Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Sunifiram (DM-235)
Sunifiram is a synthetic diacylpiperazine, first reported in 2000 by a medicinal chemistry group in Florence as a simplified analogue of a bicyclic lactam series. The entire published record is preclinical: mouse passive avoidance tests, rodent brain slices, and analogue chemistry. No pharmacokinetic study, no toxicology study and no registered human trial were located, and in 2016 the chemist who led the original programme wrote that only a few preclinical studies had been done and that long-term toxicity was unknown.
- Class
- Synthetic 1,4-diacylpiperazine (1-benzoyl-4-propanoylpiperazine). Not a peptide, and structurally not a racetam: the molecule contains no 2-pyrrolidinone ring
- CAS number
- 314728-85-3
- PubChem CID
- 4223812
- Molecular formula
- C14H18N2O2
- Molecular weight
- 246.30 g/mol average on PubChem; 246.136827821 monoisotopic; FDA GSRS computes 246.3055 and ChEMBL gives 246.31 for the same formula
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- DM-235; DM235; DM 235; 1-(4-benzoylpiperazin-1-yl)propan-1-one; 1-benzoyl-4-(1-oxopropyl)piperazine; UNII 66924E735K; CHEMBL309176; DTXSID10400996; InChIKey DGOWDUFJCINDGI-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Identity, and the ring that is not there
Nothing about sunifiram's identity is in dispute. One name, one structure, and three registries that agree on it. PubChem files the molecule as CID 4223812, CAS 314728-85-3, formula C14H18N2O2, average molecular weight 246.30, monoisotopic mass 246.136827821, InChIKey DGOWDUFJCINDGI-UHFFFAOYSA-N, IUPAC name 1-(4-benzoylpiperazin-1-yl)propan-1-one. The FDA Global Substance Registration System holds the same molecule under UNII 66924E735K, with a computed weight of 246.3055. ChEMBL carries it as CHEMBL309176, same InChIKey, weight 246.31, and no maximum clinical phase recorded.
The molecule is a piperazine acylated on both nitrogens, benzoyl on one and propanoyl on the other. It contains no five-membered lactam, which is to say no 2-pyrrolidinone ring, and it is therefore not a racetam in the structural sense that word carries. The Hippocampus paper from the Sendai laboratory opens by calling it a pyrrolidone nootropic drug structurally related to piracetam; its companion in Behavioural Brain Research calls it a pyrrolidone nootropic drug without the piracetam comparison. The Florence group that made it said something narrower in 2000: that an N-acylpiperazine group can mimic the 2-pyrrolidinone ring. Mimicry of a ring in a passive avoidance assay is not possession of that ring. Manetti 2000 reported the mimicry; later descriptions restate it as structural relatedness to piracetam. One aggregator page calls it a piperazine alkaloid; it is fully synthetic and no natural source has been described.
Regulatory status is frequently misread off the registry entries. The GSRS record is marked approved, which records that the substance definition passed curation, not that any medicine was authorised. A search of the openFDA drug label and Drugs@FDA endpoints for sunifiram returned no match on 18 August 2026. The compound is not approved for human use anywhere. A text search of the 138-page list of controlled substances published by the United States Drug Enforcement Administration, retrieved the same day, returned no entry for sunifiram or for unifiram. Absence from the federal controlled-substances schedules is a statement about that list only; it does not establish that a substance may lawfully be sold or supplied for human consumption, which is governed separately.
Claim ledger
11 of 19 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported as the most potent compound of the new piperazine series, active at 0.001 mg/kg; the compound also raised acetylcholine release in rat brain | Mice (strain not stated in the retrieved report) for the behavioural test; rats for the acetylcholine release measurement | Subcutaneous for the behavioural test | Not stated in the retrieved report | Manetti 2000, J Med Chem 43(23):4499-507, PMID 11087574 |
| Prevented amnesia induced by scopolamine at 1.5 mg/kg i.p. in the passive avoidance test, at 0.001-0.1 mg/kg i.p. and 0.01-0.1 mg/kg orally; comparators in the same report were piracetam 30-100 mg/kg i.p., aniracetam 100 mg/kg p.o. and rolipram 30 mg/kg p.o. Amnesia induced by mecamylamine 20 mg/kg i.p., baclofen 2 mg/kg i.p. and clonidine 0.125 mg/kg i.p. was also prevented | Mice (strain not stated in the retrieved report) | Intraperitoneal and oral | Not stated in the retrieved report | Ghelardini 2002, Naunyn Schmiedebergs Arch Pharmacol 365(6):419-26, PMID 12070754 |
| At 0.1 mg/kg given 20 minutes before each daily acquisition training, prevented the memory impairment produced by scopolamine at 0.8 mg/kg i.p. in the Morris water maze, on both acquisition and retention/retraining | Rats (strain not stated in the retrieved report) | Intraperitoneal | Not stated in the retrieved report | Ghelardini 2002, Naunyn Schmiedebergs Arch Pharmacol 365(6):419-26, PMID 12070754 |
| At 1 mg/kg reduced the duration of pentobarbitone-induced hypnosis without modifying its induction time. At the highest effective doses, motor coordination on rota-rod and spontaneous motility and inspection activity on Animex and hole board were not modified | Mice (strain not stated in the retrieved report) | Intraperitoneal | Not stated in the retrieved report | Ghelardini 2002, Naunyn Schmiedebergs Arch Pharmacol 365(6):419-26, PMID 12070754 |
| At 0.1 mg/kg reversed the amnesia induced by the AMPA receptor antagonist NBQX at 30 mg/kg i.p. in the passive avoidance test, without impairing rota-rod or hole board performance at the effective dose | Mice (strain not stated in the retrieved report) | Intraperitoneal | Not stated in the retrieved report | Galeotti 2003, Naunyn Schmiedebergs Arch Pharmacol 368(6):538-45, PMID 14600801 |
| Reversed the antagonism by kynurenic acid of NMDA-mediated tritiated noradrenaline release in the kynurenate test; the reversal was abolished by NBQX. The concentration-dependent increase in excitatory synaptic transmission reported in the same paper was obtained with DM232, not with sunifiram | Rat hippocampal slices | In vitro, bath application | Not stated in the retrieved report | Galeotti 2003, Naunyn Schmiedebergs Arch Pharmacol 368(6):538-45, PMID 14600801 |
| Percentage inhibition at 10 micromolar was below 52 percent at every target in a panel of roughly forty receptors, channels and transporters; the highest value for sunifiram in the table is 51.9 percent at alpha-2B. The only dissociation constants determined were at alpha-2 adrenoceptors: 24.48 +/- 0.098 micromolar at alpha-2A, 18.65 +/- 0.005 at alpha-2B, 22 +/- 1 at alpha-2C. The rat NMDA site returned 1 percent inhibition at 10 micromolar. No AMPA or kainate binding site appears in the panel | Cloned and native receptor preparations screened through the NIMH Psychoactive Drug Screening Program | In vitro radioligand binding | Replicate count not stated in the deposited table | Gualtieri 2016, J Enzyme Inhib Med Chem 31(2):187-94, supplementary Table 1, PMID 25831025. Supplementary file deposited by the publisher under CC BY 4.0 at figshare, DOI 10.6084/m9.figshare.2065971, file ienz_a_1021252_sm0214.pdf, downloaded and read this session |
| At 10-100 nanomolar enhanced long-term potentiation on a bell-shaped concentration-response curve peaking at 10 nanomolar; the enhancement was blocked by 7-chlorokynurenic acid at the NMDA receptor glycine site but not by ifenprodil at the polyamine site, was inhibited by the Src family inhibitor PP2, and was abolished by pretreatment with 300 micromolar glycine. At 1-1000 nanomolar the field excitatory postsynaptic potential slope rose concentration-dependently | Mouse hippocampal slices, CA1 region | In vitro, bath application | Not stated in the retrieved report | Moriguchi 2013, Hippocampus 23(10):942-51, PMID 23733502 |
| Spatial reference memory on Y-maze and short-term memory on novel object recognition improved, and impaired hippocampal long-term potentiation was restored; depressive behaviour on tail suspension was not changed. CaMKII-alpha Thr-286 autophosphorylation, GluR1 Ser-831, PKC-alpha Ser-657 and NR1 Ser-896 phosphorylation in hippocampal CA1 returned toward control values; CaMKIV Thr-196 and ERK phosphorylation were unaffected. Stimulation of CaMKII and PKC autophosphorylation was inhibited by pretreatment with gavestinel at 10 mg/kg i.p. | Olfactory bulbectomised mice, treatment begun 10 days after surgery | Oral, 0.01-1.0 mg/kg once daily for 7 to 12 days | Not stated in the retrieved report | Moriguchi 2013, Behav Brain Res 242:150-7, PMID 23295391 |
| No analogue synthesised reached the potency of the parent compounds. Two analogues (13 and 14) were instead amnesic, the opposite of the parent activity, and nearly equipotent to scopolamine; two others (5 and 6) showed analgesic activity at 1 mg/kg in a rat neuropathic pain model | Mice for the passive avoidance test; rats for the neuropathic pain model | Not specified in the retrieved abstract for the passive avoidance work | Not stated in the retrieved report | Scapecchi 2004, Bioorg Med Chem 12(1):71-85, PMID 14697772 |
| Phenyl-substituted piperazines structurally related to DM235 were screened in the mouse passive avoidance test; the report states that none of the new derivatives reached the potency of the parent compound | Mice (strain not stated in the retrieved report) | Not specified in the retrieved abstract | Not stated in the retrieved report | Guandalini 2015, Bioorg Med Chem Lett 25(8):1700-1704, PMID 25813160 |
| Plasma half-life of approximately one to two hours | No pharmacokinetic study of this molecule exists. A PubMed search for sunifiram combined with pharmacokinetics returned zero records on 18 August 2026, and a search on sunifiram across all fields returns sixteen records, none of which is a pharmacokinetic study. The abstracts and retrievable texts of all sixteen were checked for a half-life, clearance, bioavailability, Cmax, Tmax or brain-to-plasma figure; none carries one, in any species, by any route. The pages quoting one to two hours attach the qualifier 'limited data'; the data is not limited, it is absent. Where a number is quoted at all, no citation accompanies it. | No source found | ||
| Sunifiram is an ampakine that acts as a positive allosteric modulator of AMPA receptors, slowing receptor desensitisation and deactivation, and increases CREB phosphorylation, Arc expression and synaptic AMPA receptor insertion | Neither half of this traces. On the AMPA half: no binding or gating measurement at an AMPA receptor was located for this compound. Galeotti 2003 (PMID 14600801) inferred AMPA involvement indirectly, from reversal of NBQX-induced amnesia in vivo and from an NBQX-sensitive effect in the kynurenate test in rat hippocampal slices; the paper's own conclusion is phrased as activation of AMPA-mediated neurotransmission, not as receptor binding. The direct electrophysiological measurement in that paper used DM232, not sunifiram. The NIMH Psychoactive Drug Screening Program panel deposited with Gualtieri 2016 (PMID 25831025) contains no AMPA or kainate binding site, so it neither supports nor refutes the claim. Searched PubMed for sunifiram or DM235 combined with AMPA, GluA1, desensitisation and deactivation; no patch-clamp or radioligand study of this compound at an AMPA receptor was found, and the desensitisation and deactivation wording appears to be imported from the ampakine literature on other chemical series. On the CREB, Arc and trafficking half: searched PubMed for sunifiram or DM235 combined with CREB, with Arc, and with receptor trafficking or surface expression; no record was returned. The two Moriguchi 2013 papers (PMID 23295391, PMID 23733502) are the only studies that measured phosphorylation states for this compound, and the proteins they report are CaMKII-alpha Thr-286, GluR1 Ser-831, PKC-alpha Ser-657, NR1 Ser-896, Src Tyr-416, CaMKIV Thr-196 and ERK. GluR1 Ser-831 phosphorylation is not the same measurement as receptor insertion into the synaptic membrane, and neither CREB nor Arc appears in either abstract. | No source found | ||
| Animal studies show a wide therapeutic index and no toxicity has been identified even at high doses | There is no toxicology study. A PubMed search for DM235 combined with toxicity, toxicology or LD50 returned a single record, Martino 2017 (PMID 28238510), an analogue-synthesis paper containing no toxicological assessment. No acute lethality value, no repeat-dose study, no genotoxicity, reproductive or carcinogenicity study was located for this compound in any species. Gualtieri 2016 (PMID 25831025), written by the chemist who led the group that made it, states in its abstract that long-term toxicity was unknown. The rota-rod, Animex and hole board batteries in Ghelardini 2002 and Galeotti 2003 test for behavioural confounds in a memory assay at the doses used there; they are not safety pharmacology, and no source describes them as such. | No source found | ||
| Sunifiram is approximately 1,000 times more potent than piracetam | This one traces, but to two incompatible figures from the same authors. Ghelardini 2002 (PMID 12070754) states that the potency is about 1,000 times higher than that of the most active piracetam-like compounds. Romanelli 2006 (PMID 16834757), a review carrying four of the same authors, states that the compounds are four orders of magnitude more potent than piracetam, a tenfold larger claim. Neither retrieved text reconciles the two, and the underlying comparison in the 2002 paper is a range against a range: 0.001 to 0.1 mg/kg intraperitoneally for sunifiram against 30 to 100 mg/kg intraperitoneally for piracetam, so the multiplier obtained depends entirely on which pair of doses is chosen. The full text of the 2006 review could not be retrieved to check its derivation; PubMed Central holds it as PMC6741768, flagged not open access, and both the PMC and Europe PMC PDF endpoints returned HTML rather than the file. No single multiplier is asserted here. | No source found | ||
| Sunifiram increases acetylcholine release in the prefrontal cortex and hippocampus | The region is wrong in both halves. Manetti 2000 (PMID 11087574) reports increased acetylcholine release in rat brain; Romanelli 2006 (PMID 16834757) states the measurement more precisely as release from rat cerebral cortex. Neither names the prefrontal cortex, and no measurement of hippocampal acetylcholine release for this compound was located in any of the sixteen indexed papers. Searched PubMed for sunifiram or DM235 combined with microdialysis, with acetylcholine and prefrontal, and with acetylcholine and hippocampus; nothing was returned beyond the papers already in this record. | No source found | ||
| Sunifiram showed no binding affinity at any tested receptor at concentrations up to 1 micromolar | The screening concentration circulating is wrong by a factor of ten, and the conclusion overstates the result. The deposited NIMH Psychoactive Drug Screening Program table, published as supplementary material to Gualtieri 2016 (PMID 25831025) and retrieved this session from the publisher's CC BY 4.0 figshare deposit (DOI 10.6084/m9.figshare.2065971, file ienz_a_1021252_sm0214.pdf), reports percentage inhibition at 10 micromolar, not 1 micromolar. Affinity was measurable at three targets: dissociation constants of 24.48 micromolar at alpha-2A, 18.65 at alpha-2B and 22 at alpha-2C adrenoceptors. Those are weak, and weak in a range with no evident bearing on the doses used in the behavioural work, but they are not nothing, and the blanket phrasing removes them. The panel also does not include an AMPA or kainate binding site, which the blanket phrasing conceals. | No source found | ||
| Sunifiram-carbamate hybrid 3f inhibits acetylcholinesterase with an IC50 of 18 nanomolar, more potently than donepezil | These figures circulate from a paper retracted on 7 August 2026 (statement of retraction PMID 42565552, printed at J Enzyme Inhib Med Chem 41(1):2712703) after editors and publisher determined that several references contained incorrect information or could not be verified and the authors acknowledged fundamental errors; the authors disagree with the retraction. The originating paper is Agha 2022 (PMID 35484855), which PubMed now types as a Retracted Publication. As reported there, hybrid 3f gave a half-maximal inhibitory concentration of 18 +/- 0.2 nanomolar against 29.9 +/- 0.15 nanomolar for donepezil, and inhibited acetylcholinesterase activity in rat brain at 1.266 ng/mL against 1.137 ng/mL for tacrine; compounds 3f, 3d and 3i were reported to raise acetylcholine release in the A549 cell line, and blood-brain barrier penetration was a computed ADMET prediction rather than a measurement. They are recorded here as circulating figures, not as evidence. | No source found | ||
| Milligram human doses, and a sublingual route of administration | Specific milligram figures and a sublingual route circulate widely across aggregator and forum pages, and the figures given are not consistent with one another. They are not reproduced here. There is no human pharmacokinetic study, no dose-ranging study, and no registered trial: ClinicalTrials.gov returned zero studies for sunifiram, DM-235 and unifiram on 18 August 2026, and no human study of any kind was located in PubMed. No published interspecies scaling analysis for this molecule was found, so the circulating figures cannot be traced even to allometric arithmetic on the rodent doses. Their origin could not be established. | No source found | ||
Where the potency figure comes from
Manetti and colleagues described the molecule in the Journal of Medicinal Chemistry in November 2000, as compound 13 in a series of 4-substituted 1-acylpiperazines obtained by simplifying a bicyclic lactam scaffold. Screening was the mouse passive avoidance test. That paper reports the compound as active at 0.001 milligrams per kilogram subcutaneously, and describes it, together with the bicyclic parent DM232, as raising acetylcholine release in rat brain. The same group's May 2000 paper had reported DM232 as active at the same dose by the same route, so the headline figure was not new to the piperazine series.
Ghelardini and colleagues published the characterisation two years later in Naunyn-Schmiedeberg's Archives of Pharmacology. Amnesia induced in mice by scopolamine at 1.5 milligrams per kilogram intraperitoneally was prevented by the compound at 0.001 to 0.1 milligrams per kilogram intraperitoneally, and at 0.01 to 0.1 orally, in the passive avoidance test; the comparators in the same report were piracetam at 30 to 100 intraperitoneally, aniracetam at 100 orally and rolipram at 30 orally. Amnesia induced by mecamylamine, baclofen and clonidine was also prevented. In rats, 0.1 intraperitoneally before each daily acquisition training prevented the memory impairment produced by scopolamine at 0.8 in a Morris water maze. Rota-rod, Animex and hole board measures were unchanged at the highest effective doses.
Two multipliers circulate and both come from the originating group. The 2002 paper states that the potency is about 1,000 times higher than that of the most active piracetam-like compounds. The 2006 review in CNS Drug Reviews, carrying four of the same authors, states that the compounds are four orders of magnitude more potent than piracetam. Nothing in the retrieved text reconciles them, and the ratio depends on which pair of doses is compared, since the 2002 report gives a range for each drug rather than a single figure. Route is inconsistent too: subcutaneous in the founding paper, intraperitoneal and oral in the characterisation. Sample sizes are not stated in any retrieved abstract, and the full texts are paywalled; PubMed Central holds the 2006 review as a scanned deposit flagged not open access.
Two mechanisms, and a screen that tested neither
Florence proposed AMPA. Galeotti and colleagues reported in 2003 that the compound at 0.1 milligrams per kilogram intraperitoneally reversed the amnesia produced by the AMPA receptor antagonist NBQX at 30 milligrams per kilogram intraperitoneally in the mouse passive avoidance test, and that in rat hippocampal slices it reversed the antagonism by kynurenic acid of NMDA-mediated tritiated noradrenaline release, an effect abolished by NBQX. Their conclusion was that the compounds act through activation of AMPA-mediated neurotransmission. The direct electrophysiological demonstration in that paper, an increase in excitatory synaptic transmission in rat hippocampus, was made with DM232 rather than with sunifiram.
Sendai proposed the glycine site of the NMDA receptor. Moriguchi and colleagues, in Hippocampus in 2013, reported that 10 to 100 nanomolar in mouse hippocampal slices enhanced long-term potentiation on a bell-shaped concentration-response curve peaking at 10 nanomolar, that the enhancement was blocked by 7-chlorokynurenic acid at the glycine site but not by ifenprodil at the polyamine site, and that pretreatment with 300 micromolar glycine abolished it. Their companion paper in Behavioural Brain Research used olfactory bulbectomised mice dosed orally at 0.01 to 1.0 milligrams per kilogram once daily for seven to twelve days, reporting improvement on Y-maze and novel object recognition, restoration of hippocampal CA1 long-term potentiation, and no change on tail suspension.
Binding data exists for neither account. The supplementary file to Gualtieri's 2016 review carries the screening results obtained through the National Institute of Mental Health Psychoactive Drug Screening Program: roughly forty receptors, channels and transporters, reported as percentage inhibition at 10 micromolar. Every value for sunifiram in that table is below 52 percent, and the only dissociation constants determined were at alpha-2 adrenoceptors, at 24.48 micromolar for alpha-2A, 18.65 for alpha-2B and 22 for alpha-2C. The rat NMDA site returned 1 percent inhibition at 10 micromolar. No AMPA or kainate binding site appears in the panel at all, so the AMPA hypothesis was neither confirmed nor excluded by it. The two mechanistic accounts have never been tested against each other in one experiment.
The chemist who made it wrote the warning
Gualtieri published a review in the Journal of Enzyme Inhibition and Medicinal Chemistry in 2016, first posted online in April 2015, under the title Unifi nootropics from the lab to the web: a story of academic (and industrial) shortcomings. Its abstract states that the two molecules were not protected by a patent, that some twelve years after their disclosure he found dozens of sites offering unifiram and sunifiram as drugs that improve cognition in healthy individuals, that only a few preclinical studies had been done, and that their long-term toxicity was unknown. The publisher returned HTTP 403 to a full-text request this session. The supplementary file was retrievable: the publisher deposits it under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 licence at figshare, DOI 10.6084/m9.figshare.2065971, as the file ienz_a_1021252_sm0214.pdf, which was downloaded and read directly.
Gualtieri's account rests on the absence of a patent, which is stated in the review's own abstract. No development programme is recorded anywhere in the retrieved sources, ChEMBL assigns no clinical phase, and the literature after 2000 is almost entirely synthetic chemistry rather than pharmacology. Whether the two are causally connected is the review author's argument rather than a measured finding, and this record does not extend it.
What followed was analogue chemistry rather than pharmacology. PubMed returns sixteen records for the term sunifiram across all fields. Seven of the sixteen are analogue-chemistry papers from the same Florence department, published between 2004 and 2017: ring expansions, ring contractions, phenyl substitutions and hydrophilic decorations, all screened in the same test. Two of those seven state that no analogue reached the potency of the parent, Scapecchi 2004 and Guandalini 2015; Guandalini 2012 and Martino 2017 make no such statement. Scapecchi's 2004 structure-activity study reported two analogues (13 and 14) with amnesic rather than antiamnesic activity, nearly equipotent to scopolamine. The most recent primary paper that has not been withdrawn is Martino's, from 2017.
The one recent paper was retracted
Agha and colleagues published a synthesis route and a set of sunifiram-carbamate and anthranilamide hybrids in the Journal of Enzyme Inhibition and Medicinal Chemistry in 2022. The reported results were in vitro: hybrid 3f inhibited acetylcholinesterase with a half-maximal inhibitory concentration of 18 plus or minus 0.2 nanomolar against 29.9 plus or minus 0.15 for donepezil, three compounds raised acetylcholine release in the A549 cell line, and blood-brain barrier penetration was a prediction from computed ADMET properties rather than a measurement. Those figures are recorded in this document only as circulating figures, in the unsourced array, for the reason set out next.
That paper was retracted on 7 August 2026. The statement of retraction records that editors and publisher identified several references containing incorrect information or unable to be verified, that the authors on being asked acknowledged fundamental errors, and that retraction followed because the validity of the references could not be established. It also records that the authors disagree with the retraction. PubMed now types the 2022 article as a Retracted Publication, and the article remains online marked as such.
Checking the author clusters rather than the single citation returns more. PubMed types three papers carrying Ibrahim TS as an author as Retracted Publication, the sunifiram hybrid paper among them, the other two in unrelated synthetic and formulation work. On the Florence side, an author search returns three retracted papers under Ghelardini C and one under Romanelli MN, covering melanoma histone deacetylase work, a murine colitis model, an oxaliplatin neuropathy study and an acetyl-L-carnitine study. None is a sunifiram paper. No paper cited in this record carries a retraction, expression of concern or erratum other than the 2022 hybrid study.
What was never measured
Pharmacokinetics do not exist for this molecule. A PubMed search combining sunifiram with pharmacokinetics returned zero records on 18 August 2026, and no absorption, distribution, elimination, plasma half-life or brain tissue concentration figure was located for it in any species, by any route, in any of the sixteen indexed papers. The bell-shaped concentration-response curve in the slice work is a bath concentration and says nothing about exposure in a living animal.
Toxicology is equally absent. A PubMed search combining DM235 with toxicity, toxicology or LD50 returned one record, the 2017 analogue-chemistry paper, which reports no toxicological assessment. No acute lethality figure, no repeat-dose study, no genotoxicity, reproductive or carcinogenicity study was located. The behavioural batteries in the 2002 and 2003 reports checked motor coordination, spontaneous motility and inspection activity at the doses tested, which is a screen for confounds in a memory assay rather than a safety study.
Human data does not exist either. ClinicalTrials.gov returned no registered study for sunifiram, for DM-235 or for unifiram when queried on 18 August 2026. No case report, poisoning report or clinical observation was located in PubMed. No analytical paper documenting detection of the compound in a marketed product was found; the published survey work on unapproved drugs in cognitive-enhancement supplements covers centrophenoxine, omberacetam, phenibut and the modafinil analogues, and sunifiram does not appear in it.
What is not known
No human data exists. ClinicalTrials.gov returned no registered study for sunifiram, DM-235 or unifiram, no case report or poisoning report was located in PubMed, and no analytical paper documenting the compound in a marketed product was found. Absorption, distribution and elimination are entirely uncharacterised: no plasma concentration curve, no half-life, no bioavailability figure and no brain tissue measurement exists in any species, so the relationship between the nanomolar concentrations that altered long-term potentiation in slices and the microgram-per-kilogram doses that altered behaviour in mice is unknown. Toxicology is absent in the same way. The lethality, repeat-dose, genotoxicity and reproductive studies that would establish a margin were not performed, and the chemist who led the originating group said so in print in 2016. Mechanism remains contested between two laboratories that never ran a comparison, and the one binding screen available covered neither of the receptors under discussion. Sample sizes were not stated in any retrieved abstract, and the paywalled full texts could not be read this session, so the effect sizes behind the behavioural findings are known only by direction and significance. Almost the entire non-retracted record originates from one department in Florence, in one strain-unspecified mouse assay, and the one recent paper from outside that group was retracted in August 2026. The compound is not approved for human use anywhere; the FDA registry entry records chemical identity, not authorisation.
Questions
Has sunifiram been studied in humans?
Is sunifiram a racetam?
Where does the '1,000 times more potent than piracetam' figure come from?
Which sunifiram paper was retracted, and why?
What is known about how sunifiram works?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 4223812, Sunifiram. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Retrieved 18 August 2026: CAS 314728-85-3, C14H18N2O2, 246.30 g/mol average and 246.136827821 monoisotopic, InChIKey DGOWDUFJCINDGI-UHFFFAOYSA-N, UNII 66924E735K, IUPAC name 1-(4-benzoylpiperazin-1-yl)propan-1-one. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System, substance SUNIFIRAM, UNII 66924E735K. Formula C14H18N2O2, computed weight 246.3055. The record's approved status refers to curation of the substance definition, not to marketing authorisation. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- ChEMBL molecule CHEMBL309176, SUNIFIRAM. C14H18N2O2, 246.31, InChIKey DGOWDUFJCINDGI-UHFFFAOYSA-N. Maximum clinical phase: none recorded; therapeutic flag false. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on www.ebi.ac.uk
- Manetti D, Ghelardini C, Bartolini A, et al. Molecular simplification of 1,4-diazabicyclo[4.3.0]nonan-9-ones gives piperazine derivatives that maintain high nootropic activity. J Med Chem. 2000;43(23):4499-4507. First description of DM235; reported active at 0.001 mg/kg subcutaneously. PMID 11087574 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Manetti D, Ghelardini C, Bartolini A, et al. Design, synthesis, and preliminary pharmacological evaluation of 1,4-diazabicyclo[4.3.0]nonan-9-ones as a new class of highly potent nootropic agents. J Med Chem. 2000;43(10):1969-1974. The bicyclic parent series; DM232 reported active at the same 0.001 mg/kg subcutaneous dose. PMID 10821709 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ghelardini C, Galeotti N, Gualtieri F, et al. DM235 (sunifiram): a novel nootropic with potential as a cognitive enhancer. Naunyn Schmiedebergs Arch Pharmacol. 2002;365(6):419-426. Source of the 'about 1,000 times' potency statement. PMID 12070754 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Galeotti N, Ghelardini C, Pittaluga A, et al. AMPA-receptor activation is involved in the antiamnesic effect of DM 232 (unifiram) and DM 235 (sunifiram). Naunyn Schmiedebergs Arch Pharmacol. 2003;368(6):538-545. PMID 14600801 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Scapecchi S, Martini E, Manetti D, et al. Structure-activity relationship studies on unifiram (DM232) and sunifiram (DM235), two novel and potent cognition enhancing drugs. Bioorg Med Chem. 2004;12(1):71-85. Reports two analogues with amnesic rather than antiamnesic activity. PMID 14697772 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Romanelli MN, Galeotti N, Ghelardini C, et al. Pharmacological characterization of DM232 (unifiram) and DM235 (sunifiram), new potent cognition enhancers. CNS Drug Rev. 2006;12(1):39-52. Source of the 'four order of magnitude' potency statement. Held in PubMed Central as PMC6741768 but flagged not open access; full text could not be retrieved this session. PMID 16834757 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Two 2008 analogue series from the same Florence department, cited here together as part of the seven-paper analogue-chemistry corpus. Martini E, Ghelardini C, Dei S, et al. Design, synthesis and preliminary pharmacological evaluation of new piperidine and piperazine derivatives as cognition-enhancers. Bioorg Med Chem. 2008;16(3):1431-1443. PMID 17981042. And Martini E, Norcini M, Ghelardini C, et al. Design, synthesis and preliminary pharmacological evaluation of new analogues of DM232 (unifiram) and DM235 (sunifiram) as cognition modulators. Bioorg Med Chem. 2008;16(23):10034-10042. PMID 18954993 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Martini E, Salvicchi A, Ghelardini C, et al. Design, synthesis and nootropic activity of new analogues of sunifiram and sapunifiram, two potent cognition-enhancers. Bioorg Med Chem. 2009;17(21):7606-7614. PMID 19786353 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Guandalini L, Martini E, Di Cesare Mannelli L, et al. Influence of ring size on the cognition-enhancing activity of DM235 and MN19, two potent nootropic drugs. Bioorg Med Chem Lett. 2012;22(5):1936-1939. Makes no statement that the analogues failed to exceed the parent. PMID 22325944 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Moriguchi S, Tanaka T, Tagashira H, Narahashi T, Fukunaga K. Novel nootropic drug sunifiram improves cognitive deficits via CaM kinase II and protein kinase C activation in olfactory bulbectomized mice. Behav Brain Res. 2013;242:150-157. Describes the compound as a novel pyrrolidone nootropic drug, without the 'structurally related to piracetam' clause. PMID 23295391 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Moriguchi S, Tanaka T, Narahashi T, Fukunaga K. Novel nootropic drug sunifiram enhances hippocampal synaptic efficacy via glycine-binding site of N-methyl-D-aspartate receptor. Hippocampus. 2013;23(10):942-951. Opens by describing the compound as a pyrrolidone nootropic drug structurally related to piracetam. PMID 23733502 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Guandalini L, Martino MV, Di Cesare Mannelli L, et al. Substituted piperazines as nootropic agents: 2- or 3-phenyl derivatives structurally related to the cognition-enhancer DM235. Bioorg Med Chem Lett. 2015;25(8):1700-1704. One of the two analogue papers stating that no derivative reached the potency of the parent. PMID 25813160 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Martino MV, Guandalini L, Di Cesare Mannelli L, et al. Piperazines as nootropic agents: New derivatives of the potent cognition-enhancer DM235 carrying hydrophilic substituents. Bioorg Med Chem. 2017;25(6):1795-1803. The most recent primary paper on the series that has not been withdrawn, and the single record returned by the DM235 toxicity search; it reports no toxicological assessment. PMID 28238510 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Gualtieri F. Unifi nootropics from the lab to the web: a story of academic (and industrial) shortcomings. J Enzyme Inhib Med Chem. 2016;31(2):187-194, first posted online 1 April 2015. Publisher full text returned HTTP 403 this session; the supplementary NIMH Psychoactive Drug Screening Program table was retrieved from the publisher's CC BY 4.0 figshare deposit (DOI 10.6084/m9.figshare.2065971, file ienz_a_1021252_sm0214.pdf) and is the source of the binding figures in this record. PMID 25831025 View on tandf.figshare.com
- Agha KA, Abo-Dya NE, Issahaku AR, et al. Novel Sunifiram-carbamate hybrids as potential dual acetylcholinesterase inhibitor and NMDAR co-agonist: simulation-guided analogue design and pharmacological screening. J Enzyme Inhib Med Chem. 2022;37(1):1241-1256. RETRACTED: PubMed types this paper as a Retracted Publication; the statement of retraction was printed 7 August 2026 at J Enzyme Inhib Med Chem 41(1):2712703, PMID 42565552 (PMC13455690), citing references that were incorrect or could not be verified, with the authors disagreeing. Its figures appear in this record only in the unsourced array. PMID 35484855 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.