Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Vasoactive Intestinal Peptide (VIP): An Evidence Ledger

Vasoactive intestinal peptide is a 28-residue neuropeptide that disappears from human plasma with a half-life of about one minute. It has been given to people under randomisation and placebo control — for erectile dysfunction, for COVID-19 respiratory failure, and as a deliberate migraine provocation agent — which places it in a small minority of the compounds recorded here. The largest of those trials enrolled 473, of whom 461 formed the modified intention-to-treat population, and was stopped for futility.

Strongest evidence: Human dataRandomised, placebo-controlled human trials exist; not an approved medicine in the United States, and the largest trial was stopped early for futility 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Endogenous neuropeptide of the secretin/glucagon superfamily; agonist at the class B GPCRs VPAC1 and VPAC2
CAS number
37221-79-7 (the free-acid record most often quoted); 40077-57-4 (aviptadil, the C-terminally amidated synthetic form)
PubChem CID
53314964
Molecular formula
C147H237N43O43S (free-acid record, PubChem CID 53314964 and FDA GSRS UNII 6J2WVD66KR)
Molecular weight
3326.79 g/mol (free-acid record; the amidated peptide differs by one oxygen replaced with NH)
Sequence
HSDAVFTDNYTRLRKQMAVKKYLNSILN (28 residues; amidated at Asn28 in vivo and in aviptadil)
Also indexed as
VIP; vasoactive intestinal polypeptide; vasoactive intestinal octacosapeptide; aviptadil (INN 7644; USAN code JK-120; UNII A67JUW790C, ChEMBL2106041, DrugBank DB06260, EPA CompTox DTXSID7048584, EU-Orphan EU/3/06/395 — all as filed in the FDA GSRS code list); sponsor designation RLF-100, which appears as a PubChem synonym on CID 16132300 and in none of the GSRS code entries

Two database records for one molecule

Said and Mutt pulled a vasodilator out of hog small intestine and published it in Science in September 1970. Their paper described a 28-residue polypeptide with systemic vasodilation, hypotension, increased cardiac output, respiratory stimulation and hyperglycaemia among its actions, and stated that it was chemically distinct from the kinins, substance P, glucagon and secretin. The amino-acid sequence followed in 1974 in the European Journal of Biochemistry, determined with the help of kallikrein cleavage. UniProt P01282 places the mature peptide at residues 125 to 152 of a 170-residue precursor that also carries PHM-27 at residues 81 to 107, and records Asn152 as amidated.

That terminal amide splits the identifier record in two. FDA GSRS holds a substance called VASOACTIVE INTESTINAL PEPTIDE, UNII 6J2WVD66KR, CAS 37221-79-7, classed as a chemical, formula C147H237N43O43S, molecular weight 3326.7889. It holds a second substance called AVIPTADIL, UNII A67JUW790C, CAS 40077-57-4, classed as a protein, with the same 28 residues and a complete C-terminal asparaginamide modification at position 28. PubChem CID 53314964 carries the first CAS and the free-acid formula, while the GSRS record for VIP itself cross-references PubChem 16132300, the amidated compound, rather than the free-acid entry its own CAS number resolves to. The identifier that circulates for VIP therefore describes a molecule lacking the amide that the native peptide and the synthetic drug substance both have, and the databases do not agree with each other about which entry the name points at.

Harmar and colleagues, writing for the IUPHAR receptor nomenclature subcommittee in 2012, recorded three class B G-protein-coupled receptors: PAC1, VPAC1 and VPAC2 (PMID 22289055). That assignment constrains every experiment below. PAC1 is selective for PACAP. VPAC1 and VPAC2 respond to both VIP and PACAP with high affinity. No study administering unmodified VIP can therefore attribute an effect to a VIP-specific receptor, because the two receptors it occupies are shared with a structurally related peptide that is present endogenously.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
After intravenous infusion stopped, plasma VIP fell by first-order kinetics with an average disappearance half-time of one minute; apparent metabolic clearance rate about 9 mL/kg/min and apparent volume of distribution about 14 mL/kgHealthy human volunteersIntravenous infusion, graded at 0.6, 1.3 and 3.3 pmol/kg/min over 30-minute periods4Domschke 1978, Gut, PMID 730072
Day-90 ordinal outcome odds ratio 1.11 (95% CI 0.80-1.55, p=0.54) for aviptadil versus placebo; 86 versus 83 deaths by day 90, cumulative 38% versus 36%, hazard ratio 1.04 (0.77-1.41, p=0.78); the data and safety monitoring board recommended stopping the aviptadil comparison for futility on 25 May 2022Adults with COVID-19-associated acute hypoxaemic respiratory failure, 28 US sites; 94% in intensive care at baselineIntravenous, 12-hour daily infusion for 3 days targeting 600, 1200 and 1800 pmol/kg on days 1-3473 enrolled; 461 in the modified intention-to-treat population (231 aviptadil, 230 placebo)Brown 2023, Lancet Respir Med, PMID 37348524
Primary endpoint of alive and free from respiratory failure at day 60 gave an odds ratio of 1.6 (95% CI 0.86-3.11) and did not reach statistical significance; a secondary 60-day survival comparison gave an odds ratio of 2.0 (1.1-3.9, p=0.035)Patients with critical COVID-19 respiratory failure, six tertiary and four community US hospitalsIntravenous, 3 days, randomised 2:1 against placebo196Youssef 2022, Crit Care Med, PMID 36044317
Mean time from hospitalisation to discharge 7.8 (SD 4.0) days with inhaled aviptadil versus 10.0 (SD 5.0) days with placebo, p=0.049; CT lung damage score improvement at day 28 greater in the treated group, p=0.028; deaths 5.1% versus 12.2%Hospitalised adults with COVID-19 pneumonia, 9 clinical centres, mean age 55.8 years, 33.8% femaleInhaled, randomised 1:1, double-blind, alongside standard care80Esendagli 2025, Med Princ Pract, PMID 39870064
Fifteen of 21 patients (71%, 95% CI 48-89) developed migraine attacks after VIP versus one patient (5%, 0-24) after placebo, p<0.001; the induced attacks mimicked the patients' spontaneous attacks, and the area under the curve for both headache intensity and superficial temporal artery diameter was greater after VIPPatients aged 18-40 with migraine without aura, 1-6 attacks per month; 17 women, 4 men, mean age 25.9Intravenous, 2-hour infusion, randomised double-blind placebo-controlled crossover21Pellesi 2021, JAMA Netw Open, PMID 34357396
A 25-minute infusion produced only very mild headache, maximum verbal rating 2 of 10, in five participants on VIP versus one on placebo; middle cerebral artery mean flow velocity fell significantly, regional cerebral blood flow did not change significantly (p=0.10), superficial temporal artery dilated in the first 30 minutes, and heart rate rose significantlyHealthy young volunteersIntravenous, 8 pmol/kg/min for 25 minutes, crossover double-blind against saline12Hansen 2006, Cephalalgia, PMID 16886936
A single inhaled 100 microgram dose produced a small, temporary and selective pulmonary vasodilation with improved stroke volume and mixed venous oxygen saturation and no effect on systemic blood pressure; six of 20 patients showed a pulmonary vascular resistance reduction greater than 20%Patients with chronic pulmonary hypertension: 9 pulmonary arterial hypertension, 8 hypertension in lung disease, 3 chronic thromboembolicInhaled aerosol, single dose during right-heart catheterisation20Leuchte 2008, Eur Respir J, PMID 18978135
Reported deficiency of VIP in serum and lung tissue by radioimmunoassay and immunohistochemistry with upregulation of receptor sites; in the treated patients, mean pulmonary artery pressure decreased and cardiac output and mixed venous oxygen saturation increased. No control group and no randomisationPatients with primary pulmonary hypertensionNot specified in the abstract beyond substitution with the peptide8 study patientsPetkov 2003, J Clin Invest, PMID 12727925
Four weeks of nebulised VIP significantly reduced tumour necrosis factor alpha production by cells isolated from bronchoalveolar lavage fluid and significantly increased lavage CD4+CD127-CD25+ T cells; open-label, with no placebo armPatients with histologically proven sarcoidosis and active diseaseNebulised, 4 weeks, open phase II20Prasse 2010, Am J Respir Crit Care Med, PMID 20442436
In the placebo-controlled phase, response rates to two strengths of a fixed-dose VIP/phentolamine combination were 75% and 66% against 12% and 18% on placebo (both p<0.001), with a median erection duration of 56 minutes; transient facial flushing accompanied 40% of 1,711 injections and one episode of priapism occurred (0.06%)Men with predominantly non-psychogenic erectile dysfunction, eight institutionsIntracavernosal injection by auto-injector, self-administered over a 6-month study interval236 in the dose-assessment phase; 171 in the placebo-controlled phaseDinsmore 1999, BJU Int, PMID 10233493
Vip-null and Vipr2-null mice showed two daily bouts of activity in a skeleton photoperiod and multiple circadian periods in constant darkness; loss of VIP or VPAC2 abolished circadian firing rhythms in approximately half of all suprachiasmatic neurons and disrupted synchrony, and daily application of a VPAC2 agonist restored rhythmicity to Vip-null but not Vipr2-null neuronsVip-/- and Vipr2-/- mice and their suprachiasmatic nucleus neuronsGenetic deletion; VPAC2 agonist applied to slice preparationsNot stated in abstractAton 2005, Nat Neurosci, PMID 15750589
At 40 micrograms per millilitre intranasally, escape latency did not differ significantly from the amyloid-beta model group; at 200 micrograms per millilitre, treated animals did not differ significantly from normal controls. Nasal mucosa showed minor irritation resolving spontaneously within a weekRodent, species indeterminate for the behavioural endpoint: the abstract describes intracerebroventricular aggregated amyloid-beta 25-35 injection in mice but attributes the escape-latency result and the nasal mucosal assessment to rats, and the inconsistency cannot be resolved from the abstractIntranasal, one week of treatmentNot stated in abstractCui 2013, Pharmazie, PMID 23444784
Intranasal VIP, taken as the final step of a mould-illness protocol, lowers TGF-beta1 and C4a, restores hormone levels and improves quality of life.No primary source located. PubMed searches for "Shoemaker vasoactive intestinal polypeptide biotoxin", "intranasal vasoactive intestinal polypeptide chronic inflammatory response syndrome mold", and "vasoactive intestinal peptide transforming growth factor beta C4a MMP9 patients" each returned zero records on 18 August 2026. A search restricted to Shoemaker RC as author returns two relevant indexed papers, a 2014 volumetric MRI study (PMID 24946038) and a 2015 whole-blood transcriptomics study of a ciguatoxin-exposed CIRS cohort by Ryan, Wu and Shoemaker (PMID 25889530), which is a different exposure from the water-damaged-building population; neither administers VIP or contains a treatment arm. ClinicalTrials.gov returns no registered study of VIP by the nasal route. The material describing this protocol appears in journals PubMed does not index and in United States patent 9,770,170, which is a claim of invention rather than a reported measurement. The direction of the claim is untested rather than contradicted.No source found
VIP restores volume to grey-matter nuclei, correcting the volumetric MRI abnormalities seen in inflammatory illness.Traces to a study that measured the abnormality and did not treat it. Shoemaker, House and Ryan (2014, Neurotoxicology and Teratology, PMID 24946038) used NeuroQuant volumetric software on 17 consecutive patients against 18 medical controls and reported caudate nucleus atrophy and pallidum enlargement bilaterally, plus enlargement of the left amygdala and right forebrain. It is a cross-sectional comparison. There is no treatment arm, no VIP administration and no follow-up scan in that paper. Searches for a published before-and-after volumetric series with VIP returned nothing in PubMed. The restoration half of the claim rests on no located measurement.No source found
Aviptadil improved survival in critically ill COVID-19 patients.This one traces to a real paper and fails on the terms in which it circulates. Youssef 2022 (PMID 36044317) missed its primary endpoint — alive and free from respiratory failure at day 60, odds ratio 1.6, confidence interval 0.86 to 3.11 — and reported the survival result as a secondary comparison. The larger NIH-funded TESICO trial (PMID 37348524), which enrolled 473 with 461 in the modified intention-to-treat population against 196 in the earlier trial, found 86 deaths versus 83 by day 90, a hazard ratio of 1.04 with a confidence interval spanning 0.77 to 1.41, and was stopped for futility. Both papers carry commentaries in their own journals: Auld's in Critical Care Medicine (PMID 36227034) on the conduct of pandemic research, and Lee and Slutsky's in Lancet Respiratory Medicine (PMID 37348523) headed as a negative trial. A survival claim stated without the second trial is a citation of the smaller study only.No source found
VIP is deficient in the serum and lung tissue of people with pulmonary arterial hypertension.One source, not replicated in any published cohort located. Petkov 2003 (PMID 12727925) reported the deficiency by radioimmunoassay and immunohistochemistry alongside receptor upregulation, and that finding is the stated rationale for every inhalation study that followed. PubMed searches for independent serum or plasma VIP measurements in pulmonary arterial hypertension cohorts ("vasoactive intestinal peptide serum levels patients pulmonary arterial hypertension elevated" and variants) returned no replication attempt; Europe PMC full-text searches for phrasing that would signal a failed replication returned zero hits. What does exist independently is genetic: VIP gene alterations in idiopathic pulmonary arterial hypertension were reported in a European cohort in 2007 (PMID 17003842) and a Chinese cohort in 2009 (PMID 19508420). Those are different measurements of a different thing.No source found
The 2010 sarcoidosis trial reported no lung-function endpoint.A negative claim about a paper's contents that could not be checked against the paper. The PubMed abstract for Prasse 2010 (PMID 20442436) is silent on lung function, reporting only the bronchoalveolar lavage immunological endpoints. Europe PMC returns isOpenAccess=N for the record and no PMC full text exists; the full text sits behind the American Thoracic Society paywall and was not retrieved on 18 August 2026. Absence from the abstract is not absence from the paper, so the assertion has been removed from the sourced ledger row. The abstract-level criticisms that do stand are that the study was open-label and had no placebo arm, both stated in the record itself.No source found
Reconstituted VIP solution holds its potency for a defined number of days under refrigeration.No published stability study located. PubMed returns no time-course, HPLC purity curve or aggregation assay for VIP in aqueous solution. The chemistry gives reasons for concern rather than reassurance: the native peptide is C-terminally amidated, a modification that is lost on hydrolysis and that FDA GSRS records as the sole structural difference between its VIP and aviptadil substance records, and the sequence carries a methionine at position 17 that is an oxidation site. Both are plausible degradation routes and neither has been characterised for this peptide in any record found. Any specific day count quoted for a reconstituted preparation rests on nothing published.No source found
A target serum VIP level exists, with a defined reference range separating healthy from deficient.No normative table located. PubMed searches for "vasoactive intestinal peptide reference range plasma healthy subjects radioimmunoassay" and for age-stratified concentration data returned nothing usable — two records, one on cavernous plasma levels during sexual arousal and one in Italian on heart failure. The only human concentration anchor found in a primary source is Domschke 1978 (PMID 730072), which states that infusion plateau levels reached the range seen in Verner-Morrison syndrome and gives no healthy reference interval. The same search run found no human pharmacokinetic study of this peptide published after 1978. Clinical laboratory intervals for VIP exist to flag secreting tumours, which is a different question from an individual target.No source found
VIP sits in Category 1 of the FDA's interim 503A bulk drug substances policy.Not established in either direction, because the source pages could not be retrieved. On 18 August 2026 the FDA compounding pages returned HTTP 404 at every URL attempted: category-1-bulk-drug-substances-under-evaluation returned 404, and category-2-bulk-drug-substances-raise-significant-safety-risks returned 404. The 503A nominated-substances landing page returned HTTP 200 but served an "Are you sure this is the right web address?" stub carrying a content-current date of 1 April 2019 and listing no substances. No live URL carrying either category table could be cited, so no substance table was parsed and no currency date for the Category 2 list can be asserted. Neither Category 1 nor Category 2 placement for vasoactive intestinal peptide or aviptadil is documented here. A compounding category is in any case a statement about a manufacturing pathway rather than about approval or evidence.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

One minute in plasma

The pharmacokinetics were measured in humans in 1978. Domschke and colleagues, writing in Gut, infused graded intravenous doses of 0.6, 1.3 and 3.3 pmol/kg/min over 30-minute periods into four healthy volunteers and measured plasma VIP by radioimmunoassay. After each infusion stopped, plasma concentrations fell by first-order kinetics with an average disappearance half-time of one minute. Apparent metabolic clearance was about 9 mL/kg/min and apparent volume of distribution about 14 mL/kg. The sample was four volunteers, and no later human pharmacokinetic study was located that would independently confirm the figure.

The same experiment recorded what the higher infusion rate did. Plateau concentrations reached the range found in Verner-Morrison syndrome. Glucose, free fatty acids and calcium rose slightly but significantly, pulse rate and blood-pressure amplitude increased, and cutaneous flushing occurred. The authors read their own data as arguing against VIP acting as a circulating hormone under physiological conditions. Every human study in the sections below works around that half-life: continuous infusion, aerosol delivered to the tissue of interest, or injection directly into the target tissue. Nothing here is oral.

The most direct attempt to engineer past the problem produced no published data. Pemziviptadil, development code PB1046, was a long-acting VIP analogue carried on an elastin-like polypeptide. Its phase 2 trial in pulmonary arterial hypertension, NCT03556020, enrolled 35 subjects and was terminated with the reason given as delayed study-drug resupply during COVID-19; it completed in January 2022 and has posted no results. A second trial in hospitalised COVID-19 patients, NCT04433546, enrolled 54 and was terminated because the company was no longer pursuing the indication. PubMed searches for both names returned no trial report.

Pulmonary hypertension and sarcoidosis: small, open, short

Petkov and colleagues published the founding clinical claim in the Journal of Clinical Investigation in 2003, under a title calling VIP a new drug for treatment of primary pulmonary hypertension. The paper reported a deficiency of the peptide in serum and lung tissue of patients by radioimmunoassay and immunohistochemistry, upregulation of corresponding receptor sites by Northern blot, Western blot and immunological techniques, and administration to eight study patients, in whom mean pulmonary artery pressure decreased and cardiac output and mixed venous oxygen saturation increased. There was no control group and no randomisation. The paper's own closing sentence asked for further investigation rather than claiming an established treatment.

Leuchte and colleagues measured the acute effect more carefully five years later in the European Respiratory Journal. Twenty patients with pulmonary hypertension of three different aetiologies — nine with pulmonary arterial hypertension, eight with hypertension in lung disease, three with chronic thromboembolic disease — inhaled a single 100 microgram dose during right-heart catheterisation. Six of the twenty showed a pulmonary vascular resistance reduction greater than 20 per cent. Stroke volume and mixed venous oxygen saturation improved, systemic blood pressure was unaffected, and the authors described the pulmonary vasodilating effect in their own words as modest and short-lived.

Sarcoidosis produced the one immunological human dataset. Prasse and colleagues, in an open phase II study published in the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine in 2010, gave nebulised VIP for four weeks to 20 patients with histologically proven sarcoidosis and active disease. Tumour necrosis factor alpha production by cells isolated from bronchoalveolar lavage fell significantly, and lavage CD4+CD127-CD25+ T cells increased. The study was open-label with no placebo arm, so the design cannot separate the peptide from four weeks of nebulisation and clinical attention. The abstract is silent on lung function and the full text is not open access, so what the paper does or does not report on that endpoint is not established here.

Two COVID-19 trials that do not agree

Youssef and colleagues reported a multicentre randomised trial in Critical Care Medicine in November 2022: 196 patients with COVID-19 respiratory failure across ten United States hospitals, randomised 2:1 to three days of intravenous aviptadil or placebo. The primary endpoint, alive and free from respiratory failure at day 60, returned an odds ratio of 1.6 with a 95 per cent confidence interval of 0.86 to 3.11 — it did not reach significance. A secondary survival comparison at day 60 gave an odds ratio of 2.0, confidence interval 1.1 to 3.9, p equal to 0.035. The authors concluded that the benefit-versus-risk balance was favourable.

A larger trial reached the opposite conclusion. TESICO, run within the NIH ACTIV-3b programme across 28 United States sites and reported by Brown and colleagues in Lancet Respiratory Medicine in September 2023, enrolled 473 participants; 461 formed the modified intention-to-treat population, 231 on aviptadil and 230 on matched placebo. Dosing targeted 600, 1200 and 1800 pmol/kg across three daily 12-hour infusions. The data and safety monitoring board recommended stopping the aviptadil comparison for futility on 25 May 2022. The day-90 ordinal outcome odds ratio was 1.11, confidence interval 0.80 to 1.55, p equal to 0.54.

Mortality in TESICO went the same way. Eighty-six aviptadil participants and 83 placebo participants had died by day 90, a cumulative 38 per cent against 36 per cent, hazard ratio 1.04, confidence interval 0.77 to 1.41, p equal to 0.78. The day-5 composite safety outcome — death, serious adverse events, organ failure, serious infection, or grade 3 or 4 adverse events — occurred in 63 per cent of the aviptadil group and 56 per cent of placebo, odds ratio 1.40, confidence interval 0.94 to 2.08. The accompanying comment by Lee and Slutsky was titled simply as a negative trial.

One smaller inhaled trial reports differently again. Esendagli and colleagues, in Medical Principles and Practice in 2025, randomised 80 hospitalised COVID-19 patients across nine centres 1:1 to inhaled aviptadil or placebo alongside standard care. Mean time to discharge was 7.8 plus or minus 4.0 days against 10.0 plus or minus 5.0, p equal to 0.049. Modified Borg scores did not differ at day 3 and were lower at day 7. CT lung damage score improvement at day 28 was greater. Deaths were 5.1 per cent against 12.2 per cent, in a trial with 80 participants and no power to resolve mortality.

What an infusion does to a person

Two headache-research groups established the acute human profile more precisely than any therapeutic programme did. Hansen and colleagues, in Cephalalgia in 2006, infused 8 pmol/kg/min or saline for 25 minutes into 12 healthy volunteers in a double-blind crossover. Headache was very mild, with a maximum verbal rating of 2 out of 10; five participants developed headache on VIP against one on placebo. The superficial temporal artery dilated markedly in the first 30 minutes, mean flow velocity in the middle cerebral artery fell, regional cerebral blood flow did not change significantly, and heart rate rose significantly.

Lengthening the infusion changed the outcome. Pellesi and colleagues repeated the design in 12 healthy volunteers over two hours, reported in Cephalalgia in 2020, and found superficial temporal artery dilation lasting more than two hours, higher headache incidence than placebo at p equal to 0.003, and increased tear production. The following year, in JAMA Network Open, the same group gave a two-hour infusion to 21 patients with migraine without aura in a randomised double-blind crossover. Fifteen of 21, or 71 per cent with a confidence interval of 48 to 89, developed migraine attacks, against one patient on placebo, p below 0.001. The attacks mimicked the patients' spontaneous ones.

Endogenous excess supplies the other end of the range. VIP-secreting neuroendocrine tumours, reviewed by Siddappa and Vege in Pancreas in 2019, present with a characteristic syndrome of watery diarrhoea; most arise in the pancreas and most are found late. Domschke's flushing, tachycardia and metabolic shifts at the top infusion rate sit on the same continuum. In Pellesi and colleagues' 2021 crossover trial in 21 patients with migraine without aura, 15 of 21 developed migraine attacks after a two-hour VIP infusion against one on placebo (PMID 34357396). Descriptions of this peptide as uniformly calming do not account for that result.

The intranasal record, and what is not in it

One pharmacodynamic study of the nasal route was located. Cui and colleagues, in Die Pharmazie in 2013, injected aggregated amyloid-beta 25-35 intracerebroventricularly, treated animals intranasally over one week, and assessed spatial learning by Morris water maze. At 40 micrograms per millilitre, escape latency did not differ significantly from the model group. At 200 micrograms per millilitre, treated animals did not differ significantly from normal controls. Nasal mucosa showed minor irritation that resolved spontaneously within a week of treatment ending. The abstract is internally inconsistent about species: it describes the intracerebroventricular injection in mice but attributes both the escape-latency result and the mucosal assessment to rats, so the species for the behavioural endpoint cannot be determined from the abstract. Group sizes are not stated. The work is rodent.

The registry contains nothing corresponding. A ClinicalTrials.gov search for intranasal vasoactive intestinal peptide returns one study, on allergen immunotherapy, unrelated to this compound. Registered interventions involving VIP or aviptadil use intravenous infusion at a headache centre, intravenous aviptadil in COVID-19, inhaled or nebulised aviptadil, intracavernosal injection of a fixed-dose combination, and subcutaneous injection of a long-acting analogue. No registered trial gives this peptide to a human being by the nasal route, for any indication, at any phase.

The nasal claims that circulate most widely attach to a mould-illness protocol, and their author's indexed publications do not contain them. Shoemaker's PubMed record includes a 2014 volumetric MRI study in Neurotoxicology and Teratology comparing 17 patients with 18 controls, which reported caudate atrophy and pallidum enlargement, and a 2015 whole-blood transcriptomics study of a ciguatoxin-exposed CIRS cohort (Ryan, Wu and Shoemaker, 11 patients against 11 controls, PMID 25889530) — a different exposure from the water-damaged-building population. Neither administers VIP. Neither has a treatment arm. The protocol material lives in venues PubMed does not index and in a United States patent, which is a document type that establishes a claim of invention rather than a measured result.

What is not known

No regulator has approved this peptide as a medicine in the United States, and the endpoint that would support one has not been met: TESICO, the largest randomised trial in the file, which enrolled 473 participants of whom 461 formed the modified intention-to-treat population, was stopped for futility with a day-90 odds ratio of 1.11 and near-identical mortality in both arms. Outside the United States a fixed-dose intracavernosal combination of aviptadil and phentolamine holds national marketing authorisations, which is a narrow local approval for a route that deposits the peptide directly in the target tissue and says nothing about systemic administration. Chronic dosing is uncharacterised in every indication: the pulmonary hypertension data consist of one uncontrolled series of eight and one single-dose acute study of twenty, the sarcoidosis data of one open four-week series of twenty, and no controlled trial has run beyond the days-long windows used in COVID-19. The long-acting analogue that would have answered the durability question was tested in 35 patients with pulmonary arterial hypertension and 54 with COVID-19, both trials terminated for non-clinical reasons, neither posting results nor producing a publication. Nothing has been given by the nasal route to a human being in any registered study, so no nasal pharmacokinetics, bioavailability, dose-response or adverse-event profile exists in people. Receptor attribution is unresolved at the level of the experiment, since VPAC1 and VPAC2 bind both VIP and PACAP with high affinity. And the identifier record itself is split, with the widely quoted CAS number and PubChem entry describing the free acid rather than the amidated peptide that circulates in the body.

Questions

Is VIP the same thing as aviptadil?
They are the same 28 residues, and FDA GSRS keeps them as two substance records. VASOACTIVE INTESTINAL PEPTIDE, UNII 6J2WVD66KR, CAS 37221-79-7, is classed as a chemical with the formula C147H237N43O43S — the free acid. AVIPTADIL, UNII A67JUW790C, CAS 40077-57-4, is classed as a protein and carries a complete C-terminal asparaginamide modification at position 28. UniProt P01282 records the native peptide as amidated at that position. Aviptadil is the form used in the clinical trials described here.
Has it been approved anywhere?
Not in the United States. Aviptadil holds FDA orphan-drug designations and the EU orphan designation EU/3/06/395, which are development incentives rather than approvals. A fixed-dose intracavernosal combination of aviptadil with phentolamine mesylate carries national marketing authorisations in several European countries; Dinsmore and Wyllie describe that product and its composition in their 2008 review in BJU International. The COVID-19 programme did not produce an approval, and the largest trial in it was stopped for futility.
Why do the two COVID-19 trials point in different directions?
Size and endpoint. Youssef 2022 randomised 196 patients and missed its primary endpoint, odds ratio 1.6 with a confidence interval from 0.86 to 3.11; the survival figure that circulates was a secondary comparison. TESICO enrolled 473 and analysed 461, targeted a day-90 ordinal outcome, and returned an odds ratio of 1.11 with mortality of 38 per cent against 36 per cent. Both journals published commentaries alongside their trials. Reading either paper alone gives a misleading picture of the record.
How long does it last in the blood?
About one minute. Domschke and colleagues infused graded intravenous doses into four healthy volunteers and measured plasma concentrations by radioimmunoassay; after each infusion stopped, levels fell by first-order kinetics with an average disappearance half-time of one minute, an apparent metabolic clearance rate near 9 mL/kg/min and an apparent volume of distribution near 14 mL/kg. The study dates from 1978, has four participants, and no later human pharmacokinetic study was located. Every clinical programme since has worked around that figure with continuous infusion, aerosol, or direct injection into the target tissue.
Is there any human trial of the nasal route?
None was found. A ClinicalTrials.gov search for intranasal vasoactive intestinal peptide returns a single unrelated allergen-immunotherapy study. The registered interventions involving this peptide use intravenous infusion, inhalation or nebulisation, intracavernosal injection, or subcutaneous injection of a long-acting analogue. The one located pharmacodynamic study of nasal delivery, Cui and colleagues in Die Pharmazie in 2013, was conducted in rodents, and its abstract does not consistently state which rodent.

References

  1. Said SI, Mutt V. Polypeptide with broad biological activity: isolation from small intestine. Science. 1970;169(3951):1217-8. PMID 5450698. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum recorded in PubMed publication types or correction links as at 18 August 2026. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. Mutt V, Said SI. Structure of the porcine vasoactive intestinal octacosapeptide. The amino-acid sequence. Use of kallikrein in its determination. Eur J Biochem. 1974;42(2):581-9. PMID 4829446. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  3. Harmar AJ, Fahrenkrug J, Gozes I, et al. Pharmacology and functions of receptors for vasoactive intestinal peptide and pituitary adenylate cyclase-activating polypeptide: IUPHAR review 1. Br J Pharmacol. 2012;166(1):4-17. PMID 22289055. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Domschke S, Domschke W, Bloom SR, et al. Vasoactive intestinal peptide in man: pharmacokinetics, metabolic and circulatory effects. Gut. 1978;19(11):1049-53. PMID 730072. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Petkov V, Mosgoeller W, Ziesche R, et al. Vasoactive intestinal peptide as a new drug for treatment of primary pulmonary hypertension. J Clin Invest. 2003;111(9):1339-46. PMID 12727925. Eight patients, no control group, no randomisation. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Leuchte HH, Baezner C, Baumgartner RA, et al. Inhalation of vasoactive intestinal peptide in pulmonary hypertension. Eur Respir J. 2008;32(5):1289-94. PMID 18978135. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Prasse A, Zissel G, Lutzen N, et al. Inhaled vasoactive intestinal peptide exerts immunoregulatory effects in sarcoidosis. Am J Respir Crit Care Med. 2010;182(4):540-8. PMID 20442436. Open phase II, 20 patients, no placebo arm. Full text not open access; the abstract alone was retrievable. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Youssef JG, Lavin P, Schoenfeld DA, et al. The use of IV vasoactive intestinal peptide (aviptadil) in patients with critical COVID-19 respiratory failure: results of a 60-day randomized controlled trial. Crit Care Med. 2022;50(11):1545-54. PMID 36044317. PubMed links a commentary in the same journal, PMID 36227034. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Auld SC. Aviptadil for COVID-19: a case study and call to action about the challenges of research during a global pandemic. Crit Care Med. 2022;50(11):1656-8. PMID 36227034. Commentary on PMID 36044317. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Brown SM, Barkauskas CE, Grund B, et al. Intravenous aviptadil and remdesivir for treatment of COVID-19-associated hypoxaemic respiratory failure in the USA (TESICO): a randomised, placebo-controlled trial. Lancet Respir Med. 2023;11(9):791-803. PMID 37348524. Registered as NCT04843761. 473 enrolled; 461 in the modified intention-to-treat population. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Lee WL, Slutsky AS. A negative trial for vasoactive intestinal peptide in COVID-19-associated acute hypoxaemic respiratory failure. Lancet Respir Med. 2023;11(9):759-60. PMID 37348523. Commentary on PMID 37348524. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Esendagli D, Sari N, Akhan S, et al. Inhaled aviptadil is a new hope for recovery of lung damage due to COVID-19. Med Princ Pract. 2025;34(2):191-200. PMID 39870064. Eighty participants across nine centres. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Pellesi L, Al-Karagholi MA, De Icco R, et al. Effect of vasoactive intestinal polypeptide on development of migraine headaches: a randomized clinical trial. JAMA Netw Open. 2021;4(8):e2118543. PMID 34357396. Registered as NCT04260035. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Pellesi L, Al-Karagholi MA, Chaudhry BA, et al. Two-hour infusion of vasoactive intestinal polypeptide induces delayed headache and extracranial vasodilation in healthy volunteers. Cephalalgia. 2020;40(11):1212-23. PMID 32594760. Registered as NCT03989817. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Hansen JM, Sitarz J, Birk S, et al. Vasoactive intestinal polypeptide evokes only a minimal headache in healthy volunteers. Cephalalgia. 2006;26(8):992-1003. PMID 16886936. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. Dinsmore WW, Gingell C, Hackett G, et al. Treating men with predominantly nonpsychogenic erectile dysfunction with intracavernosal vasoactive intestinal polypeptide and phentolamine mesylate in a novel auto-injector system: a multicentre double-blind placebo-controlled study. BJU Int. 1999;83(3):274-9. PMID 10233493. A parallel report of the same programme appears as Sandhu 1999, Int J Impot Res, PMID 10356669; the product and its composition are described in Dinsmore and Wyllie 2008, BJU Int, PMID 18485029. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. Aton SJ, Colwell CS, Harmar AJ, Waschek J, Herzog ED. Vasoactive intestinal polypeptide mediates circadian rhythmicity and synchrony in mammalian clock neurons. Nat Neurosci. 2005;8(4):476-83. PMID 15750589. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. Cui X, Cao DY, Wang ZM, Zheng AP. Pharmacodynamics and toxicity of vasoactive intestinal peptide for intranasal administration. Pharmazie. 2013;68(1):69-74. PMID 23444784. Also: Ryan JC, Wu Q, Shoemaker RC. Transcriptomic signatures in whole blood of patients who acquire a chronic inflammatory response syndrome (CIRS) following an exposure to the marine toxin ciguatoxin. BMC Med Genomics. 2015;8:15. PMID 25889530. And: Shoemaker RC, House D, Ryan JC. Structural brain abnormalities in patients with inflammatory illness acquired following exposure to water-damaged buildings. Neurotoxicol Teratol. 2014;45:18-26. PMID 24946038. And: Siddappa PK, Vege SS. Vasoactive intestinal peptide-secreting tumors: a review. Pancreas. 2019;48(9):1119-25. PMID 31609932. The trial registry records NCT03556020 (pemziviptadil in pulmonary arterial hypertension, 35 enrolled, terminated, no results posted) and NCT04433546 (pemziviptadil in COVID-19, 54 enrolled, terminated, no results posted). View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.