Comparisons · updated 27 Aug 2026
GLP-1, GIP and Glucagon Receptor Agonists: An Evidence Overview
Three receptors anchor incretin pharmacology, and three engineered peptides are the standard reference points against them: semaglutide at one receptor, tirzepatide at two, retatrutide at three. The single-dual-triple framing is real chemistry, but it is often presented as a potency ladder that no completed head-to-head study has yet built. This page logs what was measured, in which species, at what sample size.
- Class
- Lipidated peptide agonists of class B G-protein-coupled incretin receptors (GLP-1R, GIPR, GCGR)
- CAS number
- Semaglutide 910463-68-2; Tirzepatide 2023788-19-2; Retatrutide 2381089-83-2
- PubChem CID
- Semaglutide 56843331; Tirzepatide 163285897; Retatrutide 171390338
- Molecular formula
- Semaglutide C187H291N45O59; Tirzepatide C225H348N48O68; Retatrutide C221H342N46O68
- Molecular weight
- Semaglutide ≈4114; Tirzepatide ≈4813; Retatrutide ≈4731 g/mol
- Sequence
- Not verified
Verified against PubChem PUG-REST property and synonym records; IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology ligand 13769 for retatrutide identity and CAS; PubMed for structural modifications. Fields marked “not verified” are ones we could not confirm against a primary chemical database — we leave them blank rather than guess.
Three receptors, and how fast the native ligands disappear
Incretin pharmacology centres on three class B G-protein-coupled receptors: the glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor (GLP-1R), the glucose-dependent insulinotropic polypeptide receptor (GIPR), and the glucagon receptor (GCGR). Agonist binding at these receptors initiates intracellular cascades, of which cyclic AMP accumulation is the most frequently quantified in cell-based reporter assays.
The engineering problem these compounds exist to solve is measurable and old. Deacon, Johnsen and Holst (1995) incubated GLP-1(7-36)amide in human plasma at 37 °C and measured a degradation half-life of 20.4 ± 1.4 minutes across six samples, forming an N-terminally truncated fragment confirmed by mass spectrometry and sequence analysis as GLP-1(9-36)amide. Inhibitors of dipeptidyl peptidase-IV, or dropping the temperature to 4 °C, prevented the metabolite forming entirely. No C-terminal metabolism was observed.
In vivo the picture is sharper still. Deacon et al. (1995, Diabetes) administered GLP-1(7-36)amide subcutaneously to eight patients with type II diabetes and eight healthy subjects. Thirty minutes after subcutaneous administration, the truncated metabolite accounted for 88.5 ± 1.9% of the rise in C-terminally measured immunoreactivity in the diabetic group and 78.4 ± 3.2% in the healthy group. After intravenous infusion, intact peptide represented only 19.9 ± 3.4% and 25.0 ± 4.8% of the increase respectively. The native hormone is largely inactivated before it can be sampled.
Claim ledger
8 of 11 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GLP-1(7-36)amide degraded with a half-life of 20.4 ± 1.4 minutes, forming GLP-1(9-36)amide confirmed by mass spectrometry; dipeptidyl peptidase-IV inhibitors or 4 °C prevented metabolite formation; no C-terminal metabolism observed | Human plasma in vitro at 37 °C | Not applicable (in vitro incubation) | 6 | Deacon 1995, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 7883856 |
| Thirty minutes after subcutaneous GLP-1, the N-terminally truncated metabolite accounted for 88.5 ± 1.9% of the immunoreactivity increase in diabetic patients versus 78.4 ± 3.2% in healthy subjects; after intravenous infusion intact GLP-1 was only 19.9 ± 3.4% (healthy) and 25.0 ± 4.8% (diabetic) | Adults with type II diabetes and healthy adults | Subcutaneous and intravenous | 8 per group | Deacon 1995, Diabetes, PMID 7657039 |
| Semaglutide GLP-1 receptor affinity 0.38 ± 0.06 nM, three-fold lower than liraglutide, with increased albumin affinity; structure is human GLP-1 with Aib8 and Arg34 substitutions and derivatization at Lys26 | Cell lines expressing the GLP-1 receptor (cell-free binding and cell-based potency) | Not applicable | Not stated in abstract | Lau 2015, PMID 26308095 |
| Semaglutide plasma half-life 46.1 hours after intravenous administration; mean residence time 63.6 hours after subcutaneous administration | Mini-pigs | Intravenous and subcutaneous | Not stated in abstract | Lau 2015, PMID 26308095 |
| Tirzepatide 10 mg and 15 mg reduced fasting serum glucose versus placebo by least-squares mean −49.12 mg/dL (95% CI −78.14 to −20.12) and −43.15 mg/dL (95% CI −73.06 to −13.21) over 4 weeks | Adults with type 2 diabetes, Phase 1b proof-of-concept arm | Subcutaneous, once weekly, 4 weeks | 142 total across all three study parts (SAD, MAD, Phase 1b) | Coskun 2018, PMID 30473097; NCT02759107 |
| Retatrutide least-squares mean body-weight change at 48 weeks: −8.7% (1 mg), −17.1% (combined 4 mg), −22.8% (combined 8 mg), −24.2% (12 mg) versus −2.1% placebo; ≥15% reduction in 60%, 75% and 83% of the 4, 8 and 12 mg groups versus 2% placebo | Adults with BMI ≥30, or 27 to <30 with a weight-related condition; type 1 and type 2 diabetes excluded | Subcutaneous, once weekly, 48 weeks | 338 | Jastreboff 2023, N Engl J Med, PMID 37366315; NCT04881760 |
| Relative change in liver fat at 24 weeks: −42.9% (1 mg), −57.0% (4 mg), −81.4% (8 mg), −82.4% (12 mg) versus +0.3% placebo, all P<0.001; liver fat below 5% reached by 27%, 52%, 79%, 86% and 0% respectively | Adults from the Phase 2 obesity study with metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease and ≥10% liver fat | Subcutaneous, once weekly, 48 weeks (24-week endpoint) | 98 | Sanyal 2024, Nat Med, PMID 38858523; NCT04881760 |
| Retatrutide showed balanced GCGR and GLP-1R activity with greater GIPR activity in vitro; in obese mice, added glucagon-receptor-mediated energy expenditure accompanied GIPR- and GLP-1R-driven calorie-intake reduction; in a Phase 1 single-ascending-dose study a body-weight reduction persisted to day 43 after one dose | Cell-based assays; obese mice; healthy human single-ascending-dose cohort | Subcutaneous (human and mouse) | Not stated in abstract | Coskun 2022, Cell Metab, PMID 35985340 |
| Specific EC50 triples for retatrutide at GIPR, GLP-1R and GCGR (numbers such as "x pM at GIPR, y pM at GLP-1R, z pM at GCGR" circulate widely). | The primary characterization paper is Coskun 2022 (Cell Metab, PMID 35985340). Its abstract reports the receptor profile only in relative terms — balanced GCGR and GLP-1R activity, more GIPR activity — and gives no numeric potency values. The paper has no PubMed Central deposit, so the underlying assay table is not openly verifiable. Searched PubMed and the ChEMBL bioactivity route for a citable numeric triple and could not confirm one against an accessible primary table. The numbers may well be correct and drawn from a figure in the paywalled article; they are published here as untraced because the trace could not be completed. | No source found | ||
| Salt forms such as semaglutide sodium and semaglutide acetate are pharmacologically equivalent to the base compound. | The FDA states the opposite position on the record: these salts are different active ingredients from the base form used in approved products, the agency does not have information on whether they share the same chemical and pharmacologic properties, and it is not aware of any lawful basis for their use in compounding. A PubMed search for a published comparative characterization of salt-form versus base-form semaglutide (purity, potency, impurity profile) returned nothing. The equivalence claim circulates without a supporting analytical study in either direction. | No source found | ||
| Engaging more receptors produces proportionally greater effect — the single-to-dual-to-triple "ladder". | As of 17 August 2026, no completed head-to-head trial comparing retatrutide with semaglutide or tirzepatide has posted outcome data. Two Phase 3 comparators are registered and active but not recruiting: NCT06662383 (retatrutide vs tirzepatide, 800 adults with obesity, primary completion November 2026) and NCT06260722 (retatrutide vs semaglutide, 1,250 adults with type 2 diabetes, primary completion August 2026). Every cross-compound ordering currently in circulation is inferred across trials that differ in population, duration, endpoint and comparator. | No source found | ||
What the engineering actually changed
Semaglutide is the best-documented case because its design paper is explicit. Lau et al. (2015) describe two amino acid substitutions relative to human GLP-1 — Aib at position 8 and Arg at position 34 — plus derivatization at lysine 26 with a fatty diacid linked through a spacer chain. The Aib8 substitution blocks the dipeptidyl peptidase-IV cleavage site that Deacon's work had identified; the acyl chain drives albumin binding, which slows renal clearance.
The measured trade-off is stated plainly in that paper. Semaglutide's GLP-1 receptor affinity was 0.38 ± 0.06 nM, which the authors describe as three-fold lower than liraglutide's, while albumin affinity was increased. In mini-pigs, plasma half-life after intravenous administration was 46.1 hours and mean residence time after subcutaneous administration was 63.6 hours. Receptor potency was deliberately traded for exposure.
Tirzepatide and retatrutide extend the same logic across additional receptors. Both are fatty-acid-modified peptides. Coskun et al. (2018) characterized tirzepatide (LY3298176) as activating both GIP and GLP-1 receptor signaling in cell lines expressing recombinant or endogenous incretin receptors. Coskun et al. (2022) characterized retatrutide (LY3437943) in vitro as showing balanced GCGR and GLP-1R activity with greater GIPR activity — a relative description, given without a numeric potency triple in the abstract.
Single, dual, triple: what was measured in humans
The tirzepatide proof-of-concept programme (Coskun 2018, NCT02759107) ran three parts: single ascending dose and four-week multiple ascending dose studies in healthy subjects, then a four-week Phase 1b in patients with type 2 diabetes. A total of 142 human subjects received tirzepatide, dulaglutide or placebo. In the diabetic cohort, the 10 mg and 15 mg arms showed least-squares mean reductions in fasting serum glucose versus placebo of −49.12 mg/dL (95% CI −78.14 to −20.12) and −43.15 mg/dL (95% CI −73.06 to −13.21). In the healthy-subject multiple-dose arms, least-squares mean body-weight differences versus placebo were −1.75 kg, −5.09 kg and −4.61 kg at 1.5, 4.5 and 10 mg.
Retatrutide's Phase 2 obesity study (Jastreboff 2023, NCT04881760) enrolled 338 adults, 51.8% of them men, randomized across six subcutaneous once-weekly dose arms and placebo for 48 weeks. Least-squares mean percentage body-weight change at 48 weeks was −8.7% (1 mg), −17.1% (combined 4 mg), −22.8% (combined 8 mg) and −24.2% (12 mg), against −2.1% on placebo. A reduction of 15% or more occurred in 60%, 75% and 83% of the 4, 8 and 12 mg groups and 2% of placebo. The most common adverse events were gastrointestinal and dose-related, and dose-dependent heart-rate increases peaked at 24 weeks before declining.
The ladder metaphor and what it conceals
Presenting the three compounds as rungs on a receptor-engagement ladder implies that each additional receptor buys additional effect, and that the ordering has been demonstrated. As of August 2026 it has not been demonstrated by any completed head-to-head study that has posted findings.
The comparisons are running. NCT06662383 is a Phase 3, randomized, double-blind study of retatrutide against tirzepatide in 800 adults with obesity, sponsored by Eli Lilly, active but not recruiting, with primary completion scheduled for November 2026. NCT06260722 (TRANSCEND-T2D-2) is a Phase 3 open-label study of retatrutide against semaglutide in 1,250 adults with type 2 diabetes across 77 sites, also active and not recruiting, primary completion August 2026. Neither has posted outcome data. A 95-participant Phase 1 study of alpha- and beta-cell function (NCT06982859) includes both retatrutide and semaglutide arms and is likewise still running.
Until those report, every cross-compound comparison in circulation is assembled across trials with different populations, different durations, different endpoints and different comparators. The 24.2% figure from a 48-week obesity trial in people without diabetes and the −49 mg/dL figure from a four-week Phase 1b in diabetic patients are not points on a common scale.
Identity is not settled at the catalog level
Semaglutide and tirzepatide resolve cleanly. Semaglutide is PubChem CID 56843331, C187H291N45O59, roughly 4114 g/mol, CAS 910463-68-2, UNII 53AXN4NNHX. Tirzepatide is CID 163285897, C225H348N48O68, roughly 4813 g/mol, CAS 2023788-19-2 — though PubChem returns five distinct CIDs sharing that formula and weight, so a bare formula match does not fix which record is meant.
Retatrutide is messier. A PubChem name query on "retatrutide" returns nothing; the compound resolves only through substance records to CID 171390338, whose synonym list contains "Triple G", a Guide to Pharmacology identifier and several catalogue codes — but no CAS number, no ChEMBL identifier and not the INN itself. Identity was confirmed instead through IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology ligand 13769, which records retatrutide as INN 12350, development code LY-3437943, CAS 2381089-83-2, formula C221H342N46O68, with PubChem CID 171390338 as its cross-reference.
Salt form is a separate and consequential axis. The US Food and Drug Administration states that semaglutide sodium and semaglutide acetate are different active ingredients from the base form used in approved products, that the agency does not have information on whether those salts share the same chemical and pharmacologic properties, and that it is not aware of a lawful basis for their use in compounding.
What is not known
The comparison that the single-dual-triple framing implies has not been completed. Two Phase 3 head-to-head trials are active but have not posted outcome data, so no direct evidence orders these three compounds against one another under matched conditions. Beyond that, the strongest human data are shorter and narrower than the framing suggests: the retatrutide obesity trial ran 48 weeks in 338 adults aged 18 to 75 who were explicitly screened to exclude type 1 and type 2 diabetes, recent cardiovascular events, active cancer within five years, significant depression or other mental illness within two years, and pregnancy or breastfeeding — so nothing in that dataset speaks to those groups. Tirzepatide's proof-of-concept data cited here came from four-week exposures. No study in this file extends past 48 weeks for retatrutide, and long-term outcome trials such as NCT06383390 (10,000 participants, primary completion February 2029) will not report for years. Pediatric data are absent. On the chemistry side, retatrutide has no openly verifiable published amino-acid sequence, no ChEMBL record retrievable by name, and no CAS number carried in its PubChem synonym list; its identity resolves only through a Guide to Pharmacology cross-reference. Whether material sold as any of these three peptides matches the characterized compound in salt form, purity or impurity profile has not been established by any published analytical comparison.
Questions
What does single, dual and triple agonism actually refer to?
Has retatrutide been compared directly against semaglutide or tirzepatide?
Why does PubChem not return anything for a retatrutide name search?
Are semaglutide salt forms the same compound as semaglutide?
How quickly is native GLP-1 broken down?
References
- Deacon CF, Johnsen AH, Holst JJ. Degradation of glucagon-like peptide-1 by human plasma in vitro yields an N-terminally truncated peptide that is a major endogenous metabolite in vivo. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 1995;80(3):952-7. PMID 7883856. View on doi.org
- Deacon CF, Nauck MA, Toft-Nielsen M, Pridal L, Willms B, Holst JJ. Both subcutaneously and intravenously administered glucagon-like peptide I are rapidly degraded from the NH2-terminus in type II diabetic patients and in healthy subjects. Diabetes. 1995;44(9):1126-31. PMID 7657039. View on doi.org
- Lau J, Bloch P, Schäffer L, et al. Discovery of the once-weekly glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) analogue semaglutide. J Med Chem. 2015;58(18):7370-80. PMID 26308095. View on doi.org
- Coskun T, Sloop KW, Loghin C, et al. LY3298176, a novel dual GIP and GLP-1 receptor agonist for the treatment of type 2 diabetes mellitus: from discovery to clinical proof of concept. Mol Metab. 2018;18:3-14. PMID 30473097. View on doi.org
- Coskun T, Urva S, Roell WC, et al. LY3437943, a novel triple glucagon, GIP, and GLP-1 receptor agonist for glycemic control and weight loss: from discovery to clinical proof of concept. Cell Metab. 2022;34(9):1234-1247.e9. PMID 35985340. View on doi.org
- Jastreboff AM, Kaplan LM, Frías JP, et al. Triple-hormone-receptor agonist retatrutide for obesity — a phase 2 trial. N Engl J Med. 2023;389(6):514-526. PMID 37366315. View on doi.org
- Sanyal AJ, Kaplan LM, Frias JP, et al. Triple hormone receptor agonist retatrutide for metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease: a randomized phase 2a trial. Nat Med. 2024;30(7):2037-2048. PMID 38858523. View on doi.org
- NCT04881760. A Phase 2 Study of Once-Weekly LY3437943 Compared With Placebo in Participants Who Have Obesity or Are Overweight With Weight-Related Comorbidities. Sponsor: Eli Lilly. Enrollment 338; completed 2022. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- NCT06662383. A Phase 3, Randomized, Double-Blind Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Retatrutide Compared to Tirzepatide in Adults Who Have Obesity. Enrollment 800; active, not recruiting; primary completion November 2026. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- NCT06260722. TRANSCEND-T2D-2: Retatrutide Once Weekly Compared With Semaglutide Once Weekly in Adults With Type 2 Diabetes. Enrollment 1,250; active, not recruiting; primary completion August 2026. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- NCT02759107. Phase 1 single-ascending-dose, multiple-ascending-dose and Phase 1b proof-of-concept study of LY3298176 (tirzepatide). Referenced in Coskun 2018. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- US Food and Drug Administration. FDA's Concerns with Unapproved GLP-1 Drugs Used for Weight Loss (salt forms including semaglutide sodium and semaglutide acetate). View on www.fda.gov
- IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology. Ligand 13769: retatrutide (INN 12350; LY-3437943; CAS 2381089-83-2; C221H342N46O68; PubChem CID 171390338). View on www.guidetopharmacology.org
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.