Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Mexidol (Emoxypine Succinate)
Mexidol is the 1:1 succinate salt of emoxypine, PubChem CID 122298, registered as a medicine in Russia and in Ukraine and holding no approval in the United States or the European Union. Four randomised placebo-controlled trials have been published, in stroke, chronic cerebral ischaemia and childhood ADHD. All four appeared in one journal. All nine studies on ClinicalTrials.gov name the manufacturer as sponsor, and not one of them was registered before it started.
- Class
- 3-hydroxypyridine (pyridinol) antioxidant; 1:1 salt of 2-ethyl-6-methylpyridin-3-ol with succinic acid
- CAS number
- 127464-43-1 (succinate salt, primary registry number on both PubChem and the FDA substance record); 2364-75-2 (emoxypine free base)
- PubChem CID
- 122298 (succinate salt); 114681 (free base); 128852 (hydrochloride, a different substance)
- Molecular formula
- C12H17NO5 as PubChem writes it; C8H11NO.C4H6O4 as the FDA substance registry writes the same entity. The free base is C8H11NO
- Molecular weight
- 255.27 g/mol (PubChem); 255.2676 on the FDA record. The free base is 137.18 g/mol, so the pyridinol is 53.7 per cent of the salt by mass
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- Emoxypine succinate, methylethylpiridinol succinate [WHO-DD], Mexidol, Mexiprim, Mexicor, Emicidin, Armadin; UNII 2R985002CT; MeSH C070020; EVMPD SUB35088; NCI Thesaurus C221980; EPA CompTox DTXSID30155577; ChEMBL6068558 on the PubChem record only
Identity, and three salts that share a name
The name Mexidol resolves to a salt rather than a molecule, and the registries say so in the way they write it out. PubChem holds a single record: CID 122298, CAS 127464-43-1, molecular formula C12H17NO5, molecular weight 255.27 g/mol, InChIKey IKMNOGHPKNFPTK-UHFFFAOYSA-N. The IUPAC name on that record, butanedioic acid;2-ethyl-6-methylpyridin-3-ol, uses a semicolon to mark a 1:1 salt rather than a single covalent molecule. The FDA substance registry files the same entity under a different preferred name, EMOXYPINE SUCCINATE, with UNII 2R985002CT, the formula split as C8H11NO.C4H6O4, mass 255.2676, and the same CAS number. Its code list carries MeSH C070020, EVMPD SUB35088, NCI Thesaurus C221980 and EPA DTXSID30155577, plus the World Health Organization drug dictionary name methylethylpiridinol succinate.
Three related substances circulate under overlapping names. The free base, emoxypine, is CID 114681: CAS 2364-75-2, C8H11NO, 137.18 g/mol, UNII V247P5H4E1. The hydrochloride is CID 128852, C8H12ClNO, 173.64 g/mol, UNII SN1FWZ77AE, the substance behind the ophthalmic preparation Emoxipin. The succinate is what the neurology trials administered. PubChem's synonym list for the hydrochloride nonetheless carries the string Mexidol hydrochloride, which does not describe the product those trials used. The pyridinol accounts for 137.18 of 255.27 daltons, 53.7 per cent by mass, so a milligram figure quoted for the salt and the same figure quoted for the base are not the same quantity of the same thing.
Literal-string lookup is unsafe here. Asking PubChem for ethylmethylhydroxypyridine succinate, the name used in the trial titles and on the WHO entry attached to the FDA record, returns CID 129761399: C12H13NO5, 251.23 g/mol, 10-propyl-4,8-dihydro-3H-[1,4]dioxocino[2,3-c]pyridine-2,5,9-trione. That is an unrelated molecule whose mass sits four daltons from the right answer, and nothing in the returned record flags the mismatch. The strings mexidol, emoxypine succinate and 2-ethyl-6-methyl-3-hydroxypyridine succinate all resolve correctly to CID 122298.
Secondary sources describe the molecule as a vitamin B6 derivative. Pyridoxine is CID 1054, C8H11NO3, 4,5-bis(hydroxymethyl)-2-methylpyridin-3-ol. Emoxypine is C8H11NO. The two formulas differ by exactly two oxygen atoms and both structures are 3-hydroxypyridines, but the ring substituents differ at three positions and the hydroxymethyl groups that pyridoxine is phosphorylated on are absent from emoxypine entirely, and no synthetic route from pyridoxine was located in PubMed. The derivative claim, and the search that failed to support it, are recorded in the unsourced array below.
Claim ledger
12 of 19 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean modified Rankin Scale score at days 67-71 was 1.098 (SD 0.768) on drug against 1.46 (SD 0.947) on placebo, a 0.36-point separation on a six-point scale; publication reports p=0.04 | Adults 40-79 with hemispheric ischaemic stroke, Russian centres (EPICA) | Intravenous 500 mg/day for 10 days, then oral 375 mg/day for 8 weeks | 150 randomised (75 per arm); 124 in the per-protocol population | Stakhovskaya 2017, Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova, PMID 28665371; values from posted results, NCT02793687 |
| Mean change in Montreal Cognitive Assessment at day 75 was +4.22 points (SD 2.59) against +2.17 (SD 2.20); lower bound of the 95% CI for the between-group difference reported at 1.51 points | Adults 40-90 with chronic brain ischaemia, 15 centres in Russia and Uzbekistan (MEMO) | Intravenous 500 mg once daily for 14 days, then oral 250 mg three times daily for 60 days | 318 randomised (159 per arm); 312 completed | Fedin 2021, Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova, PMID 34932280; values from posted results, NCT06834490 |
| Mean change in the combined SNAP-IV inattention and hyperactivity/impulsivity score at 42 days was -9.33 (95% CI -10.59 to -8.07) twice daily, -7.31 (-8.44 to -6.17) once daily, and -3.93 (-5.11 to -2.75) on placebo | Children aged 6-12 with ADHD by ICD-10 and DSM-5 criteria, 14 Russian centres (MEGA) | Oral, 125 mg film-coated tablets, two schedules | 333 randomised 1:1:1 (111 per arm); 332 completed | Zavadenko 2022, Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova, PMID 35485068; values from posted results, NCT06854601 |
| Mean change in modified Rankin Scale was -2.45 on drug against -2.01 (95% CI -2.25 to -1.87) on placebo; the registry posts the treated-arm limits as -2.70 to -2.23 and the post-hoc publication prints -2.70 to -2.32 for the same estimate, a disagreement that cannot be resolved from the abstract. The registry attaches no statistical analysis and no p-value to the primary outcome | Non-reperfused first-ever hemispheric ischaemic stroke, baseline NIHSS 9-15, 17 centres in Russia, Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan (MIR); registry timeframe day 71, publication days 69-73 | Intravenous 500 mg twice daily for 10 days, then oral 250 mg three times daily for 60 days | 304 randomised (152 per arm); 279 per-protocol, 141 on drug and 138 on placebo | Posted results, NCT06437626, against Koltsov 2025, Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova, PMID 41456191 |
| The primary trial report gives no means and no confidence intervals for the primary endpoint, and reports a statistically significant difference in MEDIAN mRS change at visit 4 against baseline at p=0.003; the mean-based registry estimate and the median-based significance test are not the same comparison and are recorded here as a divergence rather than combined | Same MIR cohort | As above | 304 randomised; 279 per-protocol | Shamalov 2025, Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova, PMID 40898634 |
| Two secondary outcomes at day 71 are titled as percentages and typed as counts: mRS 0-1 carries 85 against 57 and mRS above 3 carries 22 against 39, both with the unit field set to Participants. Read as counts the odds are 1.52 against 0.70, an odds ratio of 2.16 matching the published 2.2-fold figure; read as percentages they do not reconcile. Median NIHSS change at the same visit is posted as -7 in both arms (IQR -9 to -6 on drug, -8 to -5 on placebo) while the publication reports a difference in median NIHSS at p<0.001 | Same MIR cohort, participants completing | As above | 141 on drug, 138 on placebo | Posted results, NCT06437626, against Shamalov 2025 (PMID 40898634) and Koltsov 2025 (PMID 41456191) |
| After a single intravenous dose, succinate rose in the cytoplasmic fraction of liver, myocardium and cerebral cortex, with the largest rise in liver, and rose only slightly in the mitochondrial fraction; kinetics fitted a two-compartment model | Wistar rats | Intravenous, 100 mg/kg | Not stated in the retrieved report | Shchulkin 2023, Bull Exp Biol Med, PMID 37338763 |
| Succinate-containing preparations including mexidol, at a concentration of 0.85 mM succinate, increased oxygen consumption by 35-45 per cent, and malonate, the inhibitor of respiratory complex II (succinate dehydrogenase), suppressed that stimulating effect; reamberin at 0.045 mM succinate did not produce the rise | Isolated rat brain mitochondria | In vitro, polarographic measurement, 0.85 mM succinate equivalent | Not stated in the retrieved report | Iasnetsov 2012, Eksp Klin Farmakol 75(7):8-10, PMID 23025045 |
| At 5 mM the compound depressed the depolarisation-evoked excitatory postsynaptic current in medial vestibular nucleus neurons by 96 +/- 2 per cent, and at 2.5-5 mM depressed the Schaffer-collateral response in CA1 neurons by 94 +/- 3 per cent; MK-801 but not CNQX attenuated the effect. The stated conclusion is that the central favourable effect can be mediated by ion mechanisms with glutamate- and GABA-ergic components, primarily by the inhibition of ion currents through NMDA receptor complex | Brain slices from male albino rats aged 13-17 days | In vitro, bath application | Not stated in the retrieved report | Motin 2012, Eksp Klin Farmakol 75(1):3-7, PMID 22442954 |
| At the neuronal level the compound interacted with the GABA-A-benzodiazepine receptor complex in nearly 60 per cent of cells and inhibited ion currents through NMDA-receptor ion channels in nearly 80 per cent of neurons; these are proportions of responding cells and the report gives no binding constant | Mice, rats and rabbits across acute hypoxia, induced ischaemic stroke and analgesia models, with the neuronal-level assay reported alongside | 100 mg/kg in the animal models; bath application for the neuronal-level recording | Not stated in the retrieved report | Iasnetsov 2012, Aviakosm Ekolog Med 46(6):41-45, PMID 23457968 |
| In the elevated plus maze, the anxiolytic effect and stimulation of risk behaviour were most pronounced with the free base emoxypine; combining the pyridinol cation with succinate attenuated both | Rats | Injection, three administrations | Not stated in the retrieved report | Volchegorskii 2015, Bull Exp Biol Med, PMID 25894772 |
| Estimated urinary emoxypine peaked at 1360 +/- 240 ng/mL between 7 and 8.5 hours, with elimination over roughly 50-54 hours; meldonium from the same source peaked at 322 +/- 68 ng/mL between 5.8 and 9.0 hours, with elimination over roughly 35-45 hours | Three volunteers drinking milk from cattle treated with the veterinary product Emidonol | Oral, single 900 mL dose of unpasteurised milk | 3 volunteers | Postnikov 2026, Drug Test Anal 18(3):414-418, PMID 41611212 |
| Elimination half-life in humans is 2 to 2.6 hours, with peak effect around 30 minutes | Searched PubMed for the three compound names against half-life, t1/2, AUC and Cmax: two records returned, a 1986 Russian-language paper on a water-soluble 3-hydroxypyridine antioxidant (PMID 3955219) and a 2014 brand comparison carried out in 14 male chinchilla rabbits (PMID 25591654). Neither is a human pharmacokinetic study. The 2022 review in Current Research in Pharmacology and Drug Discovery (PMID 35992374) prints 2-2.5 hours in a table with no citation attached; nootropics reference pages print 2-2.6 hours with none. The figures also disagree slightly with each other, and no primary human measurement of either number was located. | No source found | ||
| Produces anxiolytic effects comparable to benzodiazepines without sedation, tolerance or dependence | Searched PubMed for the compound names against tolerance, dependence, withdrawal and addiction: 52 records, none a controlled study of tolerance, dependence or withdrawal for this molecule. The comparator in the one indexed rodent anxiolytic comparison (PMID 25894772) was amitriptyline, not a benzodiazepine. No head-to-head trial against any benzodiazepine was located in PubMed or on ClinicalTrials.gov, and the pages carrying this sentence supply no citation of any kind. | No source found | ||
| Brain tissue concentrations reached in a living animal are comparable to the concentrations used in the slice electrophysiology | The slice work (PMID 22442954) applied 2.5 to 5 mM, roughly 340 to 690 micrograms per millilitre calculated from the free-base mass. To compare that against exposure, a measured tissue concentration is needed. Searched PubMed for the three compound names against brain concentration, tissue distribution, biodistribution and brain-to-plasma ratio: no record reporting a measured brain tissue concentration at any dose was returned. The validated HPLC-MS/MS assay (PMID 30176507) states a calibration range of 1 to 1500 ng/g, which is a property of the analytical method chosen by the analysts and not a measurement of tissue content, and its abstract reports no concentration value. The comparison is therefore recorded here as unmade rather than made. | No source found | ||
| Emoxypine is a synthetic derivative of vitamin B6 | The sentence appears in the peer-reviewed literature, opening the 2024 Drug Testing and Analysis review (PMID 38403950), with no citation attached. Checked against PubChem: pyridoxine is CID 1054, C8H11NO3, 4,5-bis(hydroxymethyl)-2-methylpyridin-3-ol; emoxypine is CID 114681, C8H11NO, 2-ethyl-6-methylpyridin-3-ol. The two share a 3-hydroxypyridine ring and differ at three ring positions, and emoxypine has neither hydroxymethyl group. No synthetic route from pyridoxine and no shared pharmacology were located in PubMed. | No source found | ||
| Research in healthy subjects shows the compound enhances athletic performance | Asserted in the 2024 Drug Testing and Analysis review (PMID 38403950) as available research on healthy subjects. Searched PubMed for the compound names against athletes, exercise, physical performance and sport: 11 records, none a controlled trial of performance in healthy people. The only indexed human study touching physical outcomes is a 461-woman facelift series in Heliyon (PMID 30186981) in which 32 patients received this compound among six different preconditioning agents. The nearest performance study is a Russian-language rat experiment on working capacity and blood lactate under light deprivation (PMID 30585610). | No source found | ||
| One of the most potent inhibitors of lipid peroxidation in brain tissue | Comparative potency phrasing appears on nootropics reference pages with no citation. No ranking study, no comparative IC50 series against reference antioxidants and no brain-tissue peroxidation assay establishing the comparison were located in PubMed. The only physicochemical antiradical characterisation retrievable in a non-Russian journal is a density-functional calculation (PMID 35223048) which reports moderate hydroperoxyl-radical scavenging, models the free base rather than the marketed salt, and involves no tissue. | No source found | ||
| Long clinical use with no serious adverse effects | The registry contradicts the absolute form of this. Posted results record serious adverse events in 1 of 75 on drug against 3 of 75 on placebo in EPICA, 6 of 152 against 4 of 152 in MIR, 1 of 111 on the twice-daily schedule, 0 of 111 on the once-daily schedule and 1 of 111 on placebo in MEGA, and none in either arm of MEMO. Non-serious event counts run both directions: 21 against 16 in EPICA, 19 against 32 in MEMO, and 26, 14 and 20 across the three MEGA arms. An openFDA adverse-event query returned 48 records naming Mexidol and 38 naming emoxypine as a reported product, a spontaneous-reporting system with no denominator, from which no rate can be derived. No pharmacovigilance report covering the Russian market was retrievable for this record. | No source found | ||
Four placebo-controlled trials, one journal, one sponsor
EPICA randomised 150 patients aged 40 to 79 with hemispheric ischaemic stroke, 75 per arm, at Russian centres. The trial gave 500 mg daily by intravenous infusion for ten days followed by 375 mg daily orally for eight weeks, with placebo on the same schedule. Its registered primary endpoint was the mean modified Rankin Scale score at the final visit, days 67 to 71. Posted registry results give 1.098 (SD 0.768) against 1.46 (SD 0.947), a separation of 0.36 points on a six-point scale. Stakhovskaya and colleagues published it in 2017 and reported p=0.04.
MEMO ran at 15 centres in Russia and Uzbekistan and randomised 318 patients aged 40 to 90 with what the investigators termed chronic brain ischaemia. The primary endpoint was change in Montreal Cognitive Assessment score at day 75. Registry results give a mean rise of 4.22 points (SD 2.59) against 2.17 (SD 2.20); the publication reports the lower bound of the 95 per cent confidence interval for the between-group difference at 1.51 points. Six of the 318 did not complete. Fedin and colleagues published it in 2021.
MEGA is the outlier in the set: 333 children aged 6 to 12 with ADHD diagnosed by ICD-10 and DSM-5 criteria, randomised 1:1:1 across 14 Russian centres to two oral schedules and placebo for 42 days. The primary endpoint combined the inattention and hyperactivity/impulsivity subscales of the SNAP-IV. Mean changes were minus 9.33 (95% CI minus 10.59 to minus 8.07) on the twice-daily schedule, minus 7.31 (minus 8.44 to minus 6.17) on the once-daily schedule and minus 3.93 (minus 5.11 to minus 2.75) on placebo. Zavadenko and colleagues published it in 2022.
MIR is the largest and most recent stroke trial: 304 patients randomised at 17 centres in Russia, Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan, restricted to non-reperfused first-ever hemispheric stroke with a baseline NIHSS of 9 to 15. The posted registry results give the mean change in modified Rankin Scale at day 71 as minus 2.45 against minus 2.01, with no statistical analysis attached to the primary outcome. Shamalov and colleagues, publishing the main report in 2025, give no means and no confidence intervals, and report instead a difference in median mRS change at visit 4 against baseline at p=0.003. The confidence limits also disagree: the registry posts minus 2.70 to minus 2.23 for the treated arm, while Koltsov and colleagues, publishing the post-hoc analyses in the same journal later that year, print minus 2.70 to minus 2.32 for the same estimate and record the endpoint at days 69 to 73 rather than the registry's day 71.
All four appeared in a single title, the Korsakov Journal of Neurology and Psychiatry, in Russian with English abstracts. Every one of the nine studies registered on ClinicalTrials.gov under any of the compound's names lists Pharmasoft, the manufacturer, as both lead sponsor and responsible party. No study run by an independent group is registered anywhere the search reached, and none of the four trials has an independent replication.
Nine registrations, none of them prospective
A ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search across Mexidol, emoxypine, emoxypine succinate and ethylmethylhydroxypyridine succinate returns nine studies: eight completed, one recruiting, five with posted results. They cover ischaemic stroke in four records, chronic cerebral ischaemia, vascular cognitive impairment without dementia, ADHD in children, and primary open-angle glaucoma in two. Enrolment ranges from 60 to 333. Locations are Russia, with Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan appearing in the two multinational records.
None was registered before it began. EPICA started on 6 March 2015 and was first submitted on 31 May 2016, four days after its stated completion date. MEMO started in November 2019, completed in December 2020 and was submitted in February 2025, more than four years after the last patient and more than three after the primary publication. MEGA started in July 2019, completed in July 2020 and was submitted on that same February 2025 date. MIR started in November 2019, completed in August 2023 and was submitted in May 2024. The glaucoma phase 2 study started in November 2021 and was submitted in March 2025.
Retrospective registration removes the check that registration exists to provide: a record created after the analysis is complete cannot demonstrate that the primary endpoint was fixed in advance. The MIR post-hoc paper states that the protocol was registered on ClinicalTrials.gov as NCT06437626, without stating when relative to the trial start. It also cites a Russian permits-registry identifier, PHS-APIS-004-MEX-SOL-TAB, which was not retrievable from outside that system for this record.
Where the posted results and the papers diverge
MIR's registry entry and its published abstract do not describe the NIHSS the same way. The registry gives change from baseline at day 71 as a median of minus 7 in both arms, with interquartile ranges of minus 9 to minus 6 on drug and minus 8 to minus 5 on placebo. The abstract reports a difference in median NIHSS at p<0.001. Because the abstract does not say whether it is comparing absolute scores at the final visit or changes from baseline, the two statements are not necessarily contradictory; they also cannot be reconciled from the published text.
Two MIR secondary outcomes are titled as percentages and typed as counts. The outcome named percentage of subjects with mRS 0 to 1 carries the values 85 and 57 with its unit field set to Participants; its companion, mRS above 3, carries 22 and 39. Read as percentages the pair is impossible. Read as counts against the 141 and 138 participants who completed, the odds are 1.52 against 0.70, an odds ratio of 2.16, which matches the 2.2-fold figure the post-hoc paper reports. Read as counts the values reconcile with the published odds ratio; read as percentages they do not.
EPICA randomised 150 and posted a per-protocol population of 124, an attrition of 17 per cent split 14 and 12 across the arms. Its registry entry posts no statistical analysis for the primary endpoint at all; the p=0.04 exists only in the publication. Age-stratified sub-analyses of EPICA in 2020 (PMID 33016677) and of MEMO in 2022 (PMID 36412160) were published as separate papers in the same journal, so the same 150 and 318 patients appear in the indexed literature more than once.
The published conclusions are written as recommendations for practice. EPICA's states that mexidol is recommended for inclusion in the therapy of ischaemic stroke patients in the acute and early rehabilitation stages, and the age sub-analysis (PMID 33016677) repeats that sentence with diabetes added. The underlying measurement is a 0.36-point mean difference on the modified Rankin Scale among 124 analysed patients, in a trial registered fourteen months after it began.
What the mechanism claims rest on
The electrophysiology cited for a central mechanism is Motin and colleagues' 2012 study (PMID 22442954). Mexidol at 5 mM depressed the excitatory postsynaptic current in medial vestibular nucleus neurons by 96 plus or minus 2 per cent in slices from albino rats aged 13 to 17 days, and at 2.5 to 5 mM depressed the Schaffer-collateral response in CA1 pyramidal neurons by 94 plus or minus 3 per cent. MK-801 reduced the effect and CNQX did not. The paper's stated conclusion is that the central favourable effect can be mediated by ion mechanisms with glutamate- and GABA-ergic components, primarily by the inhibition of ion currents through NMDA receptor complex. Five millimolar of the pyridinol is roughly 690 micrograms per millilitre. The validated assay Melnik and colleagues built for the same molecule in rat brain tissue (PMID 30176507) was calibrated from 1 to 1500 nanograms per gram, which is the working range of the method rather than a measured ceiling on tissue concentration.
The GABA-benzodiazepine framing traces to an indexed paper. A 2022 review in Current Research in Pharmacology and Drug Discovery (PMID 35992374) states that Mexidol increases binding interaction at the GABA-benzodiazepine receptor complex and cites Iasnetsov 2012. The paper carrying that statement is PMID 23457968, in Aviakosmicheskaia i Ekologicheskaia Meditsina, which reports that at the neuronal level mexidol interacts with the GABA-A-benzodiazepine receptor complex in nearly 60 per cent of cells and inhibits ion currents through NMDA-receptor ion channels in nearly 80 per cent of neurons. Those are proportions of responding cells; the report gives no binding constant, and no Ki or IC50 for any GABA-A or benzodiazepine site was located. Gnezdilova and colleagues reported separately in 2010 (PMID 21254506) that the cerebrovascular response in rats vanished in the presence of bicuculline, a functional result about GABA-A rather than a measured affinity.
Antioxidant characterisation in a Western journal exists and is computational. Hoa and colleagues published a density-functional study in Royal Society Open Science in 2022 reporting moderate hydroperoxyl-radical scavenging in water and in pentyl ethanoate, and chelation of Cu(II) into complexes harder to reduce than free Cu(II). That paper models 2-ethyl-6-methyl-3-hydroxypyridine, the free base, while naming it Mexidol, and opens by describing the compound as registered for the treatment of anxiety disorders.
Whether the succinate half contributes anything has been measured twice. Shchulkin and colleagues (PMID 37338763) gave Wistar rats 100 mg/kg intravenously and quantified succinate in plasma and in the cytoplasmic and mitochondrial fractions of cerebral cortex, left-ventricular myocardium and liver by HPLC-MS/MS. Succinate rose in the cytoplasmic fraction, most in liver and less in cortex and myocardium, and rose only slightly in the mitochondrial fraction. Earlier, Iasnetsov and colleagues (PMID 23025045) measured oxygen consumption polarographically in isolated rat brain mitochondria and reported that mexidol at 0.85 mM succinate raised it by 35 to 45 per cent, an effect suppressed by malonate, the inhibitor of respiratory complex II. That enzyme, succinate dehydrogenase, is embedded in the inner mitochondrial membrane. The polarographic result was obtained in isolated mitochondria with the compound applied directly, and does not carry to the intact animal that the distribution study addressed.
One behavioural experiment ran the salt against its own base. Volchegorskii and colleagues tested emoxypine, mexidol and reamberin in the elevated plus maze in rats and reported that the anxiolytic effect and the stimulation of risk behaviour were most pronounced with the free base. Their reading was that combining the pyridinol cation with the succinate anion attenuated both effects. That is the opposite direction from the account in which the succinate moiety is what raises the salt's activity.
Pharmacokinetics, regulatory position and sport
No human pharmacokinetic study reporting a half-life for this molecule was located. Searching the compound names against half-life, t1/2, AUC and Cmax returns two PubMed records: a 1986 Russian-language paper on a water-soluble 3-hydroxypyridine antioxidant, and a 2014 comparison of two marketed tablet brands conducted in 14 male chinchilla rabbits. The human work that exists concerns metabolism rather than exposure, chiefly Sariev and colleagues' papers from 1999 and 2001 on urinary excretion of the glucuronide conjugate in patients with organic central nervous system lesions.
The most recent human measurement came out of an anti-doping laboratory and was not about this drug. Postnikov and colleagues (PMID 41611212) had three volunteers drink 900 mL of unpasteurised cow's milk collected on the last day of a course of Emidonol, a veterinary antihypoxant that dissociates into meldonium and emoxypine. Estimated urinary emoxypine peaked at 1360 plus or minus 240 ng/mL between seven and eight and a half hours, clearing over roughly 50 to 54 hours; meldonium peaked at 322 plus or minus 68 ng/mL between 5.8 and 9.0 hours, with elimination over roughly 35 to 45 hours. The emoxypine curve is a by-product of a paper about inadvertent meldonium findings.
Regulatory position outside the former Soviet sphere is empty. A Drugs@FDA query on mexidol, emoxypine and ethylmethylhydroxypyridine returned no matches, and the openFDA labelling endpoint returned none either. The 2022 review states that approval was not obtained in the United States or Europe and that the drug sits on the Russian essential medicines list. Jedrejko and colleagues (PMID 38403950) record registration in Russia and in Ukraine. Trial conduct in Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan is a fact about where the studies ran and is not evidence of marketing approval in those countries. Nothing in the record indicates availability or legality for a person outside the jurisdictions where it is registered.
Two reviews in the anti-doping literature treat the compound as an open question. Jedrejko and colleagues place it beside meldonium and trimetazidine, both in category S4.4 of the World Anti-Doping Agency prohibited list, note that it is neither monitored nor included in testing protocols, and argue it could warrant consideration. Transporter work is in vitro: Shchulkin and colleagues reported in 2023 (PMID 38004395) that the molecule is not a substrate of ABCB1 or SLCO1B1 in Caco-2 and HEK293 systems but inhibits both, more weakly than verapamil and rifampicin respectively, with intestinal ABCB1 inhibition left untested in vivo.
What is not known
The four trials share a structure that limits what can be read out of them. All are sponsored by the manufacturer, all appeared in one journal, all were registered after they began, and none has been replicated by an independent group. No trial of this compound conducted outside Russia, Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan was located, and no non-Russian regulator has assessed a dossier for it: Drugs@FDA and the openFDA labelling endpoint return no matches on any of its names. Full texts of the trial reports are in Russian and were not retrieved for this record, so the English abstracts and the registry postings are the whole basis of what is written above, and the three divergences noted between them cannot be resolved without the full papers. Human pharmacokinetics are effectively unpublished in the indexed literature: no half-life, clearance, volume of distribution or oral bioavailability figure traceable to a primary human study was found, and the only human exposure measurement located came from an anti-doping laboratory studying contaminated milk in three volunteers. No measured brain tissue concentration in a living animal was located either, so the millimolar concentrations used in the slice work cannot be placed against achievable exposure. Nothing characterises long-term administration, reproductive or developmental effects, carcinogenicity, or behaviour in populations outside the trial inclusion criteria. No study in healthy people measured cognition, mood or physical performance. Whether the succinate counter-ion contributes anything in the intact animal remains open: the isolated-mitochondria result and the distribution study address different questions, and the one experiment that compared the salt against its own free base found the base more active.
Questions
Is Mexidol approved as a medicine anywhere?
How many human trials exist and who ran them?
Were the trials registered before they started?
Where does the 2 to 2.6 hour half-life figure come from?
Is emoxypine the same thing as the eye drop Emoxipin?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 122298, Mexidol (emoxypine succinate). National Center for Biotechnology Information. Properties and synonyms retrieved 18 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 114681, Emoxypine (free base). National Center for Biotechnology Information. Properties and synonyms retrieved 18 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System, substance record EMOXYPINE SUCCINATE, UNII 2R985002CT. CAS 127464-43-1; formula C8H11NO.C4H6O4; MW 255.2676. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on precision.fda.gov
- Stakhovskaya LV, Shamalov NA, Khasanova DR, et al. Results of a randomized double blind multicenter placebo-controlled trial of prolonged sequential therapy with mexidol in the acute and early recovery stages of hemispheric ischemic stroke (EPICA). Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2017;117(3 Pt 2):55-65. Russian. No retraction, erratum or expression of concern indexed. PMID 28665371 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT02793687 (EPICA). Sponsor Pharmasoft. Phase 3, 150 enrolled, start 6 March 2015, completion 27 May 2016, first submitted 31 May 2016. Posted results include the primary mRS outcome. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- Stakhovskaya LV, Mkhitaryan EA, Tkacheva ON, Ostroumova TM, Ostroumova OD. Efficacy and safety of mexidol across age groups in the acute and early recovery stages of hemispheric ischemic stroke (additional sub-analysis of the EPICA trial). Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2020;120(8 Pt 2):49-57. Russian. Source of the quoted recommendation sentence including patients with diabetes mellitus. PMID 33016677 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Fedin AI, Zakharov VV, Tanashyan MM, Chukanova EI, et al. Results of an international multicenter randomized double-blind placebo-controlled study of sequential therapy with Mexidol and Mexidol FORTE 250 in patients with chronic brain ischemia (MEMO). Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2021;121(11):7-16. Russian. PMID 34932280 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Zakharov VV, Tkacheva ON, Mkhitaryan EA, Fedin AI. Efficacy of Mexidol in patients with chronic brain ischemia and cognitive impairment of different age groups (sub-analysis of the MEMO study). Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2022;122(11 Pt 2):73-80. Russian. The same 318 patients as the MEMO primary report. PMID 36412160 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Zavadenko NN, Suvorinova NY, Batysheva TT, Bykova OV, et al. Results of a multicentre double-blind randomised placebo-controlled trial of Mexidol in attention deficit hyperactivity disorder in children (MEGA). Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2022;122(4):75-86. Russian. PMID 35485068 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Shamalov NA, Fedin AI, Rakhimbaeva GS, Nurguzhaev ES, et al. Results of the international multicenter randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial of sequential therapy with ethylmethylhydroxypyridine succinate in ischemic stroke (MIR). Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2025;125(8 Pt 2):40-53. Russian. Reports median-based significance tests and no means or confidence intervals. PMID 40898634 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Koltsov IA, Shchukin IA, Fidler MS, Glukhareva AP, Chubykin VI. Multimodal antioxidant therapy in ischemic stroke: from the MIR trial to bedside. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2025;125(12 Pt 2):64-71. Russian. Source of the mean mRS estimates with 95% CI -2.70 to -2.32, the days 69-73 endpoint window, and the 2.2-fold and 3.9-fold post-hoc odds figures. PMID 41456191 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT06437626 (MIR). Sponsor Pharmasoft. Phase 3, 304 enrolled, start 18 November 2019, completion 18 August 2023, first submitted 24 May 2024. Posted results carry the mRS, NIHSS, RMI and MoCA outcomes quoted here, all timed to Day 71, with no analysis block on the primary outcome. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- Motin VG, Iasnetsov VV, Zabozlaev AA, Karsanova SK, Iasnetsov VV. Electrophysiological study of the mechanism of mexidol action. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2012;75(1):3-7. Russian. Conclusion attributes glutamate- and GABA-ergic components, primarily NMDA-current inhibition. PMID 22442954 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Iasnetsov VV, Prosvirova EP, Tsublova EG, Iasnetsov VV, Motin VG, Karsanova SK. Comparative studies of antihypoxic, neuroprotective and analgesic action of succinate-containing drugs. Aviakosm Ekolog Med. 2012;46(6):41-45. Russian. The source cited by the 2022 review for the GABA-A-benzodiazepine statement. PMID 23457968 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Iasnetsov VV, Prosvirova EP, Tsublova EG. Comparative study of the influence of succinate-containing preparations on mitochondrial respiration in rat brain cells. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2012;75(7):8-10. Russian. Polarographic measurement in isolated rat brain mitochondria; malonate-sensitive. PMID 23025045 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Hoa NT, Van Bay M, Mechler A, Vo QV. Theoretical insights into the antiradical activity and copper-catalysed oxidative damage of mexidol in the physiological environment. R Soc Open Sci. 2022;9(1):211239. Computational study; models the free base while naming it Mexidol. PMID 35223048 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Volchegorskii IA, Miroshnichenko IY, Rassokhina LM, et al. Comparative analysis of the anxiolytic effects of 3-hydroxypyridine and succinic acid derivatives. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2015;158(6):756-761. PMID 25894772 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Jedrejko K, Catlin O, Stewart T, Muszynska B. Mexidol, Cytoflavin, and succinic acid derivatives as antihypoxic, anti-ischemic metabolic modulators, and ergogenic aids in athletes. Drug Test Anal. 2024;16(12):1436-1467. States registration in Russia and Ukraine, and carries the uncited vitamin B6 derivative sentence. PMID 38403950 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.