Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

ITPP (Myo-Inositol Trispyrophosphate)

ITPP is a synthetic cage of three pyrophosphate bridges closed across the myo-inositol ring, indexed in PubChem as CID 10439981. In whole blood in vitro, oxygen-haemoglobin dissociation curves shifted towards higher oxygen partial pressures for intracellular as well as free haemoglobin (Fylaktakidou 2005, PMID 15745806); one phase Ib trial has given it to 28 people with advanced cancer. That trial set a maximum tolerated dose and measured pharmacokinetics; it did not measure oxygen delivery, and its authors say so. Every endurance figure in circulation is a mouse figure.

Strongest evidence: Human dataOne published phase Ib dose-escalation trial in 28 cancer patients; no controlled trial anywhere and no approval in any jurisdiction 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Synthetic cyclic inositol pyrophosphate; membrane-permeant allosteric effector of haemoglobin
CAS number
802590-64-3
PubChem CID
10439981
Molecular formula
C6H12O21P6
Molecular weight
605.99 g/mol
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
OXY111A (OXY-111A); myo-inositol 1,6:2,3:4,5 tripyrophosphate; inositol trispyrophosphate; UNII 116EYZ0PPX; ChEMBL1182171; InChIKey HEDKSUBRULAYNO-UHFFFAOYSA-N

What the molecule is

The compound travels under two names, and they denote one molecule: OXY111A, the development code used throughout the clinical literature, and myo-inositol trispyrophosphate. A single PubChem record covers both, carrying OXY111A in its synonym list: CID 10439981, molecular formula C6H12O21P6, molecular weight 605.99, InChIKey HEDKSUBRULAYNO-UHFFFAOYSA-N. The FDA Global Substance Registration System files the same substance as UNII 116EYZ0PPX against CAS 802590-64-3, and ChEMBL1182171 carries the identical InChIKey. Structurally it is the myo-inositol ring with three pyrophosphate bridges closed across adjacent hydroxyl pairs. The NCATS regulatory aggregator, keyed to that same UNII, lists no approval year and no regulatory designation of any kind.

Three CAS numbers circulate under this name on catalogue and aggregator pages, and they are not interchangeable. Number 802590-64-3 is the free acid and the one the FDA registry carries. Number 23103-35-7 resolves to PubChem CID 10439980, the hexasodium salt of the cyclic form, formula C6H6Na6O21P6 and molecular weight 737.88. Number 623552-11-4 resolves to CID 71771705, formula C6H12Na6O24P6 and molecular weight 791.93, a hexasodium record whose connectivity is drawn open rather than cyclic and which differs from the cyclic salt by three molecules of water. A page pairing the weight 605.99 with the registry number 623552-11-4 has combined two records that PubChem holds separately.

Selectivity for the red cell is the property that separates this molecule from its parent. Inositol hexakisphosphate binds haemoglobin but does not cross the erythrocyte membrane. Duarte and colleagues reported in 2010 that entry of the trispyrophosphate was inhibited by DIDS and by NAP-taurine, implicating band 3, the erythrocyte anion exchanger; the report does not state the species of the red cells used. Ion chromatography put the maximum intracellular concentration at 5.5 millimolar, falling to the detection limit in NAP-taurine-treated cells, and the dissociation constant for binding to red cell ghosts at 1.72 x 10-5 molar. Band 3-mediated uptake is what makes the distribution red-cell-directed rather than general, and that characterisation rests on one paper from the originating laboratory.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Maximum tolerated dose established at 12,390 mg/m2 per infusion; the dose-limiting toxicity was a grade IV hypercalcaemia of free ionised calcium in the eighth cohort at 14,500 mg/m2. Of 56 adverse events, 32 were judged at least possibly related; hypercalcaemia in 19 of 28 patients (17 grade I), hypomagnesaemia in 5, hypophosphataemia in 4, grade I blood-pressure elevation in 3; investigators attributed the hypercalcaemia to the calcium chloride admixed to the infusionAdults with advanced hepatopancreatobiliary malignancy or colorectal liver metastases; 18 male, 10 female, median age 65, 25 of 28 heavily pretreatedIntravenous, nine 8-hour infusions over three weeks, eight dose levels 1,866-14,500 mg/m228Schneider 2021, Nat Commun, PMID 34155211
Peak plasma concentration rose with dose from 47.2 to 439.2 mg/L, reached at 6 h in every cohort; terminal half-life 1.3-3.3 h with no dose relationship; pre-infusion concentration below detection in every cohortSame 28-patient phase Ib cohortIntravenous, 8-hour infusion28Schneider 2021, Nat Commun, PMID 34155211
Uptake was inhibited by DIDS and by NAP-taurine, implicating the band 3 anion exchanger; maximum intracellular concentration 5.5 x 10-3 molar by ion chromatography, falling to the limit of detection in NAP-taurine-treated cells; dissociation constant for binding to red cell ghosts 1.72 x 10-5 molarRed blood cells and red cell ghosts; the report does not state the speciesIn vitroNot stated in the retrieved reportDuarte 2010, Chembiochem, PMID 21086482
Rising concentration and falling pH each raised P50 (p < 0.0001 for both); the rise was present at pH 7.4 and pH 6.8 and absent at pH 7.6, so the Bohr effect was conservedRed blood cells; the report does not state the speciesIn vitro, 10 mL samples incubated at 37 degrees for 1 h across 0-240 mMMeasurements in triplicate; number of blood samples not stated in the retrieved reportEvans 2021, Blood Cells Mol Dis, PMID 33242840
Dose-related rise in P50 to a maximum increase of 31%, and in maximal exercise capacity to a maximum increase of 57 +/- 13% (P = 0.002) in normal mice and 63 +/- 7% (P = 0.005) in heart-failure mice; administration in drinking water raised P50, and raised maximal exercise capacity by 34 +/- 10% (P < 0.002), in normal and failing mice, with no figure given for the oral P50 change; no effect on myocardial contractility in isolated myocytes or on arterial blood pressure in vivoNormal mice, and transgenic mice with cardiac-specific Gq-alpha overexpression; strain and group sizes not stated in the retrieved reportIntraperitoneal 0.5-3 g/kg, and oral (drinking water)Not stated in the retrieved reportBiolo 2009, Proc Natl Acad Sci USA, PMID 19204295
P50 shifted by 30% following injection; HIF-1 alpha activity decreased, VEGF was down-regulated and caspase-3 induced; microCT follow-up showed growth inhibition with long-term survival in almost all treated animals; haematological parameters unchangedRats, orthotopic syngeneic hepatocellular carcinomaWeekly intravenousNot stated in the retrieved reportAprahamian 2011, Chembiochem, PMID 21370375
Compared with FOLFOX alone, FOLFOX plus ITPP extended survival by more than 140% whether given overlapping or sequentially, while FOLFOX plus Vegf antibody extended it by less than 30%. Separately, the reductions in tumour load and in the hypoxic response and the improved survival seen with ITPP monotherapy were lost when mice were pretreated with a Hif activatorMice, two syngeneic orthotopic colorectal liver metastasis modelsNot specified in the retrieved reportNot stated in the retrieved reportLimani 2016, Clin Cancer Res, PMID 27489288
Right ventricular pO2 was 32 +/- 5 mmHg in controls and fell to 18 +/- 9 mmHg in pulmonary hypertension; acute administration raised it to 26 +/- 5 mmHg without changing left ventricular pO2, and had no effect on pO2 in control animalsMale Wistar rats, monocrotaline-induced pulmonary hypertension; 44 animals used in the study overallSingle intraperitoneal dose, 1.5 g/kg body weight5 per group in the acute-dosing armOkninska 2021, Sci Rep, PMID 34504231
Oxygenation increased in all six tumour models by EPR oximetry; 2 g/kg once daily for two days produced reoxygenation lasting at least four days; combining with radiotherapy gave no improvement in rhabdomyosarcoma and a split result in 9L-glioma, some tumours cured and others notSix rat and mouse tumour models, including 9L-glioma and rhabdomyosarcomaIntraperitoneal, 0.5-4 g/kg3-6 per groupTran 2019, J Cell Mol Med, PMID 30575283
Radiation alone significantly prolonged survival; ITPP alone did not; in combination ITPP appeared to reduce the effectiveness of radiationC57Bl/6 mice, intracranial syngeneic GL261 glioblastomaNot specified in the retrieved reportNot stated in the retrieved reportIyengar and Schwartz 2017, Anticancer Res, PMID 28314273
No prolonged survival in treated animals, and the route of administration did not affect outcomeFischer 344 rats, RG2 glioblastoma implanted intracranially or subcutaneouslyIntraperitoneal, intravenous, or both routes combinedNot stated in the retrieved reportFoernvik 2016, Anticancer Res, PMID 27793896
Plasma concentration peaked 5 minutes after administration and remained detectable to 6 hours; urine concentration peaked at 1.5 hours and remained positive to 24 hoursOne Standardbred mareIntravenous, 200 mg1Lam 2014, Drug Test Anal, PMID 23733541
ITPP is named on the World Anti-Doping Agency Prohibited List.Downloaded the 2026 Prohibited List (in force 1 January 2026) and searched the full extracted text for 'inositol', 'ITPP' and 'myo-': zero matches. Section M1.2 prohibits artificially enhancing the uptake, transport or delivery of oxygen and names perfluorochemicals, efaproxiral (RSR13), voxelotor and modified haemoglobin products, introduced with the phrase 'including, but not limited to'. The category is non-exhaustive and on its face covers a haemoglobin oxygen-affinity modifier, but the substance itself is not named in the document. Statements that it appears on the List, or was added to it in a particular year, could not be matched to the List text.No source found
A phase I safety study in healthy volunteers has been completed.The claim appears twice in the literature and neither appearance is a study. The 2016 trial protocol paper (PMID 27756258) states verbatim: 'According to available phase I data in healthy volunteers (unpublished data obtained from Normoxys)', and uses it to set cohort 1 at about 5,600 mg/m2 weekly, i.e. 1,866 mg/m2 thrice weekly; the same sentence-block supplies the NOAEL figures, 15,000 mg/m2 in rats once weekly for five weeks and 43,750 mg/m2 in minipigs once weekly. The 2021 trial report (PMID 34155211) repeats it independently in its introduction: no apparent toxicities were noted in either animals or a phase 1a study of healthy volunteers. Searched ClinicalTrials.gov on the intervention terms ITPP, OXY111A, inositol trispyrophosphate and myo-inositol trispyrophosphate; only NCT02528526 was returned, and that is the cancer trial. The EU Clinical Trials Register and ISRCTN returned zero records for all four terms. A PubMed search for the compound name with 'healthy' returned two records, both animal studies. No healthy-volunteer study is registered or published.No source found
ITPP is currently in phase 2 clinical trials in humans with various tumours.The claim has two sources, and the stronger one is primary. A 2022 review in Biomedicine and Pharmacotherapy (PMID 35988421) asserts it; the trial report itself (PMID 34155211) closes its discussion with 'Efforts for a phase 2 dose-extension are currently ongoing', so the assertion traces to the investigators, not only to a review. NCT02528526 is registered as phase 1/2 and its protocol describes a planned extension arm, but the registry status has read UNKNOWN since a last update submitted 18 August 2015, no results have been posted, and the published report covers only the 28-patient phase Ib dose escalation. No separate phase 2 registration was found on ClinicalTrials.gov, the EU Clinical Trials Register or ISRCTN, re-verified as at August 2026.No source found
ITPP increases exercise capacity in humans by up to roughly 60 per cent.The figures are the mouse figures. Biolo 2009 (PMID 19204295) reported maximal increases of 57 +/- 13 per cent in normal mice and 63 +/- 7 per cent in Gq-alpha heart-failure mice by intraperitoneal administration. A PubMed search for the compound name combined with exercise, athlete, VO2 or endurance returned seven records: six doping-control assay development papers and Biolo 2009. No human exercise measurement of any kind was located, and the only human trial measured neither exercise capacity nor oxygen delivery.No source found
Specific human quantities and administration schedules circulate on forum and aggregator pages.Aggregator pages state a weekly quantity said to be used by athletes and a per-day figure said to suit rats. Neither figure is reproduced here. Neither traces to a primary source: PubMed returns no human dosing study of any kind, the only published human exposure is an eight-hour intravenous infusion in a cancer dose-escalation trial, and the quoted rat figure is several orders of magnitude below every dose in the published rodent literature, which runs from 0.5 to 4 g/kg.No source found
The effects of a single dose last up to a week.The nearest primary measurement is Tran and colleagues 2019 (PMID 30575283), which reported reoxygenation lasting at least four days after 2 g/kg given once daily for two days in rat tumour models: two doses rather than one, and four days rather than seven. Limani 2016 (PMID 27489288) reported that effects on the hypoxic response persisted for at least four weeks after treatment cessation in mice, which is a different measurement again, and Krzykawska-Serda 2023 (PMID 37167239) reported pO2 rises in mice that were either transient or sustained depending on schedule and tumour type. Searched PubMed for the compound name with 'week' and with 'duration' and retrieved one record, unrelated to duration of effect. The one-week figure matches nothing published.No source found
ITPP has low oral bioavailability, so sublingual administration is preferred.A PubMed search for the compound name combined with bioavailability, sublingual or oral administration returned one record: Biolo 2009 (PMID 19204295), which gave the compound to mice in drinking water and reported raised P50 and a 34 +/- 10 per cent rise in maximal exercise capacity, an oral route that worked in mice. No oral bioavailability percentage, no comparison of oral against sublingual delivery, and no human absorption study were located in PubChem, PubMed or general web search. Both halves of the claim are untraced.No source found
Reported side effects are limited to dry skin, and blood pressure is unaffected.The blood-pressure half traces to Biolo 2009, which reported no effect on arterial blood pressure in mice. The only human safety dataset reports otherwise: in the phase Ib trial, three patients with pre-existing hypertension developed grade I blood-pressure elevation judged at least possibly related, alongside 32 treatment-emergent toxicities across 28 patients and one grade IV dose-limiting event. A PubMed search for the compound name with 'skin' returned a single record, a tumour-vessel study with no dermatological finding. The dry-skin claim traces to nothing.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

What was measured in the cuvette

The founding experiment was a synthesis screen. Fylaktakidou, Lehn and colleagues prepared nine inositol tripyrophosphate salts in 2005 and measured their behaviour against free haemoglobin and against whole blood. Every compound bound free haemoglobin, and each crossed the red cell membrane to some degree; the oxygen-haemoglobin dissociation curves shifted towards higher oxygen partial pressures for free and for intracellular haemoglobin alike. No animal was involved. The report established that the chemistry does what its design intended in a cuvette, which is a narrower statement than the one usually attached to it further downstream.

Evans and colleagues tested in 2021 whether that shift survives the pH dependence haemoglobin already has. Ten-millilitre samples of red blood cells, whose species the report does not state, were incubated at 37 degrees for one hour across concentrations from zero to 240 millimolar, and oxygen affinity was measured in triplicate on a Clark electrode at pH 6.8, 7.4 and 7.6. Rising concentration and falling pH each raised P50, with p below 0.0001 for both. The effect appeared at pH 7.4 and at 6.8 and was absent at 7.6. Read as the authors read it, the Bohr effect was conserved: the compound added to the affinity drop already produced by tissue acidosis without altering affinity under conditions resembling the pulmonary microenvironment.

Koj and colleagues published a phosphorus-31 NMR study in 2025 that followed the 2,3-diphosphoglycerate resonances, whose positions report intracellular pH and oxygenation state, and described lowered red cell internal pH alongside increased oxygen release (PMID 39828634); that paper declares no competing interests while carrying affiliations to the company holding the patent and to the originating chemistry institute. Between a P50 shift in a cuvette and a reoxygenated tumour in a living animal there are several steps. The animal literature is where those steps were tested, and it is also where the results stop agreeing with one another.

The rodent oncology record, and the models where nothing happened

Aprahamian and colleagues reported in 2011 on an orthotopic syngeneic rat hepatocellular carcinoma model, comparing weekly intravenous administration against untreated animals and against doxorubicin. P50 shifted by 30 per cent, HIF-1 alpha activity fell, VEGF expression was down-regulated, caspase-3 was induced in tumour and surrounding liver, and microCT follow-up showed growth inhibition with long-term survival in almost all treated animals. Haematological parameters were unchanged. Kieda and colleagues in 2013 reported raised oxygen tension and blood flow in melanoma and breast models with selective activation of endothelial PTEN (PMID 23471434). Raykov and colleagues in 2014 reported restricted primary tumour growth and inhibited metastasis in rat and mouse pancreatic models (PMID 24214898). Limani and colleagues extended the work to colorectal liver metastasis in mice in 2016 and to metastatic colon cancer in 2017 (PMID 28742687).

Several models produced nothing, and one produced a worse outcome than radiation alone. Iyengar and Schwartz implanted syngeneic GL261 glioblastoma cells intracranially in C57Bl/6 mice and treated with hypofractionated radiation, with the compound, or with both. Radiation alone prolonged survival, the compound alone did not, and in combination it appeared to reduce the effectiveness of radiation. Foernvik and colleagues, indexed as Foernvik with the diaeresis restored in the reference list, implanted RG2 glioblastoma cells intracranially or subcutaneously in Fischer 344 rats and administered the compound intraperitoneally, intravenously, or by both routes together, reporting no prolonged survival by any route. Tran, Cao-Pham and colleagues found reoxygenation in all six tumour models they tested, no improvement when radiotherapy was combined with treatment in rhabdomyosarcoma, and a split result in 9L-glioma where some tumours were cured and others were not.

The radiotherapy-combination record is not uniformly null. Grgic and colleagues reported in 2021, from the same Zurich group that ran the human trial, that a high-dose bolus given before a single high-dose fraction of ionising radiation reduced tumour growth in multiple preclinical mouse models, immunocompromised and immunocompetent, while the compound alone did not affect growth; gamma-H2AX foci indicated increased initial and residual radiation-induced DNA damage within initially hypoxic regions, scheduling experiments showed the effect only when it preceded radiation, and irradiation-induced vascular damage was prevented by the combination. Tran and colleagues reported in 2025 that oxygen unloading measured by photoacoustic imaging in mouse CT26 and 4T1 tumours tracked with effector T cell frequencies, and that combination with immune checkpoint blockade improved tumour control and survival in both models (PMID 40594309).

A 2026 zebrafish xenograft study is the most recent entry and the most explicit about its own null result. Abou Khouzam and colleagues used pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma xenografts in wildtype and transgenic lines, including a double transgenic showing vessels and erythrocytes together, treating by immersion at 5 millimolar for three or four consecutive days. Within that window more xenografts had erythrocyte-positive tumour-associated vessels, with no measurable change in vessel architecture, and apoptosis rose in vivo without cytotoxicity in vitro. The authors could not detect major effects and attributed that to the absence of a hypoxic microenvironment in the model. Reoxygenation is the part of this file that replicates across laboratories and techniques, including by electron paramagnetic resonance oximetry in mice (PMID 37167239) and alongside immune-infiltrate changes (PMID 33624446). Downstream tumour control and radiosensitisation did not replicate: positive in some models (Grgic 2021, PMID 33587991) and null or adverse in others (Iyengar 2017, PMID 28314273; Foernvik 2016, PMID 27793896; Tran 2019 rhabdomyosarcoma, PMID 30575283).

The one trial in people

NCT02528526 ran at a single centre in Zurich and is the only clinical study of this compound published anywhere. Schneider, Linecker and colleagues reported it in 2021: an unrandomised, open-label, three-plus-three dose escalation in 28 patients with advanced hepatopancreatobiliary malignancy or colorectal liver metastases, recruited between 27 April 2015 and 6 July 2018. Eighteen were male and ten female, median age 65. Diagnoses were pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma in ten, colorectal liver metastases in eight, cholangiocarcinoma in seven and hepatocellular carcinoma in three. Twenty-five of the 28 had already received extensive prior anti-tumour therapy. Each patient was scheduled for nine eight-hour infusions across three weeks, over eight dose levels from 1,866 to 14,500 mg/m2 per infusion, followed by chemotherapy.

Toxicity concentrated in one finding. No dose-limiting event appeared in cohorts one through seven. In cohort eight, at 14,500 mg/m2, the third patient recorded a grade II hypercalcaemia of free ionised calcium and the fourth recorded grade II and grade IV events of the same kind, which set the maximum tolerated dose at the cohort seven level of 12,390 mg/m2. Of 56 adverse events recorded, 32 were judged at least possibly related to the compound. Hypercalcaemia occurred in 19 of 28 patients, 17 of them grade I. The investigators attributed it to the calcium chloride admixed to the infusion to offset the compound's calcium chelation, noting it began with infusion and normalised on cessation. Hypomagnesaemia occurred in five patients, hypophosphataemia in four, and grade I blood-pressure elevation in three.

Pharmacokinetics were measured across all eight cohorts. Peak plasma concentration rose with dose from 47.2 to 439.2 mg/L, reached at six hours from infusion start in every cohort, and fell rapidly afterwards. Half-life by terminal slope ranged from 1.3 to 3.3 hours and did not track dose. Concentration at the start of each infusion was below the detection threshold in every cohort, which the investigators read as clearance without systemic accumulation. Clearance, mean residence time and volume of distribution at steady state were similar across the dose range. These are the only human pharmacokinetic figures that exist for this molecule, and they describe an eight-hour intravenous infusion.

What the trial did not measure matters as much as what it did. Oxygen-haemoglobin dissociation was not assessed in any patient, and P50 does not appear in the report. Tumour hypoxia was not imaged and tumours were not routinely biopsied, because the responsible ethics committee precluded both, and the authors state that the trial is limited by the lack of direct evidence for anti-hypoxic action. Of 27 patients assessed for efficacy after monotherapy, follow-up imaging was unavailable for two; of the remaining 25, fourteen had stable disease by RECIST 1.1 and eleven progressed. After subsequent chemotherapy, 20 assessable patients returned 12 stable, six progressive and two partial responses. Median overall survival from the start of infusions was 206 days. The investigators raise the possibility themselves that the stabilisations reflect the natural course of disease in a small, heterogeneous, heavily pretreated group.

Exercise capacity, and the doping record

One paper supplies the entire performance literature. Biolo and colleagues reported in 2009 that intraperitoneal administration to normal mice at 0.5 to 3 g/kg produced a dose-related rise in P50, with a maximum increase of 31 per cent, and a dose-related rise in maximal exercise capacity, with a maximum increase of 57 plus or minus 13 per cent. In transgenic mice with severe heart failure from cardiac Gq-alpha overexpression the maximal increase was 63 plus or minus 7 per cent. Administration in drinking water raised P50, and raised maximal exercise capacity by 34 plus or minus 10 per cent, in normal and failing mice; no percentage is given for the oral P50 change. Myocardial contractility in isolated cardiac myocytes was unaffected, as was arterial blood pressure in vivo.

The cardiovascular strand extends past that single mouse study. Okninska and colleagues reported in 2021 on monocrotaline-induced pulmonary hypertension in male Wistar rats, measuring myocardial oxygen tension directly. Right ventricular pO2 was 32 plus or minus 5 mmHg in control animals and 18 plus or minus 9 mmHg in animals with pulmonary hypertension; a single intraperitoneal dose of 1.5 g per kilogram raised it to 26 plus or minus 5 mmHg, with five animals per group in that arm and 44 animals used across the study. Left ventricular pO2 did not change, and there was no effect on pO2 in control animals. The name is indexed as Okninska with the acute accent restored in the reference list.

No equivalent measurement exists in a person. A PubMed search combining the compound name with exercise, athlete, VO2 and endurance returned seven records in August 2026: six are doping-control assay development papers and the seventh is the 2009 mouse study. The phase Ib trial measured neither exercise capacity nor oxygen delivery, and its population was people with advanced cancer. Percentages quoted for human endurance gains are the mouse percentages, moved across species with no intervening experiment.

Detection chemistry developed faster than the clinical programme. Lam and colleagues gave 200 mg intravenously to a single Standardbred mare in 2014 and tracked elimination: plasma concentration peaked five minutes after administration and remained detectable for six hours, while urine peaked at 1.5 hours and stayed positive to 24 hours (PMID 23733541). Goergens and colleagues validated a hydrophilic-interaction Orbitrap assay for human urine the same year, with limits of detection of 15 ng/mL for screening and 1 ng/mL for confirmation, and reported stability in urine across the storage period mandated for doping-control laboratories. An ion-chromatography mass-spectrometry method covering this compound alongside ten bisphosphonates in equine plasma followed, published online in June 2024 and carried in the April 2025 issue of the same journal.

The 2026 World Anti-Doping Code Prohibited List, in force from 1 January 2026, prohibits artificially enhancing the uptake, transport or delivery of oxygen under M1.2. Its examples are perfluorochemicals, efaproxiral, voxelotor and modified haemoglobin products, introduced with the wording "including, but not limited to". This compound is not among the substances named anywhere in that document. In horse racing it has produced at least one recorded positive: the French laboratory LCH detected it in a urine sample from Akoya, winner of the Group 1 Prix Dragon for purebred Arabians at Longchamp in September 2019, with confirmation by a second laboratory in Mauritius, and the horse was disqualified. Racing trade press reported in January 2020 that the trainer denied wrongdoing and faced a one-year suspension; that account rests on trade coverage rather than on any primary regulatory document.

What is registered, and what is not

One registry record exists worldwide. ClinicalTrials.gov holds NCT02528526, sponsored by the University of Zurich, phase 1/2, single-group, estimated enrolment 69, start date February 2014. Its overall status reads unknown, its last known status recruiting, its estimated completion December 2016, and its most recent update was submitted on 18 August 2015. No results have been posted. The published report describes recruitment continuing to July 2018 and 28 patients enrolled, so the registry entry has been stale for roughly a decade and understates what happened. Searches of the EU Clinical Trials Register and ISRCTN for the compound name and for the OXY111A code returned nothing at all.

Two further human studies are asserted in the literature and appear in no registry. The 2016 protocol paper justifies its starting dose by reference to phase I data in healthy volunteers, attributed in parentheses to unpublished data obtained from the company developing the compound; the same source gives human-equivalent-corrected no-observed-adverse-effect levels of 15,000 mg/m2 in rats dosed once weekly for five weeks and 43,750 mg/m2 in minipigs also dosed once weekly. The 2021 trial report repeats the healthy-volunteer claim in its introduction. A 2022 review states that the compound is being tested in phase 2 trials in humans with various tumours, and the trial report itself closes by saying efforts for a phase 2 dose-extension are ongoing. Neither the healthy-volunteer study nor any phase 2 trial appears on ClinicalTrials.gov, the EU register or ISRCTN, and neither has been published.

Nothing here is approved for human use in any jurisdiction. The NCATS regulatory aggregator lists no approval year and no designation against the UNII, the single registered trial never posted results, and the one published clinical report is a dose-finding study in 28 people with advanced cancer that did not measure the mechanism it was testing. That is the whole of the human record.

What is not known

The human record is one open-label dose-escalation study of 28 people with advanced, heavily pretreated cancer, and it did not measure the mechanism under test. Oxygen-haemoglobin dissociation was not assessed in any patient, tumour hypoxia was not imaged and tumours were not routinely biopsied, because the responsible ethics committee precluded both; the authors state plainly that their trial lacks direct evidence of anti-hypoxic action. There is consequently no human measurement of P50, oxygen delivery, exercise capacity or tissue oxygenation at any dose. There is no controlled trial, no comparison against any active agent, no data in people without cancer, and no repeat-exposure or long-term safety data beyond the nine infusions and ten-day follow-up of that study. Pharmacokinetics are known only for an eight-hour intravenous infusion; no oral, sublingual or subcutaneous human pharmacokinetic data exist, and the only oral evidence in any species is mice given the compound in drinking water. The single registered trial has posted no results and its registry entry has not been updated since 2015. Preclinically, reoxygenation replicates across laboratories while what follows from it does not: a 2021 study in multiple mouse models reported enhanced radiation response after ITPP-induced oxygenation and a 2025 study reported improved control with checkpoint blockade, while two glioblastoma models produced no survival benefit, one suggested interference with radiotherapy, a rhabdomyosarcoma model showed no radiosensitisation, and a 2026 zebrafish xenograft study detected no major effect. Sample sizes are absent from most retrieved rodent reports. No study characterised reproductive or developmental effects, carcinogenicity or immunogenicity, and the rat and minipig no-observed-adverse-effect levels that set the human starting dose are attributed to unpublished company data that no one outside the sponsor has seen. Nothing here is approved for human use in any jurisdiction.

Questions

Has ITPP been given to humans?
Yes, in one published study. NCT02528526, reported in Nature Communications in 2021, gave nine eight-hour intravenous infusions over three weeks to 28 patients with advanced hepatopancreatobiliary cancer or colorectal liver metastases across eight dose levels, and set a maximum tolerated dose of 12,390 mg/m2. It is the only clinical study of this compound published anywhere, and the only registered one.
Did the human trial show that ITPP reoxygenates tumours?
No. The trial did not measure oxygenation. P50 was not assessed in any patient, tumour hypoxia was not imaged and tumours were not routinely biopsied, because the responsible ethics committee precluded both. The authors state that the trial is limited by the lack of direct evidence for anti-hypoxic action, and that the disease stabilisations they observed may reflect the natural course of disease in a small, heterogeneous group.
Is ITPP on the WADA Prohibited List?
It is not named on it. The 2026 List prohibits artificially enhancing the uptake, transport or delivery of oxygen under M1.2 and names perfluorochemicals, efaproxiral, voxelotor and modified haemoglobin products, with wording that makes the category non-exhaustive. A full-text search of the 2026 document returned no match for this compound. A validated urine screen for it was published by a WADA-accredited laboratory in 2014, and racing trade press reported one detection in French horse racing in 2019.
Where do the endurance percentages come from?
From mice. Biolo and colleagues reported in 2009 that intraperitoneal administration raised P50 by up to 31 per cent and maximal exercise capacity by up to 57 plus or minus 13 per cent in normal mice, and 63 plus or minus 7 per cent in mice with severe heart failure. No human exercise measurement exists. A PubMed search combining the compound name with exercise, athlete, VO2 and endurance returns seven records, six of which are doping-control assay papers.
Why do sources give different CAS numbers for ITPP?
Because three registry numbers circulate under one name and they describe different substances. 802590-64-3 is the free acid, PubChem CID 10439981, formula C6H12O21P6, weight 605.99, and it is the number the FDA registry carries against UNII 116EYZ0PPX. 23103-35-7 is the hexasodium salt of the cyclic form, CID 10439980, weight 737.88. 623552-11-4 resolves to CID 71771705, weight 791.93, drawn with open rather than cyclic connectivity. Pages quoting one number with another record's weight have merged two entries.

References

  1. PubChem Compound Summary CID 10439981, myo-Inositol trispyrophosphate. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. Fylaktakidou KC, Lehn JM, Greferath R, Nicolau C. Inositol tripyrophosphate: a new membrane permeant allosteric effector of haemoglobin. Bioorg Med Chem Lett. 2005;15(6):1605-1608. PMID 15745806 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  3. Duarte CD, Greferath R, Nicolau C, Lehn JM. myo-Inositol trispyrophosphate: a novel allosteric effector of hemoglobin with high permeation selectivity across the red blood cell plasma membrane. Chembiochem. 2010;11(18):2543-2548. PMID 21086482 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Evans BA, Ansari AK, Kamyszek RW, Salvagno M, Welsby J, Fuller M, Welsby I. Modulation of red blood cell oxygen affinity with a novel allosteric modifier of hemoglobin is additive to the Bohr effect. Blood Cells Mol Dis. 2021;87:102520. PMID 33242840 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Koj S, Niedziela T, Rossowska J, Schmitt JL, Lehn JM, Nicolau C, Kieda C. Modulation of the oxygenation state and intracellular pH of erythrocytes by inositol-trispyrophosphate investigated by 31P NMR study of 2,3-DPG. J Cell Mol Med. 2025;29(2):e70343. The paper declares no competing interests while carrying affiliations to the patent-holding company and to the originating chemistry institute. PMID 39828634 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Biolo A, Greferath R, Siwik DA, et al. Enhanced exercise capacity in mice with severe heart failure treated with an allosteric effector of hemoglobin, myo-inositol trispyrophosphate. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 2009;106(6):1926-1929. PMID 19204295 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Aprahamian M, Bour G, Akladios CY, et al. Myo-InositolTrisPyroPhosphate treatment leads to HIF-1 alpha suppression and eradication of early hepatoma tumors in rats. Chembiochem. 2011;12(5):777-783. PMID 21370375 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Limani P, Linecker M, Kachaylo E, et al. Antihypoxic potentiation of standard therapy for experimental colorectal liver metastasis through myo-inositol trispyrophosphate. Clin Cancer Res. 2016;22(23):5887-5897. PMID 27489288 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Grgic I, Tschanz F, Borgeaud N, Gupta A, Clavien PA, Guckenberger M, Graf R, Pruschy M. Tumor oxygenation by myo-inositol trispyrophosphate enhances radiation response. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2021;110(4):1222-1233. PMID 33587991 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Foernvik K (indexed Fornvik with diaeresis), Zolfaghari S, Salford LG, Redebrandt HN. ITPP treatment of RG2 glioblastoma in a rat model. Anticancer Res. 2016;36(11):5751-5755. PMID 27793896 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Abou Khouzam R, Amorim F, Rifath A, Thaliffdeen L, Ragupathi P, Nawafleh H, Povoa V, Cruz-Ribeiro M, Lehn JM, Fior R, Limani P, Chouaib S. ITPP in early pancreatic zebrafish xenografts mildly impacts tumor cell death without interfering with vascular normalization. BMC Cancer. 2026;26(1):787. The paper discloses that J-M Lehn is co-founder and chairman of the scientific advisory board of the company holding the patent on the compound. PMID 42098650 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Okninska M (indexed Okninska with acute accent), Zambrowska Z, Zajda K, et al. Right ventricular myocardial oxygen tension is reduced in monocrotaline-induced pulmonary hypertension in the rat and restored by myo-inositol trispyrophosphate. Sci Rep. 2021;11(1):18002. PMID 34504231 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Limani P, Linecker M, Kron P, et al. Development of OXY111A, a novel hypoxia-modifier as a potential antitumor agent in patients with hepato-pancreato-biliary neoplasms: protocol of a first Ib/IIa clinical trial. BMC Cancer. 2016;16(1):812. This is the paper that attributes the healthy-volunteer phase I data and the rat and minipig NOAEL figures to unpublished sponsor data. PMID 27756258 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Schneider MA, Linecker M, Fritsch R, et al. Phase Ib dose-escalation study of the hypoxia-modifier myo-inositol trispyrophosphate in patients with hepatopancreatobiliary tumors. Nat Commun. 2021;12(1):3807. PMID 34155211 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Goergens C (indexed Gorgens with diaeresis), Guddat S, Schaenzer W (indexed Schanzer with diaeresis), Thevis M. Screening and confirmation of myo-inositol trispyrophosphate (ITPP) in human urine by hydrophilic interaction liquid chromatography high resolution/high accuracy mass spectrometry for doping control purposes. Drug Test Anal. 2014;6(11-12):1102-1107. PMID 25070041 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. Wong ASY, Yuen BP, Wong COL, et al. Doping control analysis of myo-inositol trispyrophosphate and 10 bisphosphonates in equine plasma by ion chromatography-mass spectrometry and its application to clodronic acid horse administration. Drug Test Anal. 2025;17(4):506-516; published online 25 June 2024. PMID 38924320 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. The 2026 Prohibited List, World Anti-Doping Code. Date of entry into force 1 January 2026. Section M1.2 checked in full text; this compound is not named in the document. View on www.wada-ama.org
  18. French racing lab first to detect synthetic blood agent. BloodHorse, January 2020 (parallel coverage in the Racing Post and Thoroughbred News). Trade report of the LCH detection in Akoya, confirmation by a second laboratory in Mauritius, disqualification from the Group 1 Prix Dragon, and a one-year suspension faced by the trainer, who denied wrongdoing. This is trade press, not a primary regulatory document. View on www.bloodhorse.com

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.