Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Tesofensine (NS-2330)
Tesofensine is a tropane-derived small molecule that inhibits reuptake at the dopamine, noradrenaline and serotonin transporters. It reached obesity research sideways: weight loss was first recorded as an adverse event in Parkinson's and Alzheimer's trials that failed on their own endpoints. The single phase 2 obesity trial that made its reputation carries a Lancet expression of concern, printed in April 2013 and unresolved since. No regulator anywhere has approved it.
- Class
- Tropane-derived small molecule; (1R,2R,3S,5S)-3-(3,4-dichlorophenyl)-2-(ethoxymethyl)-8-methyl-8-azabicyclo[3.2.1]octane. Triple monoamine reuptake inhibitor at the dopamine, noradrenaline and serotonin transporters. Not a peptide.
- CAS number
- 195875-84-4
- PubChem CID
- 11370864
- Molecular formula
- C17H23Cl2NO
- Molecular weight
- 328.28 g/mol
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- NS-2330, NS 2330, tesofensina, UNII BLH9UKX9V1, INN 8343, DrugBank DB06156, MeSH C518479, EPA DTXSID70905114. Salt forms carry separate registry numbers: tesofensine citrate CAS 861205-83-6 (UNII 3R9T98ZB7U), tesofensine tartrate (UNII 3H98FB5747).
Identity, and a development history spanning three sponsors
Tesofensine's identity is not in dispute; its chemical class is another matter. PubChem holds one entry under the name — CID 11370864, CAS 195875-84-4, molecular formula C17H23Cl2NO, molecular weight 328.28 g/mol, InChIKey VCVWXKKWDOJNIT-ZOMKSWQUSA-N — and the FDA Global Substance Registration System carries the same structure under UNII BLH9UKX9V1 with INN number 8343. The molecule is a phenyltropane: an 8-azabicyclo[3.2.1]octane cage bearing a 3,4-dichlorophenyl group at position 3 and an ethoxymethyl group at position 2. That scaffold runs through the cocaine-analogue series of transporter ligands, which is why the compound appears in structural work on the dopamine transporter rather than in peptide chemistry. Material sold as a peptide is mislabelled at the level of chemical class.
Development began at NeuroSearch in Denmark under the code NS-2330. Boehringer Ingelheim ran the neurology programme, registering three phase 2 trials in Parkinson's disease and Alzheimer's disease between 2005 and 2007. NeuroSearch then took the compound into obesity, and the asset later passed to Saniona, which licensed Mexican and Argentine rights to Medix in 2016 and developed a fixed-dose combination with metoprolol. The FDA Office of Orphan Products Development records two designations for that combination, both to Saniona: Prader-Willi syndrome on 2 March 2021, and hypothalamic obesity on 21 July 2021. Both carry the status Not FDA Approved for Orphan Indication.
Approval status is straightforward to state and frequently misstated. Tesofensine holds no marketing authorisation from the FDA or the EMA. In Mexico, the COFEPRIS technical committee on new molecules issued a favourable opinion in February 2023, a non-binding step in the review of a new molecule rather than an authorisation. Saniona disclosed in November 2024 that Medix had not received approval, and in February 2025 that a revised dossier was being resubmitted. Krug and colleagues, writing in Drug Testing and Analysis in 2026, described the compound as still under regulatory review while being marketed online as a dietary supplement.
Claim ledger
12 of 18 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weight loss at 24 weeks reported as 4.5% (SE 0.87), 9.2% (0.91) and 10.6% (0.84) at 0.25, 0.5 and 1.0 mg, against 2.0% (0.60) on diet and placebo (p<0.0001). The abstract describes the three figures as greater than diet and placebo, phrasing that does not settle whether they are total mean losses or amounts in excess of placebo; this page does not resolve it and publishes no derived placebo-subtracted value. Heart rate increased by 7.4 beats per minute at 0.5 mg (p=0.0001), with no significant systolic or diastolic blood-pressure increase at 0.25 mg or 0.5 mg | Adults with obesity, BMI 30-40, five Danish obesity management centres | Oral, once daily, 24 weeks, with energy-restricted diet | 203 randomised (52 placebo, 52 at 0.25 mg, 50 at 0.5 mg, 49 at 1.0 mg); 161 (79%) completed | Astrup 2008, Lancet, PMID 18950853 - carries an unresolved 2013 expression of concern; the same group's Danish secondary publication renders the figures as reductions higher than placebo, Nielsen 2009, Ugeskr Laeger, PMID 19824222 |
| Weight change at 14 weeks of +0.5% on placebo and -0.5%, -0.9%, -1.8%, -2.8% at 0.125, 0.25, 0.5 and 1.0 mg (p=0.015 for dose effect); heart rate changed by -0.4, +2.1, +4.2, +6.0, +6.8 bpm; no blood-pressure effect | Adults with Parkinson's disease or Alzheimer's disease; pooled meta-analysis of four randomised double-blind trials | Oral, once daily, 14 weeks, no weight-loss programme | 740 on tesofensine, 228 on placebo | Astrup 2008, Obesity (Silver Spring), PMID 18356831 |
| In early Parkinson's disease, adjusted mean differences in total UPDRS score at 14 weeks of -0.7 (p=0.64), -1.3 (p=0.41) and -1.7 (p=0.27) at 0.25, 0.5 and 1.0 mg, none significant against placebo. In advanced Parkinson's disease, an adjusted mean difference of -4.7 points on UPDRS subscales II plus III at 0.5 mg (p=0.005) and -7.1% in off time, equal to 68 minutes, at 0.25 mg (p=0.02), with no dose-response relationship established for efficacy | Two randomised double-blind trials: adults with Parkinson's disease under 5 years' duration and not on dopaminergic treatment; and adults with advanced Parkinson's disease and levodopa-related motor fluctuations (ADVANS, NCT00148512) | Oral, once daily, 14 weeks | 261 randomised in early Parkinson's disease; 254 enrolled in ADVANS per ClinicalTrials.gov, a figure the indexed abstract does not state | Hauser 2007, Mov Disord, PMID 17149725; Rascol 2008, Arch Neurol, PMID 18474731 |
| Composite satiety score rose dose-dependently at week 12 and correlated with 24-week weight loss (r=0.36, P<0.0001), then diminished as weight loss progressed (at 1.0 mg: 52 +/- 17 mm at baseline, 64 +/- 13 mm at week 12, 55 +/- 13 mm at week 24). After drug withdrawal the composite satiety score returned to baseline values (50 +/- 17 mm across the whole sample) despite a maintained reduced-weight state of -7.2 +/- 6.7 kg (P<0.0001); reintroduction in Part 2 raised it again to 56 +/- 17 mm at week 60 | Adults with obesity; two-part multicentre phase 2 programme, Part 1 randomised double-blind placebo-controlled, Part 2 open-label single-group uncontrolled | Oral, once daily; 24 weeks at 0.25, 0.5 or 1.0 mg, a drug-free period of 12 +/- 3 weeks, then 24 weeks open-label at 0.5 or 1.0 mg | 158 in Part 1; 113 in Part 2 | Gilbert 2012, Obesity (Silver Spring), PMID 21720440 |
| Mean striatal dopamine transporter occupancy varied dose-dependently between 18% and 77%; maximum achievable occupancy estimated at about 80%, with half that effect at roughly 0.25 mg and a plasma concentration near 4 ng/mL | Human PET study with [11C]betaCIT-FE at anticipated steady state | Oral, multiple doses of 0.125-1 mg over 8-12 days | Not stated in the indexed abstract | Appel 2014, Eur Neuropsychopharmacol, PMID 24239329 |
| Apparent elimination half-lives of 234 h for tesofensine and 374 h for the M1 metabolite; females with creatinine clearance 35.6 mL/min showed 62% greater exposure than males without renal impairment | Adults with Alzheimer's disease; population pharmacokinetic model fitted to 1,969 parent and 1,714 metabolite concentrations | Oral, multiple dosing, 14-week study | 320 subjects | Lehr 2007, Br J Clin Pharmacol, PMID 17324246 |
| No significant effect on total 24-hour energy expenditure against placebo; night-period energy expenditure higher by 4.6% (p<0.05) when adjusted for body composition; 24-hour fat oxidation higher by 18 g (p<0.001); weight loss 1.8 kg above placebo (p<0.0001) | Healthy overweight to moderately obese men, respiration-chamber study | Oral, 2.0 mg daily for 7 days then 1.0 mg daily for 7 days | 32 | Sjodin 2010, Int J Obes (Lond), PMID 20479765 |
| Subjective abuse-related measures not significantly different from placebo and lower than d-amphetamine 30 mg on all primary and most secondary measures; either lower than or not different from bupropion and atomoxetine | Recreational stimulant users, randomised double-blind crossover against placebo, d-amphetamine, bupropion and atomoxetine | Oral, single dose; measures over 48 h | 52 | Schoedel 2010, Clin Pharmacol Ther, PMID 20520602 |
| Inhibition of [3H]dopamine uptake at the wild-type human dopamine transporter with an IC50 of 9.12 nM; F326A 816.5 nM (P=0.0080) and S422A 204.2 nM (P<0.0001) against wild type. The cryo-EM structure of the tesofensine-bound transporter was resolved at 2.8 A in an outward-facing conformation and deposited as PDB 9J6S | Human dopamine transporter, wild type and alanine mutants, expressed in cells | In vitro, concentration range 10 pM to 100 uM | 3 biologically independent experiments | Li 2025, Nat Commun, PMID 41392177 |
| Oral metoprolol at 10-20 mg/kg fully prevented the increases in heart rate and blood pressure while leaving the inhibitory effect on food intake unaffected; telmisartan 1.0-3.0 mg/kg only partially reversed the systolic pressure rise and did not affect heart rate | Conscious telemetrised rats, combined real-time food-intake and cardiovascular monitoring | Tesofensine acute administration; metoprolol and telmisartan oral | Not stated in the indexed abstract | Bentzen 2013, Obesity (Silver Spring), PMID 23784901 |
| Additional mean weight change against placebo of -6.3% (95% CI -11.3 to -1.3, p=0.017); 8 of 13 on active treatment against 1 of 8 on placebo reached a 5% reduction; sleep disturbance in 50% against 13%, dry mouth in 43% against 0%; one drug-related serious adverse event, an exacerbation of pre-existing anxiety | Adults with hypothalamic obesity, 16 of 21 female; tesofensine 0.5 mg with metoprolol 50 mg | Oral, once daily, 24 weeks, with diet and lifestyle counselling | 21 randomised; 18 completed | Huynh 2022, Eur J Endocrinol, PMID 35294397 |
| In type 2 diabetes, net difference against placebo of -3.8 beats per minute in 24-hour mean heart rate (95% CI -6.36 to -1.29, p=0.004), -3.5 kg in body weight (95% CI -4.65 to -2.30, p<0.0001) and 0.1 percentage points in HbA1c (p=0.724). In Prader-Willi syndrome, mean body-weight change among adults of -4.09% against -0.38% on placebo, ANCOVA least-squares mean difference -5.4% (95% CI -12.3 to 1.5, p=0.1045); among adolescents at the lower 0.125/25 mg strength both arms gained weight, difference 0.7 percentage points (p=0.7422) | Adults with type 2 diabetes, two centres (NCT02737891); adults and adolescents with genetically confirmed Prader-Willi syndrome, two centres (NCT03149445) | Oral, once daily, double-blind; tesofensine 0.5 mg with metoprolol 50 mg for 90 days in type 2 diabetes, and 0.5/50 mg or 0.125/25 mg for 91 days in Prader-Willi syndrome | 60 randomised in type 2 diabetes; 18 enrolled in Prader-Willi syndrome (adult step 6 active and 3 placebo, adolescent step 5 active and 4 placebo) | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT02737891, results posted; ClinicalTrials.gov NCT03149445, results posted 26 February 2024. No journal publication located for either |
| Tesofensine has an elimination half-life of 220 hours, about 9 days | The figure is near-universal on aggregator and vendor pages and appears in the Wikipedia infobox, where it is attributed to Bara-Jimenez and colleagues 2004, Movement Disorders (PMID 15390018). That paper is an acute randomised crossover in 9 people with advanced Parkinson's disease, and its abstract contains no half-life value; the full text is behind a subscription and could not be retrieved through Europe PMC or PubMed Central. The one peer-reviewed population pharmacokinetic estimate located is Lehr and colleagues 2007 in the British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology (PMID 17324246), which fitted 320 patients and reported 234 hours for tesofensine and 374 hours for the M1 metabolite. A third figure, approximately 230 hours, appears in a 2008 review table (PMID 19587855). No source for 220 was found. | No source found | ||
| Tesofensine inhibits DAT, NET and SERT with IC50 values of 6.5 nM, 1.7 nM and 11 nM | The triad was traced to its origin and does not survive the trace, though two competing figures do. The 6.5/1.7/11 set appears in Li and colleagues 2025, Nature Communications (PMID 41392177), which attributes it to reference 40 of that paper. Reference 40 is Marks, Pae and Patkar 2008, a review in Current Neuropharmacology (PMID 19587855). Retrieving that review's full text from Europe PMC shows Table 1 giving tesofensine values in a Potency IC50 (nM) NE:SER:DA column as 1.7 : 11 : 65, with the Ki column empty. The dopamine value is 65 nM, not 6.5 nM; the 2025 paper appears to have moved a decimal point, and the error is now propagating from a high-profile structural paper. The review in turn cites its reference 26, Larsen and colleagues 2007, European Journal of Pharmacology (PMID 17112503), for those numbers - a rat study of BDNF and Arc mRNA expression and hippocampal cell proliferation whose abstract reports no transporter assay and whose full text is not open access. Two further values do trace to retrievable primary assays. The open-access full text of Li 2025 (PMC12769732) reports its own measurement, an IC50 of 9.12 nM for inhibition of [3H]dopamine uptake at wild-type human DAT over three independent experiments, with F326A at 816.5 nM and S422A at 204.2 nM; the draft literature repeating the 6.5 nM figure omits this. Wikipedia's fourth set, DAT 8.0 nM, NET 3.2 nM, SERT 11.0 nM, is cited there to US Patent 6,288,079 (Scheel-Kruger, Moldt and Watjen, Tropane-derivatives, their preparation and use, assigned to NeuroSearch A/S, filed 21 February 1997, issued 11 September 2001), and Table 2 of that patent does give 8, 3.2 and 11 nM for the 2-ethoxymethyl compound in male Wistar rat synaptosome uptake assays. So the Marks and Larsen triad traces to nothing retrievable, while the Li measurement and the patent table do. | No source found | ||
| Tesofensine 0.5 mg produced 10.6% placebo-subtracted weight loss over 24 weeks, and 1.0 mg produced 12.8% weight loss | One error, one conversion artefact and one genuine ambiguity are packed into this. Astrup and colleagues 2008 (PMID 18950853) report 4.5%, 9.2% and 10.6% at 0.25, 0.5 and 1.0 mg against 2.0% on diet and placebo, so the 10.6% belongs to the 1.0 mg arm and not to 0.5 mg. Whether the three percentages are total mean losses or amounts in excess of placebo is not settled by the abstract's syntax, and this page does not adjudicate it: the same author group's Danish secondary publication of the trial renders them as reductions higher than placebo (Nielsen 2009, PMID 19824222), and the absolute kilogram figures reported from the trial in the secondary literature, -6.7, -11.3 and -12.8 kg against -2.2 kg on placebo (PMID 21331293), reconcile with consistent arm baselines only on that reading - read as total mean losses they would imply baseline weights near 149, 123 and 121 kg in a trial capped at a body-mass index of 40. No placebo-subtracted percentage is published here, because none appears in a source. The 12.8 in the circulating claim is the kilogram value at 1.0 mg converted to a percentage in transit. A related claim that 87% of the 0.5 mg group reached a 5% reduction is not in the abstract, and the full text is behind a subscription; it could not be checked. | No source found | ||
| Tesofensine is approved in Mexico and marketed there under two proprietary names following a 2023 COFEPRIS approval | The regulatory record contradicts this. In February 2023 the COFEPRIS technical committee on new molecules issued a favourable opinion, which the sponsor's own release describes as a non-binding technical step in the review of a new molecule and not a market authorisation. Saniona then disclosed on 6 November 2024 that Medix had not received approval and that the agency's decision had not been based on the full data package as submitted, and on 10 February 2025 that a revised dossier was being resubmitted. Attempts to query the COFEPRIS Buscador de Registros Sanitarios de Medicamentos for tesofensina failed: the public endpoint at tramiteselectronicos02.cofepris.gob.mx redirects to registros.cofepris.gob.mx, which returned HTTP 404. No public record of a granted registro sanitario was located under either proprietary name, and no sponsor announcement of an approval was found. The proprietary names themselves are omitted here under this site's commercial firewall. | No source found | ||
| Weight lost on tesofensine is preferentially fat mass, with lean mass preserved, as shown by DEXA | The 2008 Lancet paper carries body composition in its title, and secondary pages present the fat-versus-lean split as an established finding, but no numeric figure could be traced. A PubMed search for tesofensine AND body composition returns 6 records (PMIDs 23849924, 23561987, 20479765, 19824222, 19548858, 18950853); one of them, PMID 19824222, is Nielsen and colleagues 2009 in Ugeskrift for Laeger, a Danish-language secondary publication of the same trial titled for its effect on body weight and body composition. Its abstract likewise reports no fat-versus-lean split, giving only the weight percentages. Searches for tesofensine AND DEXA, tesofensine AND fat-free mass, and tesofensine AND dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry each return zero records. The indexed Lancet abstract reports no body-composition values, and that full text is behind a subscription and is not in PubMed Central or Europe PMC. The phrasing that circulates is a paraphrase rather than a quotation, and the claim still traces to no published number. It also rests on the one paper carrying an unresolved expression of concern. | No source found | ||
| Tesofensine raises resting metabolic rate or boosts metabolism | The single human respiration-chamber study points the other way on the headline measure. Sjodin and colleagues 2010 (PMID 20479765) treated 32 overweight and moderately obese men for two weeks and reported no significant effect on total 24-hour energy expenditure against placebo. What they did find was a 4.6% higher expenditure confined to the night period once adjusted for body composition, and 18 g more 24-hour fat oxidation. Wikipedia's phrasing that the drug possibly also acts by increasing resting energy expenditure is hedged; the versions on vendor and aggregator pages are not. No study reporting an increase in resting metabolic rate was located in PubMed or Europe PMC. | No source found | ||
The trial the reputation rests on, and the notice attached to it
TIPO-1 is the trial that every secondary summary of this compound traces back to. Astrup and colleagues randomised 203 adults with a body-mass index of 30 to 40 across five Danish obesity management centres to tesofensine 0.25 mg, 0.5 mg or 1.0 mg, or placebo, once daily for 24 weeks alongside an energy-restricted diet. It was published in The Lancet in November 2008. Weight loss after 24 weeks was reported as 4.5%, 9.2% and 10.6% on the three ascending doses, against 2.0% on diet and placebo, the three figures described in the abstract as "greater than diet and placebo" (Astrup 2008, PMID 18950853). That phrasing does not settle whether they are total mean losses or amounts in excess of placebo. The same author group's Danish secondary publication of the trial renders them as reductions higher than placebo (PMID 19824222), and the absolute kilogram figures reported from the trial, 6.7, 11.3 and 12.8 kg against 2.2 kg on placebo, imply consistent baseline weights across the randomised arms only on that second reading. This page records the ambiguity rather than resolving it, publishes no derived placebo-subtracted value, and notes only that the largest figure belongs to the 1.0 mg arm.
In April 2013 The Lancet printed an expression of concern about that paper. It followed an inspection by the Danish Health and Medicines Authority of two of the five trial sites and of the sponsor, conducted in November 2011 under a random inspection programme. The inspectors recorded that informed consent had been delegated to non-medical personnel at one site, questioned whether blinding had held, and found the recording and assessment of adverse events by the contract research organisation to be incomplete. The authority's stated conclusion was that the published side-effect profile did not accord with the actual course of the trial.
Astrup and colleagues replied in The Lancet in July 2013 under the title Under-reporting of adverse effects of tesofensine. Their account was that monitors had wrongly instructed investigators not to register headache, migraine, stress and depression as adverse events where a participant had reported the condition before randomisation, and that this under-reporting extended across all centres. The efficacy data were not withdrawn and the paper has not been retracted. PubMed still types it as carrying an expression of concern, and that notice remains unresolved as of August 2026. Any weight-loss figure quoted from this trial carries the notice with it.
Weight loss was first recorded as an adverse event
Before obesity, the compound was a neurology candidate, and the neurology results were unpersuasive. Hauser and colleagues randomised 261 people with early Parkinson's disease of under five years' duration to 0.25, 0.5 or 1.0 mg or placebo for 14 weeks; adjusted mean differences in total UPDRS score were −0.7, −1.3 and −1.7, none of them significant. Rascol and colleagues ran the ADVANS study in advanced Parkinson's disease with motor fluctuations and reported a −4.7 point difference on UPDRS subscales II plus III at 0.5 mg and a 7.1% reduction in off time at 0.25 mg, while stating that no dose-response relationship for efficacy could be established.
Astrup and colleagues then pooled four of those randomised neurology trials, covering 740 participants on tesofensine and 228 on placebo, all dosed orally once daily for 14 weeks with no weight-loss programme attached. Weight change across the cohort was +0.5% on placebo and −0.5%, −0.9%, −1.8% and −2.8% at 0.125, 0.25, 0.5 and 1.0 mg. In the obese subgroup the changes were −0.2%, −1.7%, −1.6%, −1.5% and −3.7%, and the proportion reaching a 5% reduction rose from 2.1% on placebo to 32.1% at 1.0 mg. Heart rate rose by 2.1 to 6.8 beats per minute across the dose range.
The order of events is worth holding onto when reading claims about this compound. Its obesity programme exists because an unwanted effect in a failed neurology programme was large enough to redirect the asset. The dataset that established the weight signal was not designed to measure weight, ran for 14 weeks, and involved populations with neurodegenerative disease rather than otherwise healthy adults with obesity.
Transporter occupancy, and where the potency numbers came from
Appel and colleagues measured striatal dopamine transporter occupancy directly, using positron emission tomography with the radioligand [11C]βCIT-FE after multiple oral doses of 0.125 to 1 mg given over 8 to 12 days. Mean striatal occupancy varied with dose between 18% and 77%. A sigmoid Emax model fitted the relationship, with maximum achievable occupancy estimated at about 80% and half of that effect reached at roughly 0.25 mg and a plasma concentration near 4 ng/mL. The report does not state the number of subjects scanned in its indexed abstract.
Structural work arrived much later. Li and colleagues published cryo-electron microscopy structures of the human dopamine transporter bound to five triple reuptake inhibitors in Nature Communications in 2025. The tesofensine complex was resolved at 2.8 Å and captured the transporter in an outward-facing conformation, with the dichlorophenyl group in a T-shaped π-stacking interaction with Y156 on transmembrane helix 3. Alanine substitutions at F326 and S422 retained uptake activity while substantially reducing inhibitory potency. Coordinates were deposited as PDB 9J6S, with noradrenaline and serotonin transporter complexes deposited as 9VWR and 9VWS.
The reuptake potency figures that circulate for this compound do not reconcile, and their provenance varies sharply. Three sets of transporter IC50 values appear in the secondary literature, one of them the product of a decimal-point error in a 2025 paper reproducing a 2008 review table, and the review table itself cites a rat neurogenesis study that reports no such assay. Two figures do trace to a retrievable primary assay: that same 2025 structural paper reports its own measured IC50 of 9.12 nM for inhibition of [3H]dopamine uptake at the wild-type human dopamine transporter across three independent experiments, and the NeuroSearch tropane patent US 6,288,079, filed in 1997 and issued in 2001, tabulates rat striatal synaptosome uptake values for the same molecule. The conflicting-figures entry below records what each search returned.
The cardiovascular signal and the beta-blocker combination
Heart rate is the consistent finding across the human record. In TIPO-1, heart rate rose by 7.4 beats per minute in the 0.5 mg group against placebo, while systolic and diastolic blood pressure showed no significant increase at 0.25 mg or 0.5 mg. The pooled neurology analysis recorded dose-related heart-rate increases up to 6.8 beats per minute with no blood-pressure effect. Bentzen and colleagues examined the mechanism in conscious telemetrised rats, recording food intake and cardiovascular variables simultaneously, and reported that oral metoprolol at 10 to 20 mg/kg prevented the sympathetic cardiovascular effects while leaving the hypophagic response intact.
That rat experiment is the stated rationale for the fixed-dose combination. In a phase 2 trial in type 2 diabetes, registered as NCT02737891, 60 adults were randomised evenly to tesofensine 0.5 mg with metoprolol 50 mg or to placebo for 90 days across two centres. Results posted to ClinicalTrials.gov for NCT02737891 give a net difference in 24-hour mean heart rate of −3.8 beats per minute (95% CI −6.36 to −1.29, p=0.004) and a net body-weight difference of −3.5 kg (95% CI −4.65 to −2.30, p<0.0001). The HbA1c difference was 0.1 percentage points (p=0.724). No journal publication of that trial was located.
Huynh and colleagues published the combination trial in hypothalamic obesity in the European Journal of Endocrinology in 2022. Twenty-one adults, 16 of them female, were randomised to the combination or placebo for 24 weeks with diet and lifestyle counselling; 18 completed. Additional mean weight change against placebo was −6.3% (95% CI −11.3 to −1.3, p=0.017), and 8 of 13 on active treatment against 1 of 8 on placebo reached a 5% reduction. One participant had a serious adverse event attributed to the drug, an exacerbation of pre-existing anxiety leading to discontinuation. Sleep disturbance occurred in 50% against 13%, dry mouth in 43% against 0%.
Registered trials that reported nothing, and two that were withdrawn
A ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search returned 13 registered studies naming tesofensine, sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim, NeuroSearch and Saniona. Five carry posted results. The largest obesity dataset in existence is not among them: the phase 3 programme run by Medix in Mexico, described by the sponsor as covering 372 patients with an average weight reduction near ten percent at 24 weeks, has no entry in ClinicalTrials.gov, no PubMed record and no Europe PMC record. Searches of both databases for tesofensine combined with phase 3 and with Mexico returned only reviews and unrelated trials.
The Prader-Willi syndrome trial illustrates what unpublished data can look like. Saniona registered a two-centre double-blind study of the combination in 18 participants, with results posted in February 2024 and no journal publication located. Among adults, six on active treatment showed a mean body-weight change of −4.09% against −0.38% in three on placebo, an ANCOVA least-squares mean difference of −5.4% with a 95% confidence interval from −12.3 to 1.5 and p=0.1045. Among adolescents at the lower 0.125/25 mg strength, both arms gained weight, and the difference was 0.7 percentage points with p=0.7422.
Two confirmatory phase 2 trials, one in Prader-Willi syndrome and one in hypothalamic obesity, were registered and then withdrawn on 9 December 2022 with zero participants randomised. Both registry records give the phase as PHASE2; the 2b label attached to them in sponsor material does not appear in the registry. The reason recorded in both entries is financial: the sponsor stated it was unable to complete the trials and that no safety concern was involved. The confirmatory human evidence for the two indications carrying FDA orphan designations was therefore never generated.
Anti-doping status and detection window
Tesofensine is named on the WADA Prohibited List. Extracting the text of the 2025 list directly from the published PDF places the entry in section S6.B, specified stimulants, between tenamfetamine and tuaminoheptane, which makes it prohibited in-competition only and a Specified Substance. The 2026 list could not be downloaded during preparation of this page; Krug and colleagues, writing in 2026, describe the compound as classified under S6 stimulants and prohibited in-competition only, which is consistent with the 2025 document.
That same 2026 paper is the only published human excretion study. Six volunteers ingested 483 µg of tesofensine sold as a dietary supplement, and urine was collected for up to 600 hours and analysed by liquid chromatography with high-resolution mass spectrometry. Four principal metabolites were identified: three dealkylated species and one hydroxylated and glucuronidated species. Peak urinary concentrations of 1 to 4 ng/mL were reached between 4 and 46 hours, with marked variation between individuals, and detection windows extended to 500 hours at a limit of detection of 0.01 ng/mL. The authors reported that recommended dosing was unlikely to produce urinary concentrations reaching an Adverse Analytical Finding under the stimulant minimum reporting levels applicable at the time of writing (PMID 42320973). The paper does not address therapeutic equivalence.
The long detection window follows from the pharmacokinetics. Lehr and colleagues fitted a population model to 1,969 tesofensine and 1,714 metabolite concentrations from 320 people with Alzheimer's disease on multiple oral dosing, and reported apparent half-lives of 234 hours for the parent compound and 374 hours for the M1 metabolite. Female participants with a creatinine clearance of 35.6 mL/min showed 62% greater exposure than males without renal impairment.
What is not known
The published record has a hole where its confirmatory evidence should be. No phase 3 trial of tesofensine has been published anywhere: the Medix programme in Mexico, described by the licensor as covering 372 patients, has no ClinicalTrials.gov registration, no PubMed record and no Europe PMC record, so its methods, endpoints and adverse-event tables cannot be examined. Of 13 registered studies, five carry posted results and only a minority have appeared in journals; the type 2 diabetes combination trial (NCT02737891) and the Prader-Willi trial (NCT03149445) exist solely as registry postings, as does the 48-week hypothalamic obesity study with its open-label extension (NCT03845075), for which no journal publication of the extension was located. The longest exposure that has actually been published is the two-part phase 2 obesity programme reported by Gilbert and colleagues, which ran 24 weeks randomised, a drug-free period of 12 plus or minus 3 weeks, then 24 weeks open-label, with assessments to week 60 (PMID 21720440). The largest published randomised obesity dataset remains 203 people over 24 weeks in a trial carrying an unresolved expression of concern about the completeness of its adverse-event recording. Two confirmatory phase 2 trials in the indications holding FDA orphan designations were withdrawn in December 2022 with nobody randomised. What is recorded on discontinuation in humans is narrow: in that same programme, after drug withdrawal the composite satiety score returned to baseline values (50 plus or minus 17 mm) while the reduced-weight state was maintained at minus 7.2 plus or minus 6.7 kg (P<0.0001), and no human data on weight regain after discontinuation were located. In diet-induced obese rats, four groups of 15 given 2.0 mg/kg for 28 days with one arm followed by a 28-day treatment-free period, route not stated in the indexed abstract, caloric intake and weight gain gradually increased again after treatment stopped (van de Giessen 2012, PMID 21889317). Body composition, cardiovascular outcomes, use in pregnancy or lactation, use in adolescents outside nine Prader-Willi participants, and interaction with GLP-1 receptor agonists are all uncharacterised in the published literature. Tesofensine holds no marketing authorisation in any jurisdiction, and material sold outside a registered trial has not been subject to the identity, purity or sterility controls that apply to investigational supply.
Questions
Is tesofensine approved anywhere?
What is the expression of concern on the Lancet obesity trial?
Are the 4.5%, 9.2% and 10.6% figures total weight losses or amounts above placebo?
Which half-life figure is correct?
Is tesofensine a peptide?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 11370864, Tesofensine. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Formula C17H23Cl2NO, molecular weight 328.28, CAS 195875-84-4, InChIKey VCVWXKKWDOJNIT-ZOMKSWQUSA-N. Cross-checked against the FDA Global Substance Registration System record for UNII BLH9UKX9V1, which carries CAS 195875-84-4, INN 8343, DrugBank DB06156 and MeSH C518479. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Office of Orphan Products Development. Tesofensine plus metoprolol in a fixed-dose combination. Designated 2 March 2021 for treatment of Prader-Willi syndrome and 21 July 2021 for treatment of hypothalamic obesity; sponsor Saniona S/A; both recorded as Not FDA Approved for Orphan Indication. View on www.accessdata.fda.gov
- Astrup A, Madsbad S, Breum L, Jensen TJ, Kroustrup JP, Larsen TM. Effect of tesofensine on bodyweight loss, body composition, and quality of life in obese patients: a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. Lancet. 2008;372(9653):1906-1913. SUBJECT OF AN UNRESOLVED EXPRESSION OF CONCERN (2013). PMID 18950853. Secondary publication of the same trial by the same group: Nielsen AL, Larsen TM, Madsbad S, Breum L, Jensen TJ, Kroustrup JP, Astrup A. [The effect of tesofensine on body weight and body composition in obese subjects - secondary publication]. Ugeskr Laeger. 2009;171(41):2974-2977. PMID 19824222. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Expression of concern - effect of tesofensine on bodyweight loss, body composition, and quality of life in obese patients. Lancet. 2013;381(9873):1167. PMID 23561987. With the authors' reply: Astrup A, Madsbad S, Breum L, et al. Under-reporting of adverse effects of tesofensine. Lancet. 2013;382(9887):127. PMID 23849924. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Astrup A, Meier DH, Mikkelsen BO, Villumsen JS, Larsen TM. Weight loss produced by tesofensine in patients with Parkinson's or Alzheimer's disease. Obesity (Silver Spring). 2008;16(6):1363-1369. PMID 18356831. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Hauser RA, Salin L, Juhel N, Konyago VL. Randomized trial of the triple monoamine reuptake inhibitor NS 2330 (tesofensine) in early Parkinson's disease. Mov Disord. 2007;22(3):359-365. PMID 17149725. With: Rascol O, Poewe W, Lees A, et al. Tesofensine (NS 2330), a monoamine reuptake inhibitor, in patients with advanced Parkinson disease and motor fluctuations: the ADVANS Study. Arch Neurol. 2008;65(5):577-583. PMID 18474731. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Gilbert JA, Gasteyger C, Raben A, Meier DH, Astrup A, Sjodin A. The effect of tesofensine on appetite sensations. Obesity (Silver Spring). 2012;20(3):553-561. Listed by ClinicalTrials.gov as a derived reference on NCT00481104. PMID 21720440. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Appel L, Bergstrom M, Buus Lassen J, Langstrom B. Tesofensine, a novel triple monoamine re-uptake inhibitor with anti-obesity effects: dopamine transporter occupancy as measured by PET. Eur Neuropsychopharmacol. 2014;24(2):251-261. PMID 24239329. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Lehr T, Staab A, Tillmann C, et al. Population pharmacokinetic modelling of NS2330 (tesofensine) and its major metabolite in patients with Alzheimer's disease. Br J Clin Pharmacol. 2007;64(1):36-48. PMID 17324246. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Sjodin A, Gasteyger C, Nielsen AL, et al. The effect of the triple monoamine reuptake inhibitor tesofensine on energy metabolism and appetite in overweight and moderately obese men. Int J Obes (Lond). 2010;34(11):1634-1643. PMID 20479765. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Schoedel KA, Meier D, Chakraborty B, Manniche PM, Sellers EM. Subjective and objective effects of the novel triple reuptake inhibitor tesofensine in recreational stimulant users. Clin Pharmacol Ther. 2010;88(1):69-78. PMID 20520602. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Bentzen BH, Grunnet M, Hyveled-Nielsen L, Sundgreen C, Lassen JB, Hansen HH. Anti-hypertensive treatment preserves appetite suppression while preventing cardiovascular adverse effects of tesofensine in rats. Obesity (Silver Spring). 2013;21(5):985-992. PMID 23784901. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- van de Giessen E, de Bruin K, la Fleur SE, van den Brink W, Booij J. Triple monoamine inhibitor tesofensine decreases food intake, body weight, and striatal dopamine D2/D3 receptor availability in diet-induced obese rats. Eur Neuropsychopharmacol. 2012;22(4):290-299. Four groups of 15 diet-induced obese rats, 2.0 mg/kg for 28 days, one arm with a 28-day treatment-free period. PMID 21889317. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Huynh K, Klose M, Krogsgaard K, et al. Randomized controlled trial of Tesomet for weight loss in hypothalamic obesity. Eur J Endocrinol. 2022;186(6):687-700. PMID 35294397. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Li Y, Meng Y, Li N, Zhao J, et al. Structural basis for pharmacotherapeutic action of triple reuptake inhibitors. Nat Commun. 2025. Open access at PMC12769732. Reports a measured IC50 of 9.12 nM for tesofensine inhibition of [3H]dopamine uptake at wild-type human DAT (n=3). Coordinates deposited as PDB 9J6S (DAT-tesofensine), 9VWR and 9VWS. PMID 41392177. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Krug O, Thomas A, Thevis M. Investigations into the metabolism and elimination of tesofensine in human urine. Drug Test Anal. 2026. PMID 42320973. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Marks DM, Pae CU, Patkar AA. Triple reuptake inhibitors: the next generation of antidepressants. Curr Neuropharmacol. 2008;6(4):338-343. Cited here only as the traced origin of the circulating transporter IC50 figures. PMID 19587855. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Scheel-Kruger J, Moldt P, Watjen F. Tropane-derivatives, their preparation and use. US Patent 6,288,079 B1, assigned to NeuroSearch A/S; filed 21 February 1997, issued 11 September 2001. Table 2 gives rat striatal synaptosome uptake IC50 values of 8 nM (dopamine), 3.2 nM (noradrenaline) and 11 nM (serotonin) for the 2-ethoxymethyl compound; Table 1 gives a 3H-WIN 35428 binding IC50 of 0.035 uM. Cited here as the traced origin of one circulating IC50 set. View on patents.google.com
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.