Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Ipamorelin (NNC 26-0161)
Ipamorelin is a five-residue synthetic peptide developed at Novo Nordisk. In conscious swine in 1998, plasma ACTH and cortisol after ipamorelin did not differ significantly from levels after GHRH stimulation, while GHRP-6 and GHRP-2 raised both (PMID 9849822). That measurement has never been repeated in humans. The human record comprises one pharmacokinetic study in healthy volunteers, one nasal doping-control study in a single volunteer, one phase 2 trial in postoperative ileus that missed its endpoint, and a second phase 2 trial of 320 patients that completed in 2014 and never reported.
- Class
- Synthetic pentapeptide; agonist at the growth hormone secretagogue receptor (ghrelin receptor)
- CAS number
- 170851-70-4
- PubChem CID
- 9831659
- Molecular formula
- C38H49N9O5
- Molecular weight
- 711.9 g/mol (free base; PubChem and FDA Table 1). FDA's narrative text gives 711.85 g/mol for the same substance; both figures are recorded rather than averaged.
- Sequence
- Aib-His-D-2-Nal-D-Phe-Lys-NH2 (5 residues: 2-aminoisobutyric acid, L-histidine, D-2-naphthylalanine, D-phenylalanine, L-lysinamide)
- Also indexed as
- NNC 26-0161; ipamorelin acetate (a distinct bulk substance, CAS reported as 1258196-85-8 from supplier catalogue data, no UNII assigned); UNII Y9M3S784Z6; ChEMBL58547; DTXSID80168955; DrugBank DB12370
A pentapeptide built by subtraction
Ipamorelin is five residues long: Aib-His-D-2-Nal-D-Phe-Lys-NH2. It carries the Novo Nordisk development code NNC 26-0161 and was described in 1998 by Raun and colleagues, who identified it within a series of compounds that removed the central Ala-Trp dipeptide from growth hormone-releasing peptide-1. PubChem record CID 9831659 gives CAS 170851-70-4, formula C38H49N9O5, molecular weight 711.9 g/mol, UNII Y9M3S784Z6 and ChEMBL58547. FDA's 2024 review lists the same UNII, CAS and formula, but its identity table footnotes DrugBank and supplier catalogue pages, so the two records are not independent confirmations of one another. They also disagree on one figure: FDA's narrative text gives the molecular weight as 711.85 g/mol while its own Table 1 and PubChem give 711.9.
Three of the five positions are not ordinary amino acids. Position one is 2-aminoisobutyric acid, position three is D-2-naphthylalanine, position four is D-phenylalanine, and the C-terminus is an amide rather than a free acid. FDA's chemistry assessment treated that as a characterisation problem rather than a curiosity: less is established about the purification behaviour of unnatural amino acids and their derivatives, and about what they do to a peptide's tendency to aggregate. The nominated product is a 2000 microg/mL lyophilised powder for subcutaneous injection. FDA recorded the free base as slightly soluble in water at 0.0032 mg/mL and stated in its chemistry section that it is impossible to formulate the proposed injectable dosage form at 2 mg/mL; the conclusions section of the same document softens that to unclear how it would be possible. The acetate is recorded as soluble at 5 mg/mL.
Ipamorelin free base and ipamorelin acetate are distinct bulk drug substances, and the public identifiers do not cover them equally. The acetate has no UNII, no listed molecular weight, and a CAS number, 1258196-85-8, that FDA sourced from a supplier catalogue page while noting the same number is used for ipamorelin itself in some references. Both compounding nominations FDA reviewed named one substance in the title of the certificate of analysis and a different one in the molecular weight and formula on the same document. The identity block on this page describes the free base.
The storage figures in circulation split along the same line. FDA recorded, from a peptide supplier's product page, that lyophilised free base is reported stable at room temperature for 3 weeks and, once reconstituted, for 2 to 3 weeks at 4 degrees C and 3 to 4 months at minus 20 degrees C, with desiccated storage below minus 18 degrees C recommended. From the nominator's certificate of analysis and a catalogue page it recorded that the acetate is reported stable up to 4 years at minus 20 degrees C. Those are reported storage conditions carried from commercial pages into a regulatory review. No stability time-course was located.
Claim ledger
12 of 20 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Released growth hormone from primary rat pituitary cells with EC50 1.3 +/- 0.4 nmol/l and Emax 85 +/- 5 per cent, against GHRP-6 at 2.2 +/- 0.3 nmol/l and 100 per cent; ED50 80 +/- 42 nmol/kg in anaesthetised rats and 2.3 +/- 0.03 nmol/kg in conscious swine, with Emax 65 +/- 0.2 ng GH/ml plasma | Primary rat pituitary cell culture; pentobarbital-anaesthetised rats; conscious swine | In vitro exposure and intravenous administration | Not stated in abstract | Raun 1998, Eur J Endocrinol, PMID 9849822 |
| Did not raise plasma ACTH or cortisol to levels significantly different from those after GHRH stimulation, at doses more than 200-fold above the ED50 for growth hormone release, while GHRP-6 and GHRP-2 raised both; no secretagogue tested altered FSH, LH, prolactin or TSH | Conscious swine | Intravenous | Not stated in abstract | Raun 1998, Eur J Endocrinol, PMID 9849822 |
| Terminal half-life about 2 hours, clearance 0.078 L/h/kg, steady-state volume of distribution 0.22 L/kg, dose-proportional; growth hormone peaked at 0.67 hours and fell to negligible concentrations at all doses; SC50 214 nmol/L and maximal growth hormone production rate 694 mIU/L/h | Healthy adult male volunteers | Intravenous infusion over 15 minutes at 4.21, 14.02, 42.13, 84.27 and 140.45 nmol/kg | Eight subjects at each of five dose levels per the published abstract; 48 enrolled, six active plus two placebo per group, per FDA's 2024 review of the same trial | Gobburu 1999, Pharm Res, PMID 10496658 |
| FDA's 2024 review, reading this study, reports plasma peaking within 1 minute and a half-life of approximately 27 minutes after intravenous injection of ipamorelin ACETATE at a dose of 1 mg/kg with respect to free base. Neither figure appears in the published abstract, which reports systemic plasma clearance 5-fold lower than GHRP-6, excretion mainly in urine, 60 to 80 per cent of the administered dose recovered as intact peptide for ipamorelin and the two NNC peptides collectively rather than for ipamorelin alone, and intranasal bioavailability of approximately 20 per cent against approximately 50 per cent for GHRP-2, NNC 26-0194 and NNC 26-0235 | Male rats | Intravenous bolus and intranasal; salt form and 1 mg/kg dose specified by FDA, not by the abstract | Not stated in abstract | Johansen 1998, Xenobiotica, PMID 9879640; half-life and dose as reported in FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, 29 October 2024 |
| Median time from first dose to tolerance of a standardised solid meal was 25.3 hours against 32.6 hours on placebo, p = 0.15, with no differences on secondary endpoints. Per FDA's review of the same trial: hypokalaemia in 12.5 per cent against 3.4 per cent, insomnia in 10.7 against 5.2 per cent, hyperglycaemia at discharge in 14.3 against 8.6 per cent, serious adverse events in 10 subjects (17.9 per cent) against 9 (15.5 per cent); two ipamorelin subjects had fatal serious adverse events after bowel resection for colon cancer complicated by anastomotic leak, with primary causes of death recorded as hyperkalaemia in a subject with aortic clots, sepsis, perforated ulcer, and renal failure and sepsis in a subject with pneumonia; relatedness undetermined | Adults undergoing open or laparoscopic small or large bowel resection | Intravenous, 0.03 mg/kg twice daily from postoperative day 1 to day 7 or discharge | 117 enrolled, 114 in the safety and modified intent-to-treat populations: 56 ipamorelin and 58 placebo | Beck 2014, Int J Colorectal Dis, PMID 25331030; adverse-event and mortality detail from FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, 29 October 2024 |
| Longitudinal bone growth rate rose from 42 microm/day on vehicle to 44, 50 and 52 microm/day, p < 0.0001, with dose-dependent body weight gain; total IGF-I, IGF binding proteins, bone formation and resorption markers and pituitary growth hormone content were unchanged | Adult female rats | Subcutaneous, three times daily for 15 days at 0, 18, 90 and 450 microg/day | Not stated in abstract | Johansen 1999, Growth Horm IGF Res, PMID 10373343 |
| Total tibial and vertebral bone mineral content by DXA increased, but bone mineral content corrected for body weight was unaffected. Tibial AREAL bone mineral density (BMC/area) was increased, while total and vertebral areal densities were unchanged. Cortical volumetric bone mineral density was unchanged by pQCT, and volumetric densities were unchanged by Archimedes' principle; the cortical increase was attributed to increased cross-sectional bone area. Ash weight increased but mineral concentration was unchanged | Thirteen-week-old female Sprague-Dawley rats | Continuous subcutaneous osmotic minipump, 0.5 mg/kg per day for 12 weeks | 7 ipamorelin, 8 GHRP-6, 7 growth hormone, plus vehicle controls | Svensson 2000, J Endocrinol, PMID 10828840 |
| Produced a roughly 15 per cent body weight increase by two weeks, increased fat pad weights relative to body weight in GH-deficient and GH-intact mice, increased relative body fat by DEXA in GH-intact mice, and raised serum leptin and food intake, while growth hormone decreased relative fat mass in lit/lit mice | GH-deficient lit/lit mice and GH-intact +/lit and +/+ mice | Subcutaneous, twice daily for 2 to 9 weeks | Not stated in abstract | Lall 2001, Biochem Biophys Res Commun, PMID 11162489 |
| Venkova: a single dose of 1 mg/kg shortened time to first bowel movement but did not change cumulative faecal output, food intake or body weight gain at 48 hours, while repetitive dosing at 0.1 or 1 mg/kg increased all three. Greenwood-Van Meerveld: gastric emptying improved from 78 +/- 5 per cent of the meal remaining in vehicle controls to 52 +/- 11 per cent, p < 0.05, with non-surgical controls at 44 +/- 6 per cent, and inhibited acetylcholine and field-stimulation contractile responses in isolated gastric fundus were reversed | Fasted male rats after laparotomy with intestinal manipulation; isolated gastric fundus segments | Intravenous: 1 mg/kg as a single bolus or four doses a day at 3-hour intervals over 2 days (Venkova); 0.014 to 0.14 micromol/kg, and 1 microM in organ bath (Greenwood-Van Meerveld) | Not stated in either abstract | Venkova 2009, J Pharmacol Exp Ther, PMID 19289567; Greenwood-Van Meerveld 2012, J Exp Pharmacol, PMID 27186127 |
| Andersen: periosteal bone formation rate increased four-fold and maximum tetanic tension of the calf muscles increased significantly in the glucocorticoid-plus-ipamorelin group compared with glucocorticoid alone. Aagaard: against prednisolone alone, ipamorelin reduced hepatic urea-N synthesis capacity by 20 per cent (p < 0.05), decreased expression of urea cycle enzymes and neutralised nitrogen balance, while growth hormone reduced capacity by 33 per cent (p < 0.01) and improved nitrogen balance 2.5-fold | 8-month-old female rats (Andersen); rats in five groups including free-fed and pair-fed controls (Aagaard) | Subcutaneous injection: methylprednisolone 9 mg/kg/day and/or ipamorelin 100 microg/kg three times daily for 3 months (Andersen); prednisolone 4 mg/kg/day with ipamorelin 0.5 mg/kg/day or growth hormone 1 mg/kg/day for 7 days (Aagaard) | Not stated in either abstract | Andersen 2001, Growth Horm IGF Res, PMID 11735244; Aagaard 2009, Growth Horm IGF Res, PMID 19231263 |
| The ghrelin receptor antagonist D-Lys3-GHRP6 diminished the fertilisation rate; both synthetic ghrelin and the antagonist delayed embryo development (blastocysts 62.5 per cent at ghrelin 2 nmol, 50.6 per cent at ghrelin 4 nmol and 61.0 per cent for the antagonist, against 78.4 per cent in controls, p < 0.0001), and the antagonist or the higher ghrelin dose increased the percentage of atrophied fetuses and reduced weight gain of fetuses and dams. IPAMORELIN WAS NOT ADMINISTERED in this study; it is cited by FDA as a ghrelin receptor class effect | Female Albino Swiss mice (N:NIH) | Subcutaneous injection of synthetic ghrelin 2 or 4 nmol/animal/day, D-Lys3-GHRP6 6 nmol/animal/day, or 0.9 per cent NaCl vehicle | 7 to 13 females per group in the peri-implantation experiment and 82 to 102 embryos per treatment in the early-development experiment per the published abstract; 8 to 11 female mice per treatment per experimental group per FDA's 2024 review of the same study | Luque 2014, Reproduction, PMID 24821833; summarised in FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, 29 October 2024 |
| Analogues of GHRP-2, GHRP-6, ipamorelin and modified GRF (1-29) were identified in seized preparations; in every case the substance carried an additional glycine residue at the N-terminus, a modification not declared on the product | Pharmaceutical preparations seized by Danish customs authorities | Not applicable; LC-high resolution mass spectrometry against reference standards | Number of seized preparations not stated in abstract | Gajda 2019, Drug Test Anal, PMID 30136411 |
| Ipamorelin does not stimulate appetite or hunger, unlike other ghrelin mimetics. | No primary source supports this and the animal record contradicts it. Lall and colleagues (PMID 11162489) reported increased food intake, increased serum leptin and increased relative body fat in GH-intact mice given ipamorelin. Venkova and colleagues (PMID 19289567) reported increased food intake with repetitive dosing in rats. Lu and colleagues (PMID 39043357) reported that intraperitoneal ipamorelin inhibited cisplatin-induced weight loss in ferrets by approximately 24 per cent during the 48 to 72 hour delayed phase. Searched PubMed for ipamorelin paired with appetite, food intake, hunger and ghrelin-mediated feeding: the retrievable records point the other way, and none measured appetite in a human being. The distinction that does hold, and is sourced, is the ACTH and cortisol result in swine (PMID 9849822), which is a different claim about a different axis. | No source found | ||
| Combining ipamorelin with CJC-1295 produces a three to five-fold greater growth hormone release than ipamorelin alone. | The figure appears verbatim in FDA's 2024 briefing document, quoted from a marketing website the agency reviewed, and FDA attached no measurement to it. A PubMed search pairing ipamorelin with CJC-1295 returns ten records, every one of them a narrative review or an analytical-chemistry paper; none reports a combination experiment in any species. No trial of the combination is registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. The multiplier traces to a sales page, not to a measurement. | No source found | ||
| Ipamorelin increases bone density. | Partly supported in one rodent study, and the distinction that matters is which density was measured. Svensson and colleagues (PMID 10828840) found tibial AREAL bone mineral density by DXA increased, while total and vertebral areal densities were unchanged and volumetric bone mineral density was unchanged by both pQCT and Archimedes' principle; bone mineral content corrected for body weight was unaffected, and the cortical gain was attributed to increased cross-sectional bone area rather than to denser mineral. Johansen and colleagues (PMID 10373343) found increased longitudinal bone growth with bone formation and resorption markers unchanged. Searched PubMed for ipamorelin with bone mineral density and osteoporosis: no human study of any bone endpoint exists, so the claim as circulated has no human support at all. | No source found | ||
| Ipamorelin improves deep or slow-wave sleep. | A PubMed search for ipamorelin with sleep returns two records, both narrative reviews mentioning the compound in a list, neither reporting a sleep measurement. No polysomnography study, no sleep-staging data and no sleep questionnaire outcome was located in any species. Insomnia was in fact reported more often in the ipamorelin arm than the placebo arm of the only controlled trial that recorded adverse events, at 10.7 per cent against 5.2 per cent (FDA briefing document, October 2024, on PMID 25331030). The sleep claim appears on clinic marketing pages, which FDA catalogued, and nowhere in the literature. | No source found | ||
| Ipamorelin increases lean mass and reduces body fat in adults. | No human body-composition study of this compound exists. Searched PubMed for ipamorelin with body composition, lean body mass and fat mass: three records, of which one is a rat pituitary histology study, one is the mouse adiposity study that found fat mass increased, and one is a narrative review of secretagogues in hypogonadal men that describes the clinical data as lacking. ClinicalTrials.gov holds no trial of ipamorelin with a body-composition endpoint. FDA reviewed the substance for growth hormone deficiency and found no effectiveness data for that indication at all. | No source found | ||
| The storage and shelf-life figures quoted for lyophilised and reconstituted ipamorelin come from a stability study. | Figures exist and are recorded on this page, but no study stands behind them. FDA's 2024 review carries them from commercial sources: the free base figures (3 weeks at room temperature lyophilised; 2 to 3 weeks at 4 degrees C and 3 to 4 months at minus 20 degrees C reconstituted) are footnoted to a peptide supplier's product page, the physicochemical data to DrugBank, and the acetate figure (up to 4 years at minus 20 degrees C) to the nominator's certificate of analysis and a catalogue page. Searched PubMed for ipamorelin with stability, lyophilisation and reconstitution: the only records are doping-control assay development papers, which describe analyte stability in urine rather than product stability in a vial. FDA separately records that impurity, aggregate and bacterial endotoxin data specific to either substance were not found in the publicly available scientific literature. | No source found | ||
| Ipamorelin does not raise cortisol or prolactin in humans. | The measurement was made in swine, not in people. Raun and colleagues (PMID 9849822) measured ACTH, cortisol, FSH, LH, prolactin and TSH in conscious swine. Searched PubMed for ipamorelin with cortisol or prolactin: three records, none of them a human measurement. The published human pharmacokinetic study (PMID 10496658) assayed ipamorelin and growth hormone concentrations only, and the 2014 ileus trial measured neither hormone. FDA's 2024 review, which searched PubMed, Embase, the Cochrane database, FAERS and ClinicalTrials.gov, identified no additional human clinical data of any kind beyond that study and the 2014 ileus trial. | No source found | ||
| Development of ipamorelin was discontinued because the phase 2 results were disappointing. | The citation chain breaks. FDA's briefing document quotes a 2020 publication by Ishida and colleagues saying development was discontinued after the phase 2 trial. That reference does not appear in FDA's own reference list, and searches of PubMed and Europe PMC for the author with ipamorelin, for the quoted phrasing, and for ghrelin agonist reviews of postoperative ileus in 2020 did not retrieve it. The registry record is consistent with discontinuation, in that no trial has been registered since NCT01280344 completed in May 2014 and that trial has posted no results, but consistency is not a source, and no sponsor statement was located. | No source found | ||
The selectivity finding, and the species it was measured in
Raun and colleagues measured potency across three systems. In primary rat pituitary cell culture, ipamorelin released growth hormone with an EC50 of 1.3 plus or minus 0.4 nmol/l and an Emax of 85 plus or minus 5 per cent, against 2.2 plus or minus 0.3 nmol/l and 100 per cent for GHRP-6. In pentobarbital-anaesthetised rats the ED50 was 80 plus or minus 42 nmol/kg. In conscious swine it was 2.3 plus or minus 0.03 nmol/kg, with an Emax of 65 plus or minus 0.2 ng GH/ml plasma. Profiling with GHRP and GHRH antagonists placed the action at a GHRP-like receptor.
Specificity was tested in swine, and in swine only. None of the secretagogues examined altered plasma FSH, LH, prolactin or TSH. GHRP-6 and GHRP-2 raised ACTH and cortisol. Ipamorelin did not, at levels significantly different from those following GHRH stimulation, and the authors reported that this held even at doses more than 200-fold above the ED50 for growth hormone release. They called the result surprising. A PubMed search pairing ipamorelin with cortisol or prolactin returned three records, none of them a human measurement; the selectivity finding on this page therefore rests on that swine experiment (PMID 9849822).
The three records that search returns are the 1998 swine paper, a pharmacological characterisation of a different compound, and a 2026 narrative review that discusses the class rather than measuring it. None of the published human administrations of ipamorelin assayed those hormones: the 1999 pharmacokinetic study measured ipamorelin and growth hormone concentrations only, the 2014 ileus trial measured neither, and the 2015 nasal doping-control study measured urinary metabolites. Extending the selectivity finding from pigs to people is an extrapolation. No human study measuring ACTH, cortisol or prolactin after ipamorelin was located for this page.
The human pharmacokinetics exist, in one study
Gobburu and colleagues published the human pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic characterisation in 1999. The design escalated 15-minute intravenous infusions across five rates: 4.21, 14.02, 42.13, 84.27 and 140.45 nmol/kg. Pharmacokinetics were dose-proportional, with a terminal half-life of about 2 hours, clearance of 0.078 L/h/kg and a steady-state volume of distribution of 0.22 L/kg. Growth hormone rose as a single episode peaking at 0.67 hours and declined exponentially to negligible concentrations at every dose. The concentration producing half-maximal stimulation was 214 nmol/L and the maximal growth hormone production rate 694 mIU/L/h. Variability between individuals was larger for the pharmacodynamic parameters than the pharmacokinetic ones.
The sample size does not agree between two accounts of the same trial. The published abstract describes eight healthy male subjects at each of five dose levels. FDA's 2024 review describes 48 subjects enrolled, with five groups of six receiving ipamorelin and two per group receiving placebo, and the lowest dose group and the placebo subjects excluded from the modelling because growth hormone levels were negligible. Both statements are about the same randomised, placebo-controlled dose-escalation study. They are recorded here as each source reports them rather than averaged into a single figure.
Route matters more here than usual. FDA searched in 2024 and identified no pharmacokinetic or pharmacodynamic information for the proposed subcutaneous route of administration of either form, and separately recorded that it identified no nonclinical study assessing the pharmacokinetic profile by that route. Subcutaneous is the route the compounding nominations proposed and the route the marketing describes. The intravenous human data are the only pharmacokinetic data in people, and they come from the single 1999 study.
The rat pharmacokinetics reach this page through the same review. FDA describes adult male rats given an intravenous injection of ipamorelin acetate at a dose of 1 mg/kg with respect to free base, plasma peaking within a minute and a half-life of approximately 27 minutes, attributing the study to Johansen 1998. The Xenobiotica abstract reports neither figure. What it does report is systemic plasma clearance 5-fold lower than GHRP-6, mainly urinary excretion, 60 to 80 per cent of the administered dose recovered as intact peptide for ipamorelin and two related NNC peptides collectively, and intranasal bioavailability near 20 per cent against roughly 50 per cent for three comparator peptides. The only human nasal administration located was a 2015 doping-control study in which each compound went to a single volunteer and urine was collected for two days. It measured metabolites, not growth hormone.
Postoperative ileus, the indication it was actually developed for
The clinical programme was gastrointestinal, not endocrine. Venkova and colleagues worked in fasted male rats after laparotomy and intestinal manipulation: a single intravenous dose of 1 mg/kg shortened the time to first bowel movement but changed nothing about cumulative faecal output, food intake or body weight at 48 hours, while repetitive dosing at 0.1 or 1 mg/kg increased all three. Greenwood-Van Meerveld and colleagues measured gastric emptying in the same model and reported 78 plus or minus 5 per cent of the meal remaining in vehicle controls against 52 plus or minus 11 per cent after 0.014 micromol/kg intravenously, with non-surgical controls at 44 plus or minus 6 per cent.
Beck and colleagues ran the phase 2 proof-of-concept trial, registered as NCT00672074. One hundred and seventeen adults undergoing small or large bowel resection were enrolled and 114 formed the modified intent-to-treat population, receiving 0.03 mg/kg intravenously twice daily from postoperative day 1 until day 7 or discharge. Median time from first dose to tolerance of a standardised solid meal was 25.3 hours with ipamorelin and 32.6 hours with placebo, a difference of 7.3 hours that did not reach statistical significance at p equals 0.15. Secondary endpoints covering upper and lower gastrointestinal recovery and length of stay showed no differences.
FDA's review of the same trial records detail the abstract omits. Hypokalaemia occurred in 12.5 per cent of the ipamorelin group against 3.4 per cent on placebo, insomnia in 10.7 against 5.2 per cent, and hyperglycaemia at discharge in 14.3 against 8.6 per cent. Serious adverse events were reported in 10 ipamorelin subjects and 9 placebo subjects. Two subjects in the ipamorelin group had fatal serious adverse events; both had undergone bowel resection for colon cancer and developed the postoperative complication of anastomotic leak, and FDA records the primary causes of death as hyperkalaemia in a subject with aortic clots, sepsis, perforated ulcer, and renal failure and sepsis in a subject with pneumonia. FDA stated it was unclear whether the deaths were related to the drug, and cited them among its reasons for concern.
A second and larger trial reported nothing. NCT01280344 was a phase 2 double-blind dose-finding study in patients following small or large bowel resection with primary anastomosis, with three ipamorelin arms against saline placebo and an enrolment of 320. It began in April 2011, its primary completion date is recorded as June 2013, and the study completed in May 2014. No results have been posted, and no publication reporting it was located in PubMed or Europe PMC.
The rodent bone and body-composition record
Johansen and colleagues injected adult female rats subcutaneously three times daily for 15 days at 0, 18, 90 and 450 microg/day and measured longitudinal bone growth by tetracycline labelling in the proximal tibial metaphysis. The rate rose from 42 microm/day on vehicle to 44, 50 and 52 microm/day across the treatment groups, at p below 0.0001, with a dose-dependent effect on body weight gain. Total IGF-I, the IGF binding proteins and serum markers of bone formation and resorption were unchanged, as was pituitary growth hormone content. The growth hormone response to a provocative intravenous dose was marginally reduced, at p below 0.03; the response to GHRH was not.
Svensson and colleagues ran a longer study and reached a narrower conclusion than the one usually quoted from it. Thirteen-week-old female Sprague-Dawley rats received ipamorelin at 0.5 mg/kg per day, n equals 7, GHRP-6 at the same rate, n equals 8, growth hormone at 3.5 mg/kg per day, n equals 7, or vehicle, by continuous subcutaneous minipump for 12 weeks. Bone mineral content by DXA increased with every treatment; corrected for the accompanying body weight increase, it did not. Tibial areal bone mineral density, meaning bone mineral content divided by projected area, was increased, while total and vertebral areal densities were unchanged. Peripheral quantitative computed tomography attributed the cortical gain to increased cross-sectional bone area; volumetric bone mineral density was unchanged by both pQCT and Archimedes' principle.
Lall and colleagues compared ipamorelin against growth hormone in GH-deficient lit/lit mice and GH-intact littermates, dosing twice daily subcutaneously. Ipamorelin produced roughly a 15 per cent body weight increase by two weeks that was not further augmented by nine weeks, and increased fat pad weights relative to body weight in both lit/lit and +/lit animals. Two weeks of secretagogue treatment increased relative body fat by DEXA in GH-intact mice, and raised serum leptin and food intake. Growth hormone did the opposite, decreasing relative fat mass in lit/lit mice. The authors concluded that secretagogues increase body fat by mechanisms independent of growth hormone, possibly including increased feeding.
Two catabolism models point the other way. Andersen and colleagues gave 8-month-old female rats subcutaneous methylprednisolone at 9 mg/kg per day, ipamorelin at 100 microg/kg three times daily, or both for three months, and found periosteal bone formation rate four-fold higher and maximum tetanic tension of the calf muscles significantly increased in the combination group relative to glucocorticoid alone. Aagaard and colleagues, in prednisolone-treated rats, found ipamorelin at 0.5 mg/kg per day reduced hepatic urea-N synthesis capacity by 20 per cent and neutralised nitrogen balance, against a 33 per cent reduction and a 2.5-fold improvement in nitrogen balance for growth hormone itself. Their summary was that the secretagogue worked in the same direction as growth hormone, less efficiently, at the doses given.
The regulatory record
FDA evaluated ipamorelin free base and ipamorelin acetate for the 503A bulk drug substances list and brought both to the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee on 29 October 2024. The uses reviewed were growth hormone deficiency, which the compounding nominations proposed, and postoperative ileus, which FDA added on its own initiative. Neither substance has a United States Pharmacopeia or National Formulary monograph, and neither is a component of an FDA-approved drug. The committee voted 0 in favour, 12 against and 1 abstention on placing the free base on the list, and by the same margin on the acetate, on the stated grounds of insufficient safety and effectiveness information for both uses.
The review also documents a long list of absences. FDA searched the published literature and identified no acute toxicity study, no repeat-dose study, no genotoxicity study, no developmental or reproductive toxicity study and no carcinogenicity study for either form, in any species, and no study of immunogenicity or aggregation. Part of the nonclinical file it did assemble is not peer-reviewed literature at all: a conference abstract and a patent application supplied some of the gastric-motility findings. A search of the FDA adverse event reporting system through 30 September 2023 retrieved two non-serious reports, both involving compounded products. A separate search of national medical registries, the European Medicines Agency website and the European, Chinese, Indian and Japanese pharmacopoeias returned no monograph listing for either form.
Reviewers turned to class-level risks where compound-specific data were absent. They noted that ghrelin receptors are expressed in reward-processing regions including the ventral tegmental area, that ghrelin increases dopamine release there in rats, and that a ghrelin receptor agonist could therefore carry reinforcing properties, while stating the nonclinical studies were insufficient to determine whether ipamorelin does. Luque and colleagues, in female Albino Swiss mice given subcutaneous synthetic ghrelin at 2 or 4 nmol per animal per day or the ghrelin receptor antagonist D-Lys3-GHRP6 at 6 nmol per animal per day, reported that the antagonist alone reduced the fertilisation rate, while both the antagonist and the higher ghrelin dose increased the percentage of atrophied fetuses, and both compounds delayed embryo development. Ipamorelin was not administered in that study. Under the World Anti-Doping Agency 2026 Prohibited List, ipamorelin is named at section S2.2.4, prohibited at all times.
What has been found in the vials, and what is claimed for them
Forensic chemistry has looked at the material in circulation twice, and both times found something adjacent to the molecule in the papers. Gajda and colleagues analysed preparations seized by Danish customs and identified analogues of GHRP-2, GHRP-6, ipamorelin and modified GRF (1-29); in every case the modification was an extra glycine at the N-terminus, and they recommended that detection methods be updated to catch it. Krug and colleagues had characterised the same modification in black-market growth-promoting products, confirming Gly-ipamorelin by custom synthesis. A hexapeptide with an added glycine is not the pentapeptide any of the studies on this page administered.
The claims attached to that material are broader still, and FDA catalogued them as part of its historical-use assessment. Compounding pharmacy and clinic websites the agency reviewed asserted uses including weight management, hormone replacement, vitality and mental clarity, cardiovascular and immune support, sex drive, recovery and repair from injury, nerve tissue regeneration, cognition and memory, lean muscle, skin laxity, sleep and bone density, in injectable, nasal and oral forms. One site quoted by the review claimed a specific multiple of growth hormone release for ipamorelin combined with another secretagogue; FDA attached no measurement to that figure, and it is recorded in the unsourced section below with the searches that failed to find one. Not one of those uses has been the subject of a published trial of this compound.
What is not known
No study has administered ipamorelin subcutaneously to a human being, in any registered trial or published paper, which is the route in which it is nominated for compounding and the route the marketing describes; FDA searched in 2024 and identified no pharmacokinetic or pharmacodynamic information for that route for either form, and separately recorded no nonclinical study assessing the pharmacokinetic profile by that route. There is no published toxicology of any kind for either the free base or the acetate: no acute toxicity study, no repeat-dose study, no genotoxicity, no developmental or reproductive toxicity, no carcinogenicity, and no assessment of immunogenicity or aggregation, all of which FDA searched for and recorded as absent. No trial has measured body composition, bone density, sleep, cognition, injury recovery or any of the other outcomes the compound is marketed for, in any species for most of them and in no human for any of them. The largest study ever run, a 320-patient phase 2 dose-finding trial in bowel resection patients, completed in May 2014 and has posted no results and produced no publication, so what it found is not in the public record. Effect on ACTH, cortisol and prolactin has been measured in swine and never in people. Impurity, aggregate and endotoxin profiles for either substance are absent from the public literature, no stability time-course was located for either, and the material seized from the supply chain has twice been found to carry an undeclared extra glycine residue.
Questions
Has ipamorelin been given to humans?
Is ipamorelin approved anywhere?
Where does the selectivity claim come from?
What is the half-life?
Is the material in circulation the same molecule as in the studies?
References
- Raun K, Hansen BS, Johansen NL, Thogersen H, Madsen K, Ankersen M, Andersen PH. Ipamorelin, the first selective growth hormone secretagogue. Eur J Endocrinol. 1998;139(5):552-61. PMID 9849822. PubMed lists no retraction, expression of concern or erratum. View on doi.org
- Johansen PB, Hansen KT, Andersen JV, Johansen NL. Pharmacokinetic evaluation of ipamorelin and other peptidyl growth hormone secretagogues with emphasis on nasal absorption. Xenobiotica. 1998;28(11):1083-92. PMID 9879640. The abstract reports no half-life value and no 1 mg/kg dose; both are FDA's reading of the study. View on doi.org
- Gobburu JV, Agerso H, Jusko WJ, Ynddal L. Pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic modeling of ipamorelin, a growth hormone releasing peptide, in human volunteers. Pharm Res. 1999;16(9):1412-6. PMID 10496658. View on doi.org
- Johansen PB, Nowak J, Skjaerbaek C, Flyvbjerg A, Andreassen TT, Wilken M, Orskov H. Ipamorelin, a new growth-hormone-releasing peptide, induces longitudinal bone growth in rats. Growth Horm IGF Res. 1999;9(2):106-13. PMID 10373343. View on doi.org
- Svensson J, Lall S, Dickson SL, Bengtsson BA, Romer J, Ahnfelt-Ronne I, Ohlsson C, Jansson JO. The GH secretagogues ipamorelin and GH-releasing peptide-6 increase bone mineral content in adult female rats. J Endocrinol. 2000;165(3):569-77. PMID 10828840. View on doi.org
- Lall S, Tung LY, Ohlsson C, Jansson JO, Dickson SL. Growth hormone (GH)-independent stimulation of adiposity by GH secretagogues. Biochem Biophys Res Commun. 2001;280(1):132-8. PMID 11162489. View on doi.org
- Andersen NB, Malmlof K, Johansen PB, Andreassen TT, Ortoft G, Oxlund H. The growth hormone secretagogue ipamorelin counteracts glucocorticoid-induced decrease in bone formation of adult rats. Growth Horm IGF Res. 2001;11(5):266-72. PMID 11735244. View on doi.org
- Aagaard NK, Grofte T, Greisen J, Malmlof K, Johansen PB, Gronbaek H, Orskov H, Tygstrup N, Vilstrup H. Growth hormone and growth hormone secretagogue effects on nitrogen balance and urea synthesis in steroid treated rats. Growth Horm IGF Res. 2009;19(5):426-31. PMID 19231263. View on doi.org
- Venkova K, Mann W, Nelson R, Greenwood-Van Meerveld B. Efficacy of ipamorelin, a novel ghrelin mimetic, in a rodent model of postoperative ileus. J Pharmacol Exp Ther. 2009;329(3):1110-6. PMID 19289567. View on doi.org
- Greenwood-Van Meerveld B, Tyler K, Mohammadi E, Pietra C. Efficacy of ipamorelin, a ghrelin mimetic, on gastric dysmotility in a rodent model of postoperative ileus. J Exp Pharmacol. 2012;4:149-55. PMID 27186127. View on doi.org
- Beck DE, Sweeney WB, McCarter MD; Ipamorelin 201 Study Group. Prospective, randomized, controlled, proof-of-concept study of the ghrelin mimetic ipamorelin for the management of postoperative ileus in bowel resection patients. Int J Colorectal Dis. 2014;29(12):1527-34. PMID 25331030. Registered as NCT00672074. View on doi.org
- Luque EM, Torres PJ, de Loredo N, Vincenti LM, Stutz G, Santillan ME, Ruiz RD, de Cuneo MF, Martini AC. Role of ghrelin in fertilization, early embryo development, and implantation periods. Reproduction. 2014;148(2):159-67. PMID 24821833. Ipamorelin was not administered in this study; the substances given were synthetic ghrelin and the antagonist D-Lys3-GHRP6. View on doi.org
- Semenistaya E, Zvereva I, Thomas A, Thevis M, Krotov G, Rodchenkov G. Determination of growth hormone releasing peptides metabolites in human urine after nasal administration of GHRP-1, GHRP-2, GHRP-6, hexarelin, and ipamorelin. Drug Test Anal. 2015;7(10):919-25. PMID 25869809. Each compound was administered to one volunteer. View on doi.org
- Krug O, Thomas A, Malerod-Fjeld H, Dehnes Y, Laussmann T, Feldmann I, Sickmann A, Thevis M. Analysis of new growth promoting black market products. Growth Horm IGF Res. 2018;41:1-6. PMID 29864719. View on doi.org
- Gajda PM, Holm NB, Hoej LJ, Rasmussen BS, Dalsgaard PW, Reitzel LA, Linnet K. Glycine-modified growth hormone secretagogues identified in seized doping material. Drug Test Anal. 2019;11(2):350-354. PMID 30136411. View on doi.org
- Lu Z, Ngan MP, Liu JYH, et al. The growth hormone secretagogue receptor 1a agonists, anamorelin and ipamorelin, inhibit cisplatin-induced weight loss in ferrets. Physiol Behav. 2024;284:114644. PMID 39043357. View on doi.org
- US Food and Drug Administration. Evaluation of ipamorelin-related bulk drug substances (ipamorelin free base and ipamorelin acetate) for inclusion on the 503A Bulks List. FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, 29 October 2024, memorandum dated 19 August 2024. Source for the solubility figure of 0.0032 mg/mL, the reported storage conditions, the Beck trial adverse-event and mortality detail, the Luque summary, and the foreign registry and pharmacopoeia searches. View on www.fda.gov
- US Food and Drug Administration. Final summary minutes of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting, 29 October 2024, approved 15 January 2025. Vote on ipamorelin free base: 0 yes, 12 no, 1 abstain; ipamorelin acetate: 0 yes, 12 no, 1 abstain. World Anti-Doping Agency 2026 Prohibited List, section S2.2.4, naming ipamorelin among growth hormone secretagogues prohibited at all times. ClinicalTrials.gov records NCT00672074 and NCT01280344, the latter enrolling 320 with no results posted. View on www.fda.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.