Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Amlexanox (AA-673)

Amlexanox is a small heterocyclic anti-allergic drug, PubChem CID 2161, approved in the United States in 1996 as a dental paste for aphthous ulcers. In 2013 it was identified as a micromolar inhibitor of the kinases TBK1 and IKK-epsilon, which produced a second literature in obesity and diabetes. Both United States products are now listed by the FDA as discontinued, the tablet form used in the metabolic work was never approved in the United States, and the single randomised metabolic trial enrolled 42 people.

Strongest evidence: Human dataRandomised human trials exist in aphthous ulcers, plus one 42-patient diabetes trial; both approved US products are listed as discontinued and the systemic tablet form was never approved in the United States 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Small-molecule 2-amino-5-oxo-7-propan-2-ylchromeno[2,3-b]pyridine-3-carboxylic acid; anti-allergic mediator-release inhibitor; ATP-competitive inhibitor of TBK1 and IKK-epsilon
CAS number
68302-57-8
PubChem CID
2161
Molecular formula
C16H14N2O4
Molecular weight
298.29 g/mol
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
AA-673, amoxanox, CHX-3673, Aphthasol, Solfa, OraDisc A; UNII BRL1C2459K; ChEMBL CHEMBL1096; DrugBank DB01025; USAN HH-19; INN 5950; ATC codes A01AD07 and R03DX01; InChIKey SGRYPYWGNKJSDL-UHFFFAOYSA-N

Identity, and what was actually approved

Amlexanox carries two ATC codes in unrelated therapeutic areas: A01AD07 among stomatological preparations, and R03DX01 among systemic drugs for obstructive airway disease. That is the unusual feature of the record. The identifiers themselves are clean. PubChem returns one entry: CID 2161, CAS 68302-57-8, formula C16H14N2O4, molecular weight 298.29, InChIKey SGRYPYWGNKJSDL-UHFFFAOYSA-N, systematic name 2-amino-5-oxo-7-propan-2-ylchromeno[2,3-b]pyridine-3-carboxylic acid. The FDA Global Substance Registration System holds the same substance under UNII BRL1C2459K, with the same registry number and formula, a calculated weight of 298.294, and the ChEMBL identifier CHEMBL1096. Development codes AA-673 and CHX-3673, and the older name amoxanox, sit on that same record. The molecule is a small heterocycle. It is not a peptide, despite the company it now keeps on research-compound listings.

Two United States approvals exist and neither product is marketed. Aphthasol, a 5 percent dental paste, was approved under NDA 020511 on 17 December 1996 as a Type 1 new molecular entity, with a labelling supplement in June 2002. A 2 mg mucoadhesive patch followed under NDA 021727 on 29 September 2004, classified as a Type 3 new dosage form. Drugs@FDA gives the marketing status of both as Discontinued. A DailyMed query for amlexanox returns no current prescription labelling at all, and the only entries under the ingredient name in the National Drug Code directory are bulk-substance listings for compounding; no finished medicine appears there.

Japanese marketing followed a separate path. Tablets were registered in Japan at 25 mg and 50 mg for bronchial asthma and allergic rhinitis, and a commercial Japanese prescription-drug reference now marks both strengths as discontinued lines. That reference is the only support this record could find for any of those statements, and the failed attempt to corroborate them against PMDA is recorded in the untraced list below. Those tablets supplied the drug for the University of Michigan metabolic trials, where the registry names the product and gives the tablet strength as 25 mg. The compound is often introduced as a long-established approved medicine. Its two approved United States products are listed as discontinued, and the systemic tablet form was never approved in the United States at all.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Inhibited TBK1 and IKK-epsilon with IC50 of approximately 1-2 micromolar, competitive with ATP; no effect on IKK-alpha or IKK-beta and no other hits across a broad kinase panel at those concentrationsRecombinant kinase and cell-based assaysIn vitroNot stated in the retrieved reportReilly 2013, Nat Med, PMID 23396211
Roughly 10 g of weight loss after four weeks of treatment begun after 12 weeks of high-fat feedingMale C57BL/6 mice made obese by 12 weeks of high-fat dietDaily oral gavage, 25 mg/kg7 per group (Fig 3c)Reilly 2013, Nat Med, PMID 23396211
7 to 8 g of weight loss after four weeks of treatment. The paper and its Methods attach this result to the higher dose only; it is not reported at 25 mg/kgob/ob mice on a normal chow dietDaily oral gavage, 100 mg/kg8 per group (Fig 3f)Reilly 2013, Nat Med, PMID 23396211
Treated animals held body weights equivalent to control-diet mice, and glucose tolerance test area under the curve for glucose was reduced by approximately 30 to 40 percent. The AUC figure belongs to this concurrent arm and not to the treatment arms aboveMale C57BL/6 mice gavaged concurrently with 12 weeks of high-fat feedingDaily oral gavage, 25 or 100 mg/kg, concurrent with the diet5 per group (Fig 4a)Reilly 2013, Nat Med, PMID 23396211
Glycated haemoglobin 7.68% at baseline and 7.44% at week 12 on amlexanox, against 7.77% and 7.76% on placebo; registry-posted two-sided t-test p = 0.05. The publication instead describes a reduction close to 0.5 percent more than placebo, and the analysis behind that figure is not postedAdults with type 2 diabetes, BMI 27-45, and non-alcoholic fatty liver disease. The publication states an age criterion of 18-60; the registry posts eligibility as 18 or over and a baseline table placing 7 of 42 at 65 or overOral, 12 weeks. The publication states 50 mg three times daily; the registry's posted arm description records a lower dose for the first two weeks before the higher one. The two records are not reconciled here42 randomised, 21 per arm; 20 and 18 completedOral 2017, Cell Metab, PMID 28683283; results posted at ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01975935
Body weight 100.95 kg at baseline and 100.81 kg at week 12 on amlexanox, against 100.24 kg and 97.94 kg on placebo, p = 0.51; the publication states that no statistical difference in weight loss was observed between arms. Hepatic fat by MRI 18.0% and 16.22% on amlexanox against 12.82% and 12.88% on placebo, p = 0.38Adults with type 2 diabetes, obesity and fatty liver disease; the MRI outcome covers only the scanned subset, imaging having been limited by fundingOral, 12 weeks; regimen described differently by publication and registry as noted above42 randomised, 21 per arm for weight; 20 imaged for hepatic fat (11 amlexanox, 9 placebo)ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01975935 posted results; Oral 2017, Cell Metab, PMID 28683283
Median time to complete healing reduced by 1.6 days and median time to complete pain relief by 1.3 days against no treatment; 21% vs 8% healed and 44% vs 20% pain-free after three days. Against vehicle both medians fell 0.7 days, with 37% vs 27% healed and 60% vs 49% pain-free after four days. In the underlying programme of four studies in 1,335 subjects the vehicle itself had marginal beneficial effects whose significance over no treatment was inconsistentPatients with mild to moderate aphthous ulcers and normal immune systems; ulcers less than 48 hours old at enrolment5% dental paste, applied four times daily to healing464 on amlexanox, 465 on vehicle, 195 on no treatment across three controlled studies; 1,335 subjects across the four-study programmeAphthasol approved labelling, FDA NDA 020511, June 2002; underlying studies reported in Khandwala 1997 part I, PMID 9117754
Maximum serum concentration approximately 120 ng/ml at 2.4 hours after a 100 mg paste application containing 5 mg of drug; elimination half-life 3.5 +/- 1.1 hours; about 17% of the dose recovered in urine as unchanged drug, a hydroxylated metabolite and conjugates; no accumulation over four weeksHealthy individuals and patients in single and multiple dose studiesTopical oral paste991 subjects exposed across the safety programme; per-study PK sample size not stated in the retrieved reportKhandwala 1997 part II, PMID 9117755; figures also stated in the FDA label for NDA 020511
FEV1 improved significantly after oral amlexanox in the aspirin-induced asthma group and fell after placebo; no change after either agent in the non-aspirin-induced groupAdult asthmatics in remission, 8 with aspirin-induced asthma and 7 withoutOral, randomised double-blind against lactose placebo, spirometry to 3 hours15 patientsImokawa 1993, Nihon Kyobu Shikkan Gakkai Zasshi, PMID 8230896
cAMP content roughly doubled at 10^-8 to 10^-6 M and rose 15- to 88-fold in combination with isoproterenol; cAMP phosphodiesterase inhibited with IC50 of 1.4 x 10^-5 M, about half the activity of IBMX; pretreatment produced tachyphylaxisRat peritoneal mast cells and macrophagesIn vitroNot stated in the retrieved reportMakino 1987, Int Arch Allergy Appl Immunol, PMID 2433225
Raised the amount of nonsense-containing mRNA in treated cells and produced full-length, functional protein from nonsense alleles, combining decay inhibition with readthroughThree patient-derived human cell lines carrying nonsense mutations, plus a dedicated screening systemIn vitro3 cell linesGonzalez-Hilarion 2012, Orphanet J Rare Dis, PMID 22938201
No evidence of readthrough at detectable levels with amlexanox, ataluren, RTC13 or G418 in any of three cellular models of the Pygm p.R50X nonsense mutationTransfected HeLa cells, stable HEK293T lines, and skeletal muscle cultures from the McArdle knock-in mouseIn vitro3 model systemsTarraso 2020, Dis Model Mech, PMID 31848135
Amlexanox tablets were registered in Japan at 25 mg and 50 mg for bronchial asthma and allergic rhinitis, and both strengths are now discontinuedNo regulatory record supports this. PMDA's package-insert and approved-products search could not be queried programmatically, and no Japanese approval document, package insert or withdrawal notice was retrieved. The 25 mg and 50 mg strengths, the two indications and the discontinued status all rest on a single commercial Japanese prescription-drug dictionary, a secondary source. The one primary corroboration located is partial: ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01975935 posts the intervention as 25 mg tablets under the Japanese trade name, which confirms the strength and the product's existence but says nothing about registration, indications or market status. Searches of PubMed for Japanese regulatory or post-marketing surveillance reports returned pharmacology and small clinical studies only. A named marketing company circulates alongside these claims in secondary sources; no primary record for that attribution was found, and it is not asserted anywhere in this record.No source found
Amlexanox increases energy expenditure, thermogenesis and calorie burning in peopleThe claim is transposed from mouse work. A PubMed search combining amlexanox with energy expenditure, calorimetry and resting metabolic rate, restricted to human studies, returned nine records, none of which measured energy expenditure in people; the set is rodent, cell and medicinal-chemistry work plus the 2017 trial itself. The trial publication infers increased expenditure from adipose tissue gene expression in a responder subgroup, and no indirect calorimetry, doubly labelled water or metabolic-chamber measurement in the participants was located. What circulates as a human finding is an unmeasured hypothesis carried over from mice.No source found
Amlexanox produces weight loss in peopleThe registry-posted result for NCT01975935 gives body weight 100.95 to 100.81 kg on drug and 100.24 to 97.94 kg on placebo over 12 weeks, p = 0.51, and the publication states that no statistical difference in weight loss was observed between arms. The claim nevertheless circulates on aggregator pages, and appears in compressed form in the abstract of the 2021 Journal of Clinical Investigation paper from the originating laboratory, which describes the inhibitor as producing weight loss in obese animals and patients. Searched PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov for any other human weight outcome: the only other human record is NCT01842282, an uncontrolled open-label study terminated for lack of funding, which enrolled seven and posted its outcomes on a denominator of six, giving minus 2.2 kg with no comparator alongside a posted primary outcome of 0 change in glycated haemoglobin.No source found
Amlexanox showed no carcinogenic effects and no significant effect on reproductive activity in rats at 300 mg/kg/dayThis figure traces to a 2020 Yale Journal of Biology and Medicine review, which cites it to Khandwala 1997 part I. That paper is a clinical efficacy report on 1,335 human subjects and contains no animal toxicology; its abstract was checked directly. The approved FDA label states something different and without a mg/kg figure: not carcinogenic when given orally to rats for two years and mice for 18 months, negative Ames and mouse micronucleus tests, and no significant effect on fertility or general reproductive performance at up to two hundred times the projected human daily dose on a mg/m2 basis. No primary toxicology report containing 300 mg/kg/day was located in PubMed or in the Drugs@FDA review documents.No source found
Amlexanox has been an approved medicine in Japan since 1987The 1987 date traces through the same 2020 review to a drug-repurposing patent column. No Japanese regulatory approval document giving that date was retrieved, and PMDA's package-insert search could not be queried programmatically. The compound clearly existed in Japan by the mid-1980s, since a synthesis of its metabolites was published in 1985 and Japanese pharmacology and ophthalmic clinical reports appear from 1987 to 1989, but that is consistent with a 1987 approval without evidencing one. Separately, the secondary sources repeating the 1987 date do not mention that a Japanese prescription-drug reference now lists both tablet strengths as discontinued lines.No source found
Amlexanox is available as 5 mg tablets, or as a 40 mg capsuleNeither form corresponds to an approved product. Drugs@FDA lists two amlexanox products, a 5 percent dental paste and a 2 mg patch, both discontinued; the National Drug Code directory returns only bulk-substance entries; DailyMed returns no current labelling. Japanese tablets were registered at 25 mg and 50 mg. The 5 mg figure appears to be a misreading of the label statement that a 100 mg application of 5 percent paste delivers 5 mg of drug. No source establishing a 40 mg capsule product was located in any regulatory database searched.No source found
Amlexanox powder is stable for two years, and stock solutions for three to six months at minus 20 degrees CelsiusThese figures come from research-chemical catalogue copy and the catalogues disagree with each other: one states three months for DMSO stock at minus 20, another six months, with two years quoted for the solid. No stability study, forced-degradation profile or HPLC purity time course for amlexanox was located in PubMed, and the approved label's only storage statement concerns the finished paste at controlled room temperature, 15 to 30 degrees Celsius. The catalogue windows rest on nothing published.No source found
A 0.5 percent amlexanox oral rinse was shown to reduce radiation-associated oral mucositisA 58-participant randomised vehicle-controlled trial of exactly this question, NCT01083875, completed in June 2001. The registry entry carries no posted results. PubMed searches combining amlexanox with mucositis, radiotherapy and oral rinse returned no publication reporting it. Twenty-five years after completion the outcome of that trial is not in the public record in either place it would normally appear.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

What the aphthous-ulcer trials measured

Khandwala and colleagues reported four vehicle-controlled, randomised, double-blind, parallel-group, multicentre studies in 1997, involving 1,335 subjects who had one to three aphthous ulcers less than 48 hours old at enrolment. Pastes were applied four times daily until healing or the end of the study. The primary determinant was the percentage of subjects with complete healing and complete resolution of ulcer pain. The authors recorded that the vehicle itself had marginal beneficial effects, as a covering material would, and that its statistical separation from no treatment was inconsistent. An earlier double-blind study by Greer in 1993 applied paste to 32 patients over three days and found group differences significant on every criterion except pain reduction.

The approved label states the pooled figures. Against no treatment, across the two studies with such an arm, the median time to complete healing fell by 1.6 days and the median time to complete pain relief by 1.3 days; after three days of treatment 21 percent versus 8 percent had completely healed ulcers and 44 percent versus 20 percent had complete pain resolution. Against vehicle, across three studies, both medians fell by 0.7 days, and after four days 37 percent versus 27 percent had healed and 60 percent versus 49 percent had pain resolution. Those studies evaluated 464 patients on amlexanox paste, 465 on placebo paste and 195 on no treatment. The same label records that the paste was not shown to be an analgesic in its own right, and that effectiveness in immunocompromised people was not assessed.

Pharmacokinetics were characterised for the topical product only. After a single 100 mg application of the paste, which contains 5 mg of amlexanox, maximum serum concentrations of roughly 120 ng/ml were observed at 2.4 hours, the elimination half-life was 3.5 plus or minus 1.1 hours in healthy individuals, and approximately 17 percent of the dose was recovered in urine as unchanged drug, a hydroxylated metabolite and their conjugates. Most systemic absorption was attributed to the gastrointestinal tract rather than to the ulcer bed. Steady state was reached within a week of four-times-daily application, with no accumulation over four weeks. Carcinogenicity studies were negative over two years in rats and 18 months in mice, and Ames and mouse micronucleus tests were negative.

Comparative work since has been small. Jijin and colleagues compared 50 participants with minor aphthous ulcers allocated to 5 percent amlexanox paste or low-level laser therapy in 2016 and found no difference in pain between groups on the first and seventh days, with both groups improving; the report does not describe a randomisation method, and the PubMed record carries the publication types Clinical Trial and Comparative Study without a randomised-controlled-trial tag. A 2025 systematic review and meta-analysis of 25 randomised trials and 1,474 participants placed amlexanox among the agents with efficacy comparable to 0.1 percent triamcinolone acetonide. The same analysis reported that triamcinolone showed no significant advantage over placebo for pain reduction or healing time, so the comparator anchoring that comparison is itself weakly separated from control.

The kinase result that reopened the file

Reilly and colleagues reported in Nature Medicine in 2013 that amlexanox inhibits TBK1 and IKK-epsilon with half-maximal inhibitory concentrations of approximately 1 to 2 micromolar, competitively with respect to ATP, without effect on IKK-alpha or IKK-beta and without hits across a broad kinase panel at those concentrations. Micromolar is the operative word. Beyett and colleagues later solved crystal structures of TBK1 with amlexanox and a series of analogues, and reported that installing a tetrazole bioisostere of the carboxylic acid improved potency to 200 nanomolar toward IKK-epsilon and 400 nanomolar toward TBK1, while no analogue produced a greater response than amlexanox in adipocytes.

The same 2013 paper reported rodent results across three arms, all by daily oral gavage. In a prevention arm run alongside 12 weeks of high-fat feeding, male C57BL/6 mice given 25 or 100 mg per kg held weights equivalent to control-diet mice, with five animals per group; that arm is also where the authors placed the glucose finding, an approximate 30 to 40 percent reduction in the area under the curve on glucose tolerance testing. In a separate treatment arm begun after 12 weeks of high-fat diet, the authors described roughly 10 grams of weight loss after four weeks at 25 mg per kg, with seven animals per group. A third arm gavaged ob/ob mice on normal chow at 100 mg per kg and reported 7 to 8 grams over the same period, with eight per group.

Mechanism was refined afterwards by the same laboratory. A 2015 Nature Communications paper attributed the acute glucose effect to raised cAMP in subcutaneous fat, adipocyte secretion of IL-6, and hepatic STAT3 phosphorylation suppressing gluconeogenic gene expression. A 2021 Journal of Clinical Investigation paper reported that the long-term weight effect in mice required FGF21 and proceeded through beiging of white adipose tissue, with adipocyte-derived FGF21 acting locally. Notably, that paper's abstract describes the inhibitor as producing weight loss in obese animals and patients, which is not what the human trial recorded; the next section sets out the trial as posted.

The 42-patient trial, and what it did not show

ClinicalTrials.gov holds three amlexanox studies. NCT01842282 was an open-label study at the University of Michigan, terminated when funding ran out. Seven participants were enrolled, and all three posted outcome measures carry a denominator of six: change in glycated haemoglobin at 12 weeks, posted as 0; change in hepatic steatosis by magnetic resonance imaging, minus 2.2 percentage points; and change in weight, minus 2.2 kg. There was no control group. NCT01975935 was the randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled study reported by Oral and colleagues in Cell Metabolism in 2017: 42 adults with type 2 diabetes, body mass index between 27 and 45, and non-alcoholic fatty liver disease. Twenty of 21 on drug and 18 of 21 on placebo completed. Registry-posted mean baseline age was 55.81 years on amlexanox and 59.24 on placebo.

Registry-posted results give the arm means. Glycated haemoglobin moved from 7.68 to 7.44 percent on amlexanox and from 7.77 to 7.76 percent on placebo, with a two-sided t-test p value of 0.05. Body weight moved from 100.95 to 100.81 kg on amlexanox and from 100.24 to 97.94 kg on placebo, p equals 0.51. Hepatic fat by magnetic resonance imaging, measured in the 20 participants who were scanned, moved from 18.0 to 16.22 percent on amlexanox and from 12.82 to 12.88 percent on placebo, p equals 0.38. On weight, the placebo arm fell further than the drug arm.

Publication and registry do not state the same primary figure. The paper describes glycated haemoglobin as reduced close to 0.5 percent more on average in the drug-treated group than placebo; the registry-posted arm means imply a difference in change of about 0.23 percentage points. Both records describe one trial of 42 people, and the analysis behind the published figure is not posted. The paper also reports a responder analysis: seven participants in the treatment arm reached a reduction of at least 0.5 percent against one on placebo, p equals 0.045, and reductions in hepatic fat were confined to that subgroup, with a difference in percent total and truncal body fat between responders and non-responders at p equals 0.06. Those are post hoc comparisons inside a trial of 42.

Publication and registry also differ on the regimen and on who was enrolled. The paper states 50 mg of amlexanox three times daily across twelve weeks. The registry's posted arm description instead records a lower dose for the first two weeks before the higher one, which the publication does not mention. The paper's Methods give an age criterion of 18 to 60 years; the registry posts eligibility as 18 or over with no upper limit, and its own posted baseline table places seven of the 42 participants at 65 or over. Both records are set down here, and no attempt is made to reconcile either disagreement into a single figure.

Rash accounted for most of the adverse-event discussion, and the paper draws on two studies for it. In the earlier open-label study, two of six patients developed a pruritic, erythematous generalised rash; both were biopsied and showed perivascular inflammation. In the 42-patient trial the paper reports seven cases of rash, one of which reached the severity seen in those two earlier patients. The registry posts skin rash as 4 of 21 on amlexanox and 3 of 21 on placebo, one serious adverse event in each arm and no deaths; the one non-ST-elevation myocardial infarction occurred in the placebo arm at week 11. Energy expenditure was not measured by calorimetry in these participants. The third registered study, a 58-participant randomised comparison of a 0.5 percent oral rinse against vehicle for radiation-associated oral mucositis, completed in June 2001 with no posted results and no publication retrievable in PubMed.

A second literature: nonsense-mutation readthrough

Gonzalez-Hilarion and colleagues reported in 2012 that amlexanox, recovered from a screen for inhibitors of nonsense-mediated mRNA decay, both raised the amount of nonsense-containing mRNA in treated cells and produced full-length protein from three patient-derived cell lines carrying nonsense mutations, and that the proteins were functional. The dual activity, decay inhibition plus readthrough, is what distinguishes this strand from aminoglycoside readthrough work.

Replication has been in cells rather than in people. Banning and colleagues reported in 2018 that amlexanox produced full-length aspartylglucosaminidase polypeptide and increased enzyme activity from a Trp168X allele in aspartylglucosaminuria, with a synergistic effect in compound heterozygous cells. Similar cell-level reports followed for COL7A1 in recessive dystrophic epidermolysis bullosa (Atanasova 2017, PMID 28549954), for BBS2 and ALMS1 in ciliopathies (Eintracht 2021, PMID 34365092), for PAX6 in aniridia models (Lima Cunha 2023, PMID 37483273), for GDAP1 in Charcot-Marie-Tooth neuronal cultures (Benslimane 2023, PMID 37513945), and in a murine cystic fibrosis model where readthrough and decay inhibition were combined (McHugh 2020, PMID 33396210).

Negative results are part of the same record. Tarraso and colleagues tested amlexanox, ataluren, RTC13 and G418 across three cellular models of the Pygm p.R50X mutation in McArdle disease in 2020 and found no evidence of readthrough at detectable levels in any model. Dabrowski and colleagues tested non-aminoglycosides including amlexanox against six premature termination codons found in primary ciliary dyskinesia patients in 2021, reported readthrough at lower efficiency than aminoglycosides, and located the advantage in tolerability. No human trial of amlexanox for any nonsense-mutation disorder is registered.

Older mechanisms, and a recent complication

Before the kinase work, the mechanism on file was mast cell mediator release. Makino and colleagues reported in 1987 that amlexanox at 10 to the minus 8 through 10 to the minus 6 molar roughly doubled cAMP content in rat peritoneal mast cells, that combination with isoproterenol raised it 15-fold to 88-fold depending on concentration, and that cAMP phosphodiesterase was inhibited with a half-maximal concentration of 1.4 times 10 to the minus 5 molar, about half the activity of IBMX. Pretreatment produced tachyphylaxis. The approved label states plainly that the mechanism by which the paste accelerates ulcer healing is unknown.

Separate binding work identified S100 proteins as targets. Shishibori and colleagues used three structurally unrelated anti-allergic drugs as affinity-chromatography probes in 1999 and found that native and recombinant S100A12 and recombinant S100A13 bound immobilised amlexanox. Rani and colleagues published the solution structure of the S100A13-amlexanox complex in 2010, reporting that the drug binds at the S100A13-FGF1 interface and prevents assembly of the complex through which acidic fibroblast growth factor leaves the cell by the non-classical route.

Human data outside dentistry are thin and old. Imokawa and colleagues randomised 15 asthmatic patients, eight with aspirin-induced asthma and seven without, to oral amlexanox or lactose placebo in 1993 and reported that FEV1 improved significantly after amlexanox in the aspirin-induced group only. A 2026 mouse study complicates the picture. Mungo and colleagues treated animals with established plaques and hepatic steatosis; plaque progression was not halted, and hepatic steatosis improved substantially in male mice while female mice showed worsened lipid accumulation. A compound with reported activity at kinases, phosphodiesterase and S100 proteins, all at micromolar concentrations, leaves open which target any given whole-animal result belongs to.

What is not known

The systemic form has never been characterised in people to modern standards. Published human pharmacokinetics cover the topical paste only, at a 5 mg delivered dose; no dose-ranging, absorption, distribution or steady-state study of the oral tablet is retrievable in English, and the only recent pharmacokinetic work is a 2022 rat assay method. The metabolic evidence in people rests on a single 12-week trial of 42 participants at one centre, never replicated, with its responder analysis performed after the fact in a group of seven, and with publication and registry disagreeing on the primary figure, the regimen and the ages of those enrolled. Energy expenditure, the mechanism the rodent literature points to, was never measured directly in a person. Nothing is established about administration beyond 12 weeks, or about effects in people without diabetes or fatty liver. Rash occurred in both arms of that trial, posted to the registry as 4 of 21 on amlexanox and 3 of 21 on placebo, a split too small and too close to separate drug from background. The readthrough literature is entirely cellular, includes one clear null in three McArdle models, and has produced no registered trial. The 2026 report that hepatic steatosis improved in male mice while worsening in female mice has no human counterpart, since the 2017 trial did not report outcomes by sex. Finally, a 58-participant oral-mucositis trial completed in 2001 has neither posted results nor a publication.

Questions

Is amlexanox an approved drug?
It was approved, and the approved products are no longer marketed. Drugs@FDA lists a 5 percent dental paste approved in December 1996 and a 2 mg patch approved in September 2004, both with marketing status Discontinued, and DailyMed returns no current labelling. A tablet form was registered separately in Japan at 25 mg and 50 mg; that registration and its reported discontinuation could not be confirmed against a regulatory record, and both are logged in the untraced list on this page. The oral tablet used in the diabetes trials was never approved in the United States.
Did the human diabetes trial show weight loss?
No. In the 42-participant randomised trial, registry-posted body weight went from 100.95 to 100.81 kg on amlexanox and from 100.24 to 97.94 kg on placebo over 12 weeks, p equals 0.51, and the publication states that no statistical difference in weight loss was observed between the groups. The weight-loss finding belongs to the mouse literature, where roughly 10 grams was reported after four weeks of gavage at 25 mg per kg in diet-induced obese mice, and 7 to 8 grams at 100 mg per kg in ob/ob mice.
Are any trials of amlexanox running now?
None is running. A ClinicalTrials.gov term query for amlexanox returns five records, of which three are amlexanox studies: the terminated seven-participant open-label metabolic study, the completed 42-participant placebo-controlled trial, and a 58-participant oral-mucositis rinse study that completed in 2001. The other two match on free text only and carry no amlexanox intervention. No amlexanox trial has been registered since 2013; the later 2014 date sometimes quoted is a study start date, not a registration.
Has any paper cited here been retracted or flagged?
No. PubMed publication types and correction links were checked on every PMID cited on this page, including the 2013 Nature Medicine paper, the 2017 Cell Metabolism trial, both 1997 aphthous-ulcer papers and the whole readthrough literature. None carries a Retracted Publication type, an expression of concern, or an erratum.
How potent an inhibitor is it?
It is a micromolar inhibitor. The 2013 paper reported half-maximal inhibition of TBK1 and IKK-epsilon at approximately 1 to 2 micromolar, ATP-competitive, without effect on IKK-alpha or IKK-beta. A 2018 medicinal-chemistry effort improved a tetrazole analogue to 200 and 400 nanomolar against the two kinases, but reported that no analogue outperformed amlexanox in adipocytes.

References

  1. PubChem Compound Summary CID 2161, Amlexanox. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Formula C16H14N2O4, MW 298.29, CAS 68302-57-8, InChIKey SGRYPYWGNKJSDL-UHFFFAOYSA-N, IUPAC name 2-amino-5-oxo-7-propan-2-ylchromeno[2,3-b]pyridine-3-carboxylic acid. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. FDA Global Substance Registration System substance record, AMLEXANOX, UNII BRL1C2459K. CAS 68302-57-8, ChEMBL CHEMBL1096, DrugBank DB01025, USAN HH-19, INN 5950, PubChem 2161, ATC A01AD07 and R03DX01. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  3. Drugs@FDA application records retrieved via the openFDA drugsfda endpoint by application number: NDA 020511 (APHTHASOL, amlexanox paste 5%, ORIG approved 17 December 1996, Type 1 New Molecular Entity, labelling supplement 11 June 2002, marketing status Discontinued) and NDA 021727 (amlexanox patch 2 mg, ORIG approved 29 September 2004, Type 3 New Dosage Form, marketing status Discontinued). View on api.fda.gov
  4. Aphthasol (amlexanox oral paste) approved labelling, FDA NDA 020511, labelling supplement approved 11 June 2002. Source of the pooled healing and pain figures, the pharmacokinetic values, and the carcinogenicity, mutagenicity and fertility statements quoted here. View on www.accessdata.fda.gov
  5. Khandwala A, Van Inwegen RG, Alfano MC. 5% amlexanox oral paste, a new treatment for recurrent minor aphthous ulcers: I. Clinical demonstration of acceleration of healing and resolution of pain. Oral Surg Oral Med Oral Pathol Oral Radiol Endod. 1997;83(2):222-30. PMID 9117754. Companion paper: Khandwala A, Van Inwegen RG, Charney MR, Alfano MC. II. Pharmacokinetics and demonstration of clinical safety. Same issue, 231-8. PMID 9117755 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Greer RO Jr, Lindenmuth JE, Juarez T, Khandwala A. A double-blind study of topically applied 5% amlexanox in the treatment of aphthous ulcers. J Oral Maxillofac Surg. 1993;51(3):243-8. PMID 8445464 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Jijin MJ, Rakaraddi M, et al. Low-level laser therapy versus 5% amlexanox: a comparison of treatment effects in a cohort of patients with minor aphthous ulcers. Oral Surg Oral Med Oral Pathol Oral Radiol. 2016;121(3):269-73. PMID 26868469. PubMed publication types: Clinical Trial, Comparative Study; no Randomized Controlled Trial type is assigned and the report describes no randomisation method. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Al-Zaghruri AS, Moaleem MMA, Alqutaibi AY, et al. Effectiveness of 0.1% triamcinolone acetonide compared with those of other therapies for minor recurrent aphthous stomatitis: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. BMC Oral Health. 2025;26(1). PMID 41408255 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Reilly SM, et al. An inhibitor of the protein kinases TBK1 and IKK-epsilon improves obesity-related metabolic dysfunctions in mice. Nat Med. 2013;19(3):313-21. PMID 23396211. Full text consulted at PMC3594079 for the per-arm doses and group sizes quoted here. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Oral EA, et al. Inhibition of IKK-epsilon and TBK1 improves glucose control in a subset of patients with type 2 diabetes. Cell Metab. 2017;26(1):157-170.e7. PMID 28683283. Full text consulted at PMC5663294. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01975935, Efficacy of Amlexanox vs. Placebo in Type 2 Diabetic Patients. Phase 2, 42 enrolled, completed 2017, results posted; source of the arm means, p values, baseline age table and adverse-event counts quoted here. See also NCT01842282 (terminated, 7 enrolled, outcomes posted on a denominator of 6) and NCT01083875 (oral mucositis rinse, 58 enrolled, completed June 2001, no results posted). View on clinicaltrials.gov
  12. Reilly SM, et al. A subcutaneous adipose tissue-liver signalling axis controls hepatic gluconeogenesis. Nat Commun. 2015;6:6047. PMID 25581158 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Reilly SM, et al. FGF21 is required for the metabolic benefits of IKK-epsilon/TBK1 inhibition. J Clin Invest. 2021;131(10):e145546. PMID 33822771. The conflict-of-interest statement records patents on amlexanox and deuterated amlexanox held by the senior author. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Beyett TS, et al. Carboxylic acid derivatives of amlexanox display enhanced potency toward TBK1 and IKK-epsilon and reveal mechanisms for selective inhibition. Mol Pharmacol. 2018;94(4):1210-1219. PMID 30082428 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Gonzalez-Hilarion S, et al. Rescue of nonsense mutations by amlexanox in human cells. Orphanet J Rare Dis. 2012;7:58. PMID 22938201 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. Tarraso G, et al. Absence of p.R50X Pygm read-through in McArdle disease cellular models. Dis Model Mech. 2020;13(1):dmm043281. PMID 31848135. See also Dabrowski M, et al. Properties of non-aminoglycoside compounds used to stimulate translational readthrough of PTC mutations in primary ciliary dyskinesia. Int J Mol Sci. 2021;22(9):4923. PMID 34066907 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. Cell-level readthrough replications cited in section five. Banning A, et al. Biochim Biophys Acta Mol Basis Dis. 2018;1864(3):668-675, PMID 29247835 (aspartylglucosaminuria); Atanasova VS, et al. J Invest Dermatol. 2017;137(9):1842-1849, PMID 28549954 (COL7A1, recessive dystrophic epidermolysis bullosa); Eintracht J, et al. EBioMedicine. 2021;70:103515, PMID 34365092 (BBS2 and ALMS1 ciliopathies); Lima Cunha D, et al. Mol Ther Nucleic Acids. 2023;33:240-253, PMID 37483273 (PAX6, aniridia); Benslimane N, et al. Pharmaceuticals (Basel). 2023;16(7), PMID 37513945 (GDAP1, Charcot-Marie-Tooth); McHugh DR, et al. Int J Mol Sci. 2020;22(1), PMID 33396210 (murine cystic fibrosis). View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. Makino H, et al. Mechanism of action of an antiallergic agent, amlexanox (AA-673), in inhibiting histamine release from mast cells. Int Arch Allergy Appl Immunol. 1987;82(1):66-71. PMID 2433225. See also Shishibori T, et al. Biochem J. 1999;338:583-9, PMID 10051426; Rani SG, et al. Biochemistry. 2010;49(11):2585-92, PMID 20178375; Imokawa S, et al. Nihon Kyobu Shikkan Gakkai Zasshi 1993, PMID 8230896; and Mungo E, et al. Sex-specific differences of amlexanox in a mouse model for atherosclerosis. Mol Metab. 2026;111:102426, PMID 42480839. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.