Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
SS-31 (Elamipretide)
SS-31, known by the international nonproprietary name elamipretide, is a synthetic tetrapeptide that binds cardiolipin in the inner mitochondrial membrane. Unlike most compounds in this category it has a large human trial record, including a phase 3 trial that missed both primary endpoints and an accelerated FDA approval for a single rare disease. This page logs both.
- Class
- Szeto–Schiller aromatic-cationic mitochondria-targeting tetrapeptide; cardiolipin binder
- CAS number
- 736992-21-5
- PubChem CID
- 11764719
- Molecular formula
- C32H49N9O5
- Molecular weight
- 639.79 g/mol (free base; salt form shifts as-weighed mass)
- Sequence
- D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH2 (Dmt = 2,6-dimethyltyrosine)
Verified against Two independent authoritative sources agree. PubChem PUG-REST returned CID 11764719 with formula C32H49N9O5 and molecular weight 639.8; its synonym list carries CAS 736992-21-5, the sequence D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH2, and the development codes MTP-131, Bendavia, Ocuvia and RX-31. The FDA Global Substance Registration System record UNII 87GWG91S09 independently gives CAS 736992-21-5, formula C32H49N9O5, molecular weight 639.79, INN 10154 and USAN DE-80. Fields marked “not verified” are ones we could not confirm against a primary chemical database — we leave them blank rather than guess.
Identity and regulatory status
SS-31 is a four-residue peptide, D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH2, where Dmt is 2,6-dimethyltyrosine. It belongs to the Szeto–Schiller class of aromatic-cationic peptides built on an alternating aromatic and basic residue motif, carrying a net charge of +3 at neutral pH. PubChem CID 11764719 and FDA GSRS record UNII 87GWG91S09 independently give CAS 736992-21-5, formula C32H49N9O5 and molecular weight 639.79. The molecule has accumulated an unusual number of names across its development history: SS-31, elamipretide, MTP-131, Bendavia, Ocuvia, RX-31 and, since approval, Forzinity.
This is the significant point that most reference pages on this compound omit. Elamipretide hydrochloride received FDA accelerated approval on 19 September 2025, sponsored by Stealth BioTherapeutics, to improve muscle strength in adult and paediatric patients with Barth syndrome weighing at least 30 kg. It is administered by once-daily subcutaneous injection. The approval was granted on the basis of an intermediate clinical endpoint — knee extensor muscle strength — under the accelerated pathway, which means confirmatory evidence is still owed.
Treating this compound as a preclinical research chemical with no human record misstates the evidence position. There are 29 registered clinical trials.
Claim ledger
8 of 11 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Concentrates 1000-fold in the inner mitochondrial membrane; reduced ROS and cell death with EC50 in the nanomolar range | N2A neuronal cells; isolated mouse liver mitochondria; ex vivo heart preparation | In vitro incubation | Not stated | Zhao 2004, J Biol Chem, PMID 15178689 |
| Tritiated SS-31 concentrated approximately 5000-fold in the mitochondrial pellet; intracellular concentration ~6-fold higher than extracellular | Isolated mitochondria; N2A and SH-SY5Y neuronal cell lines | In vitro incubation | Not stated | Zhao 2005, Biochem Pharmacol, PMID 16216225 |
| Bound cardiolipin with high affinity; the complex inhibited cytochrome c peroxidase activity; cristae membranes protected and mitochondrial swelling prevented | Rats, renal ischaemia model; isolated mitochondria for binding work | Systemic pretreatment (rat); in vitro binding assays | Not stated in abstract | Birk 2013, J Am Soc Nephrol, PMID 23813215 |
| Both co-primary endpoints missed: six-minute walk difference −3.2 m (95% CI −18.7 to 12.3, p=0.69); total fatigue score −0.07 (95% CI −0.10 to 0.26, p=0.37) | Adults with genetically confirmed primary mitochondrial myopathy; mean age 45.6, 64% women, 94% White | Subcutaneous, 40 mg/day, 24 weeks | 218 randomised (109 active, 109 placebo) | Karaa 2023, Neurology (MMPOWER-3), PMID 37268435 |
| Primary endpoint not met: six-minute walk difference 19.8 m (95% CI −2.8 to 42.5, p=0.0833); injection-site reactions in 80% | Adults with genetically confirmed primary mitochondrial myopathy | Subcutaneous, 40 mg/day, 4 weeks, crossover with 4-week washout | 30 | Karaa 2020, J Cachexia Sarcopenia Muscle (MMPOWER-2), PMID 32096613 |
| Cumulative 96.1 m improvement on six-minute walk test at week 168 of open-label extension (p=0.003) | Patients with genetically confirmed Barth syndrome | Subcutaneous, 40 mg/day | 10 entered extension, 8 reached week 168 | Thompson 2024, Genet Med (TAZPOWER OLE), PMID 38602181 |
| Primary endpoints not met; 43% reduction in progression of total ellipsoid zone attenuation (nominal p=0.0034); adverse events in 86% vs 71% placebo | Patients aged ≥55 with dry AMD and noncentral geographic atrophy | Subcutaneous, 40 mg/day, 48 weeks | 176 randomised (117 active, 59 placebo) | Ehlers 2024, Ophthalmol Sci (ReCLAIM-2), PMID 39605874 |
| Maximum ATP production rose vs placebo immediately post-infusion (%ΔATPmax p=0.045); no difference at day 7; no significant effect on fatigue resistance | Healthy adults aged 60–85 with poorly functioning mitochondria, 46% female | Single 2-hour intravenous infusion | 39 | Roshanravan 2021, PLoS One, PMID 34264994 |
| SS-31 concentrates 1000 to 5000-fold in mitochondria in the living body | Traced both halves of this range to primary sources, and neither measured it in an intact organism. The 1000-fold figure is from Zhao 2004 (PMID 15178689), describing peptides of this class concentrating in the inner mitochondrial membrane in cell and isolated-organelle work. The 5000-fold figure is from Zhao 2005 (PMID 16216225), which states that tritiated SS-31 'was concentrated approximately 5000-fold in the mitochondrial pellet' — a measurement made on isolated mitochondria. The same paper measured intracellular concentration in neuronal cells at roughly 6-fold extracellular, which is three orders of magnitude smaller than the pellet figure and is the number relevant to intact cells. No in vivo tissue measurement of a 1000–5000-fold mitochondrial enrichment ratio was located. The circulating range merges two separate isolated-system measurements and presents them as a whole-body property. | No source found | ||
| SS-31 is established for healthy aging, performance or general mitochondrial decline | Searched ClinicalTrials.gov across all 29 registered elamipretide studies. Twenty-eight enrolled diagnosed disease populations — mitochondrial myopathy, Barth syndrome, heart failure, reperfusion injury, macular degeneration, Fuchs' dystrophy, Leber's hereditary optic neuropathy, Friedreich ataxia, renal artery stenosis. Only two touch healthy aging. The completed one, published as Roshanravan 2021, found that a single infusion raised ATP capacity but produced no significant change in fatigue resistance — the functional endpoint. The other, NCT07275424, is an open-label single-arm phase 2a pilot in 30 older adults that began recruiting in November 2025 and has posted no data. There is one published randomised finding in healthy older adults and it was negative on function. | No source found | ||
| Oral SS-31 delivers the effects seen in the injectable trials | Two phase 1 studies of oral Bendavia in healthy volunteers were registered and completed in early 2013 — NCT01754818 (single ascending oral doses, 30 participants) and NCT01786915 (7-day repeat ascending oral doses, 30 participants). Searched PubMed for publications from either and found none; no results are posted on the registry for either. Every subsequent trial in the programme, across thirteen years and 27 further studies, used subcutaneous, intravenous or topical ophthalmic administration, and the approved product is a once-daily subcutaneous injection. The oral programme was run, was not published, and was not continued. No oral bioavailability figure for this compound could be traced to any primary source. | No source found | ||
The cardiolipin mechanism
Cardiolipin is an anionic phospholipid found almost exclusively in the inner mitochondrial membrane, where it is required for cristae formation and for organising the respiratory complexes into supercomplexes. Its interaction with cytochrome c determines whether that protein acts as an electron carrier or as a peroxidase, and cardiolipin peroxidation is a documented feature of several conditions involving energy deficit.
Birk and colleagues used a polarity-sensitive fluorescent analogue of SS-31 to demonstrate high-affinity binding to cardiolipin, and showed that the resulting complex inhibited cytochrome c peroxidase activity by protecting its heme iron. In a rat renal ischaemia model, pretreatment protected cristae membranes and prevented mitochondrial swelling, with faster ATP recovery on reperfusion.
The mitochondrial accumulation figures that circulate for this compound trace to two specific measurements, both in isolated systems. Zhao and colleagues in 2004 reported that peptides of this class concentrate 1000-fold in the inner mitochondrial membrane. A separate 2005 paper reported that tritiated SS-31 was concentrated approximately 5000-fold in an isolated mitochondrial pellet, with intracellular concentrations roughly six-fold higher than extracellular in neuronal cell lines. These are two different measurements in two different preparations, and the commonly quoted range of 1000 to 5000-fold merges them.
What the human trials measured
The largest published trial is the one that did not work. MMPOWER-3 randomised 218 adults with genetically confirmed primary mitochondrial myopathy, mean age 45.6 years, 64% women, to 40 mg per day subcutaneously or placebo for 24 weeks. Karaa and colleagues reported that it missed both co-primary endpoints. The difference in six-minute walk distance was −3.2 metres, 95% CI −18.7 to 12.3, p = 0.69. The difference in total fatigue score was −0.07, 95% CI −0.10 to 0.26, p = 0.37. The earlier crossover trial in 30 participants had also missed its primary endpoint, with a six-minute walk difference of 19.8 metres, p = 0.083.
In Barth syndrome, TAZPOWER randomised 12 participants in a crossover design followed by a 168-week open-label extension. Thompson and colleagues reported that ten patients entered the extension and eight reached week 168, with a cumulative improvement of 96.1 metres on the six-minute walk test at that point, p = 0.003. Injection-site reactions were the most frequently recorded adverse event.
In dry age-related macular degeneration, ReCLAIM-2 randomised 176 patients. Ehlers and colleagues reported that the primary endpoints were not met, though a 43% reduction in progression of ellipsoid zone attenuation was recorded at nominal p = 0.0034.
The single human study in healthy older adults
One trial has examined this compound in people without a diagnosed mitochondrial disease. Roshanravan and colleagues randomised 39 healthy adults aged 60 to 85, 46% female, enrolled specifically on the basis of poorly functioning mitochondria, to a single two-hour intravenous infusion or placebo. Mitochondrial capacity in the first dorsal interosseous muscle was measured non-invasively by magnetic resonance and optical spectroscopy.
Maximum ATP production rose relative to placebo immediately after the infusion, with the percentage change reaching p = 0.045. No difference was found at day 7, consistent with the compound's half-life in human blood. Resting mitochondrial coupling did not change significantly. Critically, despite the rise in ATP capacity, there was no significant effect on volitional fatigue resistance measured by force-time integral over repeated muscle contractions.
That last finding is the one worth holding onto: a measurable change in a mitochondrial parameter did not produce a measurable change in the functional outcome it was expected to drive. The same dissociation appeared at larger scale in MMPOWER-3. A second study in older adults — an open-label single-arm phase 2a pilot in 30 participants, NCT07275424 — began recruiting in November 2025 and has posted no data.
The shape of the trial record
Twenty-nine registered studies span cardiology, nephrology, ophthalmology, neurology and rare mitochondrial disease, sponsored almost entirely by Stealth BioTherapeutics. The pattern across them is informative. Phase 2 trials in heart failure with reduced and with preserved ejection fraction, in acute heart failure with congestion, in reperfusion injury after percutaneous coronary intervention, and in renal artery stenosis were run between 2012 and 2017. The programme subsequently narrowed to rare mitochondrial disease and ophthalmology, and two mitochondrial myopathy studies were terminated.
Currently active work includes ReNEW, a phase 3 trial in dry age-related macular degeneration with 313 participants and primary completion in August 2027, and a phase 3b/4 confirmatory trial in Barth syndrome with 48 participants running to September 2029 — the latter reflecting the confirmatory obligation attached to the accelerated approval. NuPower, a phase 3 trial in primary mitochondrial disease from nuclear DNA mutations with 102 participants, completed in September 2024 and has not been published.
Two phase 1 studies of oral Bendavia in healthy volunteers were completed in 2013. Neither has published data, and all subsequent development used subcutaneous, intravenous or topical ophthalmic delivery.
What is not known
The largest and most rigorous test of this compound in its lead indication failed. MMPOWER-3 enrolled 218 participants and missed both co-primary endpoints, and the trial was subsequently terminated. This is the single most important fact about the compound's efficacy evidence and it is routinely omitted from summaries. The approval that exists is narrow and provisional: accelerated approval in Barth syndrome, an ultra-rare X-linked disorder, on the basis of knee extensor muscle strength as an intermediate endpoint, in patients weighing at least 30 kg, with a confirmatory phase 3b/4 trial not due to complete until September 2029. The Barth evidence base is small in absolute terms — 12 randomised participants, 8 reaching week 168 of the extension. The pattern visible across the trial record is a repeated dissociation between mitochondrial parameters that move and functional outcomes that do not: ATP capacity rose without fatigue resistance changing in healthy older adults; ellipsoid zone progression slowed without the visual acuity or geographic atrophy endpoints being met. Nothing is published on use in pregnancy or lactation. NuPower, the phase 3 trial in nuclear-DNA primary mitochondrial disease, completed in September 2024 and its data have not appeared. Long-term safety beyond the 168-week Barth extension in eight patients is uncharacterised.
Questions
Is SS-31 approved by the FDA?
Did SS-31 succeed in its phase 3 mitochondrial myopathy trial?
Where does the 1000 to 5000-fold mitochondrial concentration figure come from?
Has SS-31 been studied in healthy people?
What is the difference between SS-31, elamipretide, MTP-131 and Bendavia?
References
- Zhao K, Zhao GM, Wu D, et al. Cell-permeable peptide antioxidants targeted to inner mitochondrial membrane inhibit mitochondrial swelling, oxidative cell death, and reperfusion injury. J Biol Chem. 2004;279(33):34682–34690. PMID 15178689. View on doi.org
- Zhao K, Luo G, Giannelli S, Szeto HH. Mitochondria-targeted peptide prevents mitochondrial depolarization and apoptosis induced by tert-butyl hydroperoxide in neuronal cell lines. Biochem Pharmacol. 2005;70(12):1796–1806. PMID 16216225. View on doi.org
- Birk AV, Liu S, Soong Y, et al. The mitochondrial-targeted compound SS-31 re-energizes ischemic mitochondria by interacting with cardiolipin. J Am Soc Nephrol. 2013;24(8):1250–1261. PMID 23813215. View on doi.org
- Szeto HH. First-in-class cardiolipin-protective compound as a therapeutic agent to restore mitochondrial bioenergetics. Br J Pharmacol. 2014;171(8):2029–2050. PMID 24117165. View on doi.org
- Karaa A, Bertini E, Carelli V, et al. Efficacy and Safety of Elamipretide in Individuals With Primary Mitochondrial Myopathy: The MMPOWER-3 Randomized Clinical Trial. Neurology. 2023;101(3):e238–e252. PMID 37268435. View on doi.org
- Karaa A, Haas R, Goldstein A, et al. A randomized crossover trial of elamipretide in adults with primary mitochondrial myopathy. J Cachexia Sarcopenia Muscle. 2020;11(4):909–918. PMID 32096613. View on doi.org
- Thompson WR, Manuel R, Abbruscato A, et al. Long-term efficacy and safety of elamipretide in patients with Barth syndrome: 168-week open-label extension results of TAZPOWER. Genet Med. 2024;26(7):101138. PMID 38602181. View on doi.org
- Ehlers JP, Hu A, Boyer D, et al. ReCLAIM-2: A Randomized Phase II Clinical Trial Evaluating Elamipretide in Age-related Macular Degeneration, Geographic Atrophy Growth, Visual Function, and Ellipsoid Zone Preservation. Ophthalmol Sci. 2024;5(1):100628. PMID 39605874. View on doi.org
- Roshanravan B, Liu SZ, Ali AS, et al. In vivo mitochondrial ATP production is improved in older adult skeletal muscle after a single dose of elamipretide in a randomized trial. PLoS One. 2021;16(7):e0253849. PMID 34264994. View on doi.org
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 11764719, Elamipretide. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Formula C32H49N9O5, molecular weight 639.8, CAS 736992-21-5. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System. Elamipretide, UNII 87GWG91S09. CAS 736992-21-5, formula C32H49N9O5, molecular weight 639.79, INN 10154, USAN DE-80. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- Stealth BioTherapeutics. FDA Accelerated Approval of FORZINITY (elamipretide HCl) for Barth syndrome, 19 September 2025. View on www.accessdata.fda.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.