamoren in a nineteen-agent panel run through an androgen receptor activation test and an androgen receptor binding assay, but its abstract reports no compound-level result. The grouping is a retail category, and the primary literature says so directly: the 2017 JAMA analysis (PMID 29183075) counts ibutamoren among the substances that are not SARMs but were found in products sold as SARMs.No source found
Specific pound or kilogram figures for lean mass gained over an eight-to-twelve-week period.The controlled literature contains two magnitudes and neither matches the figures in circulation. Nass 2008 (PMID 18981485) reports fat-free mass of plus 1.1 kg (95% CI 0.7 to 1.5) at twelve months against minus 0.5 kg on placebo, with body weight up 2.7 kg. Svensson 1998 (PMID 9467542) reports a statistically significant fat-free mass increase at eight weeks in 24 obese men but gives no magnitude in kilograms in its abstract. Murphy 1998 (PMID 9467534) measured nitrogen balance rather than mass, reporting 0.31 plus or minus 0.21 g/day against minus 1.48 plus or minus 0.21 g/day on placebo in eight calorically restricted volunteers over seven days. No trial located reports a fat-free-mass gain in pounds over any period. Figures quoted in pounds trace to self-report, which this site does not publish as data.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

What a dose did to the axis

Chapman and colleagues gave 32 healthy adults aged 64 to 81 placebo or 2, 10 or 25 mg orally once daily across two study periods of 14 and 28 days, sampling blood every 20 minutes for 24 hours. At 25 mg per day, mean 24-hour growth hormone concentration rose 97 plus or minus 23 per cent against baseline. Serum IGF-I moved from 141 plus or minus 21 micrograms per litre at baseline to 219 plus or minus 21 at two weeks and 265 plus or minus 29 at four weeks. Prolactin rose 23 per cent and stayed inside the stated normal range.

How the pulse pattern changed is where two studies diverge. Chapman reported increased pulse height and increased interpulse nadir concentrations with no significant change in the number of pulses. Copinschi and colleagues, dosing nine healthy young men at bedtime for seven days in a three-period crossover, found that the total amount of growth hormone secreted was similar under placebo, 5 mg and 25 mg, and that pulse frequency increased — mainly through additional low-amplitude pulses. Age, dosing time, duration and assay all differ between the two experiments. This page records the disagreement rather than averaging it.

Deficient populations were tested separately. Chapman's 1997 study of nine severely growth-hormone-deficient men aged 17 to 34 found IGF-I rose 52 plus or minus 20 per cent on 10 mg daily and 79 plus or minus 9 per cent on 50 mg daily over four days. The 24-hour mean growth hormone response — not the IGF-I response — was larger in the subjects least deficient at baseline; the paper states that IGF-I responses were not significantly related to any baseline measurement. Codner and colleagues gave 18 prepubertal children with idiopathic deficiency 0.2 or 0.8 mg/kg per day for seven to eight days and recorded a median IGF-I rise of 12 micrograms per litre (range minus 4 to 116) at the higher dose, with no change in prolactin, glucose, thyroid hormones, peak cortisol or 24-hour urinary free cortisol.

Glucose is the finding that repeats

Almost every study that looked found something. Svensson and colleagues randomised 24 obese men aged 18 to 50 to 25 mg daily or placebo for eight weeks. Fasting glucose and insulin were unchanged, but an oral glucose tolerance test showed impaired glucose homeostasis at both two and eight weeks. Fat-free mass increased on dual-energy x-ray absorptiometry and on a four-compartment model, while total and visceral fat did not change significantly. Basal metabolic rate was raised at two weeks and not at eight. Chapman's older-adult study is blunter still: fasting glucose moved from 5.4 plus or minus 0.3 to 6.8 plus or minus 0.4 mmol/L at four weeks.

Nass and colleagues, running the longest exposure on record, recorded a mean fasting glucose increase of 0.3 mmol/L over 12 months and a decrease in insulin sensitivity. That is a small number, and it sat alongside a 2.7 kg gain in body weight and an increase in appetite that the investigators described as subsiding within a few months. The direction is consistent across the 1995-2022 record; the magnitude is not, and it appears to depend heavily on how long the exposure ran and how glucose was challenged.

One recent trial looked at the liver. A single-arm open-label study at Massachusetts General Hospital gave 25 mg daily for six months to 12 adults with a body mass index of 25 or above and a radiological or histological diagnosis of fatty liver disease, then posted its results to ClinicalTrials.gov. Intrahepatic lipid rose by 3.9 percentage points (SD 6.7). LiverMultiScan corrected T1 rose 39 ms (SD 44) against a stated normal range of 633 to 794 ms. Alanine aminotransferase rose 8 U/L (SD 18). Hyperglycaemia was recorded in 4 of 12 participants and increased appetite in 7. Twelve participants, no control arm, historical comparators, and no publication indexed in PubMed.

The two-year trial, and what it did not show

Nass and colleagues ran a two-year double-blind randomised placebo-controlled modified-crossover trial in 65 healthy adults aged 60 to 81 at a university general clinical research centre, dosing 25 mg orally once daily. Fat-free mass was a primary endpoint at one year. It fell 0.5 kg (95% CI minus 1.1 to 0.2) on placebo and rose 1.1 kg (0.7 to 1.5) on MK-677, P less than 0.001. Body weight rose 2.7 kg against 0.8 kg. Body cell mass, read as intracellular water, moved 0.8 kg against minus 1.0 kg. Two-year exploratory analyses confirmed the one-year results.

Abdominal visceral fat was the other primary endpoint and did not differ between groups. Neither did total fat mass. Limb fat rose more on drug than on placebo, 1.1 kg against 0.24 kg. The results section also states, in one sentence: increased fat-free mass did not result in changes in strength or function. Isokinetic strength, function and quality of life were all measured endpoints, and the authors listed insufficient power for functional endpoints among the limitations.

Cortisol did move here, by 47 nmol/L (95% CI 28 to 71), P = 0.020 — a direction the shorter studies had not seen. LDL cholesterol fell 0.14 mmol/L from baseline with no between-group difference in total or HDL cholesterol. Bone mineral density changes were described as consistent with increased bone remodelling. Reported side effects were an increase in appetite, transient mild lower-extremity oedema and muscle pain. That is the profile of the most favourable trial in the file, run in healthy volunteers under research-centre supervision.

Where the programme stopped

Bone came first. Murphy and colleagues randomised 292 women aged 64 to 85 with low femoral neck density into four arms for 12 months, following density to 18 months. MK-677 raised osteocalcin by 22 per cent and urinary N-telopeptide by 41 per cent — both formation and resorption markers, in the same direction. Combined with alendronate it raised femoral neck density 4.2 per cent against 2.5 per cent for alendronate alone. No similar enhancement appeared at the lumbar spine, total hip or total body. Svensson's obese-male cohort had shown the same two-sided turnover picture at eight weeks.

Alzheimer's disease was the largest attempt. Sevigny and colleagues randomised 563 patients with mild to moderate disease to 25 mg or placebo for 12 months, of whom 416 completed. Serum IGF-I rose 60.1 per cent at six weeks and 72.9 per cent at 12 months, which the authors read as target engagement. There were no significant differences on the clinician's interview-based impression of change, the ADAS-Cog, the activities-of-daily-living scale or the clinical dementia rating sum of boxes. The registry record for the corresponding Merck protocol lists 512 participants as actual enrolment against the paper's 563 randomised, posts no results, and neither document explains the gap.

Hip fracture produced the safety signal. Bach and colleagues enrolled 161 patients aged 65 and over across 13 centres for six months of daily treatment: IGF-I rose 84 per cent against 17 per cent on placebo, and no significant difference emerged in functional performance measures or in the overall Sickness Impact Profile score. Adunsky and colleagues then ran a phase 2b trial in 123 elderly hip-fracture patients, 62 on 25 mg and 61 on placebo. Gait speed differed by 0.7 in the means (95% CI 0.17 to 1.28; P = 0.011). Stair-climbing power did not (P = 0.292), nor did most other functional measures. The trial was terminated early for a congestive heart failure signal in a limited number of patients, and the authors wrote that the compound has an unfavourable safety profile in that population.

The same molecule, a different name, a different market

Development did not end with Merck. ClinicalTrials.gov holds 14 studies naming MK-677, MK-0677, ibutamoren or LUM-201, and the registry states in plain text that LUM-201 is ibutamoren mesylate. Four of the 14 have posted results. In one phase 2 trial, 104 children with growth hormone deficiency received LUM-201 at 0.8, 1.6 or 3.2 mg/kg per day or recombinant human growth hormone at 34 micrograms/kg per day for six months: annualised height velocity was 6.76, 8.21 and 7.73 cm/yr on the three oral arms against 10.57 cm/yr on injection, and the proportion reaching a positive growth response was 44.4, 72.7 and 72.7 per cent against 100 per cent. A companion report from the same programme described greater growth hormone responses to LUM-201 than to standard secretagogues among subjects of a paediatric trial (PMID 35354138). A phase 3 trial in 150 children began recruiting in May 2026.

Regulatory position is stated plainly in both places it exists. The WADA 2026 Prohibited List names ibutamoren (MK-677) at S2.2.4 — a section titled Growth hormone releasing factors, under which growth hormone secretagogues and their mimetics appear as a bulleted subclass — within the section prohibited at all times rather than in competition only. The FDA describes ibutamoren as an active ingredient not approved by the agency, and has determined it is excluded from the definition of a dietary supplement under section 201(ff)(3)(B)(ii) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act because it was authorised for investigation as a new drug before any marketing as a supplement. Seven warning letters in the agency's database name it; four were issued in December 2025.

Composition of what circulates has been measured more than once. Van Wagoner and colleagues bought 44 products sold online as selective androgen receptor modulators and analysed them under chain of custody: 17 (39 per cent) contained a different unapproved drug, ibutamoren among them; 4 contained no active compound at all; the label amount matched analysis in only 18. A five-year official medicines control laboratory survey run through the GEON network — 324 samples and 354 results from 14 laboratories in 13 countries, European plus Canada and Australia — listed ibutamoren first among 18 in-scope molecules. One of the December 2025 warning letters concerned two products marketed for children's growth that laboratory analysis found to contain undeclared ibutamoren mesylate.

What is not known

The safety question raised at the end of the commercial programme has never been resolved in public. Adunsky et al. state that the phase 2b hip-fracture trial was stopped early for a congestive heart failure signal in a limited number of patients, but neither the paper's abstract nor the corresponding registry record quantifies it: the registered Merck hip-fracture study lists 83 participants as actual enrolment against the paper's 123 randomised, records no reason for termination and has posted no results, and whether the two documents describe the same protocol cannot be established from public data. No public document located states that this trial ended Merck's development of the compound. The registered Alzheimer's protocol carries a similar mismatch, listing 512 actual participants against the publication's 563 randomised, with no results posted. Of the fourteen registered studies naming this compound, four have posted results. Human pharmacokinetics are effectively unpublished: a validated picogram-level plasma assay exists, but no elimination half-life, absorbed fraction, time to steady state or clearance value for MK-677 was located in any indexed paper. The trial record barely touches the populations that actually take it. The controlled studies located in healthy young adults (PMID 8768828, PMID 9349662, PMID 9467534) each ran seven days and measured growth hormone profiles, sleep and nitrogen balance; no controlled study located ran in healthy young adults for body composition over the periods across which the compound is self-administered. The single published self-administration case report (PMID 36303408) combined MK-677 with LGD-4033 in one 25-year-old man, so its findings on testosterone, liver enzymes and lipids cannot be attributed to either compound. There is no long-term cardiovascular outcome data, no reproductive or developmental data located, and no characterisation of what happens after the two-year mark. Product identity is a further unknown: laboratory surveys keep finding ibutamoren in material sold under other names, and finding declared amounts that do not match analysis.

Questions

Is MK-677 a peptide?
No. It is a spiro[indoline-3,4'-piperidine] sulfonamide with a molecular formula of C27H36N4O5S as the free base (PubChem CID 178024, CAS 159634-47-6) and no amino acid sequence. It is orally active for that reason. It is frequently sold and discussed alongside peptides because its target — the growth hormone secretagogue receptor GHS-R1a — is the receptor for the peptide hormone ghrelin, but the molecule itself is a synthetic small molecule designed at Merck and first described in 1995 under the number L-163,191.
What happened to Merck's development programme?
The public record shows three programmes that did not deliver and one that stopped on safety. In postmenopausal osteoporosis (PMID 11238495, 292 women) the combination with alendronate raised femoral neck density but not lumbar spine, total hip or total body density. In Alzheimer's disease (PMID 19015485, 563 randomised) IGF-I rose 72.9 per cent at twelve months with no difference on any cognitive or functional endpoint. In hip fracture, a 161-patient study (PMID 15066065) found no significant functional difference, and a later 123-patient phase 2b study (PMID 21067829) was terminated early for a congestive heart failure signal, with the authors concluding the compound had an unfavourable safety profile in that population. No public document located states which of these ended the programme.
Where does the 24-hour half-life figure come from?
It could not be traced. PubMed searches for MK-677 or MK-0677 combined with half-life in title or abstract returned zero records. Pages quoting the figure attribute it to Chapman et al. 1996, but that paper (PMID 8954023) reports hormone and glucose measurements and no plasma concentration-time parameter. A validated human plasma assay was published in 1997 (PMID 9200526) whose authors state it was sensitive enough to map the pharmacokinetic time course after a single 5 mg oral dose; the resulting parameters were not located in any indexed publication. The figure is published here as untraced.
Is it still in development?
Yes, under the code LUM-201, which the ClinicalTrials.gov records identify explicitly as ibutamoren mesylate. A phase 2 trial in 104 children with growth hormone deficiency (NCT04614337) reported annualised height velocity of 6.76 to 8.21 cm/yr across three oral doses against 10.57 cm/yr for daily injected recombinant human growth hormone. A phase 3 trial in 150 children began recruiting in May 2026, a long-term safety extension is registered, and a phase 2 study combining it with semaglutide in older adults with obesity is registered as not yet recruiting. None of that constitutes approval anywhere.
What is the regulatory and anti-doping status?
The WADA 2026 Prohibited List names ibutamoren (MK-677) at S2.2.4, a section titled Growth hormone releasing factors under which growth hormone secretagogues and their mimetics appear as a bulleted subclass — and which sits in the part of the list prohibited at all times, not only in competition. The FDA describes ibutamoren as an active ingredient not approved by the agency and has determined it is excluded from the definition of a dietary supplement under section 201(ff)(3)(B)(ii) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, on the basis that it was authorised for investigation as a new drug before any supplement marketing. Seven warning letters in the agency's database name the substance, four of them issued in December 2025. No approval in any jurisdiction was located.

References

  1. PubChem compound records CID 178024 (Ibutamoren, free base) and CID 6450830 (Ibutamoren mesylate): molecular formula, molecular weight, CAS 159634-47-6 and 159752-10-0, UNII GJ0EGN38UL and R90JB6QJ2B, ChEMBL13817 and DTXSID90166700 on the free base record, CHEMBL2105872 and DTXSID50936168 on the mesylate record, and synonyms including MK-677, MK-0677 and L-163,191. UNII values cross-checked against FDA GSRS. PubChem's synonym records also carry trade and retail brand names; those are omitted here under the commercial firewall. ChEMBL's own API returned HTTP 500 throughout this session, so the ChEMBL identifiers are carried from the PubChem synonym records rather than confirmed at source. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. Patchett AA, Nargund RP, Tata JR, et al. Design and biological activities of L-163,191 (MK-0677): a potent, orally active growth hormone secretagogue. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 1995;92(15):7001-5. PMID 7624358. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  3. Holst B, Brandt E, Bach A, Heding A, Schwartz TW. Nonpeptide and peptide growth hormone secretagogues act both as ghrelin receptor agonist and as positive or negative allosteric modulators of ghrelin signaling. Mol Endocrinol. 2005;19(9):2400-11. PMID 15905359. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Chapman IM, Bach MA, Van Cauter E, et al. Stimulation of the growth hormone (GH)-insulin-like growth factor I axis by daily oral administration of a GH secretagogue (MK-677) in healthy elderly subjects. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 1996;81(12):4249-57. PMID 8954023. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Copinschi G, Van Onderbergen A, L'Hermite-Baleriaux M, et al. Effects of a 7-day treatment with a novel, orally active, growth hormone (GH) secretagogue, MK-677, on 24-hour GH profiles, insulin-like growth factor I, and adrenocortical function in normal young men. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 1996;81(8):2776-82. PMID 8768828. Companion sleep study: Copinschi G, Leproult R, Van Onderbergen A, et al. Prolonged oral treatment with MK-677, a novel growth hormone secretagogue, improves sleep quality in man. Neuroendocrinology. 1997;66(4):278-86. PMID 9349662. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Chapman IM, Pescovitz OH, Murphy G, et al. Oral administration of growth hormone (GH) releasing peptide-mimetic MK-677 stimulates the GH/insulin-like growth factor-I axis in selected GH-deficient adults. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 1997;82(10):3455-63. PMID 9329386. The abstract states that the GH response was greater in subjects least GH/IGF-I deficient at baseline, and separately that IGF-I responses were not significantly related to any baseline measurement. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Murphy MG, Plunkett LM, Gertz BJ, et al. MK-677, an orally active growth hormone secretagogue, reverses diet-induced catabolism. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 1998;83(2):320-5. PMID 9467534. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Svensson J, Lonn L, Jansson JO, et al. Two-month treatment of obese subjects with the oral growth hormone (GH) secretagogue MK-677 increases GH secretion, fat-free mass, and energy expenditure. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 1998;83(2):362-9. PMID 9467542. Bone-marker companion from the same cohort: Svensson J, Ohlsson C, Jansson JO, et al. J Bone Miner Res. 1998;13(7):1158-66. PMID 9661080. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Codner E, Cassorla F, Tiulpakov AN, et al. Effects of oral administration of ibutamoren mesylate, a nonpeptide growth hormone secretagogue, on the growth hormone-insulin-like growth factor I axis in growth hormone-deficient children. Clin Pharmacol Ther. 2001;70(1):91-8. PMID 11452249. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Murphy MG, Weiss S, McClung M, et al. Effect of alendronate and MK-677 (a growth hormone secretagogue), individually and in combination, on markers of bone turnover and bone mineral density in postmenopausal osteoporotic women. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2001;86(3):1116-25. PMID 11238495. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Bach MA, Rockwood K, Zetterberg C, et al. The effects of MK-0677, an oral growth hormone secretagogue, in patients with hip fracture. J Am Geriatr Soc. 2004;52(4):516-23. PMID 15066065. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Nass R, Pezzoli SS, Oliveri MC, et al. Effects of an oral ghrelin mimetic on body composition and clinical outcomes in healthy older adults: a randomized trial. Ann Intern Med. 2008;149(9):601-11. PMID 18981485. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Sevigny JJ, Ryan JM, van Dyck CH, et al. Growth hormone secretagogue MK-677: no clinical effect on AD progression in a randomized trial. Neurology. 2008;71(21):1702-8. PMID 19015485. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Adunsky A, Chandler J, Heyden N, et al. MK-0677 (ibutamoren mesylate) for the treatment of patients recovering from hip fracture: a multicenter, randomized, placebo-controlled phase IIb study. Arch Gerontol Geriatr. 2011;53(2):183-9. PMID 21067829. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Campbell GA, Patrie JT, Gaylinn BD, Thorner MO, Bolton WK. Oral ghrelin receptor agonist MK-0677 increases serum insulin-like growth factor 1 in hemodialysis patients: a randomized blinded study. Nephrol Dial Transplant. 2018;33(3):523-530. PMID 28340044. Randomised double-blind crossover, 26 enrolled and 22 completing a 3-month crossover; adjusted ratio of geometric means for IGF-1 change 1.65 (95% CI 1.33-2.04, P less than 0.001). The daily dose is not stated in the abstract and the full text could not be retrieved during verification. The paper's closing sentence names physical strength among outcomes still requiring evaluation, and is cited on this page only for that point. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. Van Wagoner RM, Eichner A, Bhasin S, Deuster PA, Eichner D. Chemical composition and labeling of substances marketed as selective androgen receptor modulators and sold via the internet. JAMA. 2017;318(20):2004-2010. PMID 29183075. PubMed records an erratum at JAMA. 2018;319(7):724, titled Omitted Conflict of Interest Disclosures; it does not alter any analytical figure quoted here. Market-surveillance companion: Barrios MM, Deconinck E, Vanhee C, et al. SARMs, metabolic modulators and growth hormone secretagogues in suspected illegal medicines bought as sport performance enhancers: a retro- and prospective study within the GEON. Drug Test Anal. 2025;17(10):2078-2085. PMID 40551438. The GEON survey reports 324 samples and 354 results from 14 laboratories in 13 countries; author affiliations include laboratories in Canada and Australia alongside the European network members. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. Bright GM, Thorner MO. A GH secretagogue receptor agonist (LUM-201) elicits greater GH responses than standard GH secretagogues in subjects of a pediatric GH deficiency trial. Horm Res Paediatr. 2022;95(1):76-81. PMID 35354138. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. Regulatory and registry records. World Anti-Doping Agency, 2026 Prohibited List, section S2.2.4, titled Growth hormone releasing factors, listing growth hormone secretagogues and their mimetics as a bulleted subclass naming ibutamoren (MK-677), within section S2, which is prohibited at all times. US Food and Drug Administration warning-letter database, seven letters naming ibutamoren, four issued in December 2025, including MARCS-CMS 718252 of 19 December 2025 concerning undeclared ibutamoren mesylate in two products marketed for children's growth, and setting out the exclusion from the dietary supplement definition under section 201(ff)(3)(B)(ii) of the FD&C Act. ClinicalTrials.gov holds 14 studies naming MK-677, MK-0677, ibutamoren or LUM-201, of which four have posted results: NCT05364684, NCT00395291, NCT04614337 and NCT05250063. View on www.fda.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.