Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Melanotan-2
Melanotan-2 is a cyclic seven-residue analogue of alpha-melanocyte-stimulating hormone, indexed in PubChem as CID 92432 and in the FDA substance register under UNII UPF5CJ93X7. Its controlled human record is one Phase 1 dose-escalation pilot and two placebo-controlled crossover studies, run at one American university between 1996 and 2000 and enrolling twenty-three men in total. Everything published since is case reports, forensic analysis of vials, and regulatory enforcement. One Phase 2 trial is currently recruiting.
- Class
- Cyclic heptapeptide analogue of alpha-melanocyte-stimulating hormone; non-selective melanocortin receptor agonist
- CAS number
- 121062-08-6
- PubChem CID
- 92432
- Molecular formula
- C50H69N15O9
- Molecular weight
- 1024.2 g/mol
- Sequence
- Ac-Nle-cyclo[Asp-His-D-Phe-Arg-Trp-Lys]-NH2 (Ac-[Nle4,Asp5,D-Phe7,Lys10]-alpha-MSH4-10-NH2), a 23-membered lactam ring
- Also indexed as
- MT-II, MTII, Melanotan II, Acetyl-(Nle4,Asp5,D-Phe7,Lys10)-cyclo-alpha-MSH(4-10) amide; UNII UPF5CJ93X7; ChEMBL430239; IUPHAR ligand 1323; EPA DTXSID90153135
Chemical identity
Identity here is settled, which is not always the case. PubChem carries a single compound record under the name Melanotan II: CID 92432, CAS 121062-08-6, molecular formula C50H69N15O9, molecular weight 1024.2 g/mol, InChIKey JDKLPDJLXHXHNV-MFVUMRCOSA-N. The FDA Global Substance Registration System files the same molecule as UNII UPF5CJ93X7, with the same CAS number, the same formula and a computed mass of 1024.18. IUPHAR lists it as ligand 1323, ChEMBL as CHEMBL430239. Both records carry the peptide shorthand Ac-Nle-cyclo[Asp-His-D-Phe-Arg-Trp-Lys]-NH2. The two registries agree on formula and registry number. Neither records a marketing authorisation for the substance in any jurisdiction.
The molecule is residues four to ten of alpha-melanocyte-stimulating hormone, closed into a ring. Al-Obeidi and colleagues at the University of Arizona described the design in 1989: norleucine at position four, D-phenylalanine at position seven, and a lactam bridge between the aspartate side chain at position five and the lysine side chain at position ten. That bridge produces a twenty-three-membered ring. The same paper compared analogues built with twenty, twenty-one, twenty-two, twenty-three and twenty-four-membered rings in the skin bioassays used, and reported that the smaller rings were less potent and that activity persisting after washout was confined to the twenty-three and twenty-four-membered rings.
Bremelanotide is a structurally adjacent molecule and is routinely conflated with this one. PubChem CID 9941379 gives bremelanotide as C50H68N14O10, molecular weight 1025.2: the same acetylated seven-residue lactam with the C-terminal carboxamide replaced by a free carboxylic acid. One functional group separates the two structures. Afamelanotide, sometimes called Melanotan-I, is a different molecule again, a linear thirteen-residue analogue rather than a cyclic heptapeptide. Findings reported for any one of the three do not transfer to the others, and much of the secondary material on this compound does not keep them apart.
Claim ledger
12 of 20 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Increased pigmentation of face, upper body and buttock in 2 of 3 subjects by quantitative reflectance one week after dosing ended; Grade II somnolence and fatigue in 1 of 2 subjects at 0.03 mg/kg | Healthy adult male volunteers | Subcutaneous, 0.01 to 0.03 mg/kg | 3 | Dorr 1996, Life Sci, PMID 8637402 |
| Clinically apparent erections in 8 of 10; mean duration of tip rigidity above 80% 38.0 min vs 3.0 min placebo (p=0.0045) | Men with erectile dysfunction of no known organic cause | Subcutaneous, 0.025 mg/kg, placebo-controlled crossover | 10 | Wessells 1998, J Urol, PMID 9679884 |
| Subjectively reported erections after 12 of 19 active injections vs 1 of 21 placebo doses; mean tip rigidity above 80% 45.3 min vs 1.9 min (P=0.047); severe nausea after 4 of 19 active injections | Men with erectile dysfunction and organic risk factors | Subcutaneous, 0.025 mg/kg, placebo-controlled crossover | 10 | Wessells 2000, Urology, PMID 11018622 |
| Binding IC50 0.57 +/- 0.08 nM and cAMP EC50 0.20 +/- 0.05 nM at hMC1R, against alpha-MSH at 6.5 +/- 0.9 nM and 2.0 +/- 0.6 nM respectively | Cloned human melanocortin-1 receptor | In vitro | Not stated in the retrieved report | Haskell-Luevano 1994, Biochem Biophys Res Commun, PMID 7980588 |
| Relative melanotropic potency 90 in the lizard skin bioassay with alpha-MSH set at 1; much less potent in the frog skin bioassay; prolonged activity confined to the 23- and 24-membered ring analogues | Anolis carolinensis and Rana pipiens skin bioassays | In vitro bath | Seven cyclic peptides compared; replicate number not stated in the retrieved report | Al-Obeidi 1989, J Med Chem, PMID 2555512 |
| Ate less and lost more weight than controls in week 1; gained weight in weeks 2 and 3; weight gain similar to controls by end of treatment; lowered food conversion ratio attenuated to control level by study end | Rats, 4-week continuous infusion | Intracerebroventricular | Not stated in the retrieved report | Jonsson 2002, J Endocrinol, PMID 12065241 |
| Suppressed food intake after intravenous dosing, but radiolabelled peptide was undetectable in brain parenchyma except in circumventricular organs outside the blood-brain barrier; LC-MS-MS confirmed negligible brain penetration | Rats | Intravenous | Not stated in the retrieved report | Trivedi 2003, Brain Res, PMID 12834882 |
| Vials labelled 10 mg contained 4.32 to 8.84 mg of peptide; unidentified impurities at 4.1 to 5.9% in vials from two of the three shops, below the limit of quantification in the third | Injectable tanning products purchased from three online shops | Not applicable; product analysis by LC-UV and LC-MS/MS | 3 vendors | Breindahl 2015, Drug Test Anal, PMID 24771717 |
| Purity of the vial powder determined at 30 per cent once a reference standard was obtained; no match in the laboratory spectral library by HPLC-DAD and no published ultraviolet spectrum available at the time of analysis | Vials submitted to a forensic toxicology laboratory under a Melanotan II label | Not applicable; product analysis by HPLC-DAD, UHPLC-TOF-MS and UPLC-MS-MS | 2 vials | Deville and Charlier 2024, J Forensic Sci, PMID 39302005 |
| Sympathomimetic presentation two hours after a 6 mg subcutaneous injection; heart rate peaked at 146 bpm, creatine kinase rose from 1760 to 17,773 IU/L over 12 hours, creatinine 2.25 mg/dL; injected material confirmed as melanotan II by mass spectrometry against a purchased standard | 39-year-old man, single case | Subcutaneous, self-administered | 1 | Nelson 2012, Clin Toxicol (Phila), PMID 23121206 |
| Presented at an emergency department two hours after subcutaneous self-administration with sympathomimetic symptoms; treated with lorazepam, supplemental potassium and intravenous fluid resuscitation | 27-year-old man with no relevant medical history, single case | Subcutaneous, self-administered | 1 | Eijmael 2022, Ned Tijdschr Geneeskd, PMID 35736369 |
| Brown pigmentation of the attached gingiva in both arches and of both buccal mucosae after 64 days of self-administration; buccal pigmentation nearly resolved one month after stopping, gingival pigmentation still present at three months at reduced intensity | Single patient, three-month follow-up after discontinuation | Injected, self-administered over 64 days | 1 | Bonchev 2026, Life (Basel), PMID 41752902 |
| Plasma half-life of approximately 33 hours | No human pharmacokinetic study of this peptide was found. A PubMed search for "melanotan II" AND "half-life" returned a single record, Ugwu 1994 (PMID 7981427), a rat study following a 0.3 mg/kg intravenous dose which assessed t1/2 beta among other parameters by two assay methods and reports no 33-hour figure and no human data. A second search, "melanotan II" with pharmacokinetics and humans[MH], returned two records, neither a primary pharmacokinetic study: a 1998 review of melanotan-I and -II development (PMID 9760697) and a 2004 erectile-dysfunction pharmacotherapy consensus document (PMID 16422967). The retrievable pharmacokinetic primary literature is in animals: Ugwu 1994, Mock 2002 (rat, intravenous, PMID 12415547) and Hatziieremia 2007 (mouse, 1 mg/kg intraperitoneal, PMID 17610239). General web search shows the 33-hour figure circulating alongside two mutually incompatible variants, "33 minutes" and "2 to 3 hours", on the same class of page and sometimes within the same site. The unit alone differs by a factor of sixty and nothing anchors any of the three. | No source found | ||
| Up to 1000 times more potent than endogenous alpha-MSH | This phrasing appears verbatim on aggregator and vendor product pages. No primary measurement supporting a thousandfold figure for this peptide was located. The two retrievable direct comparisons run an order of magnitude or more below it: Haskell-Luevano 1994 (PMID 7980588) measured hMC1R binding IC50 0.57 nM against alpha-MSH at 6.5 nM, roughly elevenfold, and Al-Obeidi 1989 (PMID 2555512) scored relative potency at ninety in the lizard skin bioassay with alpha-MSH set at one, explicitly noting the frog skin bioassay gave much lower potency. A PubMed search for "melanotan II" AND melanocortin receptor AND (binding OR affinity OR potency) returned 23 records, all of which were reviewed; nothing in them produced a thousandfold ratio. | No source found | ||
| Melanotan-2 protects against skin cancer | Traced to marketing rather than to a study. The FDA warning letter of 30 August 2007 and the subsequent debarment record (81 FR 79501) both note that the selling company's website carried claims that the product could reduce skin cancer rates and cure rosacea, and cite those claims as the basis for treating the product as an unapproved new drug. A PubMed search for melanotan AND (erythema OR ultraviolet OR photoprotection) returned 13 records, none of them a study of this cyclic heptapeptide's effect on erythema threshold, minimal erythema dose or skin cancer incidence. The two human UV-tanning studies it returned (PMID 15262693, PMID 16293341) both concern the linear analogue [Nle4,D-Phe7]-alpha-MSH, that is afamelanotide, whose separate literature does not transfer to this molecule. | No source found | ||
| Melanotan-2 causes fat loss or lasting appetite suppression in people | No human body-composition, DEXA or food-intake study was located. A PubMed search for melanotan AND ("body composition" OR "food intake") AND humans[MH] returned four records, none of them a human trial measuring either endpoint with this peptide. The feeding literature is rodent and almost entirely intracerebroventricular or intravenous; the one chronic exposure study found, Jonsson 2002 (PMID 12065241), reported the anorectic effect and the weight difference attenuating to control level within four weeks of continuous infusion in rats. Trivedi 2003 (PMID 12834882) additionally found negligible brain penetration after peripheral dosing, so the route used in the mechanistic studies is not the route the claim describes. | No source found | ||
| Reconstituted material is stable for 30 days refrigerated; lyophilised powder for 24 months frozen | A PubMed search for "melanotan II" AND (stability OR lyophilised OR lyophilized) returned two records, neither a stability study of this peptide: a mouse MC4R pharmacological-chaperone paper (PMID 33434184) and a mass-spectrometry imaging and metabolite-profiling paper (PMID 32674774). The nearest genuine stability work retrieved, PMID 41547183, profiles degradation pathways of afamelanotide under ICH Q1A(R2) stress conditions, which is a different molecule. The circulating figures appear only in supplier and calculator-style catalogue copy, and they do not agree with each other: 28 days, 30 days, 30 to 40 days and 30 to 45 days all circulate for the reconstituted window. No stability study, regulatory dossier or primary publication reporting any of these values for this peptide was located. | No source found | ||
| The MHRA received 18 reports describing 74 separate adverse reactions | This pair of numbers is widely quoted from press coverage of a 2013 MHRA statement, which could not be retrieved in primary form from gov.uk or the national archives during preparation of this page. The two MHRA responses that are retrievable give different figures on a comparable basis: FOI 21/1237, dated 20 December 2021, reports thirteen suspected adverse drug reaction reports between 1 January 2011 and 9 December 2021; FOI 24/274, dated 17 April 2024, reports sixteen between 1 January 2012 and 31 December 2022. Neither states a reaction count. The 18/74 figure is not reconciled by either. | No source found | ||
| Bremelanotide is the active metabolite of Melanotan-2 in humans | The structural relationship is verifiable and the metabolic one is not. PubChem CID 9941379 confirms bremelanotide as the free-acid form of the same lactam (C50H68N14O10 against C50H69N15O9), which is what deamidation would produce. A PubMed search for bremelanotide AND melanotan AND metabolite returned one record, and it is a toxicity case report (Nelson 2012, PMID 23121206), not a metabolism study. A search for "melanotan II" AND metabolite returned three records: the same case report, an adrenal chromaffin cell paper unrelated to the question (PMID 28531318), and one metabolite-profiling paper, Chen 2020 (PMID 32674774), whose abstract names neither the metabolites nor the species. No study demonstrating in vivo conversion in humans was returned. Molinoff 2003 (PMID 12851303) describes PT-141 as a synthetic analogue of alpha-MSH developed in its own right, not as a metabolite. | No source found | ||
| Nasal spray presentations are a safer route than injection | A PubMed search for "melanotan II" AND (nasal OR intranasal) AND (safety OR subcutaneous) returned zero records, and no comparative safety study of nasal against subcutaneous administration was located by any other search run. The regulatory distinction that is sometimes offered as evidence runs the other way: MHRA FOI 24/274 states that injectable products containing the peptide are classified as medicines while nasal sprays are classified as medicines only where claims to treat or prevent disease are made, which is a determination about the definition of a medicinal product rather than about relative hazard. The single published report involving a nasal presentation, Alsabbagh 2025 (PMID 40210573), describes a mucosal malignant melanoma of the anterior maxilla. | No source found | ||
The controlled human record is three studies and twenty-three men
Dorr and colleagues published the first human data in 1996, a pilot Phase 1 study in three healthy male volunteers at the University of Arizona. The design was single-blind and alternating-day, saline against peptide, given subcutaneously across a dose range of 0.01 to 0.03 mg/kg, with two subjects reaching the top of that range and one 0.025 mg/kg. At 0.03 mg/kg one of two subjects recorded Grade II somnolence and fatigue by WHO criteria, and mild nausea was reported at most levels. Two of three subjects showed increased pigmentation of the face, upper body and buttock by quantitative reflectance and by visual perception one week after dosing ended.
Wessells and colleagues then ran two placebo-controlled crossover studies using RigiScan monitoring across six-hour windows. The 1998 study enrolled ten men with erectile dysfunction of no known organic cause: eight of ten developed clinically apparent erections, and mean duration of tip rigidity above eighty per cent was 38.0 minutes against 3.0 minutes on placebo (p=0.0045). The 2000 study enrolled ten men with organic risk factors; subjectively reported erections followed twelve of nineteen active injections against one of twenty-one placebo doses, with mean tip rigidity above eighty per cent lasting 45.3 minutes against 1.9 (P=0.047). Four of nineteen active injections were associated with severe nausea.
Pooling those two trials, a 2000 review by the same group reported erection in seventeen of twenty men in the absence of sexual stimulation, increased sexual desire after thirteen of nineteen active doses against four of twenty-one placebo doses (P<0.01), and severe nausea in 12.9 per cent of subjects at 0.025 mg/kg. That is the whole controlled human record: twenty-three men, all male, one institution, publications spanning 1996 to 2000, observation windows measured in hours and dosing periods of at most two weeks. A PubMed search for human pharmacokinetics returned nothing. The published pharmacokinetic work is in rats, mice and rabbits.
What the potency measurements actually say
Haskell-Luevano and colleagues measured binding and cyclic AMP accumulation at the cloned human MC1 receptor in 1994. Alpha-MSH gave a binding IC50 of 6.5 plus or minus 0.9 nM and a cAMP EC50 of 2.0 plus or minus 0.6 nM. Melanotan-2 gave a binding IC50 of 0.57 plus or minus 0.08 nM and a cAMP EC50 of 0.20 plus or minus 0.05 nM. Against the parent hormone that is roughly an elevenfold difference in binding and a tenfold difference in second-messenger potency, at the receptor governing skin pigmentation. Those are the only direct human MC1R figures located for this peptide.
Al-Obeidi 1989 measured relative melanotropic potency in the classical amphibian and reptile skin bioassays instead. Setting alpha-MSH at one, the analogue that became Melanotan-2 scored ninety in the lizard skin bioassay. The paper states that similar results were obtained in the frog skin bioassay but that the analogues were much less potent there, and reports selectivity for lizard over frog melanocyte receptors. Measured potency therefore depends on the assay used, and the two retrievable comparisons differ by roughly an order of magnitude before species or route is considered. Reviews and case reports describe it as a non-selective agonist across MC1, MC3, MC4 and MC5 receptors, but no published panel giving measured affinities at all four human receptors for this peptide was retrieved here.
Feeding suppression in rodents, and what happened at four weeks
Fan and colleagues reported the foundational feeding result in Nature in 1997. Intracerebroventricular administration inhibited feeding in four models of hyperphagia, being fasted C57BL/6J mice, ob/ob mice, A(y) mice and mice injected with neuropeptide Y, and co-administration of the melanocortin antagonist SHU9119 completely blocked that inhibition. The paper's subject was the agouti obesity syndrome rather than the peptide; the agonist served as a tool for showing that melanocortinergic neurons exert tonic inhibition of feeding. The route used was injection into the cerebral ventricle, which limits what the result establishes about peripheral administration.
Jonsson and colleagues infused the peptide intracerebroventricularly in rats for four weeks and reported the shape of the response over time. Treated animals ate less and lost considerably more weight than controls during the first week. During the second and third weeks they gained weight, and by the end of the treatment period weight gain was similar to that of the control group. Food conversion ratio was lowered relative to controls, but that effect was greatest in week one and had attenuated to control level by the close of the study.
Trivedi and colleagues gave the peptide intravenously to rats, found it suppressed food intake, then showed by autoradiography that radiolabelled peptide did not accumulate in brain parenchyma. The only labelled structures were circumventricular organs sitting outside the blood-brain barrier, and direct LC-MS-MS measurement confirmed negligible brain penetration. Hatziieremia and colleagues later gave 1 mg/kg intraperitoneally to mice and measured 11.4 plus or minus 5.5 ng/g in brain homogenate at thirty minutes, low against plasma at the same time point. The intracerebroventricular and subcutaneous routes are therefore not interchangeable for this endpoint.
The clinical literature after 2009 is case reports
Cardones and Grichnik published the first of these reports in 2009. A forty-year-old man with a history of melanoma and multiple dysplastic naevi self-administered a synthetic alpha-MSH peptide and developed crops of new pigmented naevi, many with atypical clinical and histopathological features, while pre-existing naevi darkened and acquired growth features; the lesions lightened progressively after use stopped. Reports of the same kind followed from Ireland, Australia, Sweden, Germany, Spain and Denmark. Habbema and colleagues, reviewing the field in 2017, counted four case reports of melanoma emerging from existing moles during or shortly after melanotan use and stated that conclusive evidence linking the two was lacking.
Nelson and colleagues reported a thirty-nine-year-old man who injected 6 mg subcutaneously and presented two hours later with a heart rate peaking at 146 beats per minute, mydriasis, diaphoresis and diffuse tremor; creatine kinase rose from 1760 to 17,773 IU/L over twelve hours and creatinine reached 2.25 mg/dL. Mass spectrometry confirmed the injected material against a purchased reference standard. Eijmael and colleagues published a closely similar sympathomimetic presentation in 2022, a twenty-seven-year-old man with no relevant medical history who reached a Dutch emergency department two hours after subcutaneous self-administration and was treated with lorazepam, potassium supplementation and intravenous fluid resuscitation. Single reports also exist of low-flow priapism managed with cavernosal aspiration, irrigation and intracavernosal phenylephrine, of posterior reversible encephalopathy syndrome, and of renal infarction.
Bonchev followed a patient who self-administered over sixty-four days and recorded brown pigmentation of the attached gingiva in both arches and of both buccal mucosae; buccal pigmentation had nearly disappeared one month after stopping, while gingival pigmentation persisted at three months at reduced intensity. Separately, a twenty-two-year-old woman who used a melanotan-labelled nasal spray was reported with a mucosal malignant melanoma of the anterior maxilla, confirmed histologically and treated by surgical resection followed by immunotherapy. None of this material carries a denominator. No cohort study, case-control study or registry analysis of melanotan users was located, so the case series establishes that events occurred and nothing about how often.
What forensic analysis found in the vials
Breindahl and colleagues bought vials from three online shops and analysed them by liquid chromatography with ultraviolet detection and tandem mass spectrometry, validating the methods against guidelines used for active substances in authorised medicines. Identity was confirmed by retention time and five qualifying fragment ions. Every shop's label claimed 10 mg per vial. Measured content ranged from 4.32 to 8.84 mg. Vials from two of the three shops contained unidentified impurities at 4.1 to 5.9 per cent, and impurities from the third fell below the limit of quantification. Nothing in that study identified what the impurities were.
Deville and Charlier, in a Belgian forensic toxicology laboratory, reported two vials of pharmaceutical appearance submitted for identification under a Melanotan II label. The compound was absent from their spectral library, its ultraviolet spectrum was not available in the literature, and its mass sat above the range their instruments were configured to scan. Once a reference standard was obtained, identification was confirmed and the purity of the powder determined at 30 per cent. Venhuis and colleagues had earlier found melanotan II among falsified biopharmaceutical injectables reported by twelve European countries during Operation Pangea 7, a single 2014 enforcement week.
Labelling claims about origin were contested in the enforcement record as well as content claims. The Federal Register notice recording the permanent debarment of the principal of a Tennessee company that sold the peptide states that the company's website advertised the product as one hundred per cent United States made, whereas some of what it sold was manufactured in and imported from China. The same notice records that the peptide was marketed, sold and shipped by that company to customers in the United States and abroad, and that the shipments were not confined to one jurisdiction.
Regulatory position and the one registered trial
The Food and Drug Administration issued a warning letter to a Tennessee company selling the peptide on or about 30 August 2007, stating that, on the basis of statements on that company's website, the product constituted a new drug that could not be introduced into interstate commerce without an approved application. Correspondence through late 2007 reiterated that position and added that unapproved new drugs do not qualify for export. On 28 August 2015 the United States District Court for the Middle District of Tennessee entered judgment against the company's principal on two counts of conspiracy under 18 U.S.C. 371, and a permanent debarment order took effect on 14 November 2016 at 81 FR 79501.
British regulators have published their own counts under freedom of information. In December 2021 the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency reported thirteen suspected adverse drug reaction reports associated with melanotan II received through the Yellow Card scheme between 1 January 2011 and 9 December 2021. In April 2024 it reported sixteen such reports between 1 January 2012 and 31 December 2022, stated that it had made no recommendations and taken no specific action in response to them, and noted that it had repeatedly acted to remove melanotan products from the market for over ten years. The same responses set out the classification rule: injectable products are treated as medicines, nasal sprays only where medicinal claims are made.
Two melanocortin agonists are approved medicines and neither is this one. Bremelanotide was approved by the FDA on 21 June 2019 for acquired, generalised hypoactive sexual desire disorder in premenopausal women, and afamelanotide holds approvals in erythropoietic protoporphyria. Melanotan-2 is not approved for human use in any jurisdiction. A ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search returned exactly one registered study: NCT07437560, a randomised, quadruple-masked Phase 2 trial of the peptide as an adjunct to narrowband UV-B phototherapy in sixty adults with stable non-segmental vitiligo, industry-sponsored, recruiting at a single hospital site in Shenzhen, with an actual start of 2 February 2026 and estimated primary completion of 14 February 2027.
What is not known
The published record does not establish what happens beyond a few weeks of exposure. Human dosing in the three controlled studies ran for at most two weeks in three subjects and for single sessions in the other twenty, with outcome windows of six hours. No human pharmacokinetic study exists, so absorption, distribution, clearance and terminal half-life in people are uncharacterised; the circulating half-life figures have no measured basis. No human body-composition, endocrine, cardiovascular, hepatic or renal safety dataset exists. No study has measured whether the induced pigmentation alters erythema threshold, UV damage or skin cancer incidence in either direction, which leaves both the protective claim and the carcinogenic concern unresolved by direct evidence. The melanocytic and systemic harms in the literature are individual case reports and small series with no denominator: no cohort, case-control or registry study of users was located, and no prevalence estimate specific to this compound was found, so incidence cannot be calculated from what is published. Receptor selectivity is asserted qualitatively across MC1, MC3, MC4 and MC5 without a retrievable panel of measured human affinities. Nothing addresses use in women, in adolescents, during pregnancy or lactation, or in people with existing dysplastic naevi, which is the group the case reports repeatedly involve. Melanotan-2 is not approved for human use in any jurisdiction, and forensic analyses of material bought online found a uniform 10 mg label against a measured low of 4.32 mg, unidentified impurities, and vials submitted to a forensic laboratory whose powder was determined at 30 per cent purity.
Questions
Has Melanotan-2 been studied in humans?
Is Melanotan-2 the same thing as bremelanotide or afamelanotide?
Where does the claim that it is 1000 times more potent than alpha-MSH come from?
What did analysis of material bought online find?
Are there any registered clinical trials?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 92432, Melanotan II. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Cross-checked against FDA Global Substance Registration System substance record MELANOTAN II, UNII UPF5CJ93X7 (CAS 121062-08-6, formula C50H69N15O9, MW 1024.18). Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Al-Obeidi F, Castrucci AM, Hadley ME, Hruby VJ. Potent and prolonged acting cyclic lactam analogues of alpha-melanotropin: design based on molecular dynamics. J Med Chem. 1989;32(12):2555-2561. PMID 2555512 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Haskell-Luevano C, Miwa H, Dickinson C, Hruby VJ, Yamada T, Gantz I. Binding and cAMP studies of melanotropin peptides with the cloned human peripheral melanocortin receptor, hMC1R. Biochem Biophys Res Commun. 1994;204(3):1137-1142. PMID 7980588 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Dorr RT, Lines R, Levine N, Brooks C, Xiang L, Hruby VJ, Hadley ME. Evaluation of melanotan-II, a superpotent cyclic melanotropic peptide in a pilot phase-I clinical study. Life Sci. 1996;58(20):1777-1784. Indexed by PubMed as Clinical Trial, Phase I and Controlled Clinical Trial; not indexed as a crossover study. PMID 8637402 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Wessells H, Fuciarelli K, Hansen J, Hadley ME, Hruby VJ, Dorr R, Levine N. Synthetic melanotropic peptide initiates erections in men with psychogenic erectile dysfunction: double-blind, placebo controlled crossover study. J Urol. 1998;160(2):389-393. PMID 9679884 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Wessells H, Gralnek D, Dorr R, Hruby VJ, Hadley ME, Levine N. Effect of an alpha-melanocyte stimulating hormone analog on penile erection and sexual desire in men with organic erectile dysfunction. Urology. 2000;56(4):641-646. PMID 11018622 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Wessells H, Levine N, Hadley ME, Dorr R, Hruby V. Melanocortin receptor agonists, penile erection, and sexual motivation: human studies with Melanotan II. Int J Impot Res. 2000;12 Suppl 4:S74-S79. PMID 11035391 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Fan W, Boston BA, Kesterson RA, Hruby VJ, Cone RD. Role of melanocortinergic neurons in feeding and the agouti obesity syndrome. Nature. 1997;385(6612):165-168. PMID 8990120 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Jonsson L, Skarphedinsson JO, Skuladottir GV, Watanobe H, Schiöth HB. Food conversion is transiently affected during 4-week chronic administration of melanocortin agonist and antagonist in rats. J Endocrinol. 2002;173(3):517-523. PMID 12065241 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Brain penetration after peripheral dosing, two studies. Trivedi P, Jiang M, Tamvakopoulos CC, et al. Exploring the site of anorectic action of peripherally administered synthetic melanocortin peptide MT-II in rats. Brain Res. 2003;977(2):221-230. PMID 12834882. Hatziieremia S, Kostomitsopoulos N, Balafas V, Tamvakopoulos C. A liquid chromatographic/tandem mass spectroscopic method for quantification of the cyclic peptide melanotan-II. Plasma and brain tissue concentrations following administration in mice. Rapid Commun Mass Spectrom. 2007;21(15):2431-2438. PMID 17610239 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Cardones AR, Grichnik JM. Alpha-melanocyte-stimulating hormone-induced eruptive nevi. Arch Dermatol. 2009;145(4):441-444. PMID 19380666 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Habbema L, Halk AB, Neumann M, Bergman W. Risks of unregulated use of alpha-melanocyte-stimulating hormone analogues: a review. Int J Dermatol. 2017;56(10):975-980. PMID 28266027 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Nelson ME, Bryant SM, Aks SE. Melanotan II injection resulting in systemic toxicity and rhabdomyolysis. Clin Toxicol (Phila). 2012;50(10):1169-1173. Two published comments follow at 2013;51(4):383 and 384 (PMIDs 23551090, 23537392); neither is a retraction or expression of concern. PMID 23121206 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Eijmael MJPM, Janmaat CJ, Briët-Schipper EMN. [The risks of tanning with the Barbie drug]. Ned Tijdschr Geneeskd. 2022;166:D6465. Case of a 27-year-old man presenting two hours after subcutaneous self-administration. PMID 35736369 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Isolated systemic events, five case reports. Priapism: Devlin J, Pomerleau A, Foote J. Melanotan II overdose associated with priapism. Clin Toxicol (Phila). 2013;51(4):383. PMID 23537392. Dreyer BA, Amer T, Fraser M. Melanotan-induced priapism: a hard-earned tan. BMJ Case Rep. 2019;12(2):e227644. PMID 30796078. Mallory CW, Lopategui DM, Cordon BH. Melanotan tanning injection: a rare cause of priapism. Sex Med. 2021;9(1):100298. PMID 33460908. Posterior reversible encephalopathy syndrome: Kaski D, Stafford N, Mehta A, Jenkins IH, Malhotra P. Ann Intern Med. 2013;158(9):707-708. PMID 23648958. Renal infarction: Peters B, Hadimeri H, Wahlberg R, Afghahi H. CEN Case Rep. 2020;9(2):159-161. PMID 31953620 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Oral and nasal mucosal reports, two papers. Bonchev A. Changes in oral mucosa associated with Melanotan II injections: a case report. Life (Basel). 2026;16(2):192. PMID 41752902. Yassin Alsabbagh A, Bhujel N, Singh RP. Melanotan II nasal spray: a possible risk factor for oral mucosal malignant melanoma? Int J Oral Maxillofac Surg. 2025;54(9):806-808. PMID 40210573 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Forensic analyses of purchased and seized material, three papers. Breindahl T, Evans-Brown M, Hindersson P, McVeigh J, Bellis M, Stensballe A, Kimergård A. Identification and characterization by LC-UV-MS/MS of melanotan II skin-tanning products sold illegally on the Internet. Drug Test Anal. 2015;7(2):164-172. PMID 24771717. Deville M, Charlier C. Barbie drug identification: not a child's play. J Forensic Sci. 2024;69(6):2331-2338. PMID 39302005. Venhuis BJ, Keizers PH, Klausmann R, Hegger I. Operation resistance: a snapshot of falsified antibiotics and biopharmaceutical injectables in Europe. Drug Test Anal. 2016;8(3-4):398-401. PMID 26456392 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Debarment Order, FDA Docket No. FDA-2015-N-4169. Fed Regist. 2016;81(219):79501, effective 14 November 2016. Records the 30 August 2007 warning letter to the selling company, the 28 August 2015 judgment in the US District Court for the Middle District of Tennessee on two counts under 18 U.S.C. 371, the finding that the product was advertised as one hundred per cent US made while some was imported from China, and that the peptide was marketed, sold and shipped to customers in the United States and abroad. View on www.govinfo.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.