Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
TAK-653
TAK-653 is a small molecule, not a peptide. PubChem indexes it as CID 56655833 and the FDA substance registry holds the same structure under UNII 9E3TOE5RIZ with the International Nonproprietary Name osavampator; TAK-653 and NBI-1065845 are development codes for one compound. Nine trials are registered. The largest completed one is a 183-participant phase 2 that has never been published in a peer-reviewed journal; the five phase 3 trials now recruiting are larger, up to 850 participants, and none is due to report before 2027.
- Class
- Small-molecule positive allosteric modulator of the AMPA receptor; a dihydropyrazinothiadiazine 2,2-dioxide
- CAS number
- 1358751-06-0
- PubChem CID
- 56655833
- Molecular formula
- C19H23N3O3S
- Molecular weight
- 373.5 g/mol
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- TAK-653; NBI-1065845; osavampator (INN 12689, USAN); USAN code MN-277; UNII 9E3TOE5RIZ; ChEMBL4594403; NCI Thesaurus C203197; InChIKey PXJBHEHFVQVDDS-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Chemical identity
TAK-653 is not a peptide, although the secondary literature catalogues and discusses it alongside them. Beyond that, its identity is unambiguous. PubChem holds a single compound record under the name: CID 56655833, molecular formula C19H23N3O3S, molecular weight 373.5 g/mol, InChIKey PXJBHEHFVQVDDS-UHFFFAOYSA-N. The FDA substance registry carries the same structure as UNII 9E3TOE5RIZ, with CAS 1358751-06-0 as the primary registry number and INN number 12689, the USAN code MN-277 and PubChem CID 56655833 recorded alongside it. ChEMBL4594403 repeats the formula and molecular weight and records no first approval date. The registry describes the structure as achiral.
Three names attach to this one structure. TAK-653 is the Takeda development code, NBI-1065845 is the code used by Neurocrine Biosciences after the compound was licensed, and osavampator is the International Nonproprietary Name. All three appear as synonyms on the same PubChem CID and the same FDA substance record, and the trial registry entry for the phase 2 study lists TAK-653 explicitly as another name for NBI-1065845. Papers, registry entries and conference material published between 2015 and 2025 use whichever code was current at the time, which makes the literature look larger and more fragmented than it is.
The systematic name is 9-[4-(cyclohexyloxy)phenyl]-7-methyl-3,4-dihydropyrazino[2,1-c][1,2,4]thiadiazine 2,2-dioxide. Suzuki and colleagues describe it as a deliberate modification of an earlier compound from the same laboratory, TAK-137, with a cyclohexyl group substituted for a terminal phenyl specifically to increase steric bulk. The stated reason was to induce steric repulsion at Ser750 in the ligand-binding domain of GluA2o, the residue that group had previously identified as governing how much agonist-independent activation this chemical series produces.
Claim ledger
12 of 20 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Displaced [3H]-HBT1 from a His-tagged GluA2o ligand-binding domain with an IC50 of 0.26 μM; did not displace [3H]-AMPA but increased its binding with an EC50 of 1.5 ± 0.2 μM and Emax 19.9 ± 3.4%. In CHO cells expressing GluA1i, glutamate-dependent calcium influx was potentiated with an EC50 of 3.3 μM, and an S743A mutation produced maximum responses HIGHER than wild-type at every glutamate concentration tested | Purified recombinant GluA2o ligand-binding domain protein; CHO cells expressing wild-type or S743A hGluA1i | In vitro, scintillation proximity assay and Ca2+ influx assay | n = 4 replicates (displacement); n = 4 ([3H]-AMPA); n = 3 (Ca2+ influx) | Suzuki 2021, Sci Rep, PMID 34267258 |
| Convulsions recorded in one animal at 100 mg/kg orally, 4 h after dosing; exposure margins against the cognition-effective exposure calculated as 419-fold on plasma Cmax and 1017-fold on plasma AUC, versus 42 and 122 for TAK-137 and 3.4 and 4.0 for LY451646 | Male Sprague-Dawley rats, 4 weeks old, two GLP studies at 100/15/5 and 50/15/5 mg/kg | Oral, by stomach catheter, 5 mL/kg | Not stated per dose level in the retrieved report | Suzuki 2021, Sci Rep, PMID 34267258 |
| Novelty discrimination index higher than vehicle at 0.03, 0.1 and 0.3 mg/kg; in a separate MK-801 radial arm maze test, mean errors reduced at 0.1, 0.3, 3 and 10 mg/kg | Male Long-Evans rats, 6 weeks old (recognition task) and 9 weeks old (maze task) | Oral | n = 10 per group (novel object recognition, Figure 4 legend); 6 to 18 per group in the radial arm maze test | Suzuki 2021, Sci Rep, PMID 34267258 |
| Delayed match-to-sample accuracy improved at the 16-second delay interval only; the 0, 4 and 8-second intervals did not reach significance | Male cynomolgus monkeys (Macaca fascicularis) | Oral, 0.06 mg/kg, 6 h before testing | 3 animals, 96 trials per session | Suzuki 2021, Sci Rep, PMID 34267258 |
| Six days of sub-chronic dosing produced an antidepressant-like effect in the reduction of submissive behaviour model without the hyperlocomotor response ketamine produced; ketamine's effect at 30 mg/kg was blocked by NBQX at 10 mg/kg | Rats, strain not stated in the retrieved abstract | Not stated in the retrieved abstract; ketamine and NBQX intraperitoneal | Not stated in the retrieved abstract; full text is subscription-only and not in PubMed Central or Europe PMC | Hara 2021, Pharmacol Biochem Behav, PMID 34655652 |
| Mechanomyographic response amplitude to single-pulse TMS showed a significant effect of dose, F(5,25) = 4.399, p = 0.005; all doses except 0.1 mg/kg produced responses 30 to 70% above vehicle. Plasma reached 5.32 ± 0.94 ng/mL at 0.3 mg/kg and 391.0 ± 190.6 ng/mL at 50 mg/kg | Adult male Sprague-Dawley rats | Oral gavage, 0.1 to 50 mg/kg | 31 rats for the TMS arm; 20 further rats for concentration measurement | O'Donnell 2021, Transl Psychiatry, PMID 34045439 |
| Motor-evoked potential amplitude at 2.5 h was higher on 6 mg than placebo (p = 0.0269, Dunnett-adjusted p = 0.0497); 0.5 mg did not differ. Resting motor threshold was unchanged at both doses. Plasma at 2.5 h was 45.99 ± 8.84 ng/mL on 6 mg and 4.19 ± 0.83 ng/mL on 0.5 mg | Healthy volunteers, 23 men and 1 woman, mean age 27.9 | Oral, 0.5 mg and 6 mg, in a four-period design: three double-blind periods (placebo, 0.5 mg, 6 mg) followed by an open-label intravenous ketamine 0.5 mg/kg period that four of the 24 did not take part in | 24 | O'Donnell 2021, Transl Psychiatry, PMID 34045439; NCT03792672 |
| 6 mg improved adaptive tracking by 1.68% (90% CI 0.51 to 2.84, P = 0.02) and smooth pursuit by 2.32% (0.37 to 4.27, P = 0.05); the 6 mg saccadic peak velocity change, 15.40 degrees per second (1.91 to 28.90), did not reach significance (P = 0.06). The only significant saccadic effect was at 0.5 mg, 19.49 degrees per second (5.98 to 32.99, P = 0.02); 0.5 mg also increased the Stroop congruent-incongruent reaction-time difference by 22.0 ms (P = 0.05) and reduced correct responses in incongruent trials (P = 0.02). Body sway and all subjective scales were unchanged | Healthy volunteers, the same cohort as the TMS study | Oral, 0.5 mg and 6 mg, crossover, tests at 3.5 and 4 h post-dose | 24 | Dijkstra 2022, Transl Psychiatry, PMID 36153330 (intervals in the source table are 90% CI) |
| No serious adverse events in any arm, no clinically significant EEG abnormality, no treatment-emergent suicidal ideation or behaviour on the Columbia scale, and one discontinuation for an adverse event across both parts. Treatment-emergent adverse event rates did not track dose: 83.3% at 5 mg, 33.3% at 9 mg and 33.3% at 18 mg | Healthy participants at one site in the United Kingdom, August 2015 to September 2017 | Oral; single doses 0.3 to 18 mg, and 0.3 to 9 mg once daily on days 6 to 18 | 88 total; 6 per active cohort, pooled placebo groups of 12 and 10 | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT02561156, posted results |
| Change from baseline in total MADRS at day 28 for the 1 mg arm was -4.3 against placebo (95% CI -7.8 to -0.8, nominal p = 0.0159; the confidence interval appears only in the 2025 poster); the 3 mg arm was -3.0 (p = 0.0873, April 2024 press release only, with no corresponding day 28 figure on the poster) | Adults 18 to 65 with major depressive disorder or persistent depressive disorder, inadequate antidepressant response, HAMD-17 at least 22 | Oral once daily for 8 weeks, adjunctive to existing antidepressant treatment, randomised 2:1:1 | 183 randomised, 161 (88%) completed | Neurocrine press release 23 April 2024 and Psych Congress 2025 poster 33; trial NCT05203341, no peer-reviewed publication and no posted registry results |
| Day 56 MADRS difference for the 1 mg arm reported as -7.5 (p = 0.0016) in April 2024 and as -6.9 (95% CI -11.2 to -2.6, nominal p = 0.0018, effect size 0.73) in 2025; the 3 mg arm reported as -3.6 (p = 0.1082) in April 2024 and as nominal p = 0.0573 in 2025. Day 56 was a secondary endpoint and the poster labels its p-values nominal | Same trial population as above | Oral once daily for 8 weeks, adjunctive | 183 randomised | Neurocrine press release 23 April 2024 versus Psych Congress 2025 poster 33; the discrepancy is unexplained in the retrievable material |
| After multiple daily doses, geometric mean ratios were 0.94 (90% CI 0.79 to 1.13) for midazolam Cmax and 0.88 (0.78 to 0.98) for midazolam AUC to infinity; 1.00 and 1.01 for ethinyl estradiol; 0.99 for levonorgestrel Cmax and 0.87 (0.78 to 0.96) for its AUC to last quantifiable concentration. The authors concluded no CYP3A induction | Healthy adults: 14 men and 4 women in the midazolam arm, 17 women in the oral contraceptive arm | Oral, parallel-arm phase 1 | 18 and 17 enrolled; 16 completed in each arm | Lin 2024, Clin Transl Sci, PMID 38700236. This trial has no ClinicalTrials.gov record: a v2 API term search across NBI-1065845, TAK-653 and osavampator on 18 August 2026 returned nine studies and none is the drug-interaction study |
| The terminal half-life in humans is 33.1 to 47.8 hours. | This is the most widely repeated pharmacokinetic figure for the compound and it has never appeared in a peer-reviewed paper. It is stated twice in Dijkstra 2022 (PMID 36153330), which is where secondary pages take it from, but Dijkstra attributes it to reference 11: Asgharnejad, Xu, Dong, Iadevaia, Dorner, Murthy and Ratti, an abstract in a conference supplement at Neuropsychopharmacology 2018;43:S157. That abstract is not indexed in PubMed and was not retrievable as a standalone document. The registry record for the study it describes, NCT02561156, posts Cmax, Tmax, AUClast, AUC to infinity and steady-state values but has no half-life outcome measure at all. PubMed returns ten records for the compound name and Europe PMC eleven for a title-and-abstract search; none is a pharmacokinetic paper. | No source found | ||
| The half-life is 8 to 12 hours, or about 10 hours; Tmax is 1.0 hour; oral bioavailability is 75%; the brain-to-plasma ratio is 3.5:1; plasma protein binding is 65%. | This block of figures appears on nootropics aggregator pages with no citations attached to any of them. Searched PubMed for the compound name with bioavailability (zero records) and with pharmacokinetics (three records, none reporting these values). The figures also contradict the record that does exist: the only published half-life range is 33.1 to 47.8 hours, and the posted median Tmax in NCT02561156 runs from 1.25 hours at 0.3 mg to 5.5 hours at 9 mg, not 1.0 hour. No primary source for the bioavailability, brain-to-plasma or protein-binding numbers was located in PubMed, Europe PMC or general web search. | No source found | ||
| Binding affinity at GluA2 is approximately 10 nM, roughly fifty times tighter than CX-516. | No affinity constant matching this figure was located. Suzuki 2021 (PMID 34267258) is the only paper reporting binding measurements for this molecule, and the value it gives is an IC50 of 0.26 μM — 260 nM — for displacement of [3H]-HBT1 from the GluA2o ligand-binding domain, roughly twenty-six times weaker than the circulating number. The same paper reports that the compound does not bind the agonist site at all. The 10 nM figure and the CX-516 comparison appear only on nootropics pages that cite nothing. | No source found | ||
| A 2018 Stanford University study found that healthy adults taking TAK-653 showed enhanced cognitive performance. | No such study exists in any retrievable record. A PubMed search for the compound name combined with Stanford returns zero records. All nine studies registered on ClinicalTrials.gov naming TAK-653, NBI-1065845 or osavampator are sponsored by Neurocrine Biosciences or Millennium Pharmaceuticals, and the only human studies of that era were run at single sites in the United Kingdom (August 2015 to September 2017) and the Netherlands (February to June 2019); the sole study with a 2018 start date, NCT03312894, was withdrawn without enrolling anyone. The claim circulates on nootropics pages with no citation. | No source found | ||
| A case report in The Lancet Psychiatry described sustained improvement in ADHD symptoms over six months. | One aggregator page attributes this to Dijkstra 2022, which is a 24-participant healthy-volunteer pharmacodynamic study published in Translational Psychiatry with no ADHD participants, no case report and no six-month follow-up. A PubMed search for the compound name combined with ADHD returns zero records, as does a search restricted to that journal. Neither the case report nor any ADHD study of this molecule exists in the indexed literature. | No source found | ||
| TAK-653 increases the release of dopamine and norepinephrine. | A PubMed search for the compound name combined with dopamine or norepinephrine returns one record: a 2023 review of antipsychotic and antidepressant development (PMID 38868733), which discusses non-monoamine mechanisms and reports no monoamine release measurements for this compound. No microdialysis study, no neurochemistry paper and no in vitro release assay for this molecule was located. The mechanistic papers that do exist measure calcium influx, AMPA-receptor-mediated currents, evoked postsynaptic potentials and BDNF, not monoamine release. | No source found | ||
| Chronic use maintains efficacy without measurable tolerance development. | No tolerance or tachyphylaxis study in any species was located. A PubMed search for the compound name combined with tolerance returns one record, the CYP3A interaction study, where the word is used in the safety sense. The longest exposure in any published or registry-posted record is thirteen consecutive days of daily dosing in part two of NCT02561156; the eight-week phase 2 has posted no results and produced no publication. There is no repeat-dosing pharmacodynamic time course in humans against which tolerance could be assessed. | No source found | ||
| There is a 419-fold safety margin against convulsions relative to therapeutic doses. | The number is real and the referent is wrong. Suzuki 2021 (PMID 34267258) calculates 419-fold on plasma Cmax and 1017-fold on plasma AUC in rats, and the denominator is the rat exposure that improved novel object recognition, not a therapeutic dose in a person. The paper says so explicitly and gives the comparator margins for two other potentiators in the same table. No study has established an equivalent margin in humans, and the only convulsion observation in the record is a single rat at 100 mg/kg orally. | No source found | ||
The agonism problem the molecule was built around
Earlier AMPA receptor potentiators carried two linked liabilities: they activated the receptor to some degree in the absence of glutamate, and they produced bell-shaped dose-response curves and convulsions at higher exposures. Suzuki and colleagues set out the design premise directly, arguing that the bell-shaped curve is inconsistent with a desensitisation explanation because the same compounds induce seizures at the doses where the curve turns down. The whole preclinical package for this molecule is organised around one question: whether an AMPA receptor potentiator can be made to work only when glutamate is already present.
Their 2021 report gives the binding measurements. TAK-653 displaced the radiolabelled potentiator [3H]-HBT1 from a His-tagged GluA2o ligand-binding domain with an IC50 of 0.26 μM (n = 4). Binding of radiolabelled TAK-653 to the same protein rose in a glutamate-dependent manner and was not detected against an unrelated control protein. It did not displace [3H]-AMPA from the agonist site; it mildly increased that binding instead, with an EC50 of 1.5 ± 0.2 μM and an Emax of 19.9 ± 3.4%. In CHO cells expressing GluA1i, glutamate-dependent calcium influx was potentiated with an EC50 of 3.3 μM. When Ser743 — the GluA1i equivalent of GluA2o Ser750 — was mutated to alanine, the maximum response to TAK-653 was higher than in wild-type at every glutamate concentration tested, which the authors read as removal of the steric interference the molecule was designed around (PMID 34267258).
The convulsion data come from Good Laboratory Practice studies in male Sprague-Dawley rats dosed orally at 100, 15 and 5 mg/kg in one study and 50, 15 and 5 mg/kg in a second. Convulsions were recorded in one animal at 100 mg/kg, four hours after dosing. From that observation the authors calculated exposure margins of 419-fold on plasma Cmax and 1017-fold on plasma AUC, against comparator margins of 42 and 122 for TAK-137 and 3.4 and 4.0 for LY451646. The denominator matters and is often dropped: the margin is measured against the rat exposure that improved novel object recognition, not against any dose given to a person.
What the animal work measured
Cognitive readouts in rats came from two paradigms. In the novel object recognition test in male Long-Evans rats, oral doses of 0.03, 0.1 and 0.3 mg/kg raised the novelty discrimination index against vehicle, with ten animals per group. In a radial arm maze test in which working memory was disrupted by MK-801 at 0.08 mg/kg subcutaneously, oral doses of 0.1, 0.3, 3 and 10 mg/kg reduced mean errors, with group sizes reported as 6 to 18. Two comparator potentiators, LY451646 and PF-04958242, improved the recognition task but not the maze task in the same report, which is the dissociation the paper was written to demonstrate.
Primate data in that report are thin by design. Three male cynomolgus monkeys received 0.06 mg/kg orally six hours before a delayed match-to-sample session of 96 trials, a dose chosen because it produced a Cmax matching 0.1 mg/kg in rats. Accuracy improved at the 16-second delay interval on a paired t test and did not reach significance at the 0, 4 or 8-second intervals. Three animals and one significant cell across four delay conditions is a small result, and the paper presents it as one panel among many rather than as a standalone finding.
Two studies address depression-like behaviour. Hara and colleagues reported in 2021 that ketamine at 30 mg/kg intraperitoneally produced an antidepressant-like effect in the rat reduction of submissive behaviour model, that pretreatment with the AMPA antagonist NBQX at 10 mg/kg blocked it, and that six days of TAK-653 produced a comparable effect without the hyperlocomotion ketamine caused; the TAK-653 dose and the group sizes do not appear in the retrievable abstract and the full text is subscription-only. Li and colleagues reported in 2025 on three male cynomolgus monkeys taken through twelve weeks of chronic unpredictable mild stress and then two weeks of oral TAK-653 at 0.346 mg/kg, a dose derived by body-surface-area scaling from a rat figure. There was no control group and no separate vehicle arm; each animal served as its own baseline, the compound was purchased from a commercial chemical supplier, and the authors state plainly that the sample size prevented any dose-response assessment.
Three studies, and one cohort of twenty-four
The first-in-human work is registered as NCT02561156 and ran at a single site in the United Kingdom from August 2015 to September 2017 in 88 participants. Single doses of 0.3, 1, 3, 5, 9 and 18 mg were given in part one; part two gave 0.3, 1, 3, 6 and 9 mg once daily from day 6 to day 18, six participants per cohort against pooled placebo groups of 12 and 10. The posted results record no serious adverse events in any arm, no clinically significant electroencephalogram abnormality in either part, no treatment-emergent suicidal ideation or behaviour on the Columbia scale, and one discontinuation for an adverse event across the whole study. Treatment-emergent adverse event rates did not track dose: 83.3% at 5 mg against 33.3% at both 9 and 18 mg, on six participants per cell.
O'Donnell and colleagues published the translational transcranial magnetic stimulation work in 2021. Thirty-one adult male Sprague-Dawley rats received TAK-653 by oral gavage at 0.1, 0.3, 1, 8 or 50 mg/kg or vehicle; mechanomyographic response amplitude showed a significant effect of dose, F(5,25) = 4.399, p = 0.005, with all doses except 0.1 mg/kg producing responses 30 to 70% above vehicle. The human arm enrolled 24 healthy volunteers, 23 men and one woman, in a four-period design: three double-blind periods (placebo, 0.5 mg and 6 mg) followed by an open-label ketamine 0.5 mg/kg intravenous period, which four of the 24 did not take part in. Motor-evoked potential amplitude at 2.5 hours was higher on 6 mg than placebo (p = 0.0269, Dunnett-adjusted p = 0.0497). Resting motor threshold did not change at either dose, and of the paired-pulse measures only long intracortical inhibition at a 300 ms interval on the 0.5 mg dose reached significance.
Dijkstra and colleagues reported the pharmacodynamic battery run in that same cohort, with 90% confidence intervals throughout. At 6 mg, adaptive tracking improved by 1.68% (90% CI 0.51 to 2.84, P = 0.02) and smooth pursuit by 2.32% (0.37 to 4.27, P = 0.05); the saccadic peak velocity change was 15.40 degrees per second (1.91 to 28.90) and did not reach significance (P = 0.06). The 0.5 mg dose produced the study's only significant saccadic effect, 19.49 degrees per second (5.98 to 32.99, P = 0.02), while also increasing the Stroop congruent-incongruent reaction-time difference by 22.0 ms (P = 0.05) and reducing the number of correct responses in incongruent trials (P = 0.02); 6 mg affected no Stroop parameter. Body sway and every subjective visual-analogue subscale were unchanged, and no dissociative or euphoric effects were recorded. Somnolence was reported by 3 of 24 at each dose against 2 of 24 on placebo, and headache by 4 of 24 at 6 mg against 2 of 24 on placebo.
SAVITRI, and two versions of the same result
The phase 2 trial is NCT05203341, run under the acronym SAVITRI between February 2022 and February 2024. Adults aged 18 to 65 with recurrent major depressive disorder or persistent depressive disorder, an inadequate response to antidepressant treatment and a 17-item Hamilton score of at least 22 were randomised 2:1:1 to placebo, 1 mg or 3 mg once daily for eight weeks, on top of the antidepressant they were already taking. One hundred and eighty-three were randomised and 161, or 88%, completed treatment. The primary endpoint was change in total MADRS score at day 28, with day 56 among the secondary endpoints; the poster labels every p-value it reports, day 28 included, as nominal. The registry entry itself never names the two dose levels; it calls them low and high.
Two sponsor accounts of the outcome exist and they do not match. The April 2024 press release reported, for the dose that separated from placebo, a least-squares mean difference of -4.3 at day 28 (p = 0.0159) and -7.5 at day 56 (p = 0.0016), with the other dose at -3.0 (p = 0.0873) and -3.6 (p = 0.1082). The poster presented at Psych Congress in 2025 identified the doses as 1 mg and 3 mg and reported the 1 mg arm at -4.3 at day 28 (95% CI -7.8 to -0.8, nominal p = 0.0159) and -6.9 at day 56 (95% CI -11.2 to -2.6, nominal p = 0.0018, effect size 0.73), with the 3 mg arm at nominal p = 0.0573 at day 56. Day 28 is identical across the two accounts. Day 56 differs on both arms, and nothing in the retrievable material explains why.
Whichever figures are taken, the lower dose separated from placebo and the higher dose did not. No published analysis addresses why. No results have been posted to the registry, and no peer-reviewed publication of the trial exists: a PubMed search for the compound name returns ten records and a Europe PMC title-and-abstract search returns eleven, none of which is this study. Five phase 3 trials are now registered — three efficacy studies of roughly 200 participants each, a 550-participant maintenance study and an 850-participant long-term safety study — with completion dates between 2027 and 2030. None of the registry entries states the phase 3 dose.
The interaction study, and the legal position
One further human study has been published in full, and it carries no trial registry record at all. Lin and colleagues ran a parallel-arm phase 1 in 2024 testing whether repeated dosing induces CYP3A. The midazolam arm comprised 14 men and 4 women, of whom 16 completed; the oral contraceptive arm comprised 17 women, of whom 16 completed. After multiple daily doses, geometric mean ratios with 90% confidence intervals were 0.94 (0.79 to 1.13) for midazolam Cmax and 0.88 (0.78 to 0.98) for midazolam AUC to infinity; 1.00 and 1.01 for ethinyl estradiol; and 0.99 for levonorgestrel Cmax with 0.87 (0.78 to 0.96) for AUC to the last quantifiable concentration. The authors concluded that the compound is not a CYP3A inducer.
Regulatory status is straightforward. ChEMBL records no first approval date, phase 3 trials began recruiting in 2025, and there is no marketing authorisation in any jurisdiction. Every registered study naming the compound has an industry sponsor: eight from Neurocrine Biosciences and one from Millennium Pharmaceuticals, a treatment-resistant depression study with a February 2018 start date that was withdrawn without enrolling anyone. The material sold on vendor product pages and nootropics aggregator sites has no relationship to the tablets manufactured for these trials, and nothing established in the trials transfers to it.
The published human exposure is also short. The longest characterised repeat-dosing interval in any published or registry-posted record is thirteen consecutive days in part two of the first-in-human study. The eight-week exposure in the phase 2 has produced no published safety table, no adverse-event listing beyond the sponsor's statement that there were no deaths, serious adverse events or adverse events of special interest, and no posted registry results.
What is not known
The largest dataset on this molecule is not public. SAVITRI randomised 183 people, completed in February 2024, and has posted no results to ClinicalTrials.gov and produced no peer-reviewed publication; everything known about it comes from a sponsor press release and a conference poster, which disagree with each other on the day 56 figures for both dose arms, and the day 56 comparisons are unadjusted secondary-endpoint p-values that the poster itself labels nominal. Human pharmacokinetics are in the same position: the half-life range every secondary source repeats traces to a 2018 conference abstract that is not indexed in PubMed, and the registry entry for the study that generated it posted no half-life outcome. Nothing has been published on exposure beyond thirteen days of daily dosing, on what happens after discontinuation, on pharmacokinetics in older adults, in hepatic or renal impairment, or across ancestry groups. The phase 1 cohorts were six participants per dose level and the two pharmacodynamic studies used one group of 24 volunteers, 23 of them men, so the human physiological data rest on a single small and almost entirely male sample. One published human study, the CYP3A interaction trial, carries no trial registry record at all. Seizure risk in people is uncharacterised: no convulsion has been reported in any registered trial, but the total human exposure across all published studies is a few hundred participants and no study was powered for a rare event. On the preclinical side, the primate cognition finding rests on three animals and one significant delay interval, the primate depression study on three animals with no control group, and no independent laboratory has replicated the founding pharmacology, which comes entirely from the originating company.
Questions
Are TAK-653, NBI-1065845 and osavampator the same compound?
Has it been tested in people?
Is it an approved medicine?
Where does the 33 to 48 hour half-life figure come from?
Did the higher dose in the phase 2 work better?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 56655833, TAK-653. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Formula C19H23N3O3S, MW 373.5, InChIKey PXJBHEHFVQVDDS-UHFFFAOYSA-N. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System, substance record UNII 9E3TOE5RIZ (osavampator). Primary codes: CAS 1358751-06-0, USAN MN-277, INN 12689, PubChem 56655833, NCI Thesaurus C203197. Structure recorded as achiral. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- ChEMBL molecule record CHEMBL4594403, osavampator. Full molecular formula C19H23N3O3S, molecular weight 373.48; no first approval date recorded. View on www.ebi.ac.uk
- Suzuki A, Kunugi A, Tajima Y, Suzuki N, Suzuki M, Toyofuku M, Kuno H, Sogabe S, Kosugi Y, Awasaki Y, Kaku T, Kimura H. Strictly regulated agonist-dependent activation of AMPA-R is the key characteristic of TAK-653 for robust synaptic responses and cognitive improvement. Sci Rep. 2021;11(1):14532. Carries an author correction (see r5); PubMed types it as Journal Article with no retraction or expression of concern as at 18 August 2026. PMID 34267258 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Author Correction: Strictly regulated agonist-dependent activation of AMPA-R is the key characteristic of TAK-653. Sci Rep. 2021;11(1):15255. The correction concerns a y-axis that did not display correctly in panel B of Figures 3 and 5, and republishes both figures; no figure quoted on this page is affected. PMID 34290388 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- O'Donnell P, Dijkstra FM, Damar U, Quanhong L, de Goede AA, Xu L, Pascual-Leone A, Buhl DL, Zuiker R, Ruijs TQ, et al. Transcranial magnetic stimulation as a translational biomarker for AMPA receptor modulation. Transl Psychiatry. 2021;11(1):325. PMID 34045439 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Dijkstra F, O'Donnell P, Klaassen E, Buhl D, Asgharnejad M, Rosen L, Zuiker R, van Gerven J, Jacobs G. Central nervous system effects of TAK-653, an investigational AMPAR positive allosteric modulator in healthy volunteers. Transl Psychiatry. 2022;12(1):408. Contrast estimates in Table 2 are reported with 90% confidence intervals. PMID 36153330 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Hara H, Suzuki A, Kunugi A, Tajima Y, Yamada R, Kimura H. TAK-653, an AMPA receptor potentiator with minimal agonistic activity, produces an antidepressant-like effect with a favorable safety profile in rats. Pharmacol Biochem Behav. 2021;211:173289. Not open access; full text is not in PubMed Central or Europe PMC, and the figures cited here come from the abstract. PMID 34655652 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Lin S, Ionescu A, Maynard-Scott J, Kennedy M, Walling DP, Furey M, Singh JB. Effects of the selective AMPA modulator NBI-1065845 on the pharmacokinetics of midazolam or ethinyl estradiol-levonorgestrel in healthy adults. Clin Transl Sci. 2024;17(5):e13791. No ClinicalTrials.gov record corresponds to this trial. PMID 38700236 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Li L, Zhang Z, Liu X, Zhou M, Wen S, Dai J. TAK-653 reverses core depressive symptoms in chronic stress-induced monkey model. Biomedicines. 2025;13(6):1389. Three animals, no control group, within-subject design. PMID 40564108 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT02561156, TAK-653 escalating single and multiple dose study in healthy participants. Phase 1, 88 participants, one site in the United Kingdom, August 2015 to September 2017. Results posted; no half-life outcome measure. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT03792672, CNS pharmacodynamic activity of TAK-653 using transcranial magnetic stimulation. Phase 1, 24 participants, four-period design including an open-label ketamine 0.5 mg/kg intravenous period, Netherlands, February to June 2019. Results posted. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05203341 (SAVITRI), phase 2 of NBI-1065845 in adults with major depressive disorder. 183 randomised, February 2022 to February 2024, completed. No results posted as at 18 August 2026; registry names the arms only as low and high dose. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov phase 3 programme: NCT06786624 (200), NCT06911112 (200), NCT06963021 (200), NCT07196501 maintenance (550) and NCT06966401 long-term safety (850). All recruiting, completion dates 2027 to 2030; none states the dose. Also NCT03312894, a Millennium treatment-resistant depression study with a February 2018 start date, withdrawn with zero enrolment. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- Asgharnejad, Xu, Dong, Iadevaia, Dorner A, Murthy V, Ratti E, et al. Pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic properties of the investigational AMPA receptor positive allosteric modulator TAK-653 after single and multiple rising doses in healthy volunteers. Neuropsychopharmacology. 2018;43:S157. [Author initials as printed in Dijkstra 2022 reference 11; the abstract itself is not indexed and could not be retrieved to confirm them.] Conference supplement abstract; not retrievable as a standalone document. Sole source of the 33.1 to 47.8 hour half-life range. View on www.nature.com
- Neurocrine Biosciences. Reports positive phase 2 data for NBI-1065845 in adults with major depressive disorder. Press release, 23 April 2024. Does not name the mg doses. View on www.prnewswire.com
- Singh J, Ge T, Ionescu A, Lin S, Duong A, Aluisio L, et al. Osavampator (NBI-1065845/TAK-653) Demonstrates Statistically Significant and Clinically Meaningful Improvements in Depression Severity and is Well Tolerated in Adults With Major Depressive Disorder: Phase 2 SAVITRI Results. Poster 33, Psych Congress 2025. Title reproduced verbatim, sponsor tolerability wording included. Names the doses as 1 mg and 3 mg, labels its p-values nominal, and reports day 56 figures that differ from the April 2024 press release. View on www.hmpgloballearningnetwork.com
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.