Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

PT-141 (Bremelanotide)

Bremelanotide is a cyclic heptapeptide that differs from melanotan II by a single terminal group. It is one of the few compounds in this category that is an approved medicine: the FDA cleared it in June 2019 for one narrow indication in premenopausal women. What the approval did not settle is how large the measured effect was, and of the two published efficacy trials with clinical endpoints — one in women, one in men — both carry editorial flags.

Strongest evidence: Human dataTwo randomised phase 3 trials in humans and an FDA approval since June 2019 for one indication; the magnitude and validity of the measured effect are disputed in the peer-reviewed literature 19 claims logged 12 with primary citations 7 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Synthetic cyclic heptapeptide analogue of alpha-melanocyte-stimulating hormone; non-selective melanocortin receptor agonist
CAS number
189691-06-3 (free base); 1607799-13-2 (acetate)
PubChem CID
9941379 (free base); 91971505 (acetate)
Molecular formula
C50H68N14O10 (free base); the acetate is given in FDA labelling section 11 as C50H68N14O10 . xCH3COOH with 1 <= x <= 2, so the stoichiometry is not fixed; PubChem indexes the mono-acetate separately as C52H72N14O12 (CID 91971505)
Molecular weight
1025.2 g/mol (free base); the acetate weight follows from the stoichiometry, which FDA labelling section 11 leaves open at one to two acetic acid equivalents, and PubChem indexes the mono-acetate at 1085.2 g/mol (CID 91971505)
Sequence
Ac-Nle-cyclo(Asp-His-D-Phe-Arg-Trp-Lys)-OH. Cyclic heptapeptide closed by a lactam between the aspartate and lysine side chains, acetylated at the amino terminus, terminating in a free carboxylic acid. D-phenylalanine occupies the fourth residue.
Also indexed as
PT-141; PT 141; bremelanotide acetate; UNII 6Y24O4F92S (free base) and PV2WI7495P (acetate); InChIKey FFHBJDQSGDNCIV-MFVUMRCOSA-N; DrugBank DB11653; ChEMBL2070241; ChEBI 177849; KEGG D06569; IUPHAR/BPS ligand 10408

Identity, and the amide that was taken off

PubChem CID 9941379 resolves bremelanotide as a cyclic heptapeptide, molecular formula C50H68N14O10, molecular weight 1025.2 g/mol, InChIKey FFHBJDQSGDNCIV-MFVUMRCOSA-N, carrying CAS 189691-06-3 and FDA UNII 6Y24O4F92S. The material in the approved product is the acetate salt, held separately in the FDA Global Substance Registration System under UNII PV2WI7495P and CAS 1607799-13-2, and indexed in PubChem as CID 91971505 at C52H72N14O12 and 1085.2 g/mol. The approved labelling does not fix that stoichiometry: section 11 gives the salt as C50H68N14O10 with one to two acetic acid equivalents. It gives the structure as Ac-Nle-cyclo(Asp-His-D-Phe-Arg-Trp-Lys)-OH: a ring closed by a lactam between the aspartate and lysine side chains, an acetyl group at the amino terminus, and a free carboxylic acid at the other end.

That free acid is the whole structural difference from melanotan II, which terminates in an amide. Hadley and Dorr, writing a history of melanocortin therapeutics in Peptides in 2006 (PMID 16412534), describe PT-141 as an analogue of melanotan II taken forward by Palatin Technologies after early-phase work. The peptide also carries D-phenylalanine as its fourth residue, a substitution shared across this analogue series. Secondary pages describe the compound as the active metabolite of melanotan II rather than as an analogue of it, which is a different assertion about how it comes to exist in a body; that phrasing is logged below as untraced.

Stability has been examined once in the published record. Yuvaraaj and Sharma, reporting forced-degradation work in Analytical Methods in 2026 (PMID 42485063), stressed bremelanotide acetate under acidic, basic, neutral, oxidative, thermal and photolytic conditions to the International Council for Harmonisation protocol, detected eight degradation products by LC-HRMS/MS, and identified deacetylation, peptide-bond hydrolysis, oxidation and epimerisation as the pathways. Degradation was lower under acid than base and marked under oxidative conditions. Sauter and colleagues had earlier given the peptide orally to beagle dogs and reported minimal oral absorption, using a UHPLC-MS/MS assay with a lower limit of quantification of 10 pg/mL (PMID 32353679).

Claim ledger

12 of 19 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Inhibition constants against radiolabelled NDP-alpha-MSH of 0.25 nM at MC4R, 6.4 nM at MC1R, 17 nM at MC5R and 53 nM at MC3RMembranes from BHK570 cells stably expressing each human melanocortin receptorIn vitro radioligand displacement of iodinated NDP-alpha-MSHNot stated in the retrievable recordConde-Frieboes 2012, J Med Chem, PMID 22335602; values as curated by the IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology, ligand 10408. The underlying table was not retrievable this session
Median Tmax 0.50 h and mean half-life 1.85 to 2.09 h; erectile response statistically significant against placebo above 7 mg, with first erection at approximately 30 minutesHealthy adult males, and patients with mild-to-moderate erectile dysfunction responsive to sildenafilIntranasal, single dose; RigiScan-recorded rigidity, with visual sexual stimulation in the patient arm onlyNot stated in the indexed abstractDiamond 2004, Int J Impot Res, PMID 14963471
Selective facilitation of solicitational behaviour, with no change in lordosis, pacing, other sexual behaviours, generalised motor activation or the perception of sexual rewardFemale rats, ovariectomised and hormone-primedSubcutaneous, 5 minutes before each behavioural test, at 0, 50, 100 or 200 micrograms per kilogram in saline40 females assigned at random across the four doses, per the Methods section of the free full text at PMC454387Pfaus 2004, Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A, PMID 15226502. Sponsor-funded; two authors disclosed stock in the sponsor, and testing technicians were blinded to dose
Pooled 1.25 and 1.75 mg arms against placebo: +0.7 vs +0.2 satisfying sexual events per month, +3.6 vs +1.9 on the Female Sexual Function Index total, -11.1 vs -6.8 on the Female Sexual Distress Scale-Desire/Arousal/OrgasmPremenopausal women with female sexual dysfunction (NCT01382719)Subcutaneous, self-administered as desired over 12 weeks327 in the efficacy analysis; 612 enrolled per the registry recordClayton 2016, Womens Health (Lond), PMID 27181790; responder thresholds later derived from the same dataset by Althof 2019, J Sex Med, PMID 31277966
Integrated co-primary results of +0.35 on the Female Sexual Function Index desire domain (scale 1.2 to 6.0) and -0.33 on Female Sexual Distress Scale item 13 (scale 0 to 4) against placebo, both p<0.001. Of 856 women who completed the core phase and were eligible for the open-label extension, 684 enrolled and 272 completed itPremenopausal women with acquired, generalised hypoactive sexual desire disorder (NCT02333071 and NCT02338960), and the uncontrolled open-label extension of those trialsSubcutaneous 1.75 mg as needed over 24 weeks double-blind, then as needed over 52 weeks open-label1,267 randomised; 1,247 safety population; 1,202 efficacy population; 856 eligible for the extension, 684 enrolled, 272 completedKingsberg 2019, Obstet Gynecol, PMID 31599840; extension figures from Simon 2019, Obstet Gynecol, PMID 31599847
Nausea 40.0% vs 1.3%, flushing 20.3% vs 0.3%, injection-site reactions 13.2% vs 8.4%, headache 11.3% vs 1.9%; discontinuation for adverse reactions 18% vs 2%. Focal hyperpigmentation, including face, gingiva and breasts, in 1% of participants receiving up to eight doses per month and in no placebo recipients; in a separate study 38% developed it after eight consecutive daily administrations, with a further 14% after eight more, and resolution after discontinuation was not confirmed in all participantsPremenopausal women in the pooled double-blind phase 3 trials; a separate daily-administration study for the higher pigmentation figuresSubcutaneous 1.75 mg as needed over 24 weeks; eight consecutive daily administrations in the separate study627 treated and 620 placebo in the pooled phase 3 analysis; not stated in the labelling for the daily-administration studyFDA prescribing information, NDA 210557, sections 5.2 and 6.1, revised November 2025; phase 3 rates consistent with Clayton 2022, J Womens Health, PMID 35147466
No reduction in the incidence of nausea when 8 mg oral ondansetron was given 30 minutes before dosing, against oral placeboHealthy premenopausal womenSingle subcutaneous 1.75 mg dose, preceded by 8 mg oral ondansetron or oral placebo, randomised one to one228 randomisedFDA prescribing information, NDA 210557, section 6.1, revised November 2025, and ClinicalTrials.gov NCT03973047. The sources disagree on phase: the labelling calls it phase 4, the registry types it phase 1. No results are posted, and a PubMed search pairing the compound with ondansetron returned no records
Ambulatory systolic blood pressure increases against placebo of 2.4 and 3.0 mmHg at 1.25 mg (P=0.029 and P=0.076) and 3.1 and 3.2 mmHg at 1.75 mg (P=0.006 and P=0.027) over the 0 to 4 hour interval, with peaks typically lasting under 15 minutes and heart rate reductions of 4.6 to 4.7 bpm at 1.75 mg. One of the four increases, 3.0 mmHg at 1.25 mg, did not reach conventional significance. Twenty-six participants discontinued for prespecified blood pressure increases, in similar proportions across all four armsPremenopausal women with female sexual dysfunction, normotensive or with controlled hypertensionSubcutaneous, two doses separated by 24 hours, with ambulatory monitoring397 randomised across three doses and placeboWhite 2017, J Hypertens, PMID 27977473
Least-squares mean body weight reduction 1.3 kg greater than placebo (95% CI 0.8 to 1.9) after 16 days, with mean caloric intake about 400 kcal/day lowerPremenopausal women with body mass index above 30Subcutaneous, three times daily on days 1 to 15 (Study A)30 assigned to bremelanotide, 27 completingSpana 2022, Diabetes Obes Metab, PMID 35170192
Odds ratio 11.98 (95% CI 3.74 to 38.37) for adverse-event-induced study discontinuation, number needed to harm 6; odds ratio 0.30 (95% CI 0.24 to 0.38) for the combination of completing the trial and electing the open-label extension, number needed to harm 4; 72.72% of protocol-listed outcomes unreported in the primary publicationRe-analysis of the two phase 3 trials from the FDA New Drug ApplicationNot applicable; document analysis and meta-analysisThe phase 3 population, 1,247 in the safety analysisSpielmans 2021, J Sex Res, PMID 33678061. Carries a published erratum, PMID 34003064, and a reply from the trial investigators, PMID 33835907
Significantly more participants reported increased sexual desire in the 24 hours after administration than after placebo (p=0.007); enhanced right cerebellar and supplementary motor area activity, deactivated secondary somatosensory cortex during erotic stimuli, and increased amygdala-insula connectivityPremenopausal heterosexual women with hypoactive sexual desire disorder (NCT04179734)Subcutaneous 1.75 mg, two-way crossover against placebo, imaging at 45 and 240 minutes40 randomised, 31 completing both visitsThurston 2022, J Clin Invest, PMID 36189794
Melanocortin 3 and 4 receptor mRNA found predominantly in ventral tegmental dopamine neurons, and in nucleus accumbens interneurons rather than alongside dopamine D1 or D2 receptors; neither dose altered melanocortin receptor mRNA, and treatment did not enhance the conditioned place preference produced by sexual experienceFemale Syrian hamstersNot specified in the indexed abstract; two doses comparedNot stated in the indexed abstractBorland 2025, Neuropharmacology, PMID 39793696
PT-141 is a selective MC4R agonist that does not meaningfully engage MC1R, which is why it does not produce the skin darkening seen with melanotan IIThis is the single most repeated statement about the compound and the approved labelling contradicts it directly. Section 12.1 describes a melanocortin receptor agonist that nonselectively activates several subtypes in the order MC1R, MC4R, MC3R, MC5R, MC2R, names MC1R and MC4R as the most relevant at therapeutic exposures, and states that MC1R binding leads to melanin expression and increased pigmentation. Section 5.2 records focal hyperpigmentation of the face, gingiva and breasts in 1% of phase 3 participants and in 38% of participants in a separate study after eight consecutive daily administrations, with a further 14% after eight more, and notes that resolution was not confirmed in all of them. A PubMed search pairing the compound with hyperpigmentation, pigmentation or tanning returns five records, none of which reports an absence of MC1R activity. The independent binding data, curated by the IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology from Conde-Frieboes 2012 (PMID 22335602), give a Ki of 6.4 nM at MC1R, second only to MC4R. No source was located supporting the selectivity claim in either form.No source found
PT-141 is the active metabolite of melanotan IIA PubMed search for the compound paired with metabolite returns a single record, a 2012 case report of rhabdomyolysis after melanotan II injection (PMID 23121206), which does not state it. A search pairing the compound with melanotan, MT-II or MTII returns eight records; the closest is Hadley and Dorr 2006 in Peptides (PMID 16412534), a history that describes PT-141 as a melanotan II analogue taken into phase 1 and phase 2 trials, not as a metabolite of it. No metabolism study in any species was located showing melanotan II converting to bremelanotide in vivo. The structures differ by a C-terminal amide against a free acid, which is the kind of change hydrolysis could in principle produce, but no published measurement of that conversion was found.No source found
The effect lasts 8 to 10 hours, or alternatively 24 to 72 hours, after a single administrationThree different durations circulate and they do not come from one source. The 24-hour figure has a traceable origin: Thurston 2022 (PMID 36189794) contacted 31 participants 24 hours after each visit and found significantly more reporting increased desire after the active agent than after placebo. The 8-to-10-hour window and the 72-hour figure could not be traced. A PubMed search pairing the compound with duration of effect, 72 hours or 8 hours returns three records, none of which reports a duration-of-effect measurement. The approved labelling gives a mean terminal half-life of approximately 2.7 hours with a range of 1.9 to 4.0 hours after subcutaneous administration, and the intranasal study (PMID 14963471) reported 1.85 to 2.09 hours; neither is a statement about how long an effect persists.No source found
PT-141 works by triggering dopamine release in the nucleus accumbensCirculated as settled mechanism on vendor product pages and aggregator sites. The approved labelling states that the mechanism is unknown. The most direct published test runs the other way: Borland 2025 (PMID 39793696) mapped melanocortin 3 and 4 receptor mRNA in female Syrian hamsters, found MC4R in nucleus accumbens interneurons rather than in D1 or D2 receptor-expressing neurons, found no change in melanocortin receptor mRNA at either dose, found no enhancement of sexual conditioned place preference, and concluded the compound does not act on the ventral tegmental-accumbens reward circuit. A PubMed search pairing the compound with dopamine returns twelve records, of which that hamster study is the only primary experiment addressing the accumbens directly; the rest are reviews.No source found
PT-141 crosses the blood-brain barrierA PubMed search pairing bremelanotide or PT-141 with blood-brain barrier or blood brain barrier returns zero records in any language. No permeability measurement, no brain-to-plasma ratio and no radiolabelled distribution study in any species was located. The claim is inferred from the fact that the receptors of interest are expressed centrally and that systemic administration induces hypothalamic c-Fos in rats, reported by Molinoff 2003 (PMID 12851303). Neuronal activation downstream of a systemic dose is consistent with central penetration, but it is not a measurement of penetration, and it leaves open whether the intact heptapeptide or a fragment is what arrives.No source found
PT-141 is established as a treatment for erectile dysfunction in menThe published male evidence has two tiers and both have problems. The sponsor's own trials (PMIDs 14963471, 14999221, 15833522) measured penile rigidity by RigiScan in small crossover designs, a surrogate endpoint, and reported no clinical outcome. Two trials did use clinical endpoints, both by one author and both flagged, and only one of the two was in men: PMID 18179455, in women with arousal disorder, is typed by PubMed as a Retracted Publication, retracted at the Editor-in-Chief's request after the journal re-reviewed his submissions and he declined to supply original data; PMID 18206919, in 342 men who had not responded to sildenafil, carries an unresolved Expression of Concern printed in January 2023 (PMID 36626345). No registered bremelanotide study targets male sexual dysfunction; the only two registered studies open to male participants, NCT05709444 in diabetic kidney disease and NCT06565611 in obesity with tirzepatide, concern other indications. The approved labelling states the drug is not indicated in men and not indicated to enhance sexual performance.No source found
Material sold under this name is 99% or better pure by certificate of analysisNo published survey of the identity, purity or content uniformity of material sold outside the regulated supply chain was located. A PubMed search pairing the compound with purity, quality control, counterfeit or content uniformity returns two records, both analytical method papers concerned with pharmaceutical-grade substance: a stability-indicating degradation study (PMID 42485063) and an assay development paper (PMID 32353679). The one forensic examination found, Mestria 2021 in Drug Testing and Analysis (PMID 33245851), characterised melanotan II and bremelanotide in eight samples seized by police using accurate-mass measurement without reference standards. That establishes what those eight samples contained, and nothing about the composition of anything else; a supplier's assertion about a batch is in any case a claim about that batch, not a property of the molecule.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

Two authoritative sources rank the receptors differently

The approved labelling states the pharmacology plainly and then declines to state a mechanism. Bremelanotide is described there as a melanocortin receptor agonist that nonselectively activates several receptor subtypes in the order MC1R, MC4R, MC3R, MC5R, MC2R, with binding at MC1R and MC4R the most relevant at therapeutic exposures. The same section records that MC1R is expressed on melanocytes and that binding there leads to melanin expression and increased pigmentation, and it says in as many words that the mechanism behind the effect the drug is approved for is unknown.

A curated pharmacology database ranks the same receptors in a different order. The IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology lists bremelanotide as ligand 10408 with inhibition constants against radiolabelled NDP-alpha-MSH on membranes from BHK570 cells expressing each human receptor: 0.25 nM at MC4R, 6.4 nM at MC1R, 17 nM at MC5R and 53 nM at MC3R, all attributed to Conde-Frieboes and colleagues in the Journal of Medicinal Chemistry in 2012 (PMID 22335602). By that measure MC4R comes first and MC3R last, which is not the labelling's sequence. Those IUPHAR figures are displacement affinities from iodinated NDP-alpha-MSH binding on those membranes; the labelling names no assay, no species and no method for its own ordering, so the two cannot be put on a common scale from the retrievable documents. Both are recorded here as published.

Cryo-electron microscopy has resolved the receptor with this ligand in place. Zhang and colleagues reported four structures of full-length MC4R in complex with heterotrimeric Gs in Cell Research in 2021 (PMID 34433901), stimulated by alpha-MSH, by afamelanotide, by bremelanotide and by the small molecule THIQ, and described the conserved binding mode of the peptide agonists. The identifier matters: a second MC4R-Gs structural paper appeared in the same journal in the same year resolving a different pair of ligands, and the two are easily confused. What a structure fixes is geometry, where the peptide sits and which contacts it makes; the behavioural consequence of that geometry is measured in the studies below.

The male programme, and what became of its two efficacy papers

Development began in men. Molinoff and colleagues summarised the early position in the Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences in 2003 (PMID 12851303): erections in rats and nonhuman primates, hypothalamic c-Fos induction after systemic administration, and dose-dependent erectile activity in men. Diamond and colleagues then published intranasal pharmacokinetics in healthy males and in sildenafil-responsive patients (PMID 14963471), reporting median Tmax of 0.50 hours, mean half-life of 1.85 to 2.09 hours, a statistically significant erectile response above 7 mg, and first erection at roughly 30 minutes. Rosen and colleagues repeated the design subcutaneously, with a significant response above 1.0 mg (PMID 14999221). Every one of these endpoints was penile rigidity recorded by RigiScan.

Two later trials used clinical endpoints — one in women, one in men — and both are now flagged. Safarinejad's 2008 study in the Journal of Sexual Medicine, in women with arousal disorder, was retracted at the request of the Editor-in-Chief after the journal re-reviewed all his submissions; the notice states he was asked for his original data and chose not to respond. His 2008 trial in the Journal of Urology, in 342 men who had not responded to sildenafil, reported positive clinical results in 33.5% against 8.5% on placebo and carries an Expression of Concern printed in January 2023 that remains unresolved. PubMed types eighteen of his papers overall as Retracted Publication.

How the male programme ended is documented in a corporate filing rather than in the literature. Palatin's Form 10-K for the year ended 30 June 2008 records that almost 2,000 patients had received at least one dose across nasal, subcutaneous and intravenous formulations, about 1,500 of them multiple doses, that increases in blood pressure were observed in some patients, and that development for sexual dysfunction was discontinued after the FDA raised concerns about the benefit-risk ratio as a first-line erectile dysfunction therapy, primarily because of those increases. No PubMed-indexed paper states this. No registered bremelanotide study targets male sexual dysfunction, and the only two registered studies open to male participants, NCT05709444 in diabetic kidney disease and NCT06565611 in obesity with tirzepatide, concern other indications. The approved labelling carries an explicit limitation of use against that population.

The trials that produced an approval

The programme restarted in women with a dose-finding trial. Clayton and colleagues randomised premenopausal women with sexual dysfunction to placebo or one of three subcutaneous doses over twelve weeks, with 327 in the efficacy analysis (PMID 27181790); for the pooled 1.25 and 1.75 mg arms against placebo they reported changes from baseline of +0.7 against +0.2 satisfying sexual events per month, +3.6 against +1.9 on the Female Sexual Function Index total, and -11.1 against -6.8 on the Female Sexual Distress Scale-Desire/Arousal/Orgasm. Althof and colleagues derived responder thresholds from that same dataset in 2019 (PMID 31277966); whether those definitions were prespecified for the registration trials is not established in the retrievable record.

RECONNECT was two identically designed phase 3 trials, NCT02333071 and NCT02338960, running from January 2015 to mid-2016. Of 1,267 women randomised, 1,247 entered the safety population and 1,202 the efficacy population, receiving 1.75 mg subcutaneously as needed over 24 weeks. Kingsberg and colleagues reported integrated co-primary results of +0.35 on the Female Sexual Function Index desire domain and -0.33 on item 13 of the distress scale against placebo, both at p<0.001 (PMID 31599840). The desire domain runs from 1.2 to 6.0 and the distress item from 0 to 4. Participants were mostly White, 96.6% enrolled at United States sites, with a mean age of 39.

Tolerability accounts for most of what the safety database contains. In the pooled double-blind phase, nausea was recorded in 40.0% against 1.3% on placebo, flushing in 20.3% against 0.3%, injection-site reactions in 13.2% against 8.4% and headache in 11.3% against 1.9%; discontinuation attributable to adverse reactions ran at 18% against 2%. The labelling also reports a single-dose study in which 228 healthy premenopausal women were randomised one to one to 8 mg oral ondansetron or placebo thirty minutes beforehand, with no reduction in the incidence of nausea; the labelling calls that study phase 4 while its registry entry, NCT03973047, types it phase 1, and it has posted no results and produced no publication. Of 856 women eligible for the 52-week open-label extension, 684 enrolled and 272 finished it (PMID 31599847).

A dispute about the size of the effect, conducted in print

Whether those numbers amount to anything has been argued openly. Spielmans, re-analysing the trials from the FDA New Drug Application in the Journal of Sex Research in 2021 (PMID 33678061), reported that 72.72% of protocol-listed outcomes went unreported while fifteen secondary measures appeared that were not in the protocols, and that two figures absent from the primary publication were an odds ratio of 11.98 (95% CI 3.74 to 38.37) for adverse-event-induced discontinuation and an odds ratio of 0.30 (95% CI 0.24 to 0.38) for the combination of completing the trial and electing the open-label extension. His own meta-analysis of the efficacy data matched the published results.

Investigators from the trials replied in the same issue under the title Failure of a Meta-analysis (PMID 33835907). Spielmans and Ellefson returned in 2024 with an examination of the measurement properties of the efficacy instruments (PMID 36809187), reporting that eight of the eleven efficacy outcomes registered on ClinicalTrials.gov had not been published, analysing them, and finding effect sizes ranging from nil to small. Mintzes, Tiefer and Cosgrove, writing in Drug and Therapeutics Bulletin in 2021 (PMID 34642243), argued that the approval rested on the regulatory precedent set by flibanserin rather than on a demonstrated clinically meaningful benefit.

Both camps work from the same trial data and arrive at similar point estimates. Their disagreement is about whether the instruments were validated for this population, whether the reported outcomes were the pre-registered ones, and what a third of a point on a five-point distress item means to the person filling it in. Both positions sit in the peer-reviewed record with replies attached, and this page records them without choosing between them.

Mechanism, measured in thirty-one women and in hamsters

Thurston and colleagues ran the only published human mechanism study, an investigator-sponsored trial at Imperial College funded in part by AMAG Pharmaceuticals. Forty premenopausal women with the diagnosis were randomised to a two-way crossover of 1.75 mg subcutaneously against placebo, with 31 completing both visits and functional imaging at 45 and 240 minutes (PMID 36189794). Significantly more participants reported increased sexual desire in the 24 hours after the active agent than after placebo (p=0.007). Imaging showed enhanced right cerebellar and supplementary motor area activity, deactivation of secondary somatosensory cortex during erotic stimuli, and increased amygdala-insula connectivity.

An animal result points away from the mechanism most often quoted downstream. Borland and colleagues, working in female Syrian hamsters and publishing in Neuropharmacology in 2025 (PMID 39793696), found melanocortin 3 and 4 receptor mRNA predominantly in ventral tegmental dopamine neurons, while in the nucleus accumbens MC4R sat in interneurons and rarely alongside dopamine D1 or D2 receptors. Neither dose changed melanocortin receptor mRNA in that circuit, and although sexual experience produced a conditioned place preference, treatment did not enhance it. Their stated conclusion is that the compound does not act on the ventral tegmental-accumbens reward pathway.

The founding rodent result is narrower than it is usually rendered. Pfaus and colleagues reported in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences in 2004 (PMID 15226502) that PT-141 selectively facilitated solicitational behaviour in female rats without affecting lordosis, pacing, other sexual behaviours, generalised motor activation or the perception of sexual reward. The full text, free at PMC454387, sets out the design: forty ovariectomised, hormone-primed females were assigned at random to 0, 50, 100 or 200 micrograms per kilogram, dissolved in saline and injected subcutaneously five minutes before each behavioural test. The paper carries a printed disclosure that two authors held stock in the sponsor, that the sponsor funded the work, and that the technicians running the tests were blinded to dose.

Regulatory position, and what is registered

Bremelanotide holds NDA 210557, approved on 21 June 2019, with one supplement approved in October 2020 and a labelling revision dated November 2025. The indication covers premenopausal women with acquired, generalised hypoactive sexual desire disorder, and the labelling states in its own limitations of use that the drug is not indicated in postmenopausal women, not indicated in men, and not indicated to enhance sexual performance. It is contraindicated in uncontrolled hypertension and in known cardiovascular disease. The regulatory position is, in other words, unusually specific about who was studied.

Searching the European Medicines Agency's complete downloadable medicines report, which covers authorised, refused and withdrawn products, returns no occurrence of either the substance name or the approved product name across 20,745 indexed strings. Health Canada's active-ingredient interface returns an empty result for the substance. The text of the World Anti-Doping Agency Prohibited List 2026 contains no occurrence of bremelanotide, melanotan or melanocortin, while Bromantan and BPC-157 both appear, which confirms the extraction was working; section S0 reaches substances with no current approval from any governmental regulatory health authority, which does not describe this one. Outside the United States, then, the record is thin.

Registration coverage is incomplete. ClinicalTrials.gov lists ten studies with bremelanotide as an intervention, four of which have results posted. The six that do not include a 193-participant phase 3 bridging trial in South Korea that completed in May 2023 and has no PubMed record, a 16-participant phase 2 study in diabetic kidney disease completed in April 2024, a 108-participant phase 2 obesity trial combining the peptide with tirzepatide whose primary completion date passed in February 2025 and which remains active and not recruiting, and a ten-participant lactation pharmacokinetic study completed in November 2025. Material circulating outside the regulated supply has been examined once: Mestria and colleagues characterised melanotan II and bremelanotide in eight seized samples by accurate-mass measurement, working without reference standards (PMID 33245851).

What is not known

Long-term safety beyond the 52-week open-label extension is not characterised, and the extension itself is uncontrolled and lost most of its enrolment: 684 of 856 eligible women entered and 272 finished (PMID 31599847). Whether the reduction in reported distress translates into any durable change is unmeasured, since no trial followed participants after discontinuation. Efficacy has been tested only in premenopausal women; the postmenopausal and male populations are excluded by the labelling and by the absence of trials, and no registered study targets male sexual dysfunction, the only two registered studies open to male participants (NCT05709444 in diabetic kidney disease, NCT06565611 in obesity with tirzepatide) concerning other indications. Reproductive risk has not been resolved: embryofetal toxicity was elevated three- to eightfold above controls across all treated groups in a dog study without dose dependence, developmental delays appeared in first-generation mice, and no developmental no-observed-effect level was set in either species, while the human record comprises seven pregnancies. Mechanism is unsettled at the level of the primary sources, with the labelling declaring it unknown, one human imaging study describing cortical and connectivity changes, and one hamster study excluding the reward circuit most often invoked. Two authoritative sources disagree about which melanocortin receptor the compound engages most strongly. Six of the ten registered trials, including a completed 193-participant phase 3 trial in South Korea and a phase 2 obesity trial whose primary completion date passed in February 2025 and which remains active, not recruiting, have posted no results and produced no publication. Nothing in the published record addresses material obtained outside the regulated supply chain, its content, or its sterility.

Questions

Is bremelanotide an approved medicine?
In the United States, yes, for one indication. It holds NDA 210557, approved 21 June 2019, for premenopausal women with acquired, generalised hypoactive sexual desire disorder. The labelling states it is not indicated in postmenopausal women, not indicated in men, and not indicated to enhance sexual performance, and it is contraindicated in uncontrolled hypertension and known cardiovascular disease. No occurrence of the substance or the approved product name appears in the European Medicines Agency's complete medicines report, and Health Canada's active-ingredient interface returns nothing.
Does PT-141 cause skin darkening?
The approved labelling records focal hyperpigmentation involving the face, gingiva and breasts in 1% of phase 3 participants and none on placebo, and in 38% of participants in a separate study after eight consecutive daily administrations, with a further 14% developing new pigmentary changes after eight more. Resolution after stopping was not confirmed in all of them. The same document identifies MC1R, the receptor that drives melanin expression, as the subtype the compound activates most potently. The widely repeated claim that it does not engage MC1R is contradicted by both.
Why do two sources give a different receptor ranking?
The FDA labelling lists an order of potency of MC1R, MC4R, MC3R, MC5R, MC2R, and gives no assay, no species and no method for that ordering. The IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology lists inhibition constants of 0.25 nM at MC4R, 6.4 nM at MC1R, 17 nM at MC5R and 53 nM at MC3R, measured as displacement of iodinated NDP-alpha-MSH on BHK570 membranes and attributed to Conde-Frieboes 2012 (PMID 22335602). Because the labelling documents no method, the two cannot be placed on a common scale from the retrievable documents. This page reports both rather than averaging them.
What is the dispute about the phase 3 results?
Spielmans re-analysed the trials from the FDA New Drug Application in 2021 (PMID 33678061) and reported that 72.72% of protocol-listed outcomes were unreported, that fifteen secondary measures appeared that were not in the protocols, that adverse-event-induced discontinuation carried an odds ratio of 11.98, and that the combination of completing the trial and electing the open-label extension carried an odds ratio of 0.30. Investigators replied in the same issue (PMID 33835907). A 2024 follow-up (PMID 36809187) examined the validity of the instruments and analysed eight previously unpublished registered outcomes, reporting effect sizes from nil to small. The point estimates are not in dispute; their meaning is.
What happened to the erectile dysfunction programme?
It ended, and the reason appears in a corporate filing rather than in the literature. Palatin's Form 10-K for the year ended 30 June 2008 records that almost 2,000 patients had received at least one dose, that blood pressure increases were observed in some of them, and that development for sexual dysfunction was discontinued after the FDA raised concerns about the benefit-risk ratio as a first-line erectile dysfunction therapy. Two published trials used clinical endpoints, one in women and one in men; the first is retracted and the second carries an unresolved Expression of Concern.

References

  1. Molinoff PB, Shadiack AM, Earle D, Diamond LE, Quon CY. PT-141: a melanocortin agonist for the treatment of sexual dysfunction. Ann N Y Acad Sci. 2003;994:96-102. PMID 12851303. Hadley ME, Dorr RT. Melanocortin peptide therapeutics: historical milestones, clinical studies and commercialization. Peptides. 2006;27(4):921-930. PMID 16412534. Grouped as the sources for the early programme summary and for the melanotan II analogue relationship. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. The three sponsor-run male trials, all using RigiScan-recorded penile rigidity as the endpoint. Diamond LE, Earle DC, Rosen RC, Willett MS, Molinoff PB. Double-blind, placebo-controlled evaluation of the safety, pharmacokinetic properties and pharmacodynamic effects of intranasal PT-141, a melanocortin receptor agonist, in healthy males and patients with mild-to-moderate erectile dysfunction. Int J Impot Res. 2004;16(1):51-59. PMID 14963471. Rosen RC, Diamond LE, Earle DC, Shadiack AM, Molinoff PB. Evaluation of the safety, pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamic effects of subcutaneously administered PT-141. Int J Impot Res. 2004;16(2):135-142. PMID 14999221. Diamond LE, Earle DC, Garcia WD, Spana C. Co-administration of low doses of intranasal PT-141 and sildenafil to men with erectile dysfunction. Urology. 2005;65(4):755-759. PMID 15833522. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  3. Pfaus JG, Shadiack A, Van Soest T, Tse M, Molinoff P. Selective facilitation of sexual solicitation in the female rat by a melanocortin receptor agonist. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2004;101(27):10201-10204. PMID 15226502. Free full text at PMC454387, from which the design (n = 40; 0, 50, 100 or 200 micrograms/kg subcutaneously, 5 minutes before each test) is taken. Sponsor-funded; two authors disclosed stock ownership in the sponsor, and testing technicians were blinded to dose. View on pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. The two flagged clinical-endpoint trials, both by one author. Safarinejad MR. RETRACTED: Evaluation of the safety and efficacy of bremelanotide in female subjects with arousal disorder: a double-blind placebo-controlled, fixed dose, randomized study. J Sex Med. 2008;5(4):887-897. PMID 18179455 — a trial in women, typed by PubMed as a Retracted Publication, retracted at the request of the Editor-in-Chief after re-review of the author's submissions, the author having declined to supply original data. Safarinejad MR, Hosseini SY. Salvage of sildenafil failures with bremelanotide: a randomized, double-blind, placebo controlled study. J Urol. 2008;179(3):1066-1071. PMID 18206919 — a trial in 342 men, carrying an unresolved Expression of Concern published 10 January 2023, PMID 36626345. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Palatin Technologies, Inc. Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended 30 June 2008, filed 29 September 2008 (CIK 0000911216). Records exposure of almost 2,000 patients and states that development of bremelanotide for sexual dysfunction was discontinued after FDA benefit-risk concerns, primarily because of blood pressure increases. View on www.sec.gov
  6. Conde-Frieboes K, Thogersen H, Lau JF, et al. Identification and in vivo and in vitro characterization of long acting and melanocortin 4 receptor (MC4-R) selective alpha-melanocyte-stimulating hormone (alpha-MSH) analogues. J Med Chem. 2012;55(5):1969-1977. PMID 22335602. Source of the bremelanotide Ki values curated as IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology ligand 10408; the underlying table was not retrievable this session. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Zhang H, Chen LN, Yang D, Mao C, Shen Q, et al. Structural insights into ligand recognition and activation of the melanocortin-4 receptor. Cell Res. 2021;31(11):1163-1175. PMID 34433901. This is the paper resolving MC4R-Gs with alpha-MSH, afamelanotide, bremelanotide and THIQ; a separate MC4R-Gs structural paper in the same journal and year (PMID 34561620) resolved different ligands and should not be confused with it. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. The three analytical-chemistry sources. Sauter M, Uhl P, Burhenne J, Haefeli WE. Ultra-sensitive quantification of the therapeutic cyclic peptide bremelanotide utilizing UHPLC-MS/MS for evaluation of its oral plasma pharmacokinetics. J Pharm Biomed Anal. 2020;186:113276. PMID 32353679 — beagle dogs, assay lower limit of quantification 10 pg/mL, minimal oral absorption. Yuvaraaj VK, Sharma N. Comprehensive characterization of bremelanotide acetate and its degradants by LC-HRMS/MS and predicting epimerization through computational modelling. Anal Methods. 2026. PMID 42485063 — forced degradation to ICH conditions, eight degradants. Mestria S, Odoardi S, Frison G, Strano Rossi S. LC-HRMS characterization of melanotan II and bremelanotide sold on the black market. Drug Test Anal. 2021;13(4):876-882. PMID 33245851 — eight seized samples, no reference standards. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Clayton AH, Althof SE, Kingsberg S, et al. Bremelanotide for female sexual dysfunctions in premenopausal women: a randomized, placebo-controlled dose-finding trial. Womens Health (Lond). 2016;12(3):325-337. PMID 27181790. Althof S, Derogatis LR, Greenberg S, Clayton AH, et al. Responder Analyses from a Phase 2b Dose-Ranging Study of Bremelanotide. J Sex Med. 2019;16(8):1226-1235. PMID 31277966 — responder thresholds derived from that dataset, published after the phase 3 trials concluded. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. White WB, Myers MG, Jordan R, Lucas J. Usefulness of ambulatory blood pressure monitoring to assess the melanocortin receptor agonist bremelanotide. J Hypertens. 2017;35(4):761-768. PMID 27977473. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Kingsberg SA, Clayton AH, Portman D, et al. Bremelanotide for the Treatment of Hypoactive Sexual Desire Disorder: Two Randomized Phase 3 Trials. Obstet Gynecol. 2019;134(5):899-908. PMID 31599840. Simon JA, Kingsberg SA, Portman D, et al. Long-Term Safety and Efficacy of Bremelanotide for Hypoactive Sexual Desire Disorder. Obstet Gynecol. 2019;134(5):909-917. PMID 31599847 — source of the open-label extension figures (856 eligible, 684 enrolled, 272 completed). View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Spielmans GI. Re-Analyzing Phase III Bremelanotide Trials for "Hypoactive Sexual Desire Disorder" in Women. J Sex Res. 2021;58(9):1085-1105. PMID 33678061, with an attached erratum, J Sex Res. 2021;58(9):W1-W2, PMID 34003064. Kingsberg SA, Clayton AH, Portman D, Krop J, Jordan R, Lucas J, Simon JA. Failure of a Meta-analysis: A Commentary on Glen Spielmans's Re-Analysis. J Sex Res. 2021;58(9):1106-1107. PMID 33835907 — the trial investigators' reply, printed in the same issue. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Mintzes B, Tiefer L, Cosgrove L. Bremelanotide and flibanserin for low sexual desire in women: the fallacy of regulatory precedent. Drug Ther Bull. 2021;59(12):185-188. PMID 34642243. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Spielmans GI, Ellefson EM. Small Effects, Questionable Outcomes: Bremelanotide for Hypoactive Sexual Desire Disorder. J Sex Res. 2024;61(4):540-561. PMID 36809187. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Two sponsor-affiliated secondary analyses. Clayton AH, Kingsberg SA, Portman D, et al. Safety Profile of Bremelanotide Across the Clinical Development Program. J Womens Health (Larchmt). 2022;31(2):171-182. PMID 35147466. Spana C, Jordan R, Fischkoff S. Effect of bremelanotide on body weight of obese women: data from two phase 1 randomized controlled trials. Diabetes Obes Metab. 2022;24(6):1084-1093. PMID 35170192. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. Thurston L, Hunjan T, Mills EG, et al. Melanocortin 4 receptor agonism enhances sexual brain processing in women with hypoactive sexual desire disorder. J Clin Invest. 2022;132(19):e152341. PMID 36189794. Investigator-sponsored; funded in part by AMAG Pharmaceuticals. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. Borland JM, Kohut-Jackson AL, Peyla AC, Hall MA, Mermelstein PG, Meisel RL. Female Syrian hamster analyses of bremelanotide, a US FDA approved drug for the treatment of female hypoactive sexual desire disorder. Neuropharmacology. 2025;267:110299. PMID 39793696. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. FDA prescribing information for bremelanotide injection, NDA 210557, revised November 2025 (DailyMed setid f1d0c1b5-2f39-4bad-a6a4-0066e3ad5dcf). Source of the mechanism description, receptor potency ordering, salt stoichiometry in section 11, pharmacokinetics, contraindications, hyperpigmentation and adverse reaction data, the ondansetron pre-treatment study in section 6.1, and the nonclinical reproductive toxicology. Registry records cited alongside it were read from the ClinicalTrials.gov v2 API. View on dailymed.nlm.nih.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.