Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Enclomifene

Enclomifene is the (E), or trans, geometric isomer of clomifene, a triphenylethylene oestrogen receptor modulator indexed in PubChem as CID 1548953. Five registered phase 3 trials, and a sixth documented only in the European dossier, preceded the FDA's Complete Response Letter of December 2015 and the European Commission's refusal of 6 April 2018. Both regulators reached the same conclusion: testosterone rose, and the one study that administered validated symptom instruments showed no separation from placebo on any of them.

Strongest evidence: Human dataRandomised phase 2 and phase 3 trials in humans; not approved in any jurisdiction, refused by the EMA and never approved by the FDA 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Triphenylethylene selective oestrogen receptor modulator; the (E), or trans, geometric isomer of clomifene
CAS number
15690-57-0 (free base); 7599-79-3 (citrate salt)
PubChem CID
1548953 (free base); 6420009 (citrate salt)
Molecular formula
C26H28ClNO (free base); C32H36ClNO8 (citrate salt)
Molecular weight
406.0 g/mol free base (FDA GSRS calculated value 405.9605); 598.1 g/mol citrate salt
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
INN enclomifene (INN code 2334); enclomiphene (USAN); trans-clomiphene; clomiphene trans-form; Androxal (development code); EnCyzix (proposed name in the refused EU application); ICI-46476; RMI 16289; UNII R6D2UI4FLS (free base), UNII J303A6U9Y6 (citrate); ChEMBL CHEMBL954

Identity, and the isomer it was separated from

Clomifene citrate, the ovulation-induction agent, is a mixture of two geometric isomers: zuclomifene, the cis or (Z) form, and enclomifene, the trans or (E) form. PubChem holds the free base as CID 1548953, formula C26H28ClNO, molecular weight 406.0, CAS 15690-57-0, UNII R6D2UI4FLS. The citrate salt is CID 6420009, C32H36ClNO8, 598.1 g/mol, CAS 7599-79-3, UNII J303A6U9Y6. The FDA Global Substance Registration System gives the free base a calculated mass of 405.9605, records the INN enclomifene under INN code 2334, and carries the old research designation ICI-46476. It is a triphenylethylene small molecule, not a peptide. Enclomifene is one half of a marketed medicine rather than a compound of its own.

PubChem's synonym list for CID 1548953, the record whose IUPAC name specifies the (E) configuration, carries the bare name clomifene, the label clomiphene trans-form, and, contradicting both, cisclomiphene. Its ChEMBL cross-reference, CHEMBL954, is assigned to the (E) isomer by two independent registries: the FDA Global Substance Registration System record for UNII R6D2UI4FLS carries codeSystem ChEMBL, code CHEMBL954, while PubChem's stereo-unspecified mixture record, CID 2800, carries CHEMBL2355051 instead. The ChEMBL API could not be reached this session to confirm what the CHEMBL954 record itself contains. A name-based search still returns entries describing three different things: the pure trans isomer, the isomeric mixture dispensed as clomifene citrate, and on one line the cis isomer that makes up the rest of it. The two views of the same record diverge.

Two official statements of the trans proportion exist, and neither reduces to a single number. The FDA-approved clomifene citrate tablet label describes a mixture of the two geometric isomers "containing between 30% and 50% of the cis-isomer", a range rather than a figure, and gives no trans percentage at all. FDA's 2022 evaluation memorandum states the other side of it directly, citing the United States Pharmacopeia monograph: the content of enclomifene citrate in clomifene citrate is in the range of about 50% to 70%. Two sources, one range, no fixed value. Secondary sources almost uniformly report a single precise pair of numbers instead, and that claim is recorded in the untraced list below with the search that failed to place it.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
78.8% of pooled enclomifene subjects reached 24-hour average testosterone of 300–1040 ng/dL at 12 weeks (95% CI 70.3–85.3)Men with secondary hypogonadism, morning total testosterone in the low rangeOral, once daily (12.5 mg or 25 mg arms, pooled)151 randomised (92 at 12.5 mg, 21 at 25 mg, 38 placebo)ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01532414 (ZA-301), Repros Therapeutics, posted results
A fall of 50% or more in sperm concentration at 12 weeks occurred in 14.2% of pooled enclomifene subjects against 2.6% of placebo subjectsMen with secondary hypogonadismOral, once daily (12.5 mg or 25 mg arms, pooled)113 pooled enclomifene, 38 placeboClinicalTrials.gov NCT01532414 (ZA-301), Repros Therapeutics, posted results
Mean change in morning total testosterone at 3 months: +258.5 ng/dL (SD 201.5) at 12.5 mg, +197.3 (162.6) at 25 mg, +253.7 (292.3) on topical testosterone gel, −16.9 (47.5) on placebo. In the same record, decreased sperm concentration was reported as an adverse event in 8 of 33 men on topical gel and in 0 of 60 men across the two enclomifene armsMen aged 21–65 with secondary hypogonadism, morning total testosterone below 250 ng/dLOral once daily, against once-daily 1% topical testosterone gelThe registry record disagrees with itself: enrolment field 83, posted baseline table 121, participant-flow module 124 started (29 placebo, 33 gel, 29 at 12.5 mg, 33 at 25 mg) and 73 completed. FDA's evaluation reports the flow-module pair, 124 enrolled and 73 completingClinicalTrials.gov NCT01270841 (ZA-203), posted results, participant-flow and adverse-event modules; published as Wiehle 2014, Fertil Steril, PMID 25044085
109 of 134 enclomifene subjects (81.3%, 95% Wilson score interval 73.9–87.0) achieved a 24-hour average testosterone in the normal range (300–1040 ng/dL) at 12 weeksOverweight men with acquired hypogonadotropic hypogonadism and normal sperm concentrationOral once daily for 12 weeks, higher dose reached by up-titration, with a 6-month extension phase181 randomised (134 enclomifene, 47 placebo)European Medicines Agency, EnCyzix assessment report EMA/88321/2018, pp. 70–72 and 106 (study ZA-302). No ClinicalTrials.gov record and no peer-reviewed publication exists for this trial
Mean trough total testosterone at day 42 was 604 ± 160 ng/dL on enclomifene citrate 25 mg against 500 ± 278 ng/dL on transdermal testosterone (p = 0.23); time to peak drug concentration 2–3 hours; effects on LH and testosterone persisted at least one week after stoppingMen with secondary hypogonadism, total testosterone below 350 ng/dL and LH below 12 IU/L on at least two occasionsOral once daily for 6 weeks, against 5 g transdermal testosterone48 enrolled (intention-to-treat), 44 completing per protocolWiehle 2013, BJU Int, PMID 23875626
Sperm counts were elevated in 7 of 7 men at 3 months and 6 of 6 at 6 months, with sperm concentrations in the 75–334 × 10^6/mL range; total testosterone at 6 months was 525 ± 256 against 545 ± 268 on gelMen with secondary hypogonadism previously treated with topical testosteroneOral, fixed dose, open-label, against topical testosterone12 randomised across two centresKaminetsky 2013, J Sex Med, PMID 23530575. Units in the published abstract are printed as pg/dL, an evident error for ng/dL; FDA's 2022 evaluation reproduces the same figures as ng/dL
Total testosterone rose in all active arms; LH and FSH rose on enclomifene and fell on topical testosterone; sperm concentration was maintained on enclomifene. The endpoint values the paper gives only as directions appear in the EMA report: testosterone within 300–1040 ng/dL in ZA-304, 63.4% enclomifene against 44.2% gel and 4.4% placebo; in ZA-305, 68.2% against 7.3% placebo. On the composite endpoint (mean sperm concentration ≥10 million/mL plus 24-hour testosterone in range), ZA-304 gave 61.0% against 16.3% gel and 4.4% placebo, and ZA-305 gave 65.9% against 33.3% and 7.3%. Drug-related adverse events occurred in 53 of 256 men (21%); two deaths occurred, both in the fixed lower-dose arm (a road traffic fatality and an ischaemic stroke at day 34), both recorded by investigators as unrelatedOverweight men aged 18–60 with secondary hypogonadism, morning total testosterone ≤300 ng/dL and LH <9.4 IU/LOral once daily for 16 weeks, against 1.62% topical testosterone gel256 across two parallel trials, ZA-304 and ZA-305 (fixed lower-dose arm 43, up-titrated higher-dose arm 42, gel 85, placebo 86)Kim 2016, BJU Int, PMID 26496621, with arm sizes and adverse event detail from the FDA 2022 evaluation memorandum and endpoint values from EMA/88321/2018, pp. 103 and 106. The EMA document is internally inconsistent on the ZA-305 gel comparator: the effects table and favourable-effects text give 45.2%, the efficacy-analyses text gives 52.4%
63.8% and 64.0% of the two enclomifene arms had morning total testosterone within the defined physiological range at 3 months against 22.4% on placebo (p<0.0001) and 54.2% on topical gel (not significant). On the IIEF libido component only the gel arm improved significantly at every time point; on erectile function only placebo did; on the Derogatis Sexual Desire section and the Male Sexual Distress Scale IV-A all groups including placebo improved significantlyMen aged 18–68 with secondary hypogonadism, morning total serum testosterone <300 ng/dLOral once daily, against topical testosterone gel and placebo, 6 months194 enrolled; 145 completed; 104 entered the 12-month open-label extensionEuropean Medicines Agency, EnCyzix assessment report EMA/88321/2018, pp. 84–85 and 90 (study ZA-003). No ClinicalTrials.gov record and no peer-reviewed publication exists for this trial
Serious adverse events in 6 of 207 men on 12.5 mg and 9 of 283 on 25 mg over 26 weeks, including pulmonary embolism, two deep vein thromboses, transient ischaemic attack, atrial flutter, bradycardia and seminoma. Most frequent non-serious events: upper respiratory tract infection 53, headache 35, muscle spasms 22, sinusitis 13, influenza 12, hot flush 11, dizziness 11, daytime urinary frequency 11Men aged 18–65 with secondary hypogonadismOral once daily, open-label, 26 weeks with 8 weeks follow-up499 enrolled; the participant-flow module gives 216 and 283 started, while the adverse-event denominators within the same record are 207 and 283ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01534208 (ZA-300), posted results, participant-flow and adverse-event modules; serious-event list from the FDA 2022 evaluation memorandum, which reports the same 216 and 283
Median serum enclomifene 2.2 ng/mL and median zuclomifene 44.0 ng/mL, a ratio of about 20 to 1, after at least 6 weeks of clomifene citrate; age, BMI, treatment duration and testosterone predicted neither concentrationMen with secondary hypogonadism on long-term clomifene citrate 25 mg daily, median age 36, median BMI 32.0Oral clomifene citrate, once daily, median duration 25.9 months15Helo 2017, BJU Int, PMID 27511863
Median testosterone rise 166 ng/dL on enclomifene against 98 ng/dL on clomifene (P=0.20); oestradiol change −5.92 against +17.50 pg/mL (P=0.001); odds of a documented adverse effect 0.18 on enclomifene (95% CI 0.07–0.44)Men treated for hypogonadism at one academic centre, prescribed clomifene first and enclomifene afterwards; sequence not randomised, assessment not blindedOral, retrospective chart review66Saffati 2024, Transl Androl Urol, PMID 39434750
No no-adverse-effect level could be assigned in a 26-week oral rat study: prostate, seminal vesicle and coagulating gland atrophy, Leydig cell atrophy and depletion, and renal tubular dilatation appeared at every dose tested (0.5, 5 and 10 mg/kg/day)Rats (pivotal repeat-dose toxicity study)Oral, daily, 26 weeksGroup sizes not stated in the FDA evaluation memorandum or the EMA 2018 report it draws onFDA evaluation of enclomiphene citrate for the 503A Bulk Drug Substances List, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee briefing document, 8 June 2022, summarising the EMA 2018 assessment report
Clomifene citrate is 62% enclomifene and 38% zuclomifeneTwo official statements of the proportion exist and both give a range, not a figure. The FDA-approved clomifene citrate tablet label, retrieved from DailyMed (setid 2ca373c1-4dba-4126-8616-5c533d606fe5), states the product is a mixture of the two geometric isomers "containing between 30% and 50% of the cis-isomer". FDA's 2022 evaluation memorandum states the trans side directly from the United States Pharmacopeia monograph: the content of enclomifene citrate in clomifene citrate is in the range of about 50% to 70%. The failed search is for the fixed 62:38 pair alone, which appears across clinical review articles, telehealth pages and product descriptions. Searches of PubMed for clomiphene isomer ratio, of the full text of the FDA memorandum, and of the EMA EnCyzix assessment report returned no source assigning those two numbers. A range has been converted into a precise figure somewhere in transmission, and the conversion has no traceable origin.No source found
Enclomifene has a half-life of approximately 10 hoursTwo different figures circulate and neither traces to a terminal half-life measured in men taking pure enclomifene. FDA's 2022 evaluation states approximately 10 hours and attributes it to Wiehle et al. 2014b, which is Journal of Men's Health 2014;11(4):196–205, doi 10.1089/jomh.2014.0006. That paper is not indexed in PubMed: a PubMed search for its exact title returned zero records, as did a search of that journal for enclomiphene. The other figure, approximately 7 hours, appears in Wiehle 2013 (PMID 23875626), which cites it to reference 26, Mikkelson 1986 (PMID 3091405) — a single-dose study of 50 mg clomifene citrate in 24 healthy adult female volunteers whose abstract reports no numeric half-life. Wiehle 2013 ran its own pharmacokinetic subpopulation and reported a time to peak of 2–3 hours and area-under-curve ratios, but no terminal half-life of its own.No source found
Zuclomifene has a half-life of about 30 daysTraced to Mikkelson 1986 (PMID 3091405), which supports something adjacent but not this. The abstract reports that the Z isomer was eliminated much more slowly than the E isomer and that significant plasma concentrations were still detectable up to one month after a single 50 mg dose. A detection window is not a half-life, and the paper's abstract gives no elimination constant. The FDA-approved clomifene label makes the same weaker statement: detectable levels of zuclomifene persisted longer than a month, possibly through enterohepatic recycling. Young 1999 (PMID 10202872) separately showed zuclomifene accumulating across consecutive treatment cycles. Searches of PubMed for a published terminal half-life for zuclomifene returned no figure.No source found
Enclomifene does not raise oestrogenContradicted by the trials the claim is usually attached to. In ZA-203, the phase 2b trial published as Wiehle 2014 (PMID 25044085), oestradiol and dihydrotestosterone rose with statistical significance in all three active arms, and oestradiol remained significantly above baseline one month after enclomifene was discontinued, as recorded in FDA's 2022 evaluation. Helo 2017 (PMID 27511863) found median oestradiol rising from 17.0 to 34.0 pg/mL in men on clomifene. FDA's own conclusion lists elevated oestradiol among the clinical safety concerns for enclomiphene citrate. The one finding pointing the other way, Saffati 2024 (PMID 39434750), measured oestradiol change relative to a clomifene period rather than to an untreated baseline. Sources disagree, and averaging them would misrepresent both.No source found
Enclomifene preserves or restores fertilityNo registered trial measured fertility. A ClinicalTrials.gov search across enclomiphene and Androxal returned the Repros programme and one study of the other isomer; none has pregnancy, live birth or time-to-conception as an outcome. Kim 2016 (PMID 26496621) reports maintenance of sperm concentration and its authors list the absence of pregnancy or live birth data as a limitation. FDA's 2022 evaluation states directly that sperm concentration and other semen parameters assess aspects of testicular function and are not tests of fertility, and the Bone, Reproductive and Urologic Drugs Advisory Committee voted in December 2016 that pregnancy outcomes would be needed. The sperm-concentration finding is real and sourced; the fertility claim built on it is not.No source found
Enclomifene improves libido, energy, mood or the symptoms of low testosteroneIt was measured once, and the result went the other way. Study ZA-003, 194 men aged 18 to 68, administered the International Index of Erectile Function, the Derogatis Interview for Sexual Function Sexual Desire section and the Male Sexual Distress Scale IV-A. On the IIEF libido component only the topical testosterone arm improved significantly at every time point; on erectile function only the placebo group did; and on the other two instruments all groups including placebo improved. CHMP summarised the remaining instruments as showing no benefit for enclomifene against placebo (EMA/88321/2018, pp. 84 and 90). ZA-003 has no ClinicalTrials.gov record and no peer-reviewed publication, so the result exists only in the assessment report. Beyond it, a PubMed search for enclomiphene combined with patient-reported outcome, quality of life and hypogonadism symptom scores returned no trial reporting a validated instrument, and both regulators recorded that the pivotal programme supporting the proposed indication contained none.No source found
Enclomifene is safer than clomifene because zuclomifene causes the adverse effectsNo randomised head-to-head comparison exists. A ClinicalTrials.gov search returned no trial randomising men between enclomifene and clomifene. The isomer-toxicity separation comes from Fontenot 2016 (PMID 26220499), a mouse gavage study at 4 and 40 mg/kg/day whose group sizes are not stated in the record retrieved. The human comparison comes from Saffati 2024 (PMID 39434750), a retrospective review of 66 patients prescribed clomifene first and enclomifene second, unrandomised and unblinded, in which the difference in testosterone rise was not significant (P=0.20). Hohl 2025 (PMID 41066380) pooled clomifene and enclomifene together as one class and did not separate them. The evidence offered for the claim is a mouse gavage study with unstated group sizes and an unrandomised, unblinded sequential chart review.No source found
Enclomifene protects bone, or has no adverse effect on bone mineral densityThe trial exists, reported to one regulator, and its numbers cannot be read. ZA-303 (NCT01619683) was a single-blind, placebo-controlled phase 3 study of 52 weeks of enclomifene citrate in 300 overweight men with bone mineral density as the primary outcome. It completed in September 2014; the registry record was last updated on 29 September 2014 and carries no posted results, and a PubMed search for enclomiphene combined with bone and with bone mineral density returned zero records. The EMA EnCyzix assessment report does summarise the study and presents change from baseline in testosterone and in bone mineral density as Tables 58 and 59 (EMA/88321/2018, p. 82), but both tables are rendered as images in the published PDF with no extractable values, and the surrounding text states no result. The nearest readable data are bone turnover markers in Wiehle 2013 (PMID 23875626), reported for the 48-man intention-to-treat population over six weeks, a duration and sample from which nothing about bone density follows.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

What the Repros trials measured

The phase 2b trial ZA-203 (NCT01270841) randomised men with morning total testosterone below 250 ng/dL to oral enclomifene citrate 12.5 mg, oral enclomifene citrate 25 mg, 1% topical testosterone gel, or placebo for three months, under the development code Androxal and the sponsorship of Repros Therapeutics. Posted results give mean change in morning total testosterone at three months of +258.5 ng/dL (SD 201.5) at 12.5 mg, +197.3 (162.6) at 25 mg, +253.7 (292.3) on the gel and −16.9 (47.5) on placebo. Luteinising hormone moved in opposite directions: +4.8 and +6.9 mIU/mL on the two oral arms, −2.4 on the gel.

Of 151 men randomised in ZA-301 (NCT01532414), the phase 3 trial with posted results, 78.8% of the pooled enclomifene subjects (95% CI 70.3 to 85.3) reached a 24-hour average testosterone inside 300 to 1040 ng/dL at twelve weeks. Arm sizes were 92, 21 and 38. The second co-primary endpoint ran the other way. A fall of 50% or more in sperm concentration at twelve weeks was recorded in 14.2% of the pooled enclomifene subjects against 2.6% of placebo subjects, a difference in the direction opposite to the way the compound is usually summarised.

ZA-302 has no ClinicalTrials.gov record at all and survives only in the European dossier, which describes its design as identical to ZA-301's. One hundred and thirty-four men were randomised to enclomifene and 47 to placebo for twelve weeks, with a six-month extension phase. One hundred and nine of the 134, or 81.3% (95% Wilson score interval 73.9 to 87.0), achieved a 24-hour average testosterone in the normal range (EMA/88321/2018, pp. 70 to 72). Nothing from this trial has been posted to a registry or published in a peer-reviewed journal.

Kim and colleagues published the two remaining registered phase 3 trials, ZA-304 and ZA-305, together in 2016. Across 256 overweight men aged 18 to 60 treated for sixteen weeks with enclomifene citrate in a fixed lower-dose arm (n=43), an up-titrated higher-dose arm (n=42), topical testosterone gel (n=85) or placebo (n=86), total testosterone rose in every active arm, LH and FSH rose on enclomifene and fell on the gel, and sperm concentration was maintained on enclomifene but not on the gel. The values the paper reports only as directions appear in the European assessment report: in ZA-304, 63.4% of enclomifene subjects reached the normal testosterone range against 44.2% on gel and 4.4% on placebo. Adverse events judged possibly, probably or definitely drug-related occurred in 53 of 256 men, and two deaths occurred, both in the fixed lower-dose arm.

Pharmacokinetics were characterised in a separate phase 2 study. Wiehle and colleagues randomised 48 men, 44 completing per protocol, to enclomifene citrate at 6.25, 12.5 or 25 mg or to transdermal testosterone, sampling testosterone and LH hourly for 24 hours at baseline and again at six weeks. Mean trough testosterone at day 42 was 604 ± 160 ng/dL on 25 mg against 500 ± 278 ng/dL on transdermal testosterone, a difference that was not significant (p = 0.23). Time to peak drug concentration was two to three hours. Effects on LH and testosterone persisted at least a week after treatment stopped.

The endpoint that stopped the programme

An advisory committee meeting scheduled for November 2015 to review NDA 207959 was cancelled over questions about bioanalytical method validation that arose late in the review. In December 2015 Repros announced a Complete Response Letter stating that the design of the phase 3 studies was no longer adequate to demonstrate clinical benefit and recommending an additional phase 3 study or studies. The letter also raised concerns about study entry criteria, titration and bioanalytical method validation across the phase 3 programme. FDA's own 2022 evaluation memorandum reproduces this sequence and cites the company's SEC filings for it.

A year later the Bone, Reproductive and Urologic Drugs Advisory Committee was convened on the general question rather than the product. Asked whether raising serum testosterone into the normal range and maintaining sperm concentration is sufficient to establish clinical benefit in men with hypogonadism attributed to obesity, a majority voted that it is not. The same committee voted that raising sperm concentration above a threshold would not establish benefit either, and that pregnancy outcomes would be required. FDA's May 2018 guidance made the position explicit: serum testosterone is not a validated surrogate endpoint in this population.

European review reached the same place on independent evidence. Renable Pharma applied in 2016 for authorisation of enclomifene under the name EnCyzix. The Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use adopted a negative opinion on 25 January 2018 and the European Commission refused authorisation on 6 April 2018. The assessment report concluded that although testosterone rose, there was no evidence of clinically meaningful benefit on the recognised signs and symptoms of secondary hypogonadism, that validated patient-reported outcome measures were lacking from the pivotal programme supporting the proposed indication, and that participants had not been recruited on the basis of symptoms at all.

Validated symptom instruments were administered once in the development record, in a supportive study. ZA-003 enrolled 194 men aged 18 to 68 and used the International Index of Erectile Function, the Sexual Desire section of the Derogatis Interview for Sexual Function, and the Male Sexual Distress Scale IV-A. On the libido component of the IIEF only the testosterone gel arm improved significantly at every time point; on erectile function only the placebo group did; and on the Derogatis and Male Sexual Distress instruments every group including placebo improved significantly. CHMP recorded that the other instruments used in that study "were not able to show any benefit" for enclomifene against placebo (EMA/88321/2018, pp. 84 and 90). The compound was tested on this question and did not separate from placebo.

The isomer argument, and what carries it

Fontenot and colleagues gave male mice enclomifene citrate or zuclomifene citrate by oral gavage at 4 and 40 mg/kg/day against placebo across five groups. Effects on Leydig cells, epididymis, seminal vesicles and kidneys, and changes in serum testosterone, FSH and LH, were reported with zuclomifene only; the enclomifene arms showed no change in testicular histology. The authors read the result as justifying a monoisomeric preparation. Group sizes were not stated in the record retrieved for this page, so the sample behind that separation is not established here.

Helo and colleagues measured both isomers directly in men. Fifteen men taking clomifene citrate 25 mg daily for at least six weeks had median serum enclomifene of 2.2 ng/mL and median zuclomifene of 44.0 ng/mL, a ratio of roughly 20 to 1 in favour of the isomer with the longer residence time. Age, body mass index, duration of treatment and serum testosterone predicted neither concentration. Median total testosterone in the same men had risen from 205.0 to 488.0 ng/dL on treatment, and median oestradiol from 17.0 to 34.0 pg/mL.

Which isomer does the work was not always answered the same way. Mikkelson and colleagues, reporting single-dose pharmacokinetics of 50 mg clomifene citrate in 24 healthy adult female volunteers in 1986, described the Z isomer as the active one and the E isomer as inactive, the reverse of the modern framing. The only clinical comparison of the two in men is not a trial: Saffati and colleagues reviewed 66 patients at one academic centre prescribed clomifene and later enclomifene, using the clomifene period as the baseline for the second. Sequence was not randomised and assessment was not blinded.

Adverse events on the record

The largest safety dataset is an open-label study, ZA-300 (NCT01534208), which followed 499 men aged 18 to 65 for 26 weeks. Posted results record serious adverse events in 6 of 207 men on 12.5 mg and 9 of 283 on 25 mg. FDA's summary of those reports lists bradycardia, atrial flutter, chest pain, transient ischaemic attack, pulmonary embolism, two deep vein thromboses, seminoma, diverticulitis and hypotension. The three most frequent non-serious events across both arms were upper respiratory tract infection (53), headache (35) and muscle spasms (22); hot flush and daytime urinary frequency, the two of mechanistic interest, were recorded 11 times each, behind sinusitis (13) and influenza (12). Causality assessments are not published for these events, and FDA noted that no corresponding publication exists.

Thromboembolism is the signal both regulators singled out. The EMA assessment recorded four thromboembolic events across the programme, one of them fatal, with none in the testosterone or placebo arms despite a population already at elevated risk. Cardiac disorders, raised haematocrit, raised prostate-specific antigen, eye disorders and psychiatric disorders were reported more often on enclomifene than on placebo. EMA did not resolve whether the clots were attributable to the drug itself, to rising testosterone and erythropoiesis, to rising oestradiol, or to the comorbidity of an overweight middle-aged cohort. FDA's adverse event database held no reports for enclomifene citrate when searched through 13 October 2021.

In a 26-week oral rat study no no-adverse-effect level could be assigned: prostate, seminal vesicle and coagulating gland atrophy, Leydig cell atrophy and depletion, and renal tubular dilatation appeared at 0.5, 5 and 10 mg/kg/day, every dose tested. A nine-month oral dog study set a no-adverse-effect level of 2 mg/kg/day, with high-dose deaths attributed to hepatotoxicity and cataracts reported at mid and high dose. A peer review characterised the lens finding as minimal fibre swelling that did not progress between the thirteen-week and nine-month necropsies.

The trials that reported only to a regulator

ZA-303 (NCT01619683) was a single-blind, placebo-controlled phase 3 study of 52 weeks of enclomifene citrate in 300 overweight men, with bone mineral density as its primary outcome and no other registered trial asking that question. It completed in September 2014. The registry record has not been updated since 29 September 2014 and carries no posted results, and a PubMed search combining enclomifene with bone and with bone mineral density returns no records. The results are not absent from the public record, though: the European assessment report summarises the study and presents change from baseline in testosterone and in bone mineral density as Tables 58 and 59 (EMA/88321/2018, p. 82). Both tables are images in the published PDF, and no numeric values can be extracted from them.

ZA-304 and ZA-305 (NCT01993212 and NCT01993225) carry no posted results on ClinicalTrials.gov either, and their endpoint values reached the public record through the European dossier rather than through the registry (EMA/88321/2018, pp. 103 and 106). Registry figures do not always agree with one another. ZA-203's enrolment field reads 83, its posted baseline table counts 121, and its own participant-flow module counts 124 started and 73 completed, the same pair FDA's memorandum reports. Where those three disagree, this page reports each rather than choosing between them.

Four further enclomifene studies exist only in the European dossier. ZA-302, a pivotal phase 3, and ZA-202, an exploratory glycaemic-control study in men with type 2 diabetes, have no ClinicalTrials.gov record. ZA-003, 194 men aged 18 to 68, was initially planned as a phase 3 and later treated by the applicant as supportive; 63.8% and 64.0% of its two enclomifene arms reached the defined physiological testosterone range at three months against 22.4% on placebo. Three 12-month open-label extension studies followed ZA-003, ZA-203 and the ZA-301/302 pair. EMA recorded 1403 people exposed to enclomifene across phase 2 and phase 3, 482 of them for more than six months and 116 for a year or more.

Regulatory position

No FDA-approved drug product contains enclomifene citrate as an active ingredient. A compounding pharmacy nominated the substance in 2015 for the section 503A bulk drug substances list under docket FDA-2015-N-3534. FDA evaluated it and recommended against inclusion. The Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee voted on 8 June 2022: four in favour of adding it to the list, eight against, none abstaining. Members voting against cited a lack of clinical efficacy evidence. The member voting in favour argued from the existence of a United States Pharmacopeia monograph for clomifene citrate, the mixture that contains it. The only published clinical report of a compounded enclomifene preparation is a retrospective series of 15 men given a sublingual multi-ingredient product, uncontrolled, with neither LH nor FSH measured, whose author states that causality cannot be determined.

FDA's stated grounds were narrower than a safety veto. The substance was found to be well characterised and expected to be stable under ordinary storage when protected from light. The nonclinical profile was described as exaggerated pharmacology of the drug class rather than unexpected toxicity. Clinical safety concerns were listed as cardiac and thromboembolic events, elevated oestradiol, raised prostate-specific antigen and raised haematocrit, alongside limited pharmacokinetic data in renal and hepatic impairment. On effectiveness the memorandum concluded that the available information was insufficient, and stated its reasoning as uncertainty rather than as a settled negative: it is unclear whether increasing testosterone concentrations alone in men with secondary hypogonadism equates to clinical effectiveness or confers clinical benefit. The stronger claim belongs to the separate May 2018 guidance.

On the FDA list updated 14 May 2026, enclomifene citrate remains in 503A Category 1, substances under evaluation. It is not on the bulks list and it is not in Category 2, the group FDA has flagged for significant safety risks. FDA also recorded that outsourcing facility reporting from January 2017 to June 2021 contained no compounded products containing it, and that neither the European nor the Japanese pharmacopoeia carries a monograph. One registered trial of an isolated clomifene isomer outside the Repros programme has posted results, and it studied the other isomer: NCT03646162 lists its intervention as VERU-944, other name zuclomiphene citrate, with the derived MeSH term D064696 Zuclomiphene. Selective oestrogen receptor modulators are prohibited in sport; Miller and colleagues found zuclomifene detectable in urine from 121 to more than 261 days after a 30-day course of clomifene.

What is not known

The published record establishes what happens to three hormones and one semen parameter over sixteen weeks, and very little else. Validated symptom instruments were administered in exactly one study, ZA-003, where enclomifene did not separate from placebo on any of them and the comparator gel separated on one; no pivotal trial supporting the proposed indication used a validated patient-reported outcome at all, which is the specific gap both regulators cited when refusing it. No trial has measured pregnancy, live birth or time to conception. The longest exposure with any public result is 52 weeks, from ZA-303, whose bone mineral density table survives only as an unreadable image in the European assessment report; the longest with posted registry results is 26 weeks, from an open-label safety study with no control arm, and EMA recorded 116 people exposed for a year or more. Three of the five phase 3 registry records carry no posted results, and two further pivotal or supportive studies, ZA-302 and ZA-003, have no registry record at all. Pharmacokinetics are incomplete by the EMA's own assessment: exposure is higher in hepatic and renal impairment without characterised consequences, dose adjustment for poor CYP2D6 metabolisers is uncharacterised, and the possibility of a unique human metabolite of significance has not been excluded. The terminal half-life quoted everywhere traces to a paper not indexed in PubMed. Four thromboembolic events including one death were recorded across the programme with none on comparator or placebo, and no study has been powered to determine whether that is attributable to the compound. Trial populations were overweight men with functional rather than structural hypogonadism, with age ceilings of 60 in the pivotal 16-week trials, 65 in ZA-203 and ZA-300, and 68 to 69 in ZA-003 and its extension; nothing addresses men with classical hypogonadism. Enclomifene is not an approved medicine in any jurisdiction, and material obtained outside a registered trial has not been subject to the identity, purity or sterility controls that apply to investigational supply.

Questions

Is enclomifene FDA approved?
No. FDA's 2022 evaluation states plainly that there are no FDA-approved drug products containing enclomiphene citrate as the active ingredient. Repros Therapeutics submitted NDA 207959 and received a Complete Response Letter announced in December 2015. The European Commission refused marketing authorisation for the same substance, as EnCyzix, on 6 April 2018. In June 2022 the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee voted 8 to 4 against adding enclomiphene citrate to the section 503A bulk drug substances list, and as of the FDA list updated 14 May 2026 it remains in Category 1, under evaluation.
If the trials showed testosterone going up, why was it refused?
Because raising testosterone was not accepted as the endpoint. FDA's May 2018 guidance states that serum testosterone is not a validated surrogate endpoint in men with hypogonadotropic hypogonadism attributed to nonstructural disorders, and that a trial must show clinically meaningful improvement in at least one symptom or sign as well. In December 2016 an FDA advisory committee voted that raising testosterone into the normal range and maintaining sperm concentration is not sufficient evidence of clinical benefit. CHMP reached the same conclusion, recording that the pivotal programme carried no validated patient-reported outcome measure, and that in the one supportive study that used such instruments, ZA-003, enclomifene showed no benefit over placebo on any of them.
Is enclomifene the same thing as clomifene?
It is one of the two isomers in it. Clomifene citrate is a mixture of zuclomifene, the cis or (Z) form, and enclomifene, the trans or (E) form. The FDA-approved clomifene label states the product contains between 30% and 50% of the cis isomer, and FDA's 2022 memorandum puts the enclomifene content at about 50% to 70% on the strength of the USP monograph. The two behave differently once ingested: Helo 2017 measured a median serum ratio of about 20 to 1 in favour of zuclomifene in men taking clomifene daily for at least six weeks, because zuclomifene clears far more slowly. Data generated with clomifene do not transfer cleanly to enclomifene alone.
What is enclomifene's half-life?
Sources disagree and neither figure traces to a terminal half-life measured in men on pure enclomifene. FDA's evaluation gives approximately 10 hours, citing a 2014 paper in the Journal of Men's Health that is not indexed in PubMed. Wiehle 2013 gives approximately 7 hours, citing a 1986 single-dose study of clomifene citrate in 24 female volunteers whose abstract reports no numeric half-life. Wiehle 2013 ran its own pharmacokinetic sampling and reported a time to peak of 2 to 3 hours without publishing a terminal half-life. The figure is quoted with more confidence than the record supports.
Did any trial show enclomifene preserves fertility?
No trial measured fertility. Kim 2016 reported that sperm concentration was maintained in the normal range on enclomifene while it fell on topical testosterone gel, and its authors listed the absence of pregnancy and live birth data as a limitation. FDA's evaluation states that semen parameters assess aspects of testicular function and are not tests of fertility, and an FDA advisory committee voted that pregnancy outcomes would be required. One phase 3 trial recorded a 50% or greater fall in sperm concentration in 14.2% of enclomifene subjects against 2.6% of placebo subjects.

References

  1. Kim ED, McCullough A, Kaminetsky J. Oral enclomiphene citrate raises testosterone and preserves sperm counts in obese hypogonadal men, unlike topical testosterone: restoration instead of replacement. BJU Int. 2016;117(4):677–685. Phase 3, multicentre, randomised (trials ZA-304 and ZA-305). PubMed publication types carry no retraction, expression of concern or erratum. PMID 26496621. View on doi.org
  2. Wiehle RD, Fontenot GK, Wike J, Hsu K, Nydell J, Lipshultz L; ZA-203 Clinical Study Group. Enclomiphene citrate stimulates testosterone production while preventing oligospermia: a randomized phase II clinical trial comparing topical testosterone. Fertil Steril. 2014;102(3):720–727. Registered as NCT01270841. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. PMID 25044085. View on doi.org
  3. Kaminetsky J, Werner M, Fontenot G, Wiehle RD. Oral enclomiphene citrate stimulates the endogenous production of testosterone and sperm counts in men with low testosterone: comparison with testosterone gel. J Sex Med. 2013;10(6):1628–1635. Testosterone values in the abstract are printed in pg/dL, an evident unit error for ng/dL. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. PMID 23530575. View on doi.org
  4. Wiehle R, Cunningham GR, Pitteloud N, et al. Testosterone restoration by enclomiphene citrate in men with secondary hypogonadism: pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics. BJU Int. 2013;112(8):1188–1200. Bone turnover markers are reported for the 48-man intention-to-treat population; 44 is the per-protocol population. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. PMID 23875626. View on doi.org
  5. Helo S, Mahon J, Ellen J, et al. Serum levels of enclomiphene and zuclomiphene in men with hypogonadism on long-term clomiphene citrate treatment. BJU Int. 2017;119(1):171–176. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. PMID 27511863. View on doi.org
  6. Fontenot GK, Wiehle RD, Podolski JS. Differential effects of isomers of clomiphene citrate on reproductive tissues in male mice. BJU Int. 2016;117(2):344–350. Five oral gavage groups; group sizes not stated in the abstract. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. PMID 26220499. View on doi.org
  7. Miller GD, Moore C, Nair V, et al. Hypothalamic-pituitary-testicular axis effects and urinary detection following clomiphene administration in males. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2019;104(3):906–914. Twelve healthy men, clomifene citrate 50 mg daily for 30 days, urine collected to day 261. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. PMID 30295816. View on doi.org
  8. Saffati G, Kassab J, Orozco Rendon D, et al. Safety and efficacy of enclomiphene and clomiphene for hypogonadal men. Transl Androl Urol. 2024;13(9):1984–1990. Retrospective, sequential, unblinded, single centre. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. PMID 39434750. View on doi.org
  9. Hohl A, Chavez MP, Pasqualotto E, et al. Clomiphene or enclomiphene citrate for the treatment of male hypogonadism: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Arch Endocrinol Metab. 2025;69(5). Pools clomifene and enclomifene as a single class; reported heterogeneity for the testosterone endpoint was I-squared 89%. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. PMID 41066380. View on doi.org
  10. Mikkelson TJ, Kroboth PD, Cameron WJ, Dittert LW, Chungi V, Manberg PJ. Single-dose pharmacokinetics of clomiphene citrate in normal volunteers. Fertil Steril. 1986;46(3):392–396. Twenty-four healthy adult female volunteers, 50 mg clomifene citrate. This paper describes the Z isomer as the active one and the E isomer as inactive. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. PMID 3091405. View on doi.org
  11. Wiehle RD, Fontenot GK, Willett MS, Garcia WD, Podolski JS. Enclomiphene citrate stimulates serum testosterone in men with low testosterone within 14 days. Journal of Men's Health. 2014;11(4):196–205. Verified via Crossref. Not indexed in PubMed: searches for the exact title and for the journal combined with enclomiphene returned zero records. FDA's 2022 evaluation attributes the approximately 10-hour half-life figure to this paper. View on doi.org
  12. Warren S. Changes in serum testosterone after sublingual enclomiphene citrate combined with a mineral oxide delivery system: a retrospective case series of 15 men. Cureus. 2026;18(5):e109299. The only published clinical report of a compounded enclomifene preparation: uncontrolled, multi-ingredient, no LH or FSH measured; the author states that causality, fertility preservation and axis effects cannot be determined. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. PMID 42170362. View on doi.org
  13. US Food and Drug Administration. Evaluation of enclomiphene citrate for inclusion on the 503A Bulk Drug Substances List. In: FDA Briefing Information for the June 8, 2022 Meeting of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee. Contains the USP-monograph statement that enclomiphene citrate content in clomiphene citrate is about 50% to 70%, the nonclinical toxicology summary, the FAERS search result, the trial-by-trial safety and effectiveness review, the NDA 207959 regulatory history and FDA's recommendation against inclusion. View on www.fda.gov
  14. US Food and Drug Administration. Final Summary Minutes of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, June 8, 2022. Records the vote on enclomiphene citrate: Yes 4, No 8, Abstain 0, against FDA's proposal that it not be included on the 503A Bulks List. View on www.fda.gov
  15. US Food and Drug Administration. Bulk Drug Substances Nominated for Use in Compounding Under Section 503A of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, updated 14 May 2026. Enclomiphene citrate appears in Category 1, bulk drug substances under evaluation; it is not in Category 2, the group raising significant safety risks. View on www.fda.gov
  16. European Medicines Agency, Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use. Assessment report: EnCyzix (enclomifene), Renable Pharma Limited, EMA/88321/2018, 25 January 2018, 111 pages. Negative CHMP opinion adopted 25 January 2018; European Commission refusal 6 April 2018. Pages consulted for this page: 70–72 (ZA-302), 82 (ZA-303 results, Tables 58 and 59, both images), 83 (ZA-202, ZA-203), 84–85 (ZA-003 and its extension, the IIEF/DISF/MSDS results), 88–90 (ZA-304 and ZA-305 efficacy analyses and the CHMP conclusion on PROs), 103 and 106 (composite endpoint and effects tables), 90–91 (exposure: 1403 exposed, 482 beyond six months, 116 at a year or more). View on www.ema.europa.eu
  17. ClinicalTrials.gov, Repros Therapeutics records with posted results: NCT01532414 (ZA-301) supplying the 78.8% normalisation figure and the 14.2% versus 2.6% sperm concentration comparison; NCT01270841 (ZA-203), whose enrolment field, baseline table and participant-flow module give 83, 121 and 124 respectively; NCT01534208 (ZA-300, 499 men aged 18–65, 26 weeks, flow module 216 and 283). View on clinicaltrials.gov
  18. ClinicalTrials.gov records without posted results: NCT01619683 (ZA-303, 52 weeks, bone mineral density, 300 participants, completed September 2014, last updated 29 September 2014), NCT01993212 (ZA-304) and NCT01993225 (ZA-305), all confirmed hasResults false as of 18 August 2026. Also NCT03646162, the only registered trial of an isolated clomifene isomer outside the Repros programme with posted results, whose intervention is listed as VERU-944, other name zuclomiphene citrate, with derived MeSH term D064696 Zuclomiphene — that study does not concern enclomifene. View on clinicaltrials.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.