Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Phenibut

Phenibut is gamma-aminobutyric acid with a phenyl ring attached at the beta carbon, first synthesised by Perekalin and colleagues in Leningrad in the 1950s and approved as a medicine in the Soviet Union in the 1960s. Its receptor pharmacology has been characterised precisely in rodents, largely by one Latvian laboratory working with the separated enantiomers. Almost everything published in English about its behaviour in a human body traces back to a single 2001 review article that the World Health Organization examined and found to be missing its references.

Strongest evidence: Human dataHuman clinical reports exist but are Russian-language and unregistered; Kupats 2020 records that none of the eleven trials it reviewed carries a statistical analysis in its abstract; no registered trial and no human pharmacokinetic study reporting a half-life was located 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Small molecule; beta-substituted analogue of gamma-aminobutyric acid, IUPAC 4-amino-3-phenylbutanoic acid. Structural relative of baclofen (the 4-chlorophenyl analogue) and gabapentin. Not a peptide. Not approved for human use in the United States, the European Union or the United Kingdom.
CAS number
1078-21-3 (racemate)
PubChem CID
14113
Molecular formula
C10H13NO2
Molecular weight
179.22 g/mol
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
Fenibut; phenigam; PhGABA; phenigamma; phenygam; beta-phenyl-gamma-aminobutyric acid; beta-(aminomethyl)benzenepropanoic acid; 3-phenyl-4-aminobutyric acid

Identity, and the salts that complicate it

PubChem CID 14113 resolves phenibut as 4-amino-3-phenylbutanoic acid, CAS 1078-21-3, molecular formula C10H13NO2, molecular weight 179.22 g/mol, InChIKey DAFOCGYVTAOKAJ-UHFFFAOYSA-N. The FDA Global Substance Registration System carries it under UNII T2M58D6LA8. ChEMBL indexes it as CHEMBL315818, ChEBI as 136039. It is a small molecule rather than a peptide: gamma-aminobutyric acid with a phenyl ring hung on the beta carbon. Baclofen is the 4-chlorophenyl version of the same skeleton and gabapentin swaps the ring for a cyclohexane. Zvejniece and colleagues assayed all three against the same alpha-2-delta ligand (PMID 26234470).

The registry number above describes the racemate only. The World Health Organization's 2021 pre-review lists separate numbers for the two enantiomers, 35568-36-6 for the R form and 62596-63-8 for the S, alongside more than a dozen salts and co-crystals including the hydrochloride at 3060-41-1. It is marketed in Russia under several proprietary names, as the hydrochloride and as a citrate salt; the citrate carries its own registry number, CAS 697285-55-5. The distinction matters because the salts carry different registry numbers and different pharmacokinetic literature. A small Russian pharmacokinetic literature exists for the citrate salt under a separate drug name and was conducted in rats; those figures do not transfer automatically to the hydrochloride, and neither set describes a human.

Khaunina's report on the tranquillising effects of beta-phenyl-gamma-aminobutyric acid, published in Biulleten Eksperimentalnoi Biologii i Meditsiny in January 1964, is the earliest phenibut pharmacology paper indexed in PubMed (PMID 14162373); a second Khaunina report, on the compound's effect on centrally acting drugs, followed in Farmakologiia i Toksikologiia later the same year (PMID 14193102). Both are Russian-language with no abstract in the index, which is the characteristic shape of the compound's early record. Phenibut is a registered prescription medicine in Russia, marketed there under proprietary names that are not reproduced here. The WHO pre-review describes it as possibly approved in a handful of neighbouring states without confirming each one.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
GABA-B receptor affinity constants of 177 ± 2 micromolar (racemic), 92 ± 3 micromolar (R-phenibut) and 6.0 ± 1 micromolar (baclofen)Brain preparation; species and preparation not stated in the indexed abstractIn vitro radioligand binding, tritiated CGP54626Not stated in the indexed abstract; the abstract prints the values as 177+/-2, 92+/-3 and 6.0+/-1 without specifying standard deviation or standard errorDambrova 2008, European Journal of Pharmacology, PMID 18275958
S-phenibut inactive at doses up to 500 mg/kg in locomotor, antidepressant and pain tests; R-phenibut approximately twice as potent as the racemate on most measures; R-phenibut effects blocked by the GABA-B antagonist CGP35348Rodents; species not stated in the indexed abstractSystemic; route not stated in the indexed abstractNot stated in the indexed abstractDambrova 2008, European Journal of Pharmacology, PMID 18275958
Alpha-2-delta subunit dissociation constants of 23 micromolar (R-phenibut), 39 micromolar (S-phenibut), 156 micromolar (baclofen) and 0.05 micromolar (gabapentin); R-phenibut affinity for this subunit reported as roughly four times higher than for GABA-B; no measurable S-phenibut binding to GABA-BRat brain membrane preparationIn vitro binding with radiolabelled gabapentin as subunit-selective ligandNot stated in the indexed abstractZvejniece 2015, Pharmacology Biochemistry and Behavior, PMID 26234470
Half-maximal outward current density at 1,362 micromolar (phenibut), 23.3 micromolar (F-phenibut) and 6.0 micromolar (baclofen)Mouse cerebellar Purkinje cells in slice preparationIn vitro patch-clamp recordingNot stated in the indexed abstractIrie 2020, European Journal of Pharmacology, PMID 32735986
R-phenibut at 10 mg/kg altered histological outcome at day 7 in the endothelin model; at 50 mg/kg reduced loss of brain volume in the damaged hemisphere in both occlusion models, with increased BDNF and VEGF gene expressionMale Wistar rats (filament occlusion) and CD rats (endothelin-1 microinjection)Route not stated in the indexed abstract; dosing for 14 days (filament model) or 7 days (endothelin model)Not stated in the indexed abstractVavers 2016, Pharmacological Research, PMID 26621244
Maximal brain tissue concentration of 0.6 micrograms per gram after intraperitoneal and 0.2 micrograms per gram after peroral administration; compound detectable in brain 15 minutes after both routesMale Swiss-Webster miceSingle 50 mg/kg dose, intraperitoneal and peroral comparedNot stated in the indexed abstractKupats 2020, Oxidative Medicine and Cellular Longevity, PMID 33274011
Adverse events reported in 5.66 per cent of trial participants, most frequently somnolence at 1.89 per cent; case-report exposures ranged from 0.5 to 100 g per day; none of the eleven included trial reports available in English and none of their abstracts carrying a statistical analysisPatients in 11 clinical trials, all published in Russian, plus 14 case reports covering 16 patientsOral583 patients across 11 trials; 16 patients across 14 case reportsKupats 2020, Pharmacopsychiatry, PMID 32340063
All cases male; median age 30 years (IQR 23.5–34, range 4 days–68 years); median daily amount before withdrawal 10 g (IQR 4.75–21.5, range 1–200 g); shortest use before withdrawal one week; onset as early as 2 hours after last dose; seizures 8 per cent, intubation 24 per cent, intensive care admission 44 per centHumans described in published case reports and conference abstracts of phenibut withdrawalOral, self-administered25 case reports (25 patients)Feldman 2023, Clinical Toxicology, PMID 38112312
1,320 exposures across 50 states and DC; 75.5 per cent male; 58.4 per cent aged 18–34; ingestion 93.2 per cent; agitation 30.4 per cent, drowsiness 29.0 per cent, tachycardia 21.9 per cent, confusion 21.3 per cent; coma 6.2 per cent (80 cases); moderate outcome 49.6 per cent, major 12.6 per cent; 3 deaths, one in a phenibut-only exposureHumans reported to United States poison centres, 2009–2019; exposures not biochemically confirmed, and the search terms entered the database at different points (one predating the window, one added 2012, one added 2015)Predominantly oral ingestion1,320 exposuresGraves 2020, MMWR Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report, PMID 32881852
56 exposure calls over 19 years, 48 of them in the final five years; abuse cited as reason in 48 per cent and anxiety in 23 per cent; 19.6 per cent intubated; no deathsHumans reported to the Minnesota Poison Control System, January 2000 – December 2018Oral, self-administered56 exposure callsMcCabe 2019, American Journal of Emergency Medicine, PMID 30878413
Before the FDA warnings, 2 of 4 labelled brands contained phenibut at 484 and 487 mg per serving; after, all 4 contained it at 21–1,164 mg per serving, with quantity increased in 3 of 4 and quantities per dose as much as 450 per cent greater than a typical 250 mg pharmaceutical tablet manufactured in RussiaOver-the-counter products labelled as dietary supplements listing phenibut, sold in the United States before and after April 2019Not applicable; liquid chromatography time-of-flight mass spectrometry with isotope dilution quantification4 brands meeting inclusion criteriaCohen 2022, Clinical Toxicology, PMID 34550038
17 phenibut enquiries over 15 years against 55 for gabapentin, 126 for pregabalin and 4,324 for benzodiazepines; overdoses of 2–100 g reported in 15 of 17 cases, 8 of those patients somnolent; no respiratory depression or coma recorded, including in the 100 g caseHumans reported to the GIZ-Nord poison information centre, Goettingen, Germany, 2008–2022Oral, self-administered17 enquiriesBonnet 2024, Deutsches Aerzteblatt International, PMID 38377332
Plasma half-life of 5.3 hours, with 65 per cent of a 250 mg oral dose excreted unchanged in urine and clearance mimicking creatinine clearanceThese three figures travel together across vendor product pages, aggregator sites and addiction-treatment blogs. They originate in Lapin's 2001 review, which prints them with no citation attached. The WHO Expert Committee on Drug Dependence made the same trace in its 2021 pre-review and wrote that none of these statements includes references, preventing examination of the primary studies, and that all other literature discussing these effects cites Lapin 2001. An independent PubMed search of phenibut with pharmacokinetics returned seven records: two concern a citrate salt studied in rats under a separate drug name, one is a Russian bioequivalence study in 18 volunteers whose indexed abstract reports no half-life, and the remainder are unrelated. No human pharmacokinetic study of phenibut reporting an elimination half-life was located.No source found
Phenibut was carried in the medical kits of Soviet cosmonauts, in one retelling aboard the 1975 Apollo-Soyuz missionA PubMed search of phenibut with cosmonaut, space and astronaut returned four records. One is a 1990 mouse radiation study in a space-biology journal in which phenibut appears as one of eleven test drugs; one is a 1985 rat subarachnoid analgesia paper; one is a 2026 cheminformatics paper; the fourth is a 2013 Swedish case report whose title uses the phrase about drugs for cosmonauts as framing and which carries no abstract in the index. None describes a spaceflight medical kit. The claim propagates through news coverage of the 2018 Australian adolescent poisonings and through nootropics pages. The Apollo-Soyuz detail could not be traced to any document at all.No source found
Phenibut raises growth hormoneA PubMed search for phenibut with growth hormone returned zero records. The WHO pre-review reached the same result and observed that the sites making the claim support it by citing 1980s literature on GABAergic agents in general, principally a 1980 paper by Cavagnini, rather than any study of phenibut. No experiment measuring growth hormone after phenibut administration in any species was located.No source found
Tolerance develops after roughly five days of continuous useThe five-day figure circulates on forums and vendor pages, generally attached to advice about interrupting use. No underlying study was found. The WHO pre-review states that no studies in animals have examined the dependence potential of phenibut and that no controlled animal or human study has examined its abuse potential. A PubMed search combining phenibut with self-administration, drug discrimination and conditioned place preference returned six records, none an abuse-liability experiment. Escalating exposure is documented in case reports and in forum text, which records behaviour rather than measuring tolerance.No source found
An LD50 of roughly 900 mg/kgOnly one indexed paper divides phenibut's own LD50 without printing it: a 1989 rat fetal-development study expressing its 50 mg/kg dose as one twentieth of the LD50 (PMID 2806525). Two Soviet-era cat cardiovascular papers use the same device but divide the LD50 of phenibut esters rather than of phenibut: one hundredth to one tenth of the LD50 of GABA methylester and beta-phenyl-GABA methylester in a 1986 study (PMID 3028859), and one fiftieth and one thirtieth of the LD50 of the methyl ether of phenibut in a 1983 study (PMID 6825820). A PubMed search of phenibut with LD50 returned only those three records, and none carries a numerical LD50 in its indexed abstract. The number in circulation could not be attached to a species, a route or a paper.No source found
No deaths have been attributed to phenibutThe claim is traceable, but its source predates the poison-centre data. Owen and colleagues wrote in 2016 that there had been no reported deaths relating to phenibut use (PMID 26693960), and the sentence still circulates in that form. The CDC's 2020 analysis of United States poison centre calls reported three deaths among 1,320 exposures between 2009 and 2019, one of them in an exposure involving phenibut alone (PMID 32881852). A 2024 German review states that no death from phenibut intoxication has been published in Germany or Western Europe (PMID 38377332). The underlying record differs by region, and the sentence as usually reproduced carries a 2016 cut-off it does not declare.No source found
Phenibut is an approved medicine in Russia, Ukraine, Latvia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and EstoniaThe Russian approval is not in doubt: the compound is a registered prescription medicine there, and the Committee recorded that phenibut is approved as a medicine in a few countries, naming only the Russian Federation. The longer country list is a different matter. The WHO pre-review renders it hedged, as substances that may also be approved in Belarus, Latvia, Kazakhstan, Estonia and Ukraine, and sources it in part to a commercial pharmaceutical marketplace listing rather than to any national medicines register. No national register was checked during preparation of this record, and the list is reproduced here as unverified.No source found
Phenibut remained on the WHO surveillance list in the March 2025 updateThis record previously carried the March 2025 date in its body text and cannot support it. Both WHO references held here are October 2021 documents. Retrieval was attempted for a March 2025 surveillance-list document at the expected who.int and cdn.who.int paths, including the essential-medicines and controlled-substances document directories, and every candidate path returned HTTP 404. No 2025 ECDD surveillance-list document was retrieved. The separate statement that phenibut has been under ECDD surveillance since 2017 is supported by Annex I of the 44th ECDD and is retained in the body; the 2025 continuation is not.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

The enantiomers are not equivalent

Dambrova and colleagues at the Latvian Institute of Organic Synthesis separated the isomers and compared them directly (PMID 18275958). In radioligand binding against the selective GABA-B antagonist tritiated CGP54626, affinity constants were 177 plus or minus 2 micromolar for racemic phenibut, 92 plus or minus 3 micromolar for R-phenibut, and 6.0 plus or minus 1 micromolar for baclofen; the indexed abstract states neither the species nor the preparation. Across tests of locomotor activity, antidepressant effect and pain, S-phenibut was inactive at doses up to 500 mg/kg while R-phenibut was roughly twice as potent as the racemate on most measures. The GABA-B antagonist CGP35348 blocked the antidepressant, antinociceptive and locomotor effects of R-phenibut.

Seven years later the same group tested a second target and found the stronger interaction there (PMID 26234470). Using radiolabelled gabapentin as a subunit-selective ligand on rat brain membranes, they reported dissociation constants at the alpha-2-delta subunit of the voltage-dependent calcium channel of 23 micromolar for R-phenibut, 39 micromolar for S-phenibut, 156 micromolar for baclofen and 0.05 micromolar for gabapentin. The authors reported the affinity of R-phenibut for the alpha-2-delta subunit as about four times higher than for the GABA-B receptor. In the formalin paw-licking test its antinociceptive effect was not blocked by CGP35348, which the authors read as evidence that the analgesia ran through alpha-2-delta rather than through GABA-B. At doses up to 100 mg/kg, R-phenibut did not alter pentylenetetrazole-induced seizures.

One consequence of those two papers is that the shorthand describing S-phenibut as the inactive isomer holds for one target and not the other. No measurable S-phenibut binding to GABA-B was reported (PMID 26234470), but its alpha-2-delta constant of 39 micromolar sits within a factor of two of the R form's. Irie and colleagues supplied a potency comparison at GABA-B in a different preparation, recording outward current in mouse cerebellar Purkinje cells in slice (PMID 32735986). Half-maximal outward current density came at 1,362 micromolar for phenibut, 23.3 micromolar for F-phenibut and 6.0 micromolar for baclofen. On that readout the ratio between the phenibut and baclofen values was greater than two hundred.

The animal record, and what is absent from it

Vavers and colleagues gave R-phenibut to rats after middle cerebral artery occlusion induced two different ways, filament insertion in male Wistar rats and endothelin-1 microinjection in CD rats, dosing at 10 or 50 mg/kg for fourteen or seven days respectively (PMID 26621244). The 10 mg/kg group showed a difference in histological outcome at day seven in the endothelin model. The 50 mg/kg group showed reduced loss of brain volume in the damaged hemisphere in both models, alongside increased BDNF and VEGF gene expression. On the vibrissae-evoked forelimb-placing test the authors report a trend toward recovery rather than a separation. The indexed abstract does not state the route of administration.

Kupats and colleagues ran a lateral fluid percussion injury model in male Swiss-Webster mice and, in the same paper, measured where the compound went (PMID 33274011). After 50 mg/kg, R-phenibut reached brain tissue fifteen minutes after both intraperitoneal and peroral administration, with maximal brain concentrations of 0.6 micrograms per gram and 0.2 micrograms per gram respectively. Those two numbers are the most concrete distribution data in the retrieved record, and they describe mice given a single enantiomer rather than people given the racemate.

Absent from the animal literature is any study of the property the compound is best known for outside Russia. The WHO pre-review states that no studies in animals have examined the dependence potential of phenibut and that no controlled animal or human study has examined its abuse potential. A PubMed search combining phenibut with self-administration, drug discrimination and conditioned place preference returned six records, none of them an abuse-liability experiment and three of them synthetic chemistry papers. A 1989 rat study of fetal development expressed its 50 mg/kg dose as one twentieth of the LD50 without printing the LD50 (PMID 2806525); two Soviet-era cat cardiovascular papers from the same period use the same device, but the LD50 they divide is that of phenibut esters rather than of phenibut.

The human record rests on one review

Lapin's 2001 article in CNS Drug Reviews is the source that nearly every English-language account of phenibut leads back to (PMID 11830761). It describes the compound as GABA-mimetic at GABA-B and to a lesser extent GABA-A, reports that it stimulates dopamine receptors and antagonises beta-phenethylamine, and lists the indications for which it was used in Russian practice. It is a review rather than a study, and it carries the whole weight of the human account.

The World Health Organization's Expert Committee on Drug Dependence examined that article when it pre-reviewed phenibut in 2021. The pre-review states that the article is flawed, that in many places references are not provided and in others they are inaccurate, and that of three references in it which could potentially be considered clinical trials, one is a small open-label trial, one is cited for preclinical results, and one is listed as published in an English-indexed journal but does not come up in a search and is not mentioned in the body. On pharmacokinetics the Committee wrote that none of the statements includes references, preventing examination of the primary studies, and that all other literature discussing those effects cites Lapin 2001.

Kupats and colleagues assembled the clinical literature in 2020 (PMID 32340063). Across eleven trials totalling 583 patients they recorded adverse events in 5.66 per cent of participants, most often somnolence at 1.89 per cent, and set that against fourteen case reports covering sixteen patients in which the amounts involved ranged from 0.5 to 100 g per day. That review notes that none of the eleven trial reports it included is available in English and that none of their abstracts carries a statistical analysis.

Four Russian-language papers are typed by PubMed as randomised controlled trials, covering chronic fatigue with cerebrovascular insufficiency in 53 patients, paediatric tension-type headache in 30 against 30 controls, anxiety with chronic cerebral ischaemia in 62, and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder in 50, while the WHO document states that there are no randomised controlled trials of phenibut for any indication. Both positions are recorded here as they stand. One of those four papers does print a statistical comparison in its indexed English abstract (PMID 28300804), so the absence of statistics is a finding about the eleven trials Kupats reviewed rather than a general property of the Russian-language record.

ClinicalTrials.gov returns nothing at all. Registry searches for phenibut, fenibut and aminophenylbutyric acid each came back with zero studies. The closest thing to a human pharmacokinetic study in the indexed record is a Russian open randomised crossover comparison in eighteen healthy volunteers that measured unchanged aminophenylbutyric acid in plasma by HPLC with ultraviolet detection and concluded that two formulations were bioequivalent (PMID 21809698). Its indexed abstract reports no half-life, no clearance and no bioavailability figure.

What poison centres recorded

The largest dataset is a CDC analysis of calls to United States poison centres between 2009 and 2019 (PMID 32881852). It counted 1,320 phenibut exposures across all fifty states and the District of Columbia. Men accounted for 75.5 per cent, adults aged 18 to 34 for 58.4 per cent, and ingestion for 93.2 per cent of routes. Agitation was recorded in 30.4 per cent of cases, drowsiness or lethargy in 29.0 per cent, tachycardia in 21.9 per cent and confusion in 21.3 per cent. Coma appeared in 6.2 per cent, or 80 cases. Outcomes were coded moderate in 49.6 per cent and major in 12.6 per cent, and three deaths were reported, one of them in an exposure involving phenibut alone.

Two qualifications sit on that dataset. Its own footnote records that the terms used to find cases entered the database at different points: one term predates the study window, a second was added in 2012 and a third in 2015, so part of the rise reflects case-finding rather than incidence. None of the exposures was biochemically confirmed. A single-state series from Minnesota covering 2000 to 2018 found 56 exposure calls, 48 of them in the final five years, with 19.6 per cent of patients intubated and no deaths (PMID 30878413).

Feldman and colleagues systematically reviewed the withdrawal literature and found 25 case reports and conference abstracts, all describing male patients (PMID 38112312). Median age was 30 years across a range from four days to 68. The median daily amount preceding withdrawal was 10 g, interquartile range 4.75 to 21.5 g and outer range 1 to 200 g. The shortest recorded period of use before withdrawal was one week at 2 to 3 g daily, and symptoms began as early as two hours after the last dose. Seizures were reported in 8 per cent of patients, intubation in 24 per cent and intensive care admission in 44 per cent; 68 per cent received a benzodiazepine and 76 per cent required at least two drug therapies.

A German review reaches a different picture from a different denominator (PMID 38377332). Over 2008 to 2022 the Goettingen poison information centre received 17 enquiries about phenibut, against 55 for gabapentin, 126 for pregabalin and 4,324 for benzodiazepines. Overdoses of between 2 and 100 g were reported in 15 of the 17 cases and eight of those patients were somnolent. Bonnet and colleagues record no case of respiratory depression or coma, including in the patient who had taken 100 g, and state that no death from phenibut intoxication has been published in Germany or elsewhere in Western Europe while allowing that such cases may have been missed. The American and German records describe severity differently and are left here as two separate observations rather than averaged.

Labels, and the regulatory position

On 10 April 2019 the FDA issued twelve warning letters, three of them concerning products marketed as dietary supplements and labelled to contain phenibut. The agency's stated position, published on its own constituent update, is that phenibut does not meet the definition of a dietary ingredient under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, and that products listing it as one are misbranded. Phenibut is not an approved drug in the United States and is not federally scheduled, which leaves it in the unusual position of being unlawful to sell in a supplement without being controlled to possess.

Cohen and colleagues measured what happened next (PMID 34550038). Four brands met their inclusion criteria of being labelled as containing phenibut and sold both before and after the warnings. Beforehand, two of the four actually contained it, at 484 and 487 mg per serving. Afterwards all four did, at between 21 mg and 1,164 mg per serving, with the quantity higher in three of the four; quantities detected per dose ran as much as 450 per cent greater than a typical 250 mg pharmaceutical tablet manufactured in Russia. A companion analysis of ten products marketed for cognitive enhancement and labelled for other unapproved drugs detected phenibut as an undeclared ingredient at up to 15.4 plus or minus 0.3 mg, and found nine of twelve declared quantities on those labels to be inaccurate (PMID 34484905).

The WHO Expert Committee recommended in October 2021 that phenibut should not proceed to critical review but should be kept under surveillance by the Secretariat, citing limited information on withdrawal, on abuse liability, on the magnitude of misuse and on similarity to internationally controlled substances. It has been on the Committee's surveillance list since 2017. Phenibut is not controlled under the 1961, 1971 or 1988 United Nations conventions. Australia moved it to Schedule 9, prohibited substance, in 2018, and the WHO pre-review records the four reasons the Australian regulator gave, among them rapid development of tolerance and dependence. Hungary, Italy, Lithuania and France appear in the same document as the other countries controlling it.

What is not known

No human pharmacokinetic study of phenibut was located, so absorption, elimination half-life, clearance, bioavailability and interactions in a human body are unmeasured in the retrievable record; the figures in wide circulation descend from an unreferenced review. Dependence and abuse potential have never been examined experimentally in any species, which means the property the compound is most discussed for outside Russia is documented only through case reports and forum text. The clinical trial literature exists but is Russian-language, unregistered and small; Kupats 2020 records that none of the eleven trials it reviewed carries a statistical analysis in its abstract, and whether any of the wider Russian-language literature qualifies as a randomised controlled trial is itself disputed between PubMed's indexing and the WHO pre-review. Nothing has been established about prolonged exposure: no chronic toxicology, no carcinogenicity work and no reproductive study beyond a single 1989 rat fetal-development paper were found, and the phenibut LD50 that that paper divides by is never printed. The enantiomers have been separated pharmacologically in rodents, but all human use and all clinical data concern the racemate, so the rodent enantiomer findings cannot be mapped onto the human reports. Poison centre records from the United States and Germany describe severity differently and cannot be reconciled from the published material. Phenibut holds no approval in the United States, the European Union or the United Kingdom, is a prohibited substance in Australia, and is not controlled under any United Nations convention.

Questions

Is phenibut an approved medicine anywhere?
In Russia it is a registered prescription medicine, and the WHO Expert Committee on Drug Dependence recorded in 2021 that phenibut is approved as a medicine in a few countries, naming only the Russian Federation. It holds no approval in the United States, the European Union or the United Kingdom. The FDA's published position is that phenibut does not meet the definition of a dietary ingredient under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act and that products listing it as one are misbranded; three warning letters on that basis were issued on 10 April 2019. Australia placed it in Schedule 9, prohibited substance, in 2018.
Where does the 5.3-hour half-life figure come from?
From Lapin's 2001 review in CNS Drug Reviews, which prints it without a citation. The WHO Expert Committee examined that article during its 2021 pre-review and recorded that none of its pharmacokinetic statements includes references, preventing examination of the primary studies, and that all other literature discussing these effects cites Lapin 2001. An independent search returned no human pharmacokinetic study of phenibut reporting an elimination half-life.
What is the difference between R-phenibut and S-phenibut?
At GABA-B the difference is total and at the calcium channel subunit it is small. Dambrova and colleagues reported a GABA-B affinity constant of 92 micromolar for R-phenibut, with S-phenibut inactive in behavioural tests at doses up to 500 mg/kg; that abstract reports no binding constant for S-phenibut (PMID 18275958). Zvejniece and colleagues later reported no measurable S-phenibut binding to GABA-B, alongside alpha-2-delta subunit constants of 23 micromolar for the R form and 39 micromolar for the S form (PMID 26234470). All human use and all clinical data concern the racemate.
Are there registered clinical trials of phenibut?
None. Searches of ClinicalTrials.gov for phenibut, fenibut and aminophenylbutyric acid each returned zero studies. The clinical literature that exists consists of eleven trials totalling 583 patients summarised by Kupats and colleagues in 2020 (PMID 32340063), none of them available in English and none, on that review's account, carrying a statistical analysis in its abstract, plus four Russian-language papers that PubMed types as randomised controlled trials while the WHO document states that no randomised controlled trial of phenibut exists for any indication. One of those four does print a statistical comparison in its indexed English abstract (PMID 28300804).
Has the dependence potential been measured experimentally?
No. The WHO pre-review states that no studies in animals have examined the dependence potential of phenibut and that no controlled animal or human study has examined its abuse potential. What exists instead is case material: Feldman and colleagues reviewed 25 published withdrawal cases, all male, median age 30, median daily amount before withdrawal 10 g, with seizures in 8 per cent, intubation in 24 per cent and intensive care admission in 44 per cent (PMID 38112312).

References

  1. Lapin I. Phenibut (beta-phenyl-GABA): a tranquilizer and nootropic drug. CNS Drug Rev. 2001;7(4):471-481. PMID 11830761. Review. Not flagged by PubMed, but examined and described as flawed by the WHO Expert Committee on Drug Dependence in its 2021 pre-review (see r16). View on doi.org
  2. Dambrova M, Zvejniece L, Liepinsh E, Cirule H, Zharkova O, Veinberg G, Kalvinsh I. Comparative pharmacological activity of optical isomers of phenibut. Eur J Pharmacol. 2008;583(1):128-134. PMID 18275958. The indexed abstract does not state the species or preparation used in the radioligand binding experiments. View on doi.org
  3. Zvejniece L, Vavers E, Svalbe B, Veinberg G, Rizhanova K, Liepins V, Kalvinsh I, Dambrova M. R-phenibut binds to the alpha2-delta subunit of voltage-dependent calcium channels and exerts gabapentin-like anti-nociceptive effects. Pharmacol Biochem Behav. 2015;137:23-29. PMID 26234470. View on doi.org
  4. Vavers E, Zvejniece L, Svalbe B, Volska K, Makarova E, Liepinsh E, Rizhanova K, Liepins V, Dambrova M. The neuroprotective effects of R-phenibut after focal cerebral ischemia. Pharmacol Res. 2016;113(Pt B):796-801. PMID 26621244. The indexed abstract gives doses and durations but not the route of administration. View on doi.org
  5. Kupats E, Stelfa G, Zvejniece B, Grinberga S, Vavers E, Makrecka-Kuka M, Svalbe B, Dambrova M, Zvejniece L. Mitochondrial-protective effects of R-phenibut after experimental traumatic brain injury. Oxid Med Cell Longev. 2020;2020:9364598. PMID 33274011. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Kupats E, Vrublevska J, Zvejniece B, Vavers E, Stelfa G, Zvejniece L, Dambrova M. Safety and tolerability of the anxiolytic and nootropic drug phenibut: a systematic review of clinical trials and case reports. Pharmacopsychiatry. 2020;53(5):201-208. PMID 32340063. Systematic review; the no-statistical-analysis observation in this record is that review's finding about its own eleven included trials. View on doi.org
  7. Feldman R, Autry B, Dukes J, Lofy T, Marchetti G, Patt A, et al. A systematic review of phenibut withdrawal focusing on complications, therapeutic approaches, and single substance versus polysubstance withdrawal. Clin Toxicol (Phila). 2023;61(11):941-951. PMID 38112312. View on doi.org
  8. Cohen PA, Ellison RR, Travis JC, Gaufberg SV, Gerona R. Quantity of phenibut in dietary supplements before and after FDA warnings. Clin Toxicol (Phila). 2022;60(4):486-488. PMID 34550038. The abstract states quantities per dose were "as much as 450% greater than a typical 250 mg pharmaceutical tablet manufactured in Russia". View on doi.org
  9. Cohen PA, Avula B, Wang YH, Zakharevich I, Khan I. Five unapproved drugs found in cognitive enhancement supplements. Neurol Clin Pract. 2021;11(3):e303-e307. PMID 34484905. View on doi.org
  10. McCabe DJ, Bangh SA, Arens AM, Cole JB. Phenibut exposures and clinical effects reported to a regional poison center. Am J Emerg Med. 2019;37(11):2066-2071. PMID 30878413. View on doi.org
  11. Graves JM, Dilley J, Kubsad S, Liebelt E. Notes from the field: phenibut exposures reported to poison centers - United States, 2009-2019. MMWR Morb Mortal Wkly Rep. 2020;69(35):1227-1228. PMID 32881852. Its footnote records that 'phenygam' was in the National Poison Data System before the study timeline and that '4-amino-3-phenylbutyric acid' and 'phenibut' were added in 2012 and 2015 respectively. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Irie T, Yamazaki D, Kikura-Hanajiri R. F-phenibut (beta-(4-fluorophenyl)-GABA), a potent GABAB receptor agonist, activates an outward-rectifying K+ current and suppresses the generation of action potentials in mouse cerebellar Purkinje cells. Eur J Pharmacol. 2020;884:173437. PMID 32735986. View on doi.org
  13. Owen DR, Wood DM, Archer JR, Dargan PI. Phenibut (4-amino-3-phenyl-butyric acid): availability, prevalence of use, desired effects and acute toxicity. Drug Alcohol Rev. 2016;35(5):591-596. PMID 26693960. View on doi.org
  14. Bonnet U, Scherbaum N, Schaper A, Soyka M. Phenibutan—an Illegal Food Supplement With Psychotropic Effects and Health Risks. Dtsch Arztebl Int. 2024;121(7):222-227. PMID 38377332. Title reproduced exactly as indexed by PubMed, which renders the compound name as 'Phenibutan'; the compound discussed throughout is phenibut. View on doi.org
  15. Zhezlova AV, Belolipetskaia VG, Blagodatskikh SV, Merkulova EV. [Bioequivalence of anvifen and phenibut]. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2011;74(5):43-44. PMID 21809698. Russian; English abstract only. Open randomised crossover study in 18 healthy volunteers; no half-life or bioavailability figure in the indexed abstract. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. World Health Organization Expert Committee on Drug Dependence. Pre-review report: phenibut (unedited advance copy), 44th ECDD, 11-15 October 2021. Source of the citation audit of Lapin 2001, the pharmacokinetics trace, the enantiomer and salt CAS registry numbers, and the national control status summary. The document self-describes as a pre-review throughout and the phrase 'critical review' appears nowhere in its 36 pages, although the file is hosted under a filename containing 'critical-review-report'. Verified from the document text, 2026-08-18. View on cdn.who.int
  17. World Health Organization. Annex I: 44th WHO ECDD summary assessments, findings and recommendations, 11-15 October 2021. Records the recommendation that phenibut should not proceed to critical review but be kept under surveillance, the statement that phenibut is approved in a few countries as a medicine, and the statement that no controlled animal or human studies have examined its abuse or dependence potential. Verified from the document text, 2026-08-18. View on cdn.who.int
  18. US Food and Drug Administration. FDA acts on dietary supplements containing DMHA and phenibut. HFP Constituent Update, 16 April 2019. Records the 10 April 2019 issuance of twelve warning letters, three concerning phenibut, and the determination that phenibut does not meet the FD&C Act definition of a dietary ingredient. Verified from the page text, 2026-08-18. View on www.fda.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.